DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A in the reply filed on 11/18/2025 is acknowledged. Claims 1, 2, 5, 6, and 8-10 are currently pending. Claims 3, 4, and 7 are withdrawn from consideration.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Claims 5 and 6 (treated as one due to the duplicated language):
Prong 1: The claims recite “a solution sending mechanism configured to send” where mechanism is the generic placeholder.
Prong 2: The generic placeholder “mechanism” is modified by “configured to send”
Prong 3: The claims do not present additional structure to assist in defining the solution sending mechanism.
Interpretation: A review of the specification refers to the solution sending mechanism as 250 in Figure 4 and appears to be a pipe network. The resultant interpretation would be along the lines of a pipe network or fluid path for the solution to travel.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 5, 6, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2019/0375158 (Crabtree hereinafter).
Regarding claim 1, Crabtree teaches a solvent application system for a substrate that discloses a solvent storage configured to be kept warm at a temperature equal to or higher than a saturation temperature of a solvent stored therein (¶ 120 and 129 where the heating system 404 is disclosed as a vessel [¶ 129] which implies some manner of storage); a precooler configured to precool the solvent vapor generated in the solvent storage (Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the pipe from 404 to the inlet for 408 can function as a pre-cooler since the solvent is not being directly heated during this time frame); and a temperature regulator configured to regulate a temperature of the precooled solvent vapor to a target temperature when the solvent vapor is supplied to the substrate treatment apparatus (Thermocouple 413 per ¶ 120, where the Examiner in viewing the precooled vapor being the portion exiting 404 and heated to a temperature that will provide the needed temperature in 408 assuming some loses [read precooling]), wherein the temperature regulator is configured to supply the solvent vapor regulated to the target temperature to the substrate treatment apparatus (Inherent operation of 404 sending the vapor to 408 in Figure 7).
Regarding claim 2, Crabtree’s teachings are described above in claim 1 where Crabtree further discloses that the precooler is a pipe through which the solvent vapor generated in the solvent storage flows (Figure 7, pipe connecting 404 and 408); and the pipe is connected to the solvent storage and the temperature regulator (Figure 7).
Regarding claim 5, Crabtree’s teachings are described above in claim 1 where Crabtree further discloses a solution sending mechanism configured to send a solvent generated by condensation of part of the solvent vapor generated in the solvent storage, to the solvent storage (Return system 412 from 429 to 422 in Figure 7 per ¶ 126-128 and 157-158).
Regarding claim 6, Crabtree’s teachings are described above in claim 2 where Crabtree further discloses a solution sending mechanism configured to send a solvent generated by condensation of part of the solvent vapor generated in the solvent storage, to the solvent storage (Return system 412 from 429 to 422 in Figure 7 per ¶ 126-128 and 157-158).
Regarding claim 9, Crabtree teaches a method of apply a solvent vapor to a substrate that discloses generating the solvent vapor by heating a solvent (¶ 120 and 129 where the heating system 404) precooling the solvent vapor generated in the generating the solvent vapor (Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the pipe from 404 to the inlet for 408 can function as a pre-cooler since the solvent is not being directly heated during this time frame); and regulating a temperature of the precooled solvent vapor to a target temperature when supplying the solvent vapor to the substrate treatment apparatus (Thermocouple 413 per ¶ 120, where the Examiner in viewing the precooled vapor being the portion exiting 404 and heated to a temperature that will provide the needed temperature in 408 assuming some loses [read precooling]), and supplying the solvent vapor regulated to the target temperature to the substrate treatment apparatus (Inherent operation of 404 sending the vapor to 408 in Figure 7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2019/0375158 (Crabtree) in view of US 2016/0293403 (Muramatsu hereinafter).
Regarding claim 8, Crabtree’s teachings are described above in claim 1 but are silent with respect that the substrate treatment apparatus is configured to heat a substrate on which a film of a block copolymer containing at least two polymers is formed, under an atmosphere of the solvent vapor, to phase-separate the block copolymer.
However, Muramatsu teaches a substrate treatment system utilizing a solvent that discloses a substrate treatment apparatus is configured to heat a substrate on which a film of a block copolymer containing at least two polymers is formed, under an atmosphere of the solvent vapor, to phase-separate the block copolymer (¶ 28, 32, 41, and the Abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the substrate treatment process of Crabtree with the teachings of Muramatsu to accelerate the substrate treatment process per ¶ 12 of Muramatsu.
Regarding claim 10, Crabtree’s teachings are described above in claim 9 but are silent with respect that in the supplying the solvent vapor to the substrate treatment apparatus, the solvent vapor is supplied to a substrate treatment apparatus configured to heat a substrate on which a film of a block copolymer containing at least two polymers is formed, under an atmosphere of the solvent vapor, to phase-separate the block copolymer.
However, Muramatsu teaches a substrate treatment system utilizing a solvent that discloses a substrate treatment apparatus that in the supplying the solvent vapor to the substrate treatment apparatus, the solvent vapor is supplied to a substrate treatment apparatus configured to heat a substrate on which a film of a block copolymer containing at least two polymers is formed, under an atmosphere of the solvent vapor, to phase-separate the block copolymer (¶ 28, 32, 41, and the Abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the substrate treatment process of Crabtree with the teachings of Muramatsu to accelerate the substrate treatment process per ¶ 12 of Muramatsu.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2014/0273290 (Somervell), US 2012/0034369 (Ito), and US 2009/0232977 (Morinaga) each teach specific film treatment methods and devices utilizing a solvent.
/CONNOR J TREMARCHE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762