DETAILED ACTION/EXAMINER’S COMMENT
This Office action responds to the amendments filed on 12/10/2025.
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for a rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Amendment Status
Applicant’s response filed on 12/10/2025 in reply to the non-final rejection mailed on 09/24/2025, has been entered. The present Office action is made with all previously suggested amendments being fully considered. Accordingly, pending in this Office action are claims 1-3, 7-9, 11, 13-17, & 20. The previously withdrawn claims 4, 5, 10, 12, 18, & 19 requested for rejoinder are not rejoined as claims 1-3, 7-9, 11, 13-17, & 20 are not allowed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 7, 8, 9, 11, 13, 14, 15, 17, & 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun (US 20230369230) in view of Li (US 20210347682).
Regarding Claim 1, Sun (see, e.g., fig. 2, annotated figure #2) shows a microelectronic assembly, comprising:
a core 110 (see, e.g., para.0030) having a surface (see, e.g., annotated figure #2) and made of bulk glass (see, e.g., para.0153), the core including:
a dielectric 120 (see, e.g., para.0045) with a conductive pathway 122 (see, e.g., para.0045) at the surface of the core;
and a die 103 (see, e.g., para.0029) conductively coupled to the conductive pathway in the dielectric at the surface of the core by an interconnect 130 (see, e.g., para.0029).
Sun, however, fails to show
a first region within the bulk glass having a first concentration of ions extending from the surface of the core to a first depth;
and a second region within the bulk glass having a second concentration of ions greater than the first concentration of ions,
the second region between the first region and the surface of the core;
Li (see, e.g., para.0003, para.0023, para.0072), in a similar device to Sun, teaches that a glass substrate with a concentration of ions via ion exchange treatment would strengthen the glass substrate and increase its compressive stress and thermal expansion coefficient.
It would have been obvious at the time of filing the invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the glass substrate with a concentration of ions via ion exchange treatment of Li in the device of Sun to strengthen the glass substrate and increase its compressive stress and thermal expansion coefficient.
Li (see, e.g., fig. 1) shows the relationship between the depth of the substrate and its compressive stress, otherwise known as the concentration of ions. The concentration of ions is greater at a surface of the substrate, where depth is 0 µm, and is lower at a point within the substrate, where depth is ~ 40 µm.
Therefore, the first and second regions within the bulk glass 110 have different concentrations of ions where the second region (near the surface) has a greater concentration of ions than the first region (near depth 40 µm). See, annotated figure 2 for further detail.
Thus, Sun, in view of Li, shows the limitations
a first region within the bulk glass 110 having a first concentration of ions extending from the surface of the core to a first depth 40 µm (see, e.g., Li, fig. 1);
and a second region within the bulk glass 110 (see, e.g., annotated figure 2) having a second concentration of ions greater than the first concentration of ions,
the second region between the first region and the surface of the core (see, e.g., annotated figure 2);
Regarding Claim 2, Sun, in view of Li (see, e.g., fig. 1, annotated figure 2), shows the microelectronic assembly of claim 1,
wherein the first depth is between 2 nanometers and 50 micron (40 µm).
Regarding Claim 7, Sun (see, e.g., fig. 2, annotated figure 2), in view of Li and Cornejo, shows the microelectronic assembly of claim 1,
wherein the core further includes a through-glass via (TGV) 112b (see, e.g., para.0030),
and wherein the surface of the core is a second surface (see, e.g., annotated figure 2)
and the core further includes a first surface (near 102) opposite the second surface (near 104, see, e.g., annotated figure 2),
and the dielectric is a second dielectric 120 having a second conductive pathway 122 (see, e.g., para.0045),
and the microelectronic assembly further comprising:
a first dielectric 140 with a first conductive pathway 142 at the first surface of the core (see, e.g., para.0045),
wherein the TGV is conductively coupled to the first and second conductive pathways (see, e.g., para.0029, para.0039, para.0042).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun (US 20230369230) in view of Li (US 20210347682) and further in view of Cornejo (US 20120048604).
Regarding Claim 3, Sun, in view of Li, shows the microelectronic assembly of claim 1,
Sun, in view of Li, however, fails to show
wherein the ions of the first and second regions include ions of
nitrogen, hydrogen, helium, copper, nickel, gold, silver, titanium, oxygen, carbon, boron, phosphorus, arsenic, gallium, or argon, and combinations thereof.
Cornejo (see, e.g., para.0042), in a similar device to Sun, in view of Li, teaches that silver or copper would be suitable ions for ion exchange and strengthening the glass substrate.
It would have been obvious at the time of filing the invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the silver or copper ions of Cornejo in the device of Sun, in view of Li, as suitable ions for ion exchange and strengthening the glass substrate.
Regarding Claim 8, Sun (see, e.g., fig. 2, annotated figure 2) shows a microelectronic assembly, comprising:
a core 110 (see, e.g., para.0030) made of bulk glass (see, e.g., para.0153)
and having a first surface and an opposing second surface (see, e.g., annotated figure 2),
the core including:
a through-glass via (TGV) 112b (see, e.g., para.0030);
a first dielectric 120 (see, e.g., para.0045) with a first conductive pathway 122 (see, e.g., para.0045) at the first surface of the core,
wherein the first conductive pathway in the first dielectric is conductively coupled to the TGV 115 (see, e.g., para.0029, para.0039, para.0042);
a second dielectric 140 (see, e.g., para.0045) with a second conductive pathway 142 (see, e.g., para.0045) at the second surface of the core,
wherein the second conductive pathway in the second dielectric is conductively coupled to the TGV to 142 (see, e.g., para.0029, para.0039, para.0042);
and a die 103 (see, e.g., para.0029) conductively coupled to the second conductive pathway by an interconnect 130 (see, e.g., para.0029).
Sun, however, fails to show
a first region within the bulk glass having a first concentration of ions extending from the respective first and second surfaces of the core to a first depth;
and a second region within the bulk glass having a second concentration of ions different than the first concentration of ions,
the second region between the first region and the respective first and second surfaces of the core and between the first region;
Li (see, e.g., para.0003, para.0023, para.0072), in a similar device to Sun, teaches that a glass substrate with a concentration of ions via ion exchange treatment would strengthen the glass substrate and increase its compressive stress and thermal expansion coefficient.
It would have been obvious at the time of filing the invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the glass substrate with a concentration of ions via ion exchange treatment of Li in the device of Sun to strengthen the glass substrate and increase its compressive stress and thermal expansion coefficient.
Li (see, e.g., fig. 1) shows the relationship between the depth of the substrate and its compressive stress, otherwise known as the concentration of ions. The concentration of ions is greater at a surface of the substrate, where depth is 0 µm, and is lower at a point within the substrate, where depth is ~ 40 µm.
Therefore, the first and second regions within the bulk glass 110 have different concentrations of ions where the second region (near the surface) has a greater concentration of ions than the first region (near depth 40 µm). See, annotated figure 2 for further detail.
Thus, Sun, in view of Li, shows the limitations
a first region within the bulk glass 110 having a first concentration of ions extending from respective first and second surfaces of the core to a first depth 40 µm (see, e.g., Li, fig. 1);
and a second region within the bulk glass 110 (see, e.g., annotated figure 2) having a second concentration of ions different than the first concentration of ions,
the second region between the first region and the respective first and second surfaces of the core (see, e.g., annotated figure 2);
Regarding Claim 9, Sun, in view of Li (see, e.g., fig. 1, annotated figure 2), shows the microelectronic assembly of claim 8,
wherein the first depth is between 2 nanometers and 50 microns (40 µm).
Regarding Claim 11, Sun, in view of Li (see, e.g., para.0126), shows the microelectronic assembly of claim 8,
wherein the ions of the first and second regions include ions of sodium, potassium, or silver, and combinations thereof.
Regarding Claim 13, Sun (see, e.g., fig. 2), in view of Li, shows the microelectronic assembly of claim 8, further comprising:
a circuit board 108 (see, e.g., para.0036) conductively coupled to the first conductive pathway in the first dielectric at the first surface of the core (see, e.g., para.0108).
Regarding Claim 14, Sun (see, e.g., fig. 2, annotated figure 2) shows a microelectronic assembly, comprising:
a core 110 (see, e.g., para.0030) made of bulk glass (see, e.g., para.0153) and having a first surface and an opposing second surface (see, e.g., annotated figure 2), the core including:
a through-glass via (TGV) 112b (see, e.g., para.0030);
a dielectric 140 (see, e.g., para.0045) with a conductive pathway 142 (see, e.g., para.0045) at the second surface of the core,
wherein the conductive pathway in the dielectric is conductively coupled to the TGV (see, e.g., para.0029, para.0039, para.0042);
and a die 103 conductively coupled to the conductive pathway by an interconnect 130 (see, e.g., para.0029, para.0042).
Sun, however, fails to show
a first region within the bulk glass having a first concentration of ions extending from the respective first and second surfaces of the core to a first depth;
and a second region within the bulk glass having a second concentration of ions different than the first concentration of ions,
the second region between the first region and the respective first and second surfaces of the core;
Li (see, e.g., para.0003, para.0023, para.0072), in a similar device to Sun, teaches that a glass substrate with a concentration of ions via ion exchange treatment would strengthen the glass substrate and increase its compressive stress and thermal expansion coefficient.
It would have been obvious at the time of filing the invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the glass substrate with a concentration of ions via ion exchange treatment of Li in the device of Sun to strengthen the glass substrate and increase its compressive stress and thermal expansion coefficient.
Li (see, e.g., fig. 1) shows the relationship between the depth of the substrate and its compressive stress, otherwise known as the concentration of ions. The concentration of ions is greater at a surface of the substrate, where depth is 0 µm, and is lower at a point within the substrate, where depth is ~ 40 µm.
Therefore, the first and second regions within the bulk glass 110 have different concentrations of ions where the second region (near the surface) has a greater concentration of ions than the first region (near depth 40 µm). See, annotated figure 2 for further detail.
Thus, Sun, in view of Li, shows the limitations
a first region within the bulk glass 110 having a first concentration of ions extending from respective first and second surfaces of the core to a first depth 40 µm (see, e.g., Li, fig. 1);
and a second region within the bulk glass 110 (see, e.g., annotated figure 2) having a second concentration of ions different than the first concentration of ions,
the second region between the first region and the respective first and second surfaces of the core (see, e.g., annotated figure 2);
Regarding Claim 15, Sun, in view of Li (see, e.g., fig. 1, annotated figure 2), shows the microelectronic assembly of claim 14,
wherein the second concentration of ions greater than the first concentration of ions.
Regarding Claim 17, Sun, in view of Li (see, e.g., fig. 1, annotated figure 2), shows the microelectronic assembly of claim 14,
wherein the first depth is between 2 nanometers and 50 microns (40 µm).
Regarding Claim 20, Sun (see, e.g., fig. 2), in view of Li, shows the microelectronic assembly of claim 14,
further comprising: an insulating material 106 (see, e.g., para.0029) surrounding the die.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun (US 20230369230) in view of Li (US 20210347682) and further in view of Cornejo (US 20120048604).
Regarding Claim 16, Sun, in view of Li, shows the microelectronic assembly of claim 14,
Sun, in view of Li, however, fails to show
wherein the ions of the first and second regions include ions of
nitrogen, hydrogen, helium, copper, nickel, gold, silver, titanium, oxygen, carbon, boron, phosphorus, arsenic, gallium, or argon, and combinations thereof.
Cornejo (see, e.g., para.0042), in a similar device to Sun, in view of Li, teaches that silver or copper would be suitable ions for ion exchange and strengthening the glass substrate.
It would have been obvious at the time of filing the invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the silver or copper ions of Cornejo in the device of Sun, in view of Li, as suitable ions for ion exchange and strengthening the glass substrate.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 12/10/2025 with respect to claim(s) 1, 8, & 14 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action.
/F.R.D./ Examiner, Art Unit 2814
Examiner, Art Unit 2814
/WAEL M FAHMY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2814