DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
1. Applicant's amendment of claim 1 in “Claims - 07/19/2025” with “Amendment/Req. Reconsideration-After Non-Final Reject - 07/19/2025”, have been acknowledged by Examiner.
This office action considers claims 1-10 pending for prosecution.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Notes: when present, semicolon separated fields within the parenthesis (; ;) represent, for example, as (30A; Fig 2B; [0128]) = (element 30A; Figure No. 2B; Paragraph No. [0128]). For brevity, the texts “Element”, “Figure No.” and “Paragraph No.” shall be excluded, though; additional clarification notes may be added within each field. The number of fields may be fewer or more than three indicated above. These conventions are used throughout this document.
2. Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being unpatentable over Jones et al. (US 20130105961 A1; hereinafter Jones), in view of Schaffer et al. (US 7301235 B2; hereinafter Schaffer).
Regarding claim 1, Jones teaches a package structure (see the entire document, specifically Fig. 1+; [0009+], and as cited below), comprising:
a first carrier (110; Fig. 3 in view of Figs. 1, 2; [0015, 0020-0021]), (see below for “electrically connected to a first voltage”);
As noted above, Jones does not expressly disclose “a first carrier, electrically connected to a first voltage”.
However, in the analogous art, Schaffer teaches a semiconductor device ([Title]), wherein (Fig. 1+; C1 L15+) there is a lead frame (20; Fig. 4; C4 L9-12) with a pathway to conduct the output voltage V.sub.1 to the lead frame (20; Fig. 4; C4 L9-12), where the lead frame (20; Fig. 4; C4 L9-12) is a single lead frame (C5 L9-12), where a capacitor (11; C5 L4-12) is placed on the lead frame (20; Fig. 4; C4 L9-12, C5 L9-12), and appropriate traces patterned in the lead frame (20; Fig. 4; C4 L9-12, C5 L9-12) to connect the capacitor (11; C5 L4-12) and inductor, where the addition of the inductor and capacitor (11; C5 L4-12) to lead frame (20; Fig. 4; C4 L9-12, C5 L9-12) would complete the implementation of the converter circuit shown in FIG. 2 on a single lead frame.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate Schaffer’s lead frame and voltage connection into Jones’ device, and thereby, modified Jones’ (by Schaffer) device will have a first carrier (Jones 110; Fig. 3 in view of Figs. 1, 2; [0015, 0020-0021] in view of Schaffer 20; Fig. 4; C4 L9-12, C5 L9-12), electrically connected to a first voltage (in view of Schaffer 20; Fig. 4; C4 L9-12, C5 L9-12, where the lead frame is connected to a voltage).
The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Jones in the manner set forth above, at least, because this inclusion provides a single lead frame, where output voltage is connected to the lead frame and provides a converter circuit on a single lead frame (Schaffer C4 L9-12, C5 L9-12), which provides for an additional power voltage for the device to help increase the functionality of the converter circuit and device.
Modified Jones’ (by Schaffer)
a second carrier (Jones {212, 208, 204, 206, 202}; Fig. 3 [0020-0022]; left side of Fig. 3), comprising:
a first substrate (Jones {212}; Fig. 3 [0020-0022]), in contact with the first carrier (Jones 110; Fig. 3 in view of Figs. 1, 2; [0015, 0020-0021] in view of Schaffer 20; Fig. 4; C4 L9-12); and
a first interconnect structure (Jones {206}; Fig. 3 [0020-0022]), electrically connected to a second voltage (see [0014-0022]; where layer 206 is connected to power terminals 104/106), wherein the first interconnect structure ({206}; Fig. 3 [0020-0022]) and the first carrier (Jones 110; Fig. 3 in view of Figs. 1, 2; [0015, 0020-0021] in view of Schaffer 20; Fig. 4; C4 L9-12) are located on two opposite sides of the first substrate ({212}; Fig. 3 [0020-0022]); and
a first electronic device (Jones {202}; Fig. 3 [0020-0022]), deposited on the first interconnect structure (Jones {206}; Fig. 3 [0020-0022]) and away from the first carrier (Jones 110; Fig. 3 in view of Figs. 1, 2; [0015, 0020-0021] in view of Schaffer 20; Fig. 4; C4 L9-12), wherein the first electronic device ({202}; Fig. 3 [0020-0022]) and the first interconnect structure (Jones {206}; Fig. 3 [0020-0022]) are in contact with each other;
wherein the first carrier (Jones 110; Fig. 3 in view of Figs. 1, 2; [0015, 0020-0021] in view of Schaffer 20; Fig. 4; C4 L9-12, C5 L9-12) is a lead frame (Jones 110; Fig. 3 in view of Figs. 1, 2; [0015, 0020-0021] in view of Schaffer 20; Fig. 4; C4 L9-12, C5 L9-12) with integrity
Regarding claim 2, modified Jones (by Schaffer) teaches all of the features of claim 1.
Jones further teaches wherein the second carrier ({212, 208, 204, 206, 202}; Fig. 3 [0020-0022]) further comprises: a first insulating layer ({204}; Fig. 3 [0020-0022]), deposited between the first substrate ({212}; Fig. 3 [0020-0022]) and the first interconnect structure ({206}; Fig. 3 [0020-0022]), wherein the thickness of the insulating layer ({204}; Fig. 3 [0020-0022]) is determined according to a voltage difference of the first voltage and the second voltage.
It is the Examiner’s position that the limitation of " wherein the thickness of the insulating layer is determined according to a voltage difference of the first voltage and the second voltage” is a functional limitation of the apparatus claimed. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477-78, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431- 32 (Fed. Cir. 1997); see also In re Swinehart, 439 F.2d 210, 212-13, 169 USPQ 226, 228-29 (CCPA 1971); In re Danly, 263 F.2d 844, 847, 120 USPQ 528, 531 (CCPA 1959); MPEP 2114. Furthermore, because the device of Jones has all of the structural limitations of the claimed invention the device is capable of operating in the manner claimed by the applicant. A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987).
Regarding claim 3, modified Jones (by Schaffer) teaches all of the features of claim 1.
Jones further teaches wherein an electronic component (see Fig. 3; [0020] in view [0018]) of is formed in the second carrier ({212, 208, 204, 206, 202}; Fig. 3 [0020-0022]), and the electronic component comprises a resistance component or an inductance component (see Fig. 3; [0020] in view [0018]; inductance component).
Regarding claim 4, modified Jones (by Schaffer) teaches all of the features of claim 1.
Modified Jones (by Schaffer) further teaches wherein a capacitance component (in view of Schaffer 11; C5 L4-12) is formed between the first interconnect structure (Jones {206}; Fig. 3 [0020-0022]) and the first substrate (Jones {212}; Fig. 3 [0020-0022]).
Regarding claim 5, modified Jones (by Schaffer) teaches all of the features of claim 1.
Jones further teaches wherein the second carrier ({212, 208, 204, 206, 202}; Fig. 3 [0020-0022]) further comprises a second interconnect structure ({206}; Fig. 3 [0020-0022]; see left side of Fig. 3, and in the middle of the left side Fig. 3) deposited on the first substrate ({212}; Fig. 3 [0020-0022]), wherein the second interconnect structure({206}; Fig. 3 [0020-0022]) and the first carrier (110; Fig. 3 in view of Figs. 1, 2; [0015, 0020-0021]) are located on two opposite sides of the first substrate ({212}; Fig. 3 [0020-0022]), and the first interconnect structure ({206}; Fig. 3 [0020-0022]; see left side of Fig. 3, and on the right side of Fig. 3) and the second interconnect structure ({206}; Fig. 3 [0020-0022]; see left side of Fig. 3, and in the middle of the left side Fig. 3) are electrically isolated from each other.
Regarding claim 6, modified Jones (by Schaffer) teaches all of the features of claim 5.
Jones further teaches
wherein a first pad (Fig. 3; [0022]) on the first electronic device ({202}; Fig. 3 [0020-0022]) is electrically connected to the second interconnect structure ({206}; Fig. 3 [0020-0022]; see left side of Fig. 3, and in the middle of the left side Fig. 3) through a first metal wire ({214}; Fig. 3; [0022]),
wherein the package structure further comprises: a third carrier ({212, 208, 204, 206, 202}; Fig. 3 [0020-0022]; right side of Fig. 3), comprising: a second substrate ({212}; Fig. 3 [0020-0022]; right side of Fig. 3), in contact with the first carrier ({212, 208, 204, 206, 202}; Fig. 3 [0020-0022]; left side of Fig. 3);
a third interconnect structure ({206}; Fig. 3 [0020-0022]; right side of Fig. 3), electrically connected to a third voltage (see [0014-0022]; where layer 206 is connected to power terminals 104/106) and formed on the second substrate ({212}; Fig. 3 [0020-0022]; right side of Fig. 3),
wherein the third interconnect structure ({206}; Fig. 3 [0020-0022]; right side of Fig. 3) and the first carrier (110; Fig. 3 in view of Figs. 1, 2; [0015, 0020-0021]) are located on two opposite sides of the second substrate ({212}; Fig. 3 [0020-0022]; right side of Fig. 3); and
a fourth interconnect structure ({208}; Fig. 3 [0020-0022]; see right side of Fig. 3), formed on the second substrate ({212}; Fig. 3 [0020-0022]; right side of Fig. 3), wherein the fourth interconnect structure ({208}; Fig. 3 [0020-0022]; see right side of Fig. 3) and the third interconnect structure ({206}; Fig. 3 [0020-0022]; right side of Fig. 3) are located on two opposite sides of the second substrate ({212}; Fig. 3 [0020-0022]; right side of Fig. 3),
wherein the fourth interconnect structure ({208}; Fig. 3 [0020-0022]; see right side of Fig. 3) and the third interconnect structure ({206}; Fig. 3 [0020-0022]; right side of Fig. 3) are electrically isolated from each other; and
a second electronic device ({202}; Fig. 3 [0020-0022]; right side of Fig. 3), deposited on the third interconnect structure ({206}; Fig. 3 [0020-0022]; right side of Fig. 3) and in contact with the third interconnect structure ({206}; Fig. 3 [0020-0022]; right side of Fig. 3),
wherein a second pad of the second electronic device ({202}; Fig. 3 [0020-0022]; right side of Fig. 3) is electrically connected to the first pad (see [0022], where conductive plates 218 connect dies 202 to each other).
Regarding claim 7, modified Jones (by Schaffer) teaches all of the features of claim 6.
Jones further teaches wherein the second pad ({202}; Fig. 3 [0020-0022]; right side of Fig. 3) is electrically connected to the fourth interconnect structure ({206}; Fig. 3 [0020-0022]; see right side of Fig. 3, middle of Fig. 3 on the right side) through a second metal wire ({214}; Fig. 3; [0022])., and the fourth interconnect structure ({206}; Fig. 3 [0020-0022]; see right side of Fig. 3, middle of Fig. 3 on the right side) is electrically connected to the second interconnect structure through a third metal wire. ({214}; Fig. 3; [0022]).
Regarding claim 8, modified Jones (by Schaffer) teaches all of the features of claim 6.
Jones further teaches wherein the second pad (see [0022], where conductive plates 218 connect dies 202 to each other) is electrically connected to the second interconnect structure ({206}; Fig. 3 [0020-0022]; see left side of Fig. 3, and in the middle of the left side Fig. 3) through a second metal wire ({214}; Fig. 3; [0022]).
Regarding claim 9, modified Jones (by Schaffer) teaches all of the features of claim 6.
Jones further teaches wherein
the third carrier ({212, 208, 204, 206, 202}; Fig. 3 [0020-0022]; right side of Fig. 3) further comprises:
a second insulating layer ({204}; Fig. 3 [0020-0022]; right side of Fig. 3), deposited between the second substrate ({212}; Fig. 3 [0020-0022]; right side of Fig. 3) and the third interconnect structure ({206}; Fig. 3 [0020-0022]; right side of Fig. 3) and deposited between the second substrate ({212}; Fig. 3 [0020-0022]; right side of Fig. 3) and the fourth interconnect structure ({208}; Fig. 3 [0020-0022]; right side of Fig. 3),
wherein a thickness of the second insulating layer ({204}; Fig. 3 [0020-0022]; right side of Fig. 3) is determined according to a voltage difference of the first voltage and the third voltage and/or a voltage difference of the first carrier (110; Fig. 3 in view of Figs. 1, 2; [0015, 0020-0021]) and the fourth interconnect structure ({208}; Fig. 3 [0020-0022]; right side of Fig. 3).
It is the Examiner’s position that the limitation of "wherein a thickness of the second insulating layer is determined according to a voltage difference of the first voltage and the third voltage and/or a voltage difference of the first carrier and the fourth interconnect structure” is a functional limitation of the apparatus claimed. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477-78, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431- 32 (Fed. Cir. 1997); see also In re Swinehart, 439 F.2d 210, 212-13, 169 USPQ 226, 228-29 (CCPA 1971); In re Danly, 263 F.2d 844, 847, 120 USPQ 528, 531 (CCPA 1959); MPEP 2114. Furthermore, because the device of Jones has all of the structural limitations of the claimed invention the device is capable of operating in the manner claimed by the applicant. A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987).
Regarding claim 10, modified Jones (by Schaffer) teaches all of the features of claim 6.
Jones further teaches wherein the first substrate ({212}; Fig. 3 [0020-0022]; left side of Fig. 3) and the second substrate ({212}; Fig. 3 [0020-0022]; right side of Fig. 3) are in contact with each other to form a third substrate (see [0022], where conductive plates 218 connect dies 202 to each other), wherein the third substrate is a semiconductor substrate (see Fig. 3).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed in the “Applicant Arguments/Remarks Made in an Amendment” on 07/19/2025 have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive, because of the following: the Applicant's amendment of claim 1 necessitated the shift in new grounds of rejection detailed in sections above. The shift in grounds of rejection renders the Applicant's arguments moot.
Please see the analysis of rejection for claims above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/OMAR F MOJADDEDI/Examiner, Art Unit 2898