DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 5-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jong et al. (KR 2020-0081771) (hereafter “Jong”), where a machine translation is used as the English equivalent.
Regarding claims 1 and 5-7, Jong teaches an electroluminescent device comprising an anode, a hole transporting layer, a light emitting layer, an electron transporting layer, and a cathode (page 61 of the machine translation). Jong teaches that the light emitting layer can comprise the following compound,
, which meets applicant’s formula 1-1, where R1, R2, and R3 are hydrogen atoms, L-1 and L2 are direct bonds, Ar1 meets applicant’s formula 2-1, and Ar2 is a phenyl group (page 24 of the machine translation). X meets applicant’s formula
Regarding claims 8-10, the claims do not require the compound to comprise formula 3, 4, or 5, so the compound of Jong reads on the applicant’s claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 10, and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dong et al. (CN11170874) (hereafter “Dong”), where a machine translation is used as the English equivalent.
Regarding claims 1-6, 10, and 11, Dong teaches an electroluminescent device comprising an anode, a hole injection layer, a hole transporting layer, a second hole transporting layer (or electron blocking layer), a light emitting layer, an electron transporting layer, and a cathode (page 32 of the machine translation). Dong teaches that the host most of the light emitting layer have the following structure,
(page 32 of the machine translation). Dong teaches the second hole transporting layer (or electron blocking layer) comprises a compound that meets the following formula,
, where m can be 0, a can be 0, Ar1 can be an aryl or heteroaryl group, and Ar2 is a group represented by
(pages 2 and 3 of the machine translation). Dong teaches the following compounds that meet the above formula,
,
, and
are few examples (pages 13-16 of the machine translation). Dong teaches that
as a substitute and equivalent for the benzocarbazole/carbazole groups in the compounds (pages 9-16 of the machine translation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the date of the claimed invention to substitute the carbazole and benzocarbazole group in
,
, or
with
. The substitution would have been one preferred group and equivalent with another preferred group and equivalent. One of ordinary skill in the art would expect the compound to act in a similar manner as the compounds of Dong.
Claim(s) 4 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jong et al. (KR 2020-0081771) (hereafter “Jong”), where a machine translation is used as the English equivalent, as applied to claims 1 and 5-10 above.
Regarding claims 4 and 12, Jong teaches the following compounds
,
, and
are a few examples (pages 22-30 of the machine translation). Jong teaches that
is a substitute for the carbazole groups and other benzocarbazole groups and teaches phenyl as a substitute for the groups attached at the N position on the carbazole/benzocarbazole groups (pages 22-30 of the machine translation). Jong teaches that these groups are equivalents to each other.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the carbazole or benzocarbazole groups in the compounds of Jong with
or substitute the aryl group attached to N atom of the carbazole/benzocarbazole with phenyl group. The substitution would have been preferred groups for other preferred groups and the Jong teaches that the groups are equivalent to each other. One of ordinary skill in the art would expect the compounds to act in a similar manner. The substitution would lead to compounds that meet applicant’s compounds A51 and D11.
Conclusion
/ANDREW K BOHATY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759