DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to amendment filed 12/15/2025.
Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 14-20 are new. Claims 1 and 3 have been amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claims 15 and 18 reciting “the opening aligned with the first electrode” renders the claims indefinite. It is unclear what constitutes “aligned”. Applicant’s disclosure describes opening in the bank 116 that exposes the first electrode 141. However, no specific “alignment” of the first electrode 141 and opening has been disclosure. The sidewall of the opening are not aligned with any edges of the first electrode 141. Therefore, it is unclear what is required for the opening to be aligned with the first electrode. Which part of the opening is aligned with which part of the electrode?
Other claims are rejected for depending on a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 9-14 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Luo et al. US 2023/0337464 A1 (Luo).
In re claim 1, Luo discloses (e.g. FIG. 3) a display device, comprising:
a substrate including a plurality of sub pixels (RGB subpixels, ¶ 97, FIG. 7);
a first electrode (e.g. “second anode”) on the substrate corresponding to each of the plurality of sub pixels;
a bank (“pixel defining layer”) on the first electrode (“second anode”) and including an opening, the first electrode (“second anode”) exposed through the opening;
a partition (“partition layer”) on the first electrode (“second anode”) in the opening;
a light emitting layer (“organic light emitting layer”) on the first electrode (“second anode”) and on the partition (“partition layer”), the light emitting layer being electrically disconnected from the first electrode at the location of the partition (organic light-emitting material is non continuous due to the structure of partition layer, ¶ 101); and
a second electrode (“cathode layer”) on the light emitting layer,
wherein the first electrode (“second anode”) is a continuous layer.
In re claim 2, Luo discloses (e.g. FIG. 3) wherein the second electrode (“cathode layer”) is electrically disconnected from the first electrode (“second anode”) by the partition in the opening.
In re claim 3, Luo discloses (e.g. FIG. 3) wherein the light emitting layer and the second electrode disposed at one side (e.g. left side) of the partition are spaced from the light emitting layer and the second electrode disposed at the other side (e.g. right side) of the partition (the organic light emitting layer and the cathode layer being discontinuous across partition).
In re claim 4, Luo discloses (e.g. FIG. 3) wherein each of the plurality of sub pixels includes at least one of an emission area in which the first electrode and the light emitting layer are in direct contact with each other,
wherein some of the plurality of sub pixels include a plurality of emission areas (see FIGs. 3 & 6, ¶ 106,124,127), and
wherein the plurality of emission areas of one of the plurality of sub pixels are separated from each other in the opening by the partition (see FIGs. 3 & 6).
In re claim 5, Luo discloses (e.g. FIG. 3) wherein the first electrode (“second anode”) and the light emitting layer (organic light emitting layer above partition layer) overlapping in an area corresponding to the partition are spaced apart from each other. The portion of organic light emitting layer above the partition layer is spaced apart from the second anode by the partition layer.
In re claim 9, Luo discloses (e.g. FIGs. 3, 6 & 7) wherein the plurality of sub pixels includes a red sub pixel, a green sub pixel, and a blue sub pixel (FIG. 7, ¶ 97), and
wherein the partition is disposed in at least one of the red sub pixel, the green sub pixel, and the blue sub pixel (see FIG. 3, ¶ 106).
In re claim 10, Luo discloses (e.g. FIG. 3) wherein the numbers of emission areas included in each of the red sub pixel, the green sub pixel, and the blue sub pixel are different from each other. No specific “emission areas” have been claimed to distinguish over select ones of the sub-subpixels taught by Luo. E.g. Luo teaches each subpixel include three sub-subpixels (¶ 106, FIG. 6, ¶ 124). In this example, one of the sub-subpixels of the red subpixel teaches the one emission area in the red subpixel, two of the sub-subpixels of the green subpixel teaches the two emission areas in the green subpixel, and three of the sub-subpixels of the blue subpixel teaches the three emission areas in the blue subpixels. As such, “the number of emission areas” included in each subpixels are different.
In re claim 11, Luo discloses (e.g. FIG. 3) wherein the numbers of emission areas included in some of the red sub pixel, the green sub pixel, and the blue sub pixel are the same. No specific “emission areas” have been claimed to distinguish over select ones of the sub-subpixels taught by Luo. E.g. Luo teaches each subpixel include three sub-subpixels (¶ 106, FIG. 6, ¶ 124). In this example, all three of the sub-subpixels of the red subpixel teaches the three emission areas in the red subpixel, and three of the sub-subpixels of the green subpixel teaches the three emission areas in the green subpixel. As such, “the number of emission areas” included in the red subpixel is the same as “the number of emission areas” included in the green subpixel.
In re claim 12, Luo discloses wherein a cross-section of the partition has an inverted trapezoidal shape (FIG. 3, ¶ 101).
In re claim 13, Luo discloses (e.g. FIG. 3 & 4a) wherein, in one of the plurality of sub pixels, the emission areas have different shapes and areas. Partition layer divides subpixels into different areas (¶ 98,108,111). The shape of the sub-subpixels having different area are therefore different in shape as different areas would not have the same exact form and contour.
In re claim 14, Luo discloses (e.g. FIG. 3) wherein the first electrode (“second anode”) is a single electrode.
In re claim 18, as best understood, Luo discloses (e.g. FIG. 3) a display device, comprising:
a substrate including a plurality of sub pixels (RGB subpixels, ¶ 97, FIG. 7);
a first electrode (e.g. “second anode”) on the substrate corresponding to the plurality of sub pixels;
a bank (“pixel defining layer”) on the first electrode (“second anode”) and including an opening, “the opening aligned with the first electrode” (as best understood, “second anode” being exposed by the opening);
a partition (“partition layer”) on the first electrode (“second anode”) in the opening;
a light emitting layer (“organic light emitting layer”) on the first electrode (“second anode”) and on the partition (“partition layer”); and
a second electrode (“cathode layer”) on the light emitting layer,
wherein the first electrode (“second anode”) is a single electrode.
In re claim 19, Luo discloses (e.g. FIG. 3) wherein the first electrode (“second anode”) is a continuous layer.
In re claim 20, Luo discloses (e.g. FIG. 3) wherein the bank has an inclined surface surrounding the opening (“pixel definition layer” has inclined surface as shown in FIG. 3), and the light emitting layer (“organic light emitting layer”) and the second electrode (“cathode layer”) are on the inclined surface.
Claims 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) or 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yoo at al. US 10,008555 B2 (Yoo cited in IDS filed 12/01/2022).
In re claim 15, as best understood, Yoo discloses (e.g. FIG. 4) a display device, comprising:
a substrate including a plurality of sub pixels (RGB subpixels, FIG. 3);
a first electrode 251 on the substrate corresponding to the plurality of sub pixels;
a bank 255 on the first electrode 251 and including an opening (opening defined by outer walls of the bank 255 corresponding roughly to the outer extent of the first electrode 251), “the opening aligned with the first electrode” 251 (as best understood, 251 being exposed by the opening);
a partition (portion of 255 in above center of electrode 251 between emission parts RE) on the first electrode 251 in the opening;
a light emitting layer 252 on the first electrode 251 and on the partition (portion of 255 above center of 251); and
a second electrode 253 on the light emitting layer 252,
wherein the first electrode 251 extends under an entirety of the partition (portion of 255 above center of 251).
In re claim 16, Yoo discloses (e.g. FIG. 4) wherein the first electrode 251 is a continuous layer or a single electrode.
In re claim 17, Yoo discloses (e.g. FIG. 4) wherein the bank has an inclined surface surrounding the opening (255 has inclined surface as shown in FIG. 4), and the light emitting layer 252 and the second electrode 253 are on the inclined surface.
In re claim 18, as best understood, Yoo discloses (e.g. FIG. 4) a display device, comprising:
a substrate including a plurality of sub pixels (RGB subpixels, FIG. 3);
a first electrode 251 on the substrate corresponding to the plurality of sub pixels;
a bank 255 on the first electrode 251 and including an opening (opening defined by outer walls of the bank 255 corresponding roughly to the outer extent of the first electrode 251), “the opening aligned with the first electrode” 251 (as best understood, 251 being exposed by the opening);
a partition (portion of 255 in above center of electrode 251 between emission parts RE) on the first electrode 251 in the opening;
a light emitting layer 252 on the first electrode 251 and on the partition (portion of 255 above center of 251); and
a second electrode 253 on the light emitting layer 252,
wherein the first electrode 251 is a single electrode.
In re claim 19, Yoo discloses (e.g. FIG. 4) wherein the first electrode 251 is a continuous layer or the first electrode 251 extends under an entirety of the partition (portion of 255 above center of 251).
In re claim 20, Yoo discloses (e.g. FIG. 4) wherein the bank has an inclined surface surrounding the opening (255 has inclined surface as shown in FIG. 4), and the light emitting layer 252 and the second electrode 253 are on the inclined surface.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luo as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Park et al. US 2014/0183479 A1 (Park).
In re claim 6, Luo discloses the claimed invention including the plurality of sub pixels includes a red sub pixel, a green sub pixel, and a blue sub pixel (FIG. 7, ¶ 97), and wherein the partition is disposed in at least one of the red sub pixel, the green sub pixel, and the blue sub pixel (see FIG. 3, ¶ 106).
Luo does not explicitly disclose the plurality of sub pixels also includes a white sub pixel.
However, Park teaches (¶ 42-43) a display device including a plurality of sub pixels for multicolored emission, wherein each pixel include a red sub pixel, a green sub pixel, and a blue sub pixel and further include a white sub pixel for reducing power consumption and improving luminance.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further include white sub pixels in Luo’s display to reduce power consumption and improve luminance as taught by Park.
In re claim 7, Luo further teaches each sub pixel may include three sub-subpixels (¶ 106,124) or even more sub-subpixels (¶ 127). For example, it would be obvious include four sub-subpixels in each subpixels. Furthermore, similar to rejection of claim 10 above, no specific “emission areas” have been claimed to distinguish over select ones of the sub-subpixels taught by Luo. In this example, one of the sub-subpixels of the red subpixel teaches the one emission area in the red subpixel, two of the sub-subpixels of the green subpixel teaches the two emission areas in the green subpixel, three of the sub-subpixels of the blue subpixel teaches the three emission areas in the blue subpixels, and four of the sub-subpixels of the white subpixel (as taught by Park) teaches the four emission areas in the white subpixels. As such, “the number of emission areas” included in each subpixels are different.
In re claim 8, Luo discloses (e.g. FIG. 3) wherein the numbers of emission areas included in some of the red sub pixel, the green sub pixel, the blue sub pixel, and white sub pixel are the same. No specific “emission areas” have been claimed to distinguish over select ones of the sub-subpixels taught by Luo. E.g. Luo teaches each subpixel include three sub-subpixels (¶ 106, FIG. 6, ¶ 124). In this example, all three of the sub-subpixels of the red subpixel teaches the three emission areas in the red subpixel, and three of the sub-subpixels of the green subpixel teaches the three emission areas in the green subpixel. As such, “the number of emission areas” included in the red subpixel is the same as “the number of emission areas” included in the green subpixel.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/15/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claims rejected over Luo, Applicant argues Luo teaches spacing between the first anode and the second anode, and fails to teach the first electrode is a continuous layer (Remark, pages 6-7).
This is not persuasive. No specific “first electrode” has been claimed that would structurally distinguish over only the “second anode” as taught by Luo. I.e. the “second anode” alone teaches the claimed “first electrode”. The “second anode” is a continuous layer in itself.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YU CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896
YU CHEN
Examiner
Art Unit 2896