Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. KR 2021-0173062, filed on 12/06/2021.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Dependent claim 12 recites compounds 11, 26, 32, 42, 45, 48, 63, 79, 148, 150, 165 which do not read on Applicants’ Formula 1 of independent claim 1 which claim 12 depends on since they do not have a spirobifluorene core. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 12 recites compounds 11, 26, 32, 42, 45, 48, 63, 79, 148, 150, 165 which seem to be missing a bond in the spirobifluorene core. They will be interpreted as having that bond. For example, take Compound 11 (shown below).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1–4, 8, 10, 13, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cheng et al. (CN 110003020, provided within Applicants' IDS dated 09/10/2025 hereafter Cheng).
Regarding Claims 1 and 20, Cheng teaches an OLED device comprising an anode, a hole injection layer, a hole transport layer comprising Compound I-20-2 in embodiment 1, an emissive layer, an electron transport layer, an electron injection layer, and a cathode [pg. 22, (1) – (6)]. Compound I-20-2 reads on Applicants’ Formula 1 (shown below),
wherein:
Ar1 is an unsubstituted C13 aryl group (fluorene), Ar2 is an unsubstituted C12 aryl group (biphenyl), Ar3 is a C6 aryl group (phenyl) substituted with one R10a (F), Ar4 is a C12 aryl group (biphenyl) substituted with one R10a (C1 alkyl group, methyl),
R1 is a C1 alkyl group (methyl), R2–R4 are each hydrogen,
a is 1, b is 4, c is 4, d is 3.
Regarding Claim 2, Applicants’ specification teaches that the electron transport region may have an electron transport layer/electron injection layer structure or a hole blocking layer/electron transport layer/electron injection layer structure [00233]. Cheng teaches an OLED device comprising an anode, a hole injection layer, a hole transport layer comprising Compound I-20-2 in embodiment 1, an emissive layer, an electron transport layer, an electron injection layer, and a cathode [pg. 22, (1) – (6)]. This reads on the Applicant’s limitation since it includes a cathode, and the combination of an electron transport layer and an electron injection layer.
Regarding Claim 3, Applicants’ specification teaches that the hole transport region may have a multi-layered structure including a hole injection layer/hole transport layer structure … or a hole injection layer/hole transport layer/electron blocking layer structure [00103]. Cheng teaches an OLED device comprising an anode, a hole injection layer, a hole transport layer comprising Compound I-20-2 in embodiment 1, an emissive layer, an electron transport layer, an electron injection layer, and a cathode [pg. 22, (1) – (6)]. This reads on Applicants’ limitation since it includes a cathode, and the combination of a hole transport layer and a hole injection layer.
Regarding Claim 4, an OLED device, as described above, including Compound I-20-2 reads on Applicants’ limitation since NAr1Ar2 and R1 (methyl) are adjacent to each other.
Regarding Claim 8, an OLED device, as described above, including Compound I-20-2 reads on Applicants’ limitation since Compound I-20-2 reads on Applicants’ Formula 4-2 (shown below), wherein R1–R4, a–d, Ar1–Ar4 are the same as those described above.
Regarding Claim 10, an OLED device, as described above, including Compound I-20-2 reads on Applicants’ limitation since Ar1 is represented by Applicants’ Formula 6-3 (shown below) wherein H1 is CR22R23 and R13, R14, R22, R23 are each hydrogen, a13 is 3, a14 is 4; Ar2 is represented by Applicants’ Formula 6-1 (shown below) wherein R11 is a C6 aryl group (phenyl) and a11 is 1; Ar3 is represented by Applicants’ Formula 6-1 wherein R11 is a F and a11 is 1; Ar4 is represented by Applicants’ Formula 6-1 wherein R11 is a C7 aryl group (tolyl) and a11 is 1.
Regarding Claim 13, an OLED device, as described above, comprises Compound I-20-2 in the hole transport layer which reads on Applicants’ limitation.
Claims 1, 9, 10, 13, 15, 16, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Parham et al. (Pub. No.: US 2012/0126179 A1, provided within Applicants' IDS dated 09/10/2025, hereafter Parham).
Regarding Claims 1 and 20, Parham teaches an OLED device that comprises an anode, a cathode, and at least one emitting layer, where at least one layer, which can be a hole transport layer or hole injection layer, an emitting layer, an electron transport layer, or another layer, comprises at least one compound of the formulae I to III [0044]. Parham further teaches formula III, exemplified by Compound 16, which reads on Applicants’ Formula 1 (shown below),
wherein:
Ar1–Ar4 are each a C6 aryl group substituted with two R10a C1 alkyl groups (methyl),
R1 and R4 are each a C1 alkoxy group (methoxy), while R2 and R3 are each hydrogen,
a and d are 1, while b and c are 4.
Regarding Claim 9, an OLED device, as described above, including Compound 16 reads on Applicants’ limitation since Compound 16 reads on Applicants’ Formula 5-3 (shown below).
Regarding Claim 10, an OLED device, as described above, including Compound 16 reads on Applicants’ limitation since Ar1–Ar4 or Compound 16 are each represented by Applicants Formula 6-1 (shown below), wherein R11 is a C1 alkyl group (methyl) and a11 is 2.
Regarding Claim 13, Parham teaches that the compounds of Formulae I to III may be employed as hole transport material in a hole transport layer [0048]. Additionally, Perham teaches that in one embodiment there is a combination that looks as follows: anode–hexaazatriphenylene derivative–hole transport layer, where the hole transport layer comprises one or more compounds of formulae I to III.
Regarding Claims 15 and 16, Parhan teaches that in order to protect the cathode, in particular, against air and atmospheric moisture, the device is finally encapsulated and then characterized [0099].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1–5, 9–11, 13–16, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parham et al. (Pub. No.: US 2012/0126179 A1).
Regarding Claim 1 and 20, Parham teaches an OLED device that comprises an anode, a cathode, and at least one emitting layer, where at least one layer, which can be a hole transport layer or hole injection layer, an emitting layer, an electron transport layer, or another layer, comprises at least one compound of the formulae I to III [0044]. Parham further teaches formula III, exemplified by Compound 13, which reads on Applicants’ Formula 1 (shown below),
wherein:
Ar1–Ar4 are each an unsubstituted C6 aryl group (phenyl),
R1 to R4 are each hydrogen,
a and d are 3, while b and c are 4.
However, Applicants’ Formula 1 requires that a case in which each of R1 and R4 is hydrogen or deuterium is excluded. Therefore, Compound 13 does not read on Applicants’ Formula 1 of claims 1 and 20.
Compound 13 can be modified based on the teachings of Parham to read on Applicants’ Formula 1. Compound 13 is an exemplified compound from Parham’s Formula I (shown below), wherein R is NAr2, R1 is hydrogen, and Ar is an aromatic ring system with 6 aromatic ring atoms (phenyl).
Parham allows R1 to be a straight-chain alkyl having 1 to 40 C atoms [0015]. For example, Parham teaches Compound 5 [pg. 5] where R1 is a straight chain alkyl having 3 C atoms.
A modified Compound 13 where R1 is represented at each position by a straight-chain alkyl having 3 C atoms, similarly to Compound 5, would read on Applicants’ Formula 1.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Compound 13 with a straight-chain alkyl having 3 atoms, because it would have been choosing from the groups Parham teaches [0015], which would have been a choice from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions of a compound useful as the hole conductive material in the hole transport layer of the OLED device of Parham and possessing the quantum efficiency, stability, and lower voltage benefits taught by Parham [0068]. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to produce additional compounds represented by/devices comprising Formula I having the benefits taught by Parham in order to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143.I.(E).
An OLED device, as described above, including modified Compound 13 reads on Applicants’ claims 1 and 20 since modified Compound 13 reads on Applicants’ Formula 1 (shown below),
wherein:
Ar1–Ar4 are each an unsubstituted C6 aryl group (phenyl),
R1 to R4 are each an unsubstituted C3 alkyl group,
a, b, c, and d are each 2.
Regarding Claims 2 and 3, Applicants’ specification recites that the electron transport region may have an electron transport layer/electron injection layer structure or a hole blocking layer/electron transport layer/electron injection layer structure [00233].
Parham teaches OLED device examples 8 to 12 represented by Figure 1 comprising an ITO anode, a PDOT buffer layer (hole injection layer), an interlayer (hole transport layer), an emissive layer, and a Ba/Al cathode [0091] – [0096].
However, this OLED device structure does not include an electron transport layer and an electron injection layer. It also does not include a compound of formula 1, like modified Compound 13, in the hole transport layer.
Parham further teaches an OLED device that comprises an anode, a cathode, and at least one emitting layer, where at least one layer, which can be a hole transport layer or hole injection layer, an emitting layer, an electron transport layer, or another layer, comprises at least one compound of the formulae I to III [0044]. Apart from the cathode, anode and emitting layer, the organic electroluminescent device may also comprise further layers. These can be, for example: hole-injection layer, hole-transport layer, electron-blocking layer, exciton blocking layer, hole-blocking layer, electron-transport layer, electron-injection layer, organic or inorganic PN junctions and/or charge-generation layer [0046].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to have an OLED comprising an anode, a hole injection layer, a hole transport layer including modified Compound 13, a light-emitting layer, an electron transport layer, an electron injection layer and a cathode, as it would have been a choice of a finite number of identified, predictable solutions taught by Parham [0046]. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to optimize the OLED composition with a reasonable expectation of success based on the quantum efficiency, and lower voltage benefits taught by Parham [0068]. See MPEP 2143.I.(E).
The OLED composition described above would read on the Applicant’s limitations of claim 2 and 3 because it includes the combination of an electron transport layer/electron injection layer and the combination of a hole injection layer/hole transport layer.
Regarding Claims 4 and 5, an OLED device, as described above, including modified Compound 13 reads on Applicants’ limitation since NAr1Ar2 and R1 are adjacent to each other and NAr3Ar4 and R4 are adjacent to each other in modified Compound 13.
Regarding Claim 9, an OLED device, as described above, including modified Compound 13 reads on Applicants’ limitation since modified Compound 13 reads on Applicants’ Formula 5-3 (shown below).
Regarding Claim 10, an OLED device, as described above, including modified Compound 13 reads on Applicants’ limitation since Ar1–Ar4 in modified Compound 13 are each represented by Formula 6-1 (shown below), wherein R11 is hydrogen and a11 is 5.
Regarding Claim 11, an OLED device, as described above, including modified Compound 13 reads on Applicants’ limitation since R1–R4 in modified Compound 13 are each represented by a C3 alkyl group.
Regarding Claim 13, an OLED device, as described above, including modified Compound 13 reads on Applicants’ limitation since Compound 13 is within the hole transport layer.
Regarding Claim 14, Parham teaches green triplet devices [0112], which emit green light by the green phosphorescent compound TEG [pg. 20].
However, Parham does not teach a device that uses a blue emitting phosphorescent compound.
Parham teaches that the phosphorescent compound can be compounds that emit light throughout the visible spectrum, in particular red, orange, yellow, green, or blue light [0052].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to have an OLED comprising modified Compound 13 emit blue light by a blue phosphorescent compound, as it would have been a choice of a finite number of identified, predictable solutions. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use an OLED that emits blue light with a reasonable expectation of success based on the high triplet energy of modified Compound 13 making them suitable for use in blue electroluminescent devices as taught by Parham [0072]. See MPEP 2143.I.(E).
Regarding Claims 15 and 16, Parham teaches that in order to protect the cathode, in particular, against air and atmospheric moisture, the device is finally encapsulated and then characterized [0099].
Claims 15–19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parham et al. (US 2012/0126179 A1) as applied to claims 1–5, 9–11, 13–16, 20 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (Pub. No.: US 2015/0185942 A1, hereafter Kim).
Regarding Claims 17 and 18, Parham teaches an electronic device which is preferably selected from the group consisting of organic electroluminescent devices (OLEDs), organic field-effect transistors (O-FETs), organic thin-film transistors (O-TFTs), organic light-emitting transistors (O-LETs) … [0043].
However, Parham does not teach an electronic apparatus including a light-emitting device and a thin-film transistor, wherein the thin-film transistor comprises a source electrode and a drain electrode, and the first electrode of the light-emitting device is electrically connected to at least one selected from the source electrode and the drain electrode of the thin-film transistor.
Kim teaches an OLED display device with a touch screen including a display panel, an encapsulation film, and a touch screen. The display panel is an OLED panel and includes a switching thin-film transistor, a driving thin-film transistor, and an organic light emitting diode in each pixel region. The organic light emitting diode in the pixel region sequentially emit red, green, and blue light [0029]. Kim further teaches a first electrode is formed on the inter insulating layer in each pixel region, and the first electrode contacts the drain electrode of the driving thin-film transistor. The first electrode has a double-layered structure including a first layer as a reflector and a second layer as an anode (of the OLED display device) [0048] – [0051].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the OLED device as discussed above, taught by Parham, in the OLED display device with a touch screen, taught by Kim, because this would have been combining the prior art elements of Parham and Kim according to known methods to yield predictable results of a thin-film transistor electroluminescent device with quantum efficiency, stability, and lower voltage benefits, as taught by Parham [0068]. See MPEP 2143.I.(A).
The resulting OLED display device with a touch screen, from the combination of Parham and Kim as described above, would read on Applicants’ claims 17 and 18 as it is an electronic apparatus comprising a light-emitting device and a thin-film transistor wherein the first electrode (anode) of the light-emitting device is electrically connected to the drain electrode of the thin-film transistor.
Regarding Claim 19, the resulting OLED display device with a touch screen, from the combination of Parham and Kim as described above, reads on Applicants’ limitations since it includes a touch screen. Additionally, Kim teaches the OLED display device may further include a polarizing film at an outer surface of the touch screen to prevent reflection due to external light [0030].
Regarding Claims 15 and 16, the resulting OLED display device with a touch screen, from the combination of Parham and Kim as described above, reads on Applicants’ limitations since it includes an encapsulation film. Kim teaches the encapsulation film is attached onto the organic light-emitting diode to protect the organic light-emitting diode and to prevent permeation of moisture [0064]. Furthermore, Kim teaches the encapsulation film is attached to the second electrode (cathode) [0087].
Claims 1–3, 7, 10, 13–16, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qian et al. (Pub. No.: WO 2020/083327 A1, provided within Applicants' IDS dated 12/01/2022, hereafter Qian).
Regarding Claims 1 and 20, Qian teaches an OLED device comprising an anode, a hole injection layer, a hole transport layer made of Compound 1-1, an electron blocking layer, a light-emitting layer, an electron transport layer, an electron injection layer, and a cathode [0188]. Compound 1-1 [0121] reads on Applicants’ Formula 1 (shown below),
wherein:
Ar1 is an unsubstituted C12 aryl group (biphenyl), Ar2–Ar4 are each an unsubstituted C6 aryl group (phenyl),
R1 to R4 are each hydrogen,
a and d are 3, while b and c are 4.
However, Applicants’ Formula 1 requires that a case in which each of R1 and R4 is hydrogen or deuterium is excluded.
Qian further teaches the organic material layer includes a hole transport layer, and the layer that transports the holes contains a compound with the chemical formula (1) (shown below) [0054].
Qian teaches R1 and R2 are more preferred to each indicate hydrogen or phenyl independently [0020]. Additionally, Qian teaches chemical formula (5) (shown below), wherein the position of the diphenylamines are modified. A modified version of Compound 1-1 wherein R1 and R2 are each represented by phenyl and the diphenylamines positions are modified according to chemical formula (5) would read on Applicants’ Formula 1
However, Qian does not teach the explicit structure of Compound 1-1 wherein R1 and R2 are each represented by phenyl and the diphenylamines positions are modified according to chemical formula (5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Compound 1-1 wherein R1 and R2 are each represented by phenyl, because it would have been choosing from the groups Qian teaches [0020]. It would also be obvious to modify the position of the diphenylamines to how they are represented in chemical formula (5), because it would have been choosing from chemical formula (2) – chemical formula (5) as taught by Qian [0022]. These modifications would have been a choice from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions of a compound useful as the hole conductive material in the hole transport layer of the OLED device of Qian and possessing the lower voltage and high efficiency benefits taught by Qian [0211]. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to produce additional compounds represented by/devices comprising chemical formula (I) having the benefits taught by Qian in order to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143.I.(E).
An OLED device, as described above, including modified Compound 1-1 reads on Applicants’ claims 1 and 20 since modified Compound 1-1 reads on Applicants’ Formula 1 (shown below),
wherein:
Ar1 is an unsubstituted C12 aryl group (biphenyl), Ar2–Ar4 are each an unsubstituted C6 aryl group (phenyl),
R1 and R4 are each a C6 aryl group (phenyl),
a and d are 3, while b and c are 1.
Regarding Claims 2 and 3, the OLED device including modified Compound 1-1 in the hole transport layer, as described above, reads on Applicants’ limitations since it comprises a cathode, the combination of an electron injection layer/electron transport layer, and the combination of an electron blocking layer/hole transport layer/hole injection layer [0188].
Regarding Claim 7, the OLED device including modified Compound 1-1 in the hole transport layer, as described above, reads on Applicants’ limitations since modified Compound 1-1 reads on Applicants’ Formula 3-1 (shown below).
Regarding Claim 10, the OLED device including modified Compound 1-1 in the hole transport layer, as described above, reads on Applicants’ limitations since Ar1 is represented by Applicants’ Formula 6-1 wherein R11 is a C6 aryl group and a11 is 1, while Ar2–Ar4 are represented by Applicants’ Formula 6-1 wherein R11 is a hydrogen and a11 is 4.
Regarding Claim 13, the OLED device including modified Compound 1-1 in the hole transport layer, as described above, reads on Applicants’ limitation.
Regarding Claim 14, the OLED device including modified Compound 1-1 in the hole transport layer, as described above, reads on Applicants’ limitation since it emits blue light (see Table 5 [0208] – [0209])
Regarding Claims 15 and 16, the OLED device including modified Compound 1-1 in the hole transport layer, as described above, reads on Applicants’ limitation since Qian teaches the device is encapsulated with a UV-curable epoxy and a glass cover containing a hygroscopic agent [0188].
Claims 1-–3, 5–6, 10, 12–13, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (Pub. No.: US 2016/0260901 A1, provided in Applicants' IDS filed on 12/01/2022, hereafter Kim2).
Regarding Claim 1 and 20, Kim2 teaches an OLED device comprising, an anode, a hole injection layer which comprises Compound 1, a hole transport layer made of Compound 1, an emission layer, an electron transport layer, an electron injection layer, and a cathode [0304] – [0306]. Compound 1 reads on Applicants’ Formula 1 (shown below),
wherein:
Ar1–Ar4 are each an unsubstituted C6 aryl group (phenyl),
R1 and R4 are each a hydrogen, while R2 and R3 are each -N(Q1)(Q2) wherein Q1 and Q2 are each a phenyl group.
a and d are 3, while b and c are 1.
However, Applicants’ Formula 1 requires that a case in which each of R1 and R4 is hydrogen or deuterium is excluded. Therefore, Compound 1 does not read on Applicants’ Formula 1 of claim 1 and 20.
Compound 1 can be modified based on the teachings of Kim2 to read on Applicants’ Formula 1. Kim2 teaches the hole transport region may include a first compound represented by one of Formulae 1A, 1B, and 1C [0037]. Compound 1 is represented by Formula 1A (shown below).
Kim2 allows phenyl substitution. For example, Kim2 teaches Compound 5 [pg. 50] which is represented by Formula 1A,
wherein
n1–n3 are each 0, n4 is 1,
R1, R3, and R4 are each hydrogen, while R2 is an unsubstituted C6 aryl group (phenyl),
c1 and c3 are both 4, c2 is 1, and c4 is 3,
a10–a12 are each 0,
Ar7 and Ar8 are each an unsubstituted C6 aryl group (phenyl),
b7 and b8 are each 1.
Using Formula 1A, Compound 1 can be modified similarly to Compound 5 as shown below,
wherein:
n1, n3, and n4 are each 0, n2 is 1,
R1–R3 are each hydrogen, while R4 is an unsubstituted C6 aryl group (phenyl),
c1 and c3 are both 4, c2 is 3, and c4 is 1,
a4–a6 are each 0,
Ar3 and Ar4 are each an unsubstituted C6 aryl group (phenyl),
b3 and b4 are each 1.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Compound 1 as shown above, because it would have been choosing from the groups Kim2 teaches [0130] similar to Compound 5, which would have been a choice from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions of a compound useful as the hole conductive material in the hole transport layer of the OLED device of Kim2 and possessing the high emission efficiency, long lifespan characteristics, and low voltage benefits taught by Kim2 [0159]. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to produce additional compounds represented by/devices comprising Formula 1A having the benefits taught by Kim2 in order to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143.I.(E).
An OLED device, as described above, using modified Compound 1 in the hole transport layer would read on Applicants’ limitations of claims 1 and 20 since modified Compound 1 reads on Applicants’ Formula 1 (shown below),
wherein:
Ar1–Ar4 are each an unsubstituted C6 aryl group (phenyl),
R1–R3 are each a hydrogen, and R4 is an unsubstituted C6 aryl group (phenyl),
a, b, c are 3, d is 1.
Regarding Claims 2 and 3, Kim2 teaches that embodiments are directed to an organic light-emitting device that includes a first electrode; a second electrode facing the first electrode; an emission layer between the first electrode and the second electrode; a hole transport region between the first electrode and the emission layer; and an electron transport region between the emission layer and the second electrode, wherein the hole transport region includes a first compound represented by one of Formulae 1A, 1B, and 1C [0006]. Kim2 further teaches an OLED device comprising, an anode, a hole injection layer which comprises Compound 1, a hole transport layer made of Compound 1, an emission layer, an electron transport layer, an electron injection layer, and a cathode [0304] – [0306]. Therefore, an OLED device, as described above, using modified Compound 1 in the hole injection layer and hole transport layer reads on Applicants’ limitations since it comprises a cathode, the combination of an electron injection layer/electron transport layer, and the combination of a hole transport layer/hole injection layer.
Regarding Claim 5, the OLED device including modified Compound 1 in the hole transport layer, as described above, reads on Applicants’ limitation since NAr3Ar4 and R4 are adjacent to each other.
Regarding Claim 6, the OLED device including modified Compound 1 in the hole transport layer, as described above, reads on Applicants’ limitations since modified Compound 1 reads on Applicants’ Formula 2-2 (shown below).
Regarding Claim 10, the OLED device including modified Compound 1 in the hole transport layer, as described above, reads on Applicants’ limitations since Ar1–Ar4 are represented by Applicants’ Formula 6-1 (shown below), wherein R11 is hydrogen and a11 is 5.
Regarding Claim 12, the OLED device including modified Compound 1 in the hole transport layer, as described above, reads on Applicants’ limitations since modified Compound 1 is identical to Applicants’ Compound 1 (shown below).
Regarding Claim 13, the OLED device including modified Compound 1 in the hole transport layer, as described above, reads on Applicants’ limitations.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Ban et al. (CN 109776397 A) teaches compounds that read on Applicants’ Formula 1 of independent claims 1 and 20.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Hua et al. (CN 113135829 A) teaches compounds that read on Applicants’ Formula 1 of independent claims 1 and 20.
/J.R.F./Examiner, Art Unit 1789
/MARLA D MCCONNELL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1789