DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is responsive to the Applicant’s communication filed 6 July 2026. In view of this communication, claims 1-15 and 21-25 are pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6 July 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the Applicant’s first argument, on pages 1-2 of the remarks, the Applicant argues that the examiner has not shown how the cavity, comprising hole (H) is within separate build-up layers of the printed circuit board because Jung names build-up layers L1 and L2, and the cavity (H) does not appear in Jung’s build-up layer L2. This argument is unpersuasive because the stacked structure of insulating (20) and circuit layers (25) (see Jung page 2, last paragraph and Fig. 1) correspond to the structure of the build-up layers described in instant claim 1, regardless of the label given to them by Jung. Therefore, the portion (H) of the cavity (H) that proceeds from a first, upper insulating layer (20) to a second, lower build-up layer (20) through a third, intermediate build-up layer (20) does anticipate the structure disclosed in instant claim 1 of the application.
Regarding the Applicant’s second argument, on page 3 of the remarks, the Applicant argues that, since Jung does not teach the subject matter of claim 1, the 103 rejections did not establish a prima facie case of obviousness. As explained above, Jung does teach all of the elements of claim 1, therefore these arguments are unpersuasive and the rejections of 11 March 2026 under 35 USC §103 are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5-7, and 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jung et al. (KR 20180007579 A), hereinafter referred to as Jung et al.
Regarding claim 1, Jung et al. teaches an integrated circuit package substrate comprising:
a core layer (10) (page 2, last paragraph: first insulating layer 10);
a plurality of build-up layers (L1) on the core layer, each build-up layer comprising a dielectric and metal (page 2, last paragraph: the build-up layer L1 comprises insulating layers 20 and circuit pattern layers 25 formed on each insulating layer 20); and
a cavity (H), wherein a first portion of the cavity (H) is defined in a first build-up layer (20), a second portion of the cavity is defined in a second build-up layer (20), and a third portion of the cavity (H) connects the first portion with the second portion through at least one layer other than first build- up layer (20) and the second build-up layer (20) (Fig. 1 and page 2, last paragraph: the first build-up layer L1 comprises three insulating layers 20, through which the cavity H runs).
Regarding claim 5, Jung et al. teaches the integrated circuit package substrate of claim 1, wherein the first cavity (H) is defined at least in part by metal (25) within the first build-up layer (L1) and the second cavity (H) is defined at least in part by metal (25) within the second build-up layer (L1) (Fig. 1 and page 2, last paragraph: the hole H is lined at least in part by metal layers 25).
Regarding claim 6, Jung et al. teaches the integrated circuit package substrate of claim 1, wherein the first portion of the cavity (H) is a first microchannel, the second portion of the cavity (H) is a second microchannel, and the third portion of the cavity (H) is a duct connecting the first microchannel and the second microchannel (Fig. 1 and page 2, last paragraph: the pipe H defines one continuous channel, with a portion connecting the upper and lower sections).
Regarding claim 7, Jung et al. teaches the integrated circuit package substrate of claim 6, wherein the first portion of the cavity (H) is defined by a first cross-section in the first build-up layer (L1), the second portion of the cavity (H) is defined by a second cross-section in the second build-up layer (L1), and the third portion of the cavity (H) is defined by a third cross-section between the first build-up layer (L1) and the second build-up layer (L1) (Fig. 1: each section of pipe H has a cross section).
Regarding claim 10, Jung et al. teaches the integrated circuit package substrate of claim 1, wherein the first portion, second portion, and third portion of the cavity (H) together define a microchannel (Fig. 1: the hole H defines a channel from the exterior of the package to the interior).
Regarding claim 11, Jung et al. teaches the integrated circuit package substrate of claim 10, wherein the first portion of the cavity (H) is defined by a first cross-section in the first build-up layer (L1), the second portion of the cavity (H) is defined by a second cross-section in the second build-up layer (L1), and the third portion of the cavity (H) is defined by a third cross-section between the first build-up layer (L1) and the second build-up layer (L1) (Fig. 1: each section of pipe H has a cross section).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al. in view of Hoofman (US 20090120669 A1), hereinafter referred to as Hoofman.
Regarding claim 13, Jung et al. teaches the integrated circuit package substrate of claim 1, but does not teach that the core layer comprises a glass material.
Hoofman does teach that the core layer comprises a glass material (Hoofman paragraph 10: insulating layers may be made of glass).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the core layer of Jung et al. from glass as taught by Hoofman because it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416."
Regarding claim 14, Jung et al. teaches the integrated circuit package substrate of claim 1, but does not teach that the first build-up layer comprises a glass material and the second build-up layer comprises a glass material.
Hoofman does teach that the first build-up layer comprises a glass material and the second build-up layer comprises a glass material (Hoofman paragraph 10: insulating layers may be made of glass).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the build-up layers of Jung et al. from glass as taught by Hoofman because it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416."
Claim(s) 21-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al. in view of Stephens, IV (US 20060203866 A1), hereinafter referred to as Stephens.
Regarding claim 21, Jung et al. teaches an apparatus comprising: an integrated circuit package comprising a package substrate, the package substrate comprising:
a core layer (10) (page 2, last paragraph: first insulating layer 10);
first build-up layers (L1) on a first side of the core layer (10), the first build-up layers (L1) comprising metallization layers (25) in dielectric (20) (page 2, last paragraph: the build-up layer L1 comprises insulating layers 20 and circuit pattern layers 25 formed on each insulating layer 20);
second build-up layers (L2) on a second side of the core layer (10) opposite the first build-up layers (L1), the second build-up layers (L2) comprising metallization layers (35) in dielectric (30) (page 3, paragraph 4: upper build up layers L2 comprising insulating layers 30 and circuit pattern layers 35 formed on each insulating layer 30); and
a cavity (C, H), wherein a first portion (H) of the cavity (C, H) is defined in the first build-up layers (L1) (Fig. 1 and page 2, last paragraph: hole H runs through the first build-up layers L1).
Jung et al. does not teach a second portion of the cavity (40) is defined in the second build-up layers (14, 16), and a third portion of the cavity (40) connects the first portion with the second portion through the core layer (Stephens Fig. 1 and paragraph 30: coolant channel 40 runs from lowest layer 33 to upper layer 14/16 through substrate layer 33).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to extend the cavity of Jung et al. to the upper build-up layers as taught by Stephens because extending the cavity would provide cooling and thus improved performance to the upper build-up layers (Stephens paragraph 30).
Regarding claim 22, Jung et al. in view of Stephens teaches the apparatus of claim 21, but does not teach that the first portion of the cavity is a first microchannel, the second portion of the cavity is a second microchannel, and the third portion of the cavity is a duct connecting the first microchannel and the second microchannel.
Stephens does teach that the first portion of the cavity (40) is a first microchannel, the second portion of the cavity (40) is a second microchannel, and the third portion of the cavity (40) is a duct connecting the first microchannel and the second microchannel (Stephens Fig. 1 and paragraph 30: coolant channel 40).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the cavity of Jung et al. as a microchannel as taught by Stephens because the microchannel of Stephens provides efficient cooling via a coolant (Stephens paragraphs 30-31).
Regarding claim 23, Jung et al. in view of Stephens teaches the apparatus of claim 21, but does not teach that the first portion, the second portion, and the third portion of the cavity together define a microchannel.
Stephens does teach that the first portion, the second portion, and the third portion of the cavity together define a microchannel (Stephens Fig. 1 and paragraph 30: coolant channel 40).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the cavity of Jung et al. as a microchannel as taught by Stephens because the microchannel of Stephens provides efficient cooling via a coolant (Stephens paragraphs 30-31).
Claim(s) 24-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bakir et al. (US 20090294954 A1) in view of Jung et al.
Regarding claim 24, Bakir et al. teaches a computing system comprising: a main circuit board (105); and an integrated circuit package (125) coupled to the main circuit board (105) (see Bakir et al. paragraph 30 and Fig. 1) but does not teach that the integrated circuit package comprises: a package substrate; an integrated circuit die coupled to the package substrate; wherein the package substrate defines a cavity comprising a first portion in a first build-up layer of the package substrate, a second portion in a second build-up layer of the package substrate, and a third portion that connects the first portion with the second portion.
Jung et al. does teach that the integrated circuit package comprises: a package substrate; an integrated circuit die (50) coupled to the package substrate; wherein the package substrate defines a cavity (H) comprising a first portion in a first build-up layer (20) of the package substrate, a second portion in a second build-up layer (20) of the package substrate, and a third portion that connects the first portion with the second portion (Fig. 1 and page 2, last paragraph: the first build-up layer L1 comprises three insulating layers 20, through which the cavity H runs).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the computing system of Bakir et al. with a package substrate as taught by Jung et al. because the package substrate of Jung et al. enables improved cooling of the electronic device (see Jung et al. page 3, third-to-last paragraph).
Regarding claim 25, Bakir et al. in view of Jung et al. teaches the computing system of claim 24, wherein the third portion of the cavity is at least partially within a core layer of the package substrate (Jung et al. Fig. 1: part of the cavity is in core layer 10).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-4, 8-9, 12, and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 2, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest, in combining with other limitations recited in the claim that the third portion is defined in a plurality of build-up layers other than the first build-up layer and the second build-up layer.
Regarding claim 3, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest, in combining with other limitations recited in the claim that the first build-up layer is on a first side of the core layer, the second build-up layer is on a second side of the core layer, and the third portion of the cavity connecting the first portion and the second portion is defined at least in part in the core layer.
Regarding claim 8, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest, in combining with other limitations recited in the claim that the cavity comprises a fourth portion that connects the first portion of the cavity with the second portion of the cavity.
Regarding claim 9, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest, in combining with other limitations recited in the claim that the first microchannel defines a first sealed heat pipe structure and the second microchannel defines a second sealed heat pipe structure.
Regarding claim 12, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest, in combining with other limitations recited in the claim that the microchannel defines a sealed heat pipe structure.
Regarding claim 15, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest, in combining with other limitations recited in the claim a hydrophilic material on a wall of the cavity.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOHN B FREAL/Examiner, Art Unit 2847
/TIMOTHY J THOMPSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2847