DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
3. Claims [6, 8, 10, 13, 22, 23] are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims [6, 8, 10, 13, 22, 23] recite that “wherein a concentration of Boron or Phosphorus in the build-up layer is substantially more than a concentration of Boron or Phosphorus in the core layer” is a term of degree.
The specification provides only a single, isolated reference indicating that “substantially more dopants” may refer to more than ten times (10×) the amount dopants in the of the first layer. However, this disclosure is permissive and non-limiting, and the specification does not define the 10× relationship as a required threshold, minimum value, or objective boundary for the claim term.
Because the specification does not consistently define or otherwise limit the scope of “substantially more,” one of ordinary skill in the art would be unable to determine with reasonable certainty how much greater the dopant concentration in the second dielectric material must be relative to the first dielectric material to satisfy the claim limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7, 9, 11, 12, 14, 21-24 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Pub # 2016/0284637 to Ma et al. (Ma).
Claims 1, 21. Ma teaches an integrated circuit package substrate (Fig. 1E) comprising:
-a core layer (Fig. 1E: 150 of substrate 100) comprising Silicon and Oxygen (this limitation would read through [0029] wherein is disclosed for example, glass materials that may be used with the described embodiments include pure silica (e.g., approximately 100% SiO2);
-a plurality of metal vias (items 160/165) electrically coupling a first side (top surface) of the core layer and a second side (second surface) of the core layer opposite the first side;
-a build-up layer (item 130/140, [0040]) on the first side of the core layer, the build-up layer comprising metal pads (item 120) and metal traces (136a-c) within a dielectric material (item 133) comprising Silicon, Oxygen, and at least one of Boron or Phosphorus, the metal pads and metal traces electrically connected to the metal vias of the core layer (this limitation would read through [0029] wherein is disclosed for example, the disclosed embodiments are not limited to silica-based glass compositions, and glasses having alternative base materials (e.g., fluoride glasses, phosphate glasses, chalcogen glasses, etc.), but also magnesium, calcium, manganese, aluminum, lead, boron, iron, chromium, potassium, sulfur, and antimony, as well as carbonates and/or oxides of these and other elements).
Claim 11. Ma teaches an integrated circuit (Fig. 1E) comprising:
-an integrated circuit package substrate (item 200), comprising:
-a core layer (item 150) comprising Silicon and Oxygen (this limitation would read through [0029] wherein is disclosed for example, glass materials that may be used with the described embodiments include pure silica (e.g., approximately 100% SiO2);
-a plurality of metal vias (items 160/165) in the core layer;
-a build-up layer (item 130/140, [0040]) on the core layer, the build-up layer comprising metal pads (item 120) and metal traces (136a-c) within a dielectric material comprising Silicon, Oxygen, and Boron or Phosphorus, the metal pads and metal traces electrically connected to the metal vias in the core layer; (this limitation would read through [0029] wherein is disclosed for example, the disclosed embodiments are not limited to silica-based glass compositions, and glasses having alternative base materials (e.g., fluoride glasses, phosphate glasses, chalcogen glasses, etc.), but also magnesium, calcium, manganese, aluminum, lead, boron, iron, chromium, potassium, sulfur, and antimony, as well as carbonates and/or oxides of these and other elements).
-and an integrated circuit die (item 210, fig. 2, [0056]) coupled to the integrated circuit package substrate.
Claim 2. Ma teaches the integrated circuit package substrate of claim 1, wherein the build-up layer comprises an adhesion promotion layer between the dielectric material and the metal vias (this limitation would read through [0051] wherein is disclosed for example, in the embodiment of FIG. 1F, a wetting layer (or adhesion layer) 170 has been disposed over the wall 165 of hole 160).
Claim 4. Ma teaches the integrated circuit package substrate of claim 1, wherein the core layer comprises silica (this limitation would read through [0029] wherein is disclosed for example, glass materials that may be used with the described embodiments include pure silica (e.g., approximately 100% SiO2), soda-lime glass, boro-silicate glass, and alumo-silicate glass).
Claim 5. Ma teaches the integrated circuit package substrate of claim 1, wherein the core layer further comprises Boron or Phosphorus (this limitation would read through [0029] wherein is disclosed for example, boro-silicate glass. As noted, Borosilicate glass is primarily made of silica (SiO₂) and boron trioxide (B₂O₃), with smaller amounts of alumina and alkali oxides).
Claims 7, 9, 12, 22, 23. Ma teaches the integrated circuit package substrate of claims 1, 11, 21, wherein the build-up layer is a first build-up layer (item 130/140, [0040]) comprising a first dielectric material (item 133) and the package substrate further comprises a second build-up layer (item 130/140, [0040]) on the first build-up layer, the second build-up layer comprising metal vias within a second dielectric material (item 133) and electrically connected to the metal vias of the first build-up layer ([0038] disclose the first side 102 of substrate 100 is a first set of electrically conductive terminals 120), the second dielectric material comprising Silicon, Oxygen, and at least one of Boron or Phosphorus (this limitation would read through [0029] wherein is disclosed for example, boro-silicate glass. As noted, Borosilicate glass is primarily made of silica (SiO₂) and boron trioxide (B₂O₃), with smaller amounts of alumina and alkali oxides).
Claim 14. Ma teaches the integrated circuit device of claim 11, wherein the core layer comprises silica. (this limitation would read through [0029] wherein is disclosed for example, glass materials that may be used with the described embodiments include pure silica (e.g., approximately 100% SiO2), soda-lime glass, boro-silicate glass, and alumo-silicate glass).
Claim 26. Ma teaches the integrated circuit package of claim 21, further comprising an integrated circuit die coupled to the package substrate (item 210, fig. 2, [0056]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 3, 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pub # 2016/0284637 to Ma et al. (Ma) in view of US Pub # 2021/0257309 to Pietambaram et al. (Pietambaram).
Regarding claims 3, 25, Ma discloses all of the limitations of claims 2, 24, from which this claim depends.
Ma fails to explicitly disclose wherein the adhesion promotion layer comprises Silicon and Oxygen or Silicon and Nitrogen.
Pietambaram discloses wherein the adhesion promotion layer (Fig. 3:304) comprises Silicon and Oxygen or Silicon and Nitrogen (¶0017).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have substitute the adhesion promotion layer of Ma with the adhesion promotion layer as taught by Pietambaram to provide good hermeticity to protect conductive structure from corrosion (¶0017).
8. Claims 6, 8, 10 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pub # 2016/0284637 to Ma et al. (Ma) in view of US Pub # 2021/0193544 to Lin et al. (Lin).
Regarding claims 6, 8, 10 and 13. Ma discloses all of the limitations of claim 5 from which this claim depends. However, Ma does not explicitly disclose that “wherein a concentration of Boron or Phosphorus in the build-up layer is substantially more than a concentration of Boron or Phosphorus in the core layer”, as recited in claim 6.
Nevertheless, the relative dopant concentration between dielectric layers is a result-effective variable, because dopant concentration is known in the art to affect dielectric properties such as electrical performance, stability, and process compatibility. It would have been within the level of ordinary skill in the art to adjust or optimize the dopant concentration in one dielectric layer relative to another to achieve desired material or device characteristics (see MPEP §2144.05). Further, the specification contains no disclosure of either the critical nature of the claimed height or any unexpected results arising therefrom and it has been held that where patentability is said to be based upon a particular chosen dimension or upon another variable recited in a claim, the Applicant must show that the chosen dimension is critical. In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936 (Fed. Cir. 1990)
In accordance with established case law, where the prior art recognizes a variable as affecting the result, optimization of that variable through routine experimentation is considered obvious, even if the prior art does not disclose the claimed optimum or specific value. The claimed relative concentration therefore represents a difference in degree, not in kind, from the teachings of Ma.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide the second dielectric material with a higher dopant concentration than the first dielectric material, including a concentration that is substantially greater, as claimed.
Response to Arguments
9. Applicant's arguments filed 07/06/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to the (112b) rejection: The term “substantially” in claims [6, 8, 10, 13, 22, 23] is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. As explained above, one of ordinary skill in the art would not be able to determine with reasonable certainty how much greater the dopant concentration in the second dielectric material must be relative to the first dielectric material to satisfy the claim limitation.
B). Applicant first avers with respect to claim 1, that Ma fails to teach, disclose, or suggest all features recited by previously presented independent claim 1. As previously presented independent claim 1 recites, inter alia: “build-up layer comprising metal pads and metal traces within a dielectric material comprising Silicon, Oxygen, and at least one of Boron or Phosphorus”.
In response:
1) It is noted that [0029] discloses examples of glass materials that may be used with the described embodiments include pure silica (e.g., approximately 100% SiO2), soda-lime glass, boro-silicate glass, and alumo-silicate glass. Further, [0040] disclosed on the first surface 152 of glass core 150 is a first build-up structure 130 and disposed on the core's second surface 154 is a second build-up structure 140. The first build-up structure comprises one or more alternating layers of a dielectric material and a metal, and the terminals 120 are disposed on the first build-up structure 130 (the first substrate side 102 generally corresponding to an outer surface of the first build-up structure 130).
2) By definition: To determine the oxygen content in silicon dioxide (SiO₂), one can use the molar mass and elemental composition of the compound. As noted, the chemical formula SiO₂ means one silicon (Si) atom is bonded to two oxygen (O) atoms.
C). Applicant second avers with respect to claim 21, that Ma fails to teach, disclose, or suggest all features recited by previously presented independent claim 21. As previously presented independent claim 21 recites, (inter alia): ““build-up layers on the core layer, the build-up layers comprising metal pads and metal traces within spin-on-glass (SOG) materials”.
In response:
It is noted that [0040] of Ma disclosed on the first surface 152 of glass core 150 is a first build-up structure 130 and disposed on the core's second surface 154 is a second build-up structure 140. The first build-up structure comprises one or more alternating layers of a dielectric material and a metal, and the terminals 120 are disposed on the first build-up structure 130 (the first substrate side 102 generally corresponding to an outer surface of the first build-up structure 130). Further [0031] of Ma indicates that a glass, once formed into a solid body, is capable of being softened and perhaps remelted into a liquid form. The “glass transition temperature” of a glass material is a temperature below which the physical properties of the glass are similar to those of a solid and above which the glass material behaves like a liquid.
2) By definition: In semiconductor and package device fabrication, Spin-on-Glass (SOG) refers to a liquid precursor material used to deposit a thin, glass-like dielectric film on a wafer or package substrate. It is typically composed of silicon oxides (e.g., TEOS-based formulations) or carbon-rich polymers, dissolved in a solvent, and applied via spin coating.
D). With respect claims 3 and 25 under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Ma in view of U.S. Publication No. 2021/0257309 of Pietambaram, et al. (hereinafter “Pietambaram”). The Examiner further rejects claims 6, 8, 10, and 13 under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Ma in view of U.S. Publication No. 2021/0193544 of Lin, et al. (hereinafter “Lin”). These rejections are respectfully traversed.
1). It is noted that the reference provides a structure similar such as the one in fig. 1E, with respect to applicant’s fig. 5. It would have been within the level of ordinary skill in the art to adjust or optimize the dopant concentration in one dielectric layer relative to another to achieve desired material or device characteristics (see MPEP §2144.05). In addition, the structure of the device is substantially identical to that of the claimed structure which can function in the same manner, be labeled in the same manner, or be used in the same manner. MPEP 2112.01.
Thus, Examiner believe that the present claim language of the limitation claimed would not place the application in condition for allowance.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/W.J/Examiner, Art Unit 2899 /DALE E PAGE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2899