DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
The listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 and 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 6,555,946 to Finder, et al. (hereinafter “Finder”) in view of U.S. Patent Appl. Publ. No. 2021/0242017 to Yamamoto, et al. (“Yamamoto”).
Regarding claim 1, Finder teaches a method for forming an LN/LT layer, with the basis of an ABO3 material, O being oxygen, A being at least one first chemical element taken from among sodium (Na), potassium (K), barium (Ba), lithium (Li), and lead (Pb), and B being at least one second chemical element taken from among zirconium (Zr), titanium (Ti), niobium (Nb), and tantalum (Ta) (see the Abstract, Figs. 1-10, and entire reference which teach a method for forming a piezoelectric material comprised of an oxide such as LiNbO3 or LiTaO3), the method comprising:
providing a silicon-based substrate (see Fig. 1 and col. 2, l. 25 to col. 4, l. 4 which teach providing a monocrystalline substrate (22) and an amorphous intermediate layer (28) comprised of silicon),
forming a nucleation layer on the substrate (see Fig. 1 and col. 2, l. 25 to col. 4, l. 4 which teach forming a buffer layer (24) on the substrate (22) and amorphous intermediate layer (28)), and
forming the LN/LT layer by epitaxy on the nucleation layer (see Fig. 1 and col. 2, l. 25 to col. 4, l. 4 which teach that a piezoelectric layer (26) comprised of an oxide such as LiNbO3 or LiTaO3 is epitaxially grown on the buffer layer (24)),
wherein the nucleation layer is made of a nitride-based refractory material (see col. 3, ll. 28-52 which teach that the buffer layer (24) may be made from a nitride such as AlN), and
wherein the substrate is silicon-based, oriented along (111) (see col. 6, ll. 4-6 which teach that the substrate may be (111)-oriented monocrystalline Si),
the nucleation layer is aluminum nitride AlN-based and the LN/LT layer is in direct contact with the nucleation layer (see col. 3, ll. 28-52 which teach that the buffer layer (24) may be made from a nitride such as AlN; see also col. 2, ll. 44-46 which teaches that the structure may include a template layer (30) between the buffer layer (24) and the piezoelectric material layer (26) which indicates that layer (30) is optional and, consequently, the piezoelectric layer (26) may be in direct contact with the buffer layer (24)).
Finder does not teach that the AlN-based nucleation layer is oriented along (0001) and the LN/LT layer is oriented along (0001). Moreover, even if it is assumed arguendo that Finder does not explicitly teach that the LN/LT layer is in direct contact with the nucleation layer, this would have been obvious in view of the teachings of Yamamoto. In Figs. 1-2, ¶¶[0031]-[0072], and Table I as well as elsewhere throughout the entire reference Yamamoto teaches an analogous method of depositing an epitaxial AlN-based buffer layer (11) directly onto a Si(111) substrate (10) followed by the deposition of a nitride semiconductor layer (12) directly onto the AlN-based buffer layer (11). As explained specifically in ¶[0034] the buffer layers (11a) and (11b) are comprised of AlN and prevent the occurrence of a reaction between the Si included in the substrate (10) and elements such as Ga which are included in the nitride semiconductor layers (12) that are formed above the substrate (10). In ¶¶[0068]-[0069] Yamamoto specifically teaches that the AlN-based buffer layer (11) may be formed in such a manner that the (0001) crystal plane of the nitride crystal is parallel to the substrate plane of the substrate (10) such that the inherent properties of the crystal can be exhibited and this is then followed by deposition of the nitride semiconductor layer (12) directly onto the buffer layer. Since the nitride semiconductor layer (12) is formed directly on the AlN-based buffer layer (11) it also becomes oriented along (0001) such that the inherent properties of the nitride semiconductor layer (12) may also be exhibited. Thus, a PHOSITA prior to the effective filing date of the invention would deposit the AlN buffer layer (24) in the method of Finder via heteroepitaxial growth directly onto the Si(111) substrate (22) while the piezoelectric layer (26) comprised of an oxide such as LiNbO3 or LiTaO3 is epitaxially grown directly onto the AlN buffer layer (24) with the motivation for doing so being to prevent a reaction between the Si substrate and the piezoelectric layer (26) and to promote formation of the (0001) crystal plane of the nucleation layer and the LN/LT layer which is parallel to the Si substrate surface in order to obtain the desired materials properties in the deposited layers. The combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results has been held to support a prima facie determination of obviousness. All the claimed elements are known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could combine the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, with the combination yielding nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, __, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 (2007). See also, MPEP 2143(A).
Regarding claim 2, Finder teaches that the nitride-based refractory material is taken from among III-N refractory nitrides with a basis of an element of group III, or transition refractory nitrides with a basis of a transition metal (see col. 3, ll. 28-52 which teach that the buffer layer (24) may be made from a nitride such as AlN).
Regarding claim 3, Finder teaches that the nitride-based refractory material is a refractory nitride III-N taken from among aluminum nitride AlN and AlGaN alloy (see col. 3, ll. 28-52 which teach that the buffer layer (24) may be made from a nitride such as AlN).
Regarding claim 4, Finder teaches that the ABO3 material of the LN/LT layer is chosen from among: lithium niobate (LiNbO3), lithium tantalum (LiTaO3), or an Li(Nb,Ta)O3 alloy (see Fig. 1 and col. 2, l. 25 to col. 4, l. 4 which teach that a piezoelectric layer (26) comprised of an oxide such as LiNbO3 or LiTaO3 is epitaxially grown on the buffer layer (24)).
Regarding claim 5, Finder teaches that forming the nucleation layer comprises forming the nucleation layer to have a thickness less than or equal to 200nm (see Example 1 at col. 4, l. 60 to col. 5, l. 25 which teach that the buffer layer (24) may have a thickness of 2 to 100 nm).
Regarding claim 6, Finder teaches that forming the LN/LT layer comprises forming the LN/LT layer to have, after epitaxy, a thickness between 50nm and 500nm (see Example 1 at col. 4, l. 60 to col. 5, l. 25 which teach that the piezoelectric layer (26) may have a thickness of 100 to 5,000 nm).
Regarding claim 7, Finder teaches that forming the nucleation layer and forming the LN/LT layer by pulsed laser deposition successively within one same reactor without venting with air between the formings (see col. 8, ll. 36-63 which teach that each layer, including the buffer layer (24) and piezoelectric layer (26) may be formed by pulsed laser deposition (PLD) by ablating a target of the desired material and heating the substrate to a temperature of 300 to 500 °C which necessarily means that the nucleation and LN/LT layers are formed successively within the same reactor without venting with air; alternatively, a PHOSITA prior to the effective filing date of the invention would be motivated to deposit the nucleation and LN/LT layers successively within the same PLD system without venting with air in order to minimize the propensity for the deposition of atmospheric contaminants at the interface between the two layers).
Regarding claim 8, Finder teaches that the silicon-based substrate is formed of a material taken from among: silicon, SiC, and SiGe (see Fig. 1 and col. 2, l. 25 to col. 4, l. 4 which teach that the monocrystalline substrate (22) and amorphous intermediate layer (28) comprised of silicon)
Regarding claim 15, Finder teaches that the nitride-based refractory material comprises aluminum nitride AlN (see col. 3, ll. 28-52 which teach that the buffer layer (24) may be made from a nitride such as AlN).
Regarding claim 16, Finder teaches that forming the nucleation layer comprises forming the nucleation layer to have a thickness less than or equal to 50nm (see Example 1 at col. 4, l. 60 to col. 5, l. 25 which teaches that the buffer layer (24) may have a thickness of 2 to 100 nm).
Regarding claim 17, Finder teaches that forming the LN/LT layer comprises forming the LN/LT layer to have, after epitaxy, a thickness around 200nm (see Example 1 at col. 4, l. 60 to col. 5, l. 25 which teach that the piezoelectric layer (26) may have a thickness of 100 to 5,000 nm).
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments filed September 30, 2026, have been fully considered, but they are unpersuasive and are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection set forth in this Office Action.
Applicants argue that since Finder discloses a template layer (30) interposed between the buffer layer (24) and piezoelectric material layer (26), Finder therefore does not teach that the LN/LT layer is in direct contact with the nucleation layer. See applicants 9/30/2026 reply, pp. 7-8. Applicants’ argument is noted, but is unpersuasive. Although Fig. 1 of Finder shows the presence of a template layer (30), in col. 2, ll. 44-46 Finder teaches that the structure may include a template layer (30) between the buffer layer (24) and the piezoelectric material layer (26). This therefore indicates that layer (30) is optional and, consequently, the piezoelectric layer (26) may be in direct contact with the buffer layer (24). Alternatively, the Examiner has relied upon Yamamoto to teach this aspect of claim 1 as discussed infra.
Applicants then argue that Yamamoto does not remedy the alleged deficiency in Finder because there is an upper layer (11b) between the AlN layer (11a) and the semiconductor layer (12). Id. at pp. 8-9. Applicants’ argument is noted, but is unpersuasive. First, it is pointed out that in Yamamoto the entirety of the buffer layer (11) is comprised of both the upper (11b) and lower (11a). Moreover, both layers are comprised of AlN and, hence, are AlN-based which therefore meets the use of an AlN-based nucleation layer as recited in claim 1. Thus, as explained supra with respect to the rejection of claim 1, a PHOSITA would be motivated to deposit the AlN buffer layer (24) in the method of Finder via heteroepitaxial growth directly onto the Si(111) substrate (22) while the piezoelectric layer (26) comprised of an oxide such as LiNbO3 or LiTaO3 is epitaxially grown directly onto the AlN buffer layer (24) in order to prevent the occurrence of a reaction between the Si substrate and the piezoelectric layer (26) and to promote formation of the (0001) crystal plane of the nucleation layer and the LN/LT layer which is parallel to the Si substrate surface in order to obtain the desired materials properties in the deposited layers. See also the Examiner’s rationale for combining Finder and Yamamoto as detailed in the Response to Arguments section of the August 3, 2026, final Office Action.
Conclusion
/KENNETH A BRATLAND JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1714