DETAILED ACTION
The response received on 3/3/2026 has been placed in the file and was considered by the examiner. An action on the merit follows.
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed on 13 February 2026 have been fully considered. Response to these amendments is provided below.
Summary of Amendment/ Arguments and Examiner’s Response:
The applicant has amended the claims and has argued that prior art does not teach the amended limitations.
All arguments are moot in view of new grounds of rejection, below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-9, 12---21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20090034831 (Amanullah et al) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 201800055370 (Kitada et al).
Regarding claim 1, Amanullah et al discloses a computer-implemented method for determining acceptability of a substrate (Fig. 4,5), comprising: generating a model (fig. 4, item 410, 412) representing image data obtained from reference images taken of first substrates, (fig. 4, item 402, page 2, paragraph 18), each reference image including first pixels that correspond to pixels of each of other reference images (fig. 4, item 402, after a few wafers are processed by fig. 4, items 404-414), receiving new image data obtained from second pixels of an image taken of a second substrate when item 414 of fig. 4 determines there is an additional wafer, the method returns to item 402 for additional image, wherein second image values defined by the second pixels are impacted by an imaging attribute external to the second substrate that does not impact acceptability of the second substrate, i.e. a different illumination (page 2, paragraph 22) and wherein the first images are not impacted by the imaging attribute, because the second image is under different illumination conditions (page 2, paragraph 22); updating the model to generate an updated model with modified values(fig. 4, item 410, 412, 418); and determining whether there is a defect (fig. 4, item 518, 520) in a third substrate (fig. 4, item 502) using the modified values (fig. 5, item 504).
Amanullah et al does not disclose expressly the model defines, for each first pixel, a range of acceptable image values; modifying the range of acceptable image values based on the second image values to generate a modified range, and utilizing the modified range in inspection.
Kitada et al discloses the model defines, for each first pixel with corresponding pixels (fig. 9, W have pixels that correspond in the multiple images), a range of acceptable image values, an allowable range (page 3, paragraph 44, page 7, paragraph 94, 98); modifying the range of acceptable image values based on the second image values, i.e. acceptable image data’s values to generate a modified range (fig. 10, update is based on results from difference which is based on image data on virtual inspection); and utilizing the modified range in inspection (fig. 2, “comparison” uses determined range and sensitivity of fig. 10).
Amanullah et al and Kitada et al are combinable because they are from the same field of endeavor, i.e.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use a range of values.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to provide a more robust system by taking into account variability.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the method of Amanullah et al with the range of values of Kitada et al to obtain the invention as specified in claim 1.
Regarding claim 2, Kitada et al discloses each reference image includes image data representing a full die of one of the first substrates, the first substrates being semiconductor substrates, a wafer (fig. 9, “image data” of wafer, page 3, paragraph 44).
Regarding claim 3, Kitada et al discloses the acceptable image data represents a full die of the substrate (fig. 10, “image data group” includes full die), the substrate being a semiconductor substrate, a wafer (page 3, paragraph 44). Kitada et al further discloses the acceptable image data used to update a trained model is new image data of a second substrate (page 9, paragraph 114).
Regarding claim 5, Kitada et al discloses the range of acceptable image values is defined between a first threshold and a second threshold, the top and value of the allowable range (page 3, paragraph 44, page 6, paragraph 88), and wherein modifying the range of acceptable image values includes moving at least one of the first threshold and the second threshold (page 6, paragraphs 88, 89).
Regarding claim 6, Amanullah et al discloses determining whether there is the defect in the third substrate (fig. 5, item 524) by comparing image data representing at least a portion of the third substrate (fig. 5, item 502) and the updated model (fig. 5, item 504, 508, 516).
Regarding claim 7, Amanullah et al discloses the defect in the third substrate is detected, the method further comprising :classifying the defect as acceptable or unacceptable- i.e. rejected (fig. 5, item 524).
Regarding claim 8, Kitada et al discloses each of the model and the updated model defines a number of images (fig. 9, W images), a mean image data value across the number of images (page 7, paragraph 93, 94), and a standard deviation of image data values across the number of images (fig. 9, “exclusion” page 7, paragraph 93, 95).
Regarding claim 9, Kitada et al discloses the standard deviation defined by the model defines the range of acceptable image values (fig. 9, r-z1 group, determines reference image data, page 7, paragraph 95) and the standard deviation defined by the updated model defines the modified range, (page 9, paragraph 115) .
Regarding claim 12, Amanullah et al discloses a state of an environmental condition present at the second substrate when the new image data was obtained is different from a state of the environmental condition present at the first substrates when every one of the reference images was obtained, i.e. a different lighting condition (page 2, paragraph 22).
Regarding claim 13, Amanullah et al discloses receiving further new image data obtained from a fourth substrate, i.e. another image that was used in the process of fig. 4, when moving to the next wafer (fig. 4, item 416); and updating the model again to generate a further updated model with modified values(fig. 4, item 410, 412). Kitada et al also discloses receiving further new image data obtained from a fourth substrate, i.e. when continuing to update the model as explained in page 9, paragraph 114; and updating the model again to generate a further updated model, including modifying the range of acceptable image values again based on the further new image data to generate a further modified range (page 9, paragraph 114).
Regarding claim 14, Kitada et al discloses the model includes a plurality of data distributions (fig. 9, E2, E3), each data distribution corresponding to composite pixel data from a corresponding pixel of the reference images (fig. 9, columns).
Regarding claim 15, Amanullah et al discloses distribution of pixel values are of brightness (page 2, paragraph 26).
Regarding claim 16, Amanullah et al discloses at least some of the first substrates are known to be acceptable, since the first substrates are defining acceptable/ benchmark values (page 1, paragraph 3). Kitada et al also discloses such a feature (fig. 9, page 3, paragraph 44).
Regarding claim 17, Amanullah et al discloses the second substrate is known to be acceptable, because the template is being formed from ideal substrates (page 1, paragraph 2). Kitada et al also discloses the acceptable substrate is known to be acceptable (fig. 9, r-Z1 group, page 9, paragraph 114).
Regarding claim 18, a computer-implemented method for determining acceptability of a substrate (Fig. 4,5), comprising: generating a model (fig. 4, item 410, 412) representing image data obtained from reference images taken of first substrates, (fig. 4, item 402, page 2, paragraph 18), each reference image including first pixels that correspond to pixels of each of other reference images (fig. 4, item 402, after a few wafers are processed by fig. 4, items 404-414), receiving new image data obtained from second pixels of an image taken of a second substrate when item 414 of fig. 4 determines there is an additional wafer, the method returns to item 402 for additional image, wherein second image values defined by the second pixels are impacted by an imaging attribute external to the second substrate that does not impact acceptability of the second substrate, i.e. a different illumination (page 2, paragraph 22) and wherein the first images are not impacted by the imaging attribute, because the second image is under different illumination conditions (page 2, paragraph 22); updating the model to generate an updated model with modified values(fig. 4, item 410, 412, 418); and determining whether there is a defect (fig. 4, item 518, 520) in a third substrate (fig. 4, item 502) using the modified values (fig. 5, item 504). Kitada et al discloses the model defines, for each first pixel with corresponding pixels (fig. 9, W have pixels that correspond in the multiple images), a range of acceptable image values, an allowable range (page 3, paragraph 44, page 7, paragraph 94, 98); modifying the range of acceptable image values based on the second image values, i.e. acceptable image data’s values to generate a modified range (fig. 10, update is based on results from difference which is based on image data on virtual inspection); and utilizing the modified range in inspection (fig. 2, “comparison” uses determined range and sensitivity of fig. 10). Kitada et al further discloses the images are of a full die of semiconductor substrates (fig. 9, “image data”, fig. 10 “image data group”).
Regarding claim 19, Amanullah et al discloses determining that a die of the second semiconductor substrate corresponding to the image of the second semiconductor substrate is acceptable by using it to build the golden template, because the golden template is a benchmark (page 1, paragraph 2). Regarding claim 19, Kitada et al discloses using a full die (fig. 9, 10), and also discloses determining that a die of the acceptable semiconductor substrate corresponding to the full die image of the acceptable semiconductor substrate is acceptable ( fig. 9, E3) and that the acceptable semiconductor substrate corresponds to a second separate substrate than that of the reference (page 9, paragraph 114).
Regarding claim 20, Kitada et al discloses the reference images are of a full die of the first semiconductor substrates (fig. 9, “image data”, fig. 10 “image data group”).Amanullah et al discloses an image of the full die includes a plurality of images of portions of the full die stitched together (pages 3-4, paragraph 38).
Regarding claim 21, Amanullah et al discloses determining whether the third substrate is acceptable or unacceptable (fig. 5, item 524) by comparing image data representing at least a portion of the third substrate (fig. 5, item 502) and the updated model (fig. 5, item 504, 508, 516).
Claims 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Amanullah et al in view of Kitada et al, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20190251349 (Duerksen).
Regarding claim 10, Amanullah et al (as modified by Kitada et al) discloses all of the claimed elements as set forth above, and is incorporated herein by reference.
Amanullah et al (as modified by Kitada et al) does not disclose expressly different ones of the reference images are obtained using different imaging equipment.
Duerksen discloses different ones of the reference images are obtained using different imaging equipment (page 8, paragraph 92).
Amanullah et al (as modified by Kitada et al) and Duerksen are combinable because they are from the same field of endeavor, i.e. inspection.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have references from different equipment.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to provide a more user-friendly, robust system by allowing and considering multiple imaging modalities.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the method of Amanullah et al (as modified by Kitada et al) with multiple imaging for references of Duerksen to obtain the invention as specified in claim 10.
Regarding claim 11, Duerksen discloses imaging equipment used to obtain the new image data is different (fig. 15, first data obtained in step 1504 at authentication site), or calibrated differently from, all imaging equipment used to obtain the reference images, since the imaging equipment is from the reference database (fig. 15, item 1508).
Claims 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Amanullah et al in view of Kitada et al, as applied to claims 1 and 18 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20050264672 (Takahashi).
Regarding claim 23, Amanullah et al (as modified by Kitada et al) discloses all of the claimed elements as set forth above, and is incorporated herein by reference.
Amanullah et al (as modified by Kitada et al) does not disclose expressly the third substrate/ the data compared to a reference is incorporated in a light emitting diode (LED) device.
Takahashi discloses the second substrate/ the data compared to a reference is incorporated in a light emitting diode (LED) device (page 10, paragraph 114).
Amanullah et al (as modified by Kitada et al) and Takahashi are combinable because they are from the same field of endeavor, i.e. inspecting substrates.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporating an LED.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to provide a more flexible, useful system by allowing all types of substrates to be inspected.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the method of Amanullah et al (as modified by Kitada et al) with the LED attachment of Takahashi to obtain the invention as specified in claim 23.
Regarding claim 24, Takahashi discloses the first substrates/ reference data are incorporated in light emitting diode (LED) devices (page 10, paragraph 114).
Conclusion
/KATHLEEN Y DULANEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2666 3/12/2026