DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is in response to Applicant’s Amendment filed on 4/28/2026. Claims 1, 9, and 19 have been amended. No claims have been added or canceled. Currently, claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments regarding Yang not teaching that the second semiconductor material of the second layer has impurities of a second conductivity type opposite to the first conductivity type are persuasive. However, this amendment necessitated further search and/or consideration. After further consideration, independent claims 1, 9, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 further in view of Liu et al. (US 12336237), which teaches, in Fig. 25B, in a source/drain region that the second semiconductor material of the second layer (91; col. 14, lines 20-30) has impurities of a second conductivity type opposite to the first conductivity type (of source/drain region 92; col. 3, lines 15-20) (col. 21, lines 40-50), in order to reduce leakage due to punch-through (col. 21, lines 45-50).
Therefore, claims 1, 9, and 19, and their dependent claims are obvious over Yang et al. (US 20220037340) in view of Liu et al. (US 12336237), as described below and stand rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (US 20220037340) in view of Liu et al. (US 12336237).
Regarding claim 1, Yang teaches, in Fig. 16B, a semiconductor device (200, [0039]) comprising:
an active region (base portion 212B of fin structure 212, see Fig. 2C, [0019]) on a substrate (202, see Fig. 2C, [0019]) and extending in a first direction (Y-direction);
a plurality of channel layers (208, [0018], labelled in Fig. 9C) vertically spaced apart from each other on the active region (212B),
a gate structure (270, [0037]) intersecting the active region (212B) and the plurality of channel layers (208), extending on the substrate in a second direction (X-direction), and surrounding the plurality of channel layers (208);
a source/drain region (248, [0030]) contacting the plurality of channel layers (208) on at least one side of the gate structure (270) and including a first semiconductor material having first impurities of a first conductivity type ([0030], “the inner layer 248 and the outer layer 246 may be doped with different dopant species”); and
a lower structure (246/241/242) in contact with the active region (212B) and below the source/drain region (248),
wherein the lower structure includes:
a first layer (242 below 241) on the active region and including an insulating material ([0029]), and
a second layer (246) on the first layer and including a second semiconductor material ([0030]),
the first layer and the second layer defining an air gap (241, [0031]),
wherein the second semiconductor material of the second layer (246) does not have impurities of a conductivity type or has impurities of a second conductivity type different from the first conductivity type ([0030], “the inner layer 248 and the outer layer 246 may be doped with different dopant species”), and
wherein the gate structure (270) and the air gap (241) do not overlap each other in a vertical direction (see Fig. 16B).
Yang does not explicitly teach the second semiconductor material of the second layer does not have impurities of a conductivity type or has impurities of a second conductivity type opposite to the first conductivity type.
In a similar field of endeavor, Liu teaches, in Fig. 25B, in a source/drain region (94; col. 3, lines 15-20) that the second semiconductor material of the second layer (91; col. 14, lines 20-30) has impurities of a second conductivity type opposite to the first conductivity type (of source/drain region 92; col. 3, lines 15-20) (col. 21, lines 40-50), in order to reduce leakage due to punch-through (col. 21, lines 45-50).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the second layer conductivity type of Yang with the second layer conductivity type of Liu, in order to reduce leakage due to punch-through (col. 21, lines 45-50).
Regarding claim 2, Yang in view of Liu teaches the limitations of claim 1. Yang further teaches that the first semiconductor material (of first source/drain region 248) includes the first impurities in a first concentration, and the second semiconductor material (of second layer 246) includes second impurities different from the first impurities in a second concentration that is less than the first concentration ([0030], “Regardless of the conductivity type of the source/drain features 245, a doping concentration in the inner layer 248 may be greater than the outer layer 246 to reduce contact resistance”).
Regarding claim 3, Yang in view of Liu teaches the limitations of claim 2. Liu further teaches that the second concentration (of second layer 91; Fig. 25B, col. 14, lines 5-10) is greater than or equal to 1 x 1017at/cm3 and less than or equal to 1 x 1020at/cm3 (col. 14, lines 20-30).
Regarding claim 4, Yang in view of Liu teaches the limitations of claim 1. Yang further teaches, in Fig. 16B, that the source/drain region (248) includes a plurality of first patterns (concave areas of 248 filled by the ends of 208) on both sides of the plurality of channel layers (208) taken in the first direction (Y-direction) and spaced apart from each other (see Fig. 16B), and the source/drain region (248) includes a second pattern surrounding the plurality of first patterns on the second layer (see Fig. 16B how the convex regions of 248 between the first patterns form a second pattern).
Regarding claim 5, Yang in view of Liu teaches the limitations of claim 4. Yang further teaches, in Fig. 16B, that the plurality of first patterns (concave areas of 248 filled by the ends of 208) include a same material as the second semiconductor material (of second layer 246) ([0018], [0030], both are silicon), and that the second pattern (the convex regions of 248 between the first patterns) includes the first semiconductor material (of source/drain region 248).
Liu further teaches that the second semiconductor material of the second layer (91; Fig. 25B, col. 14, lines 5-10) has no conductivity (col. 14, lines 5-10)
Regarding claim 6, Yang in view of Liu teaches the limitations of claim 1. Yang further teaches, in Fig. 16B, internal spacer layers on both sides of the gate structure ([0029], 242 at the sides of gate structure 270) taken in the first direction (Y-direction) on a lower surface of each of the plurality of channel layers (208), wherein the internal spacer layers include a same material as the insulating material of the first layer ([0029], both the internal spacer layers and the first layer is labelled “242”).
Regarding claim 7, Yang in view of Liu teaches the limitations of claim 1. Yang further teaches that the insulating material included in the first layer (242 below 241) includes at least one of SiN, SiO, SiCN, SiOC, SiON, SiOCN, or SiBCN ([0029], “silicon nitride, silicon oxycarbonitride, silicon carbonitride, silicon oxide, silicon oxycarbide, silicon carbide, or silico oxynitride”).
Regarding claim 8, Yang in view of Liu teaches the limitations of claim 1. Yang further teaches that each of the first semiconductor material (of first source/drain region 248) and the second semiconductor material (of second layer 246) independently includes at least one of arsenic (As), antimony (Sb), phosphorus (P), boron (B), gallium (Ga), carbon (C), oxygen (O), or nitrogen (N) ([0030]).
Regarding claim 9, Yang teaches, in Fig. 16B, a semiconductor device (200, [0039]) comprising:
an active region (base portion 212B of fin structure 212, see Fig. 2C, [0019]) extending on a substrate (202, see Fig. 2C, [0019]) in a first direction (Y-direction);
a plurality of channel layers (208, [0018], labelled in Fig. 9C) vertically spaced apart from each other on the active region (212B),
a gate structure (270, [0037]) on the substrate, intersecting the active region (212B) and the plurality of channel layers (208), extending in a second direction (X-direction), and surrounding the plurality of channel layers (208);
a source/drain region (248, [0030]) contacting the plurality of channel layers (208) on at least one side of the gate structure (270);
a lower structure (246/241/242) in contact with the active region (212B), below the source/drain region (248), and including a first layer (242 below 241, [0029], and a second layer (246, [0030]) with an air gap (241, [0031]) between the first layer and the second layer, the first layer (242), the air gap (241), and the second layer (246) in sequence from the active region (212B) (see Fig. 16B),
wherein the second layer (246) of the lower structure includes:
an upper surface in contact with the source/drain region (248),
a side surface including at least a portion in contact with the active region (212B), and
a lower surface in contact with the first layer (242) and capping the air gap (241) (see Fig. 16B),
wherein the source/drain region (248) includes a first semiconductor material including first impurities having a first conductivity type ([0030], “the inner layer 248 and the outer layer 246 may be doped with different dopant species”); and
wherein the second layer (246) includes a second semiconductor material having no conductivity type or having impurities of a second conductivity type different from the first conductivity type ([0030], “the inner layer 248 and the outer layer 246 may be doped with different dopant species”), and
wherein the gate structure (270) and the air gap (241) do not overlap each other in a vertical direction (see Fig. 16B).
Yang does not explicitly teach that the second semiconductor material of the second layer does not have impurities of a conductivity type or has impurities of a second conductivity type opposite to the first conductivity type.
In a similar field of endeavor, Liu teaches, in Fig. 25B, in a source/drain region (94; col. 3, lines 15-20) that the second semiconductor material of the second layer (91; col. 14, lines 20-30) has impurities of a second conductivity type opposite to the first conductivity type (of source/drain region 92; col. 3, lines 15-20) (col. 21, lines 40-50), in order to reduce leakage due to punch-through (col. 21, lines 45-50).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the second layer conductivity type of Yang with the second layer conductivity type of Liu, in order to reduce leakage due to punch-through (col. 21, lines 45-50).
Regarding claim 10, Yang in view of Liu teaches the limitations of claim 9. Yang further teaches, in Fig. 16B, that the upper surface of the second layer (246) is on a level below a level of a lower surface of a lowermost channel layer among the plurality of channel layers (208).
Regarding claim 11, Yang in view of Liu teaches the limitations of claim 10. Liu further teaches, in Fig. 25B, that the upper surface of the second layer (91; col. 14, lines 5-10) is on a level between the lower surface of the lowermost channel layer (54A; col. 13, lines 10-15) among the plurality of channel layers (54) and an uppermost surface of the active region (66; col. 5, lines 1-10).
Regarding claim 12, Yang in view of Liu teaches the limitations of claim 9. Yang further teaches, in Fig. 16B, that the active region (212B) includes a recess region, and at least a portion of the lower structure is within the recess region (the recess region is filled with entire lower structure 242/241/246).
Regarding claim 13, Yang in view of Liu teaches the limitations of claim 9. Yang further teaches, in Fig. 16B, that the lower surface of the second layer (246) is on a level below a level of an uppermost surface of the active region (the uppermost surface of 212B is at the top of 202 in Fig. 16B).
Regarding claim 14, Yang in view of Liu teaches the limitations of claim 9. Yang further teaches, in Fig. 16B, that a plurality of internal spacer layers on both sides of the gate structure ([0029], 242 at the sides of gate structure 270) taken in the first direction (Y-direction) on a lower surface of each of the plurality of channel layers (208).
Regarding claim 16, Yang in view of Liu teaches the limitations of claim 9. Yang further teaches, in Fig. 16B, that the source/drain region (248) includes a plurality of first patterns (concave areas of 248 filled by the ends of 208) covering both side surfaces of the plurality of channel layers (208) taken in the first direction (Y-direction), and the source/drain region (248) includes a second pattern on the second layer and surrounding the plurality of first patterns (see Fig. 16B how the convex regions of 248 between the first patterns form a second pattern).
Regarding claim 17, Yang in view of Liu teaches the limitations of claim 16. Yang further teaches, in Fig. 16B, that the plurality of first patterns (concave areas of 248 filled by the ends of 208) are spaced apart from each other in a direction perpendicular to an upper surface of the substrate (vertical direction).
Regarding claim 18, Yang in view of Liu teaches the limitations of claim 16. Yang further teaches, in Fig. 16B, that the plurality of first patterns (concave areas of 248 filled by the ends of 208) includes a same material as the second semiconductor material (of second layer 246) ([0018], [0030], both are silicon), and that the second pattern (the convex regions of 248 between the first patterns) includes the first semiconductor material (of source/drain region 248).
Liu further teaches that the second semiconductor material of the second layer (91; Fig. 25B, col. 14, lines 5-10) has no conductivity type (col. 14, lines 5-10).
Regarding claim 19, Yang teaches, in Fig. 16B, a semiconductor device (200, [0039]), comprising:
an active structure (base portion 212B of fin structure 212, see Fig. 2C, [0019]) extending in a first direction (Y-direction) and including a channel region (208, [0018], labelled in Fig. 9C) and a recess region (the recess region is filled with entire lower structure 242/241/246),
a lower structure (246/241/242) within the recess region;
a source/drain region (248, [0030]) on the lower structure (246/241/242) and doped with first impurities having a first conductivity type ([0030], “the inner layer 248 and the outer layer 246 may be doped with different dopant species”); and
gate structures (270, [0037]) on both sides of the source/drain region (248) taken in the first direction (Y-direction), intersecting the channel region (208), and extending in a second direction (X-direction),
wherein the lower structure (246/241/242) includes:
a first layer (242 below 241) in contact with the active structure (202) and including an insulating material ([0029]), and
a second layer (246) disposed on the first layer (242) and including a semiconductor material ([0030]), and
with an air gap (241, [0031]) interposed between the first layer (242) and the second layer (246),
wherein the semiconductor material of the second layer (246) has no conductivity type or has impurities of a second conductivity type different from the first conductivity type ([0030], “the inner layer 248 and the outer layer 246 may be doped with different dopant species”), and
wherein the gate structure (270) and the air gap (241) do not overlap each other in a vertical direction (see Fig. 16B).
Yang does not explicitly teach that the second semiconductor material of the second layer does not have impurities of a conductivity type or has impurities of a second conductivity type opposite to the first conductivity type.
In a similar field of endeavor, Liu teaches, in Fig. 25B, in a source/drain region (94; col. 3, lines 15-20) that the second semiconductor material of the second layer (91; col. 14, lines 20-30) has impurities of a second conductivity type opposite to the first conductivity type (of source/drain region 92; col. 3, lines 15-20) (col. 21, lines 40-50), in order to reduce leakage due to punch-through (col. 21, lines 45-50).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the second layer conductivity type of Yang with the second layer conductivity type of Liu, in order to reduce leakage due to punch-through (col. 21, lines 45-50).
Regarding claim 20, Yang in view of Liu teaches the limitations of claim 19. Yang further teaches that the second layer (246) includes second impurities different from the first impurities ([0030], “the inner layer 248 and the outer layer 246 may be doped with different dopant species”).
Liu further teaches that the second layer (91; Fig. 25B, col. 14, lines 5-10) has a concentration greater than or equal to 1 x 1017at/cm3 and less than or equal to 1 x 1020at/cm3 (col. 14, lines 20-30).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (US 20220037340) in view of Liu et al. (US 12336237), and further in view of Chu et al. (US 20220069135).
Regarding claim 15, Yang in view of Liu teaches the limitations of claim 14. Yang in view of Liu does not explicitly teach that the side surface of the second layer includes a portion in contact with a portion of the plurality of internal spacer layers.
In a similar field of endeavor, Chu teaches, in Fig. 19A, that the side surface of the second layer (236B, [0028]) includes a portion in contact with a portion of the plurality of internal spacer layers (234, [0028]), in order to “reduce parasitic resistance in the source/drain features” ([0039]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the semiconductor device structure of Yang in view of Liu with the second layer configuration of Chu, in order to reduce parasitic resistance in the source/drain features ([0039]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. For claim 1, Huang et al. (US 20230066323) teaches that the second semiconductor material of the second layer (431, Fig. 65A, [0136]) has impurities of a second conductivity type opposite to the first conductivity type (of source/drain region 432, [0135]), in order to eliminate “the parasitic leakage current and the parasitic capacitance of the semiconductor device” ([0135]).
/ERIKA H SON/Examiner, Art Unit 2893
/YARA B GREEN/Supervisor Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2893