Claim(s) 1-15 and 17-28 are pending for examination.
This Action is made NON-FINAL.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant has stated in their remarks that they have submitted a terminal rejection in response to the non statutory double patenting rejection. However no terminal rejection has been received and thus the double patenting rejection is being maintained.
Applicant's arguments with respect to the previous rejection of claims 1-28 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues:
“The Office Action aligns paragraph [0076] of Ready-Campbell with the switches quoting
"In embodiments in which the safety system 325 implements circuits involving relays or switches, the circuits operate on a 'normally closed circuit,' or a circuit that transmits through the switch to the receiving computer in a typical operating state." (Office Action at pages 22-23).
The system of Ready-Campbell, however, does not disclose a wireless control signal causing the switches to close to allow the vehicle to operate in a normal state and the switches opening due to ceasing transmitting the wireless control signal to automatically stop the engine and apply a braking force. Ikenori and Hagerskans fail to remedy the deficiencies of Ready-Campbell. Therefore, Ikenori, Ready-Campbell, and Hagerskans fail to disclose or render obvious "the wireless control signal causing the one or more switches to close to allow the vehicle to operate in a normal operation ... [and] the one or more switches open due to ceasing transmitting the wireless control signal such that the remote stop controller automatically stops an engine of the vehicle simultaneously with applying a braking force to the vehicle," as recited in amended independent claims 1 and 15.”
Examiner disagrees. As discussed in para [0076] of Campbell, the safety system 325 has the circuit involving the relay and switches that remain closed in normal operation and open to deactivate the machine. Later in para [0076] it is stated that the safety system is triggered when the wireless heartbeat signal is not received. There is no reason to believe that the safety system operates differently than as described earlier in the paragraph and will open the relay when the wireless heartbeat is missed. Ikenori already teaches stopping of the vehicle including applying the brakes.
Double Patenting
Claim(s) 1-12 and 15-28 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 1-12 of copending Application No. 18/062942 (reference application).
Table has been created below to compare claims of the instant application and claims of the copending application side by side.
Instant Application 18/062964
Copending Application 18/062942
1. A remote stop system for a vehicle configured to be operated autonomously or semi-autonomously, the remote stop system comprising: a remote stop controller configured to be installed on the vehicle, the remote stop controller having one or more switches; a remote stop actuator having an actuator and configured to send a wireless control signal to the remote stop controller, the remote stop actuator having two states: a first state having the remote stop actuator transmitting the wireless control signal to the remote stop controller, the wireless control signal causing the one or more switches to close to allow the vehicle to operate in a normal operation; and a second state having the remote stop actuator ceasing transmitting the wireless control signal to the remote stop controller upon activation of the actuator of the remote stop actuator, wherein, in the second state, the one or more switches open due to ceasing transmitting the wireless control signal such that the remote stop controller automatically stops an engine of the vehicle simultaneously with applying a braking force to the vehicle.
1. A remote stop system for a vehicle configured to be operated autonomously or semi-autonomously, the remote stop system comprising: a mechanical remote stop system configured to apply a first braking force; an electrical remote stop system configured to apply a second braking force; and a remote stop actuator configured to send a wireless control signal to the vehicle, the remote stop actuator having two states: a first state having the remote stop actuator transmitting the wireless control signal to the mechanical remote stop system and the electrical remote stop system to cease the first braking force and the second braking force; and a second state having the remote stop actuator without transmitting the wireless control signal to the mechanical remote stop system and the electrical remote stop system, wherein, in the second state, the first braking force and the second braking force are applied simultaneously.
3. The remote stop system of claim 1, wherein, in the second state, an engine of the vehicle is automatically stopped simultaneously with applying the first braking force and the second braking force.
4. The remote stop system of claim 1, further comprising a remote stop controller configured to receive the wireless control signal from the remote stop actuator and transmit the wireless control signal to the mechanical remote stop system and the electrical remote stop system.
7. The remote stop system of claim 1, further comprising a power source and a switch, wherein the power source is configured to close the switch to permit transmission of the wireless control signal to the vehicle.
2. The remote stop system of claim 1, the remote stop actuator further comprising: a transmitter configured to transmit the wireless control signal.
2. The remote stop system of claim 1, the remote stop actuator further comprising: an actuator configured to be activated by an external operator; and a transmitter configured to transmit the wireless control signal.
3. The remote stop system of claim 1, the remote stop controller further comprising a circuit configured to selectively transmit the wireless control signal to the vehicle.
5. The remote stop system of claim 1, further comprising a remote stop controller having a pair of redundant circuits configured to selectively transmit the wireless control signal to the vehicle.
4. The remote stop system of claim 3, wherein, in the first state the circuit is closed, and in the second state, the circuit is open.
6. The remote stop system of claim 5, wherein, in the first state, the pair of redundant circuits are closed, and, in the second state, at least one circuit of the pair of redundant circuits is open.
5. The remote stop system of claim 1, the remote stop controller further comprising a pair of circuits connected in series and configured to selectively transmit the wireless control signal to the vehicle.
5. The remote stop system of claim 1, further comprising a remote stop controller having a pair of redundant circuits configured to selectively transmit the wireless control signal to the vehicle.
6. The remote stop system of claim 1, wherein the one or more switches are configured to close upon receiving power from the vehicle to permit transmission of the wireless control signal to the vehicle.
7. The remote stop system of claim 1, further comprising a power source and a switch, wherein the power source is configured to close the switch to permit transmission of the wireless control signal to the vehicle.
7. The remote stop system of claim 1, wherein the one or more switches include a plurality of switches, and wherein only a single switch of the two or more switches is required to be open to stop transmission of the wireless control signal to the vehicle.
6. The remote stop system of claim 5, wherein, in the first state, the pair of redundant circuits are closed, and, in the second state, at least one circuit of the pair of redundant circuits is open.
Where according to claim 1 it is the second state in which transmission does not occur
8. The remote stop system of claim 1, further comprising a brake valve configured to selectively apply the braking force to the vehicle.
8. The remote stop system of claim 1, the mechanical remote stop system further comprising a brake valve configured to selectively apply the first braking force to the vehicle.
9. The remote stop system of claim 8, the brake valve comprising an open position and a closed position, wherein the brake valve is in the closed position during operation of the vehicle and in the open position to apply the braking force to the vehicle.
9. The remote stop system of claim 8, the brake valve comprising an open position and a closed position, wherein the brake valve is in the closed position during operation of the vehicle and in the open position to apply the first braking force to the vehicle.
10. The remote stop system of claim 8, wherein the brake valve is configured to move from a closed position to an open position when the remote stop actuator is in the second state.
10. The remote stop system of claim 8, wherein the brake valve is configured to move from a closed position to an open position when the remote stop actuator is in the second state.
11. The remote stop system of claim 8, further comprising a pressure regulator configured to regulate the braking force.
11. The remote stop system of claim 8, further comprising a pressure regulator configured to regulate the first braking force.
12. The remote stop system of claim 8, further comprising a pressure gauge configured to monitor a pressure through the brake valve.
12. The remote stop system of claim 8, further comprising a pressure gauge configured to monitor a pressure through the brake valve.
15. A vehicle system comprising: a vehicle configured to be operated autonomously or semi-autonomously; and a remote stop system including a remote stop actuator remote from the vehicle and one or more switches on the vehicle, the remote stop system having two states: a first state having the remote stop actuator continuously transmitting a wireless control signal to the vehicle such that the wireless control signal is transmitted to the vehicle without interruption for an entirety of a transmitting period, the wireless control signal causing the one or more switches to close to allow the vehicle to operate in a normal operation; and a second state having the remote stop system ceasing transmitting the wireless control signal to the vehicle, wherein, in the second state, the one or more switches open due to ceasing transmitting the wireless control signal such that an engine of the vehicle is automatically stopped simultaneously with applying a braking force to the vehicle upon the wireless control signal ceasing to be transmitted to the vehicle.
1. A remote stop system for a vehicle configured to be operated autonomously or semi-autonomously, the remote stop system comprising: a mechanical remote stop system configured to apply a first braking force; an electrical remote stop system configured to apply a second braking force; and a remote stop actuator configured to send a wireless control signal to the vehicle, the remote stop actuator having two states: a first state having the remote stop actuator transmitting the wireless control signal to the mechanical remote stop system and the electrical remote stop system; and a second state having the remote stop actuator without transmitting the wireless control signal to the mechanical remote stop system and the electrical remote stop system, wherein, in the second state, the first braking force and the second braking force are applied simultaneously.
3. The remote stop system of claim 1, wherein, in the second state, an engine of the vehicle is automatically stopped simultaneously with applying the first braking force and the second braking force.
7. The remote stop system of claim 1, further comprising a power source and a switch, wherein the power source is configured to close the switch to permit transmission of the wireless control signal to the vehicle.
17. The vehicle system of claim 15, the remote stop actuator further comprising: an actuator configured to be activated by an external operator; and a transmitter configured to transmit the wireless control signal.
2. The remote stop system of claim 1, the remote stop actuator further comprising: an actuator configured to be activated by an external operator; and a transmitter configured to transmit the wireless control signal.
18. The vehicle system of claim 15, the remote stop system further comprising a remote stop controller configured to receive the wireless control signal from the remote stop actuator.
4.The remote stop system of claim 1, further comprising a remote stop controller configured to receive the wireless control signal from the remote stop actuator and transmit the wireless control signal to the mechanical remote stop system and the electrical remote stop system.
19. The vehicle system of claim 15, the remote stop controller further comprising a circuit configured to selectively transmit the wireless control signal to the vehicle.
5. The remote stop system of claim 1, further comprising a remote stop controller having a pair of redundant circuits configured to selectively transmit the wireless control signal to the vehicle.
20. The vehicle system of claim 19, wherein, in the first state, the circuit is closed, and in the second state, the circuit is open.
6. The remote stop system of claim 5, wherein, in the first state, the pair of redundant circuits are closed, and, in the second state, at least one circuit of the pair of redundant circuits is open.
21. The vehicle system of claim 15, the remote stop system further comprising a pair of redundant circuits configured to selectively transmit the wireless control signal to the vehicle.
5. The remote stop system of claim 1, further comprising a remote stop controller having a pair of redundant circuits configured to selectively transmit the wireless control signal to the vehicle.
22. The vehicle system of claim 21, the remote stop system further comprising a remote stop controller having the pair of redundant circuits.
5. The remote stop system of claim 1, further comprising a remote stop controller having a pair of redundant circuits configured to selectively transmit the wireless control signal to the vehicle.
23. The vehicle system of claim 15, wherein the one or more switches are configured to close upon receiving power from the vehicle to permit transmission of the wireless control signal to the vehicle.
7. The remote stop system of claim 1, further comprising a power source and a switch, wherein the power source is configured to close the switch to permit transmission of the wireless control signal to the vehicle.
24. The vehicle system of claim 15, wherein the one or more switches include a plurality of switches, and wherein only a single switch of the plurality of switches is required to be open to stop transmission of the wireless control signal to the vehicle.
6. The remote stop system of claim 5, wherein, in the first state, the pair of redundant circuits are closed, and, in the second state, at least one circuit of the pair of redundant circuits is open.
Where according to claim 1 it is the second state in which transmission does not occur
25. The vehicle system of claim 15, the remote stop system further comprising a brake valve configured to selectively apply the braking force to the vehicle.
8. The remote stop system of claim 1, the mechanical remote stop system further comprising a brake valve configured to selectively apply the first braking force to the vehicle.
26. The vehicle system of claim 25, the brake valve comprising an open position and a closed position, wherein the brake valve is in the closed position in the first state and in the open position in the second state.
10. The remote stop system of claim 8, wherein the brake valve is configured to move from a closed position to an open position when the remote stop actuator is in the second state.
27. The vehicle system of claim 25, the remote stop system further comprising a pressure regulator configured to regulate the braking force.
11. The remote stop system of claim 8, further comprising a pressure regulator configured to regulate the first braking force.
28. The vehicle system of claim 25, the remote stop system further comprising a pressure gauge configured to monitor a pressure through the brake valve.
12. The remote stop system of claim 8, further comprising a pressure gauge configured to monitor a pressure through the brake valve.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both inventions are directed to Remote stop system. Claim(s) 1-12 and 15-28 are rejected based on claim(s) 1-12 of the copending application. Minor differences can be seen in the table above, however it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the “The remote system system” of the copending application to include into the “The remote stop system” and “The vehicle system” of the instant application to yield predictable results.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 and 14-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ikenori (US 20210362718 A1) in view of Ready-Campbell (US 20200291608 A1, hereinafter known as Campbell) and Hagerskans (US 20220404827 A1).
Ikenori, Campbell, and Hagerskans were cited in a previous office action
Regarding Claim 1, Ikenori teaches A remote stop system for a vehicle configured to be operated autonomously or semi-autonomously, the remote stop system comprising:
{Abstract “When in an autonomous travel mode, the control unit controls the operation of the electric actuator and switches the foot brake from the release state to the braking state when an abnormality is detected inside of the vehicle on the basis of detection information from a vehicle state detection device for detecting the state of each part of the vehicle, or when an emergency stop command is acquired from a wireless communication device set so as to be capable of wireless communication with the autonomous travel unit.”
}
a remote stop controller configured to be installed on the vehicle, the remote stop controller having one or more switches;
{Para [0118] “As illustrated in FIGS. 2, 4, 5, and 8 to 11, the brake system 17 includes an electric second brake operating device 100 that operates the left and right brake pedals 40 coupled by the coupling mechanism 55 so as to operate the left and right brakes 42 as safety brakes. As illustrated in FIG. 3, the autonomous drive control unit 22F includes a safety brake function unit 22Fa that controls the operation of the second brake operating device 100 so as to cause the left and right brakes 42 to function as safety brakes.”
}
a remote stop actuator having an actuator configured to send a wireless control signal to the remote stop controller, the remote stop actuator having two states:
{Para [0134] “As illustrated in FIG. 3, the safety brake function unit 22Fa monitors the operating state of the components of the tractor 1 and the communication state with the components on the basis of various items of detection information from the vehicle state detection device 23 received via the speed change control unit 22B, the steering control unit 22C, etc. In the autonomous drive mode, when the safety brake function unit 22Fa detects an error inside the vehicle on the basis of detection information from the vehicle state detection device 23 or obtains an emergency stop command from the mobile communication terminal 3 or an emergency stop remote control 90 (see FIG. 2), which is an example of a wireless communication device, the safety brake function unit 22Fa performs emergency stop control to control the operation of the electric motor 102 and switch the left and right brakes 42 from a released state to a braking state. For this reason, the tractor 1 includes an emergency stop communication antenna 91 for receiving an emergency stop command sent from the emergency stop remote control 90, as illustrated in FIG. 2.”
Where the remote transmitting the stop command can be considered as a second state and not transmitting a first state.
The touchscreen and finger in combination as shown in Fig. 1 label 3 can be considered as an actuator under broadest reasonabel broadest reasonable interpretation.
}
wherein, in the second state,
{Para [0138] “In the emergency stop process, the safety brake function unit 22Fa sends an engine stop command to the engine control unit 22A and sends a safety brake operation command for operating the left and right brakes 42 as safety brakes to the steering control unit 22C.”
}
Ikenori does not teach, the remote stop controller having one or more switches;
a first state having the remote stop actuator transmitting the wireless control signal to the remote stop controller the wireless control signal causing the one or more switches to close to allow the vehicle to operate in a normal operation; and a second state having the remote stop actuator ceasing transmitting the wireless control signal to the remote stop controller upon activation of the actuator of the remote stop actuator
the one or more switches open due to ceasing transmitting the wireless control signal
However, Campbell teaches a remote stop controller configured to be installed on the vehicle, the remote stop controller having one or more switches; a remote stop actuator configured to send a wireless control signal to the remote stop controller,
{Para [0075] “In some embodiments, a safety system 325 comprises a wireless remote emergency stop button and a hard-wired emergency stop button are connected to the same circuit which is connected directly to the machine power system. The resulting circuit creates a redundant/master safety circuit which controls the safety system 325. For example, if one component in the safety system 325 is triggered, power directed to all systems in the excavation vehicle 115 is shut down. Hard-wired emergency stop buttons are mounted in safe locations on the excavation vehicle 115 that are physically and easily accessible by a manual operator and out of range of the tool 175.”
Para [0076] “In embodiments in which the safety system 325 implements circuits involving relays or switches, the circuits operate on a “normally closed circuit,” or a circuit that transmits through the switch to the receiving computer in a typical operating state.”
}
the remote stop actuator having two states: a first state having the remote stop actuator transmitting the wireless control signal to the remote stop controller, the wireless control signal causing the one or more switches to close to allow the vehicle to operate in a normal operation; and a second state having the remote stop actuator ceasing transmitting the wireless control signal to the remote stop controller the vehicle stops.
{Para [0076] “In embodiments in which the safety system 325 implements circuits involving relays or switches, the circuits operate on a “normally closed circuit,” or a circuit that transmits through the switch to the receiving computer in a typical operating state. In such circuits, when a hard-wired emergency stop button is engaged, the button cuts the signal and triggers the system to deactivate the machine. In alternate embodiments, a watch dog timer is used to detect and recover from communications and computer hardware malfunctions. During normal operation, the computer 120 will regularly reset the watchdog timer to prevent the timer from expiring. If there is a malfunction with the computer 120, and the watchdog timer expires, the safety system 325 will trigger the excavation vehicle 115 to halt its operation until a corrective action has been taken. When halted under such conditions, the vehicle 115 is referred to as in “safe-state.” Accordingly, the vehicle 115 is put into safe-state when there is a communication or hardware malfunction on the remote monitoring computer or embedded system. Similar, to the watchdog timer, the wireless emergency stop button implements a “heartbeat” such that the receiver system on the vehicle 115 must receive a signal from the wireless emergency stop button at set intervals. If the receiver missed a predetermined number of “heartbeats,” the safety system triggers and the machine halts operation as if the wireless emergency stop button was engaged.”
There is no reason to believe that the safety system trigger for halting the machine operates differently between the button version and wireless version. Thus the triggering of the safety system from lack of heartbeat would also cut the signal resulting in opening the relay when the wireless heartbeat is missed.
}
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ikenori to incorporate the teachings of Campbell to have the state in which a wireless transmission is not received be the state that causes the vehicle emergency stop because it causes an emergency stop to occur if the vehicle if the vehicle is out of range of the emergency stop remote or the remote is disable improving safety as it helps mitigate the chance of a runaway vehicle.
Ikenori in view of Campbell does not explicitly teach a second state having the remote stop actuator ceasing transmitting the wireless control signal to the remote stop controller upon activation of the actuator of the remote stop actuator
However Hagerskans teaches a remote stop actuator having an actuator configured to send a wireless control signal to the remote stop controller and a second state having the remote stop actuator ceasing transmitting the wireless control signal to the remote stop controller upon activation of the actuator of the remote stop actuator
{Abstract “A wireless control system comprises a plurality of local stations linked by a communication network. Each local station transmits, in a respective radio coverage area, an enduring status signal. An autonomous vehicle is authorized to move while it receives the status signal. When an emergency stop switch of the local station is activated, the local station interrupts its transmission of the status signal. It also instructs one or more further local stations, to which it is linked by a communication network, to interrupt their transmission of the status signal. In this way, the activation of the local emergency stop switch will have effect throughout the control system and will eventually bring all autonomous vehicles to a halt.”
}
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ikenori in view of Campbell to incorporate the teachings of Hagerskans to cease the transmission upon activation of the actuator because as discussed in para [0003] of Hagerskans “The failure-prone nature of radio communication must be considered when wireless AV control systems are designed. Indeed, an emergency stop mechanism would be inherently unsafe if it assumed that the transmitter always possessed a working radio link to the moving AV, over which it could transmit an emergency stop message when needed. The risk of radio link failure can be neutralized if, instead, the wireless AV control system orders an emergency stop by no longer sending an authorization signal. From the AVs point of view, movement is allowed only when the vehicle receives the authorization signal as expected, e.g., at specified intervals. If the AV loses the radio link to the transmitter, it must halt.”
Regarding Claim 2, Ikenori in view of Campbell and Hagerskans teaches The remote stop system of claim 1. Ikenori further teaches the remote stop actuator further comprising: a transmitter configured to transmit the wireless control signal.
{ Para [0134] “As illustrated in FIG. 3, the safety brake function unit 22Fa monitors the operating state of the components of the tractor 1 and the communication state with the components on the basis of various items of detection information from the vehicle state detection device 23 received via the speed change control unit 22B, the steering control unit 22C, etc. In the autonomous drive mode, when the safety brake function unit 22Fa detects an error inside the vehicle on the basis of detection information from the vehicle state detection device 23 or obtains an emergency stop command from the mobile communication terminal 3 or an emergency stop remote control 90 (see FIG. 2), which is an example of a wireless communication device, the safety brake function unit 22Fa performs emergency stop control to control the operation of the electric motor 102 and switch the left and right brakes 42 from a released state to a braking state. For this reason, the tractor 1 includes an emergency stop communication antenna 91 for receiving an emergency stop command sent from the emergency stop remote control 90, as illustrated in FIG. 2.”
See also fig. 1 and label 3
}
Regarding Claim 3, Ikenori in view of Campbell and Hagerskans teaches The remote stop system of claim 1. Ikenori further teaches the remote stop controller further comprising a circuit configured to selectively transmit the wireless control signal to the vehicle.
{As claim 1 has stated the remote stop controller is installed on the vehicle it is interpreted as “transmit the wireless control signal to the vehicle” is transmitting the control signal it received wirelessly from the remote stop actuator to other subsystems in the vehicle. The safety brake function unit can be considered as the remote stop controller and it is sending a control signal to the engine control unit and steering control unit.
Para [0138] “In the emergency stop process, the safety brake function unit 22Fa sends an engine stop command to the engine control unit 22A and sends a safety brake operation command for operating the left and right brakes 42 as safety brakes to the steering control unit 22C.”
}
Regarding Claim 4, Ikenori in view of Campbell and Hagerskans teaches The remote stop system of claim 3. Campbell further teaches wherein, in the first state the circuit is closed, and in the second state, the circuit is open.
{Para [0075] “In some embodiments, a safety system 325 comprises a wireless remote emergency stop button and a hard-wired emergency stop button are connected to the same circuit which is connected directly to the machine power system. The resulting circuit creates a redundant/master safety circuit which controls the safety system 325. For example, if one component in the safety system 325 is triggered, power directed to all systems in the excavation vehicle 115 is shut down. Hard-wired emergency stop buttons are mounted in safe locations on the excavation vehicle 115 that are physically and easily accessible by a manual operator and out of range of the tool 175.”
Where the circuit is being opened when the vehicle is to be stopped.
}
Regarding Claim 5, Ikenori in view of Campbell and Hagerskans teaches The remote stop system of claim 1. Campbell further teaches the remote stop controller further comprising a pair of circuits connected in series and configured to selectively transmit the wireless control signal to the vehicle.
{ Para [0075] “In some embodiments, a safety system 325 comprises a wireless remote emergency stop button and a hard-wired emergency stop button are connected to the same circuit which is connected directly to the machine power system. The resulting circuit creates a redundant/master safety circuit which controls the safety system 325. For example, if one component in the safety system 325 is triggered, power directed to all systems in the excavation vehicle 115 is shut down. Hard-wired emergency stop buttons are mounted in safe locations on the excavation vehicle 115 that are physically and easily accessible by a manual operator and out of range of the tool 175.”
Where if either the wireless remote emergency stop button or the hard-wired emergency stop button are used power is being cut thus it means that two switches in series are being used as either opening will break the circuit.
}
Regarding Claim 6, Ikenori in view of Campbell and Hagerskans teaches The remote stop system of claim 1. Campbell further teaches wherein the one or more switches are configured to close upon receiving power from the vehicle the switch to permit transmission of the wireless control signal to the vehicle.
{ Para [0075] “In some embodiments, a safety system 325 comprises a wireless remote emergency stop button and a hard-wired emergency stop button are connected to the same circuit which is connected directly to the machine power system. The resulting circuit creates a redundant/master safety circuit which controls the safety system 325. For example, if one component in the safety system 325 is triggered, power directed to all systems in the excavation vehicle 115 is shut down. Hard-wired emergency stop buttons are mounted in safe locations on the excavation vehicle 115 that are physically and easily accessible by a manual operator and out of range of the tool 175.”
Para [0076] “In embodiments in which the safety system 325 implements circuits involving relays or switches, the circuits operate on a “normally closed circuit,” or a circuit that transmits through the switch to the receiving computer in a typical operating state. In such circuits, when a hard-wired emergency stop button is engaged, the button cuts the signal and triggers the system to deactivate the machine.
Relays (e.g. electrically operated switches) inherently require a voltage source to open or close them.
}
Regarding Claim 7, Ikenori in view of Campbell and Hagerskans teaches The remote stop system of claim 1. Campbell further teaches wherein the one or more switches include a plurality of switches, and wherein only a single switch of the plurality of switches is required to be open to stop transmission of the wireless control signal to the vehicle.
{ Para [0075] “In some embodiments, a safety system 325 comprises a wireless remote emergency stop button and a hard-wired emergency stop button are connected to the same circuit which is connected directly to the machine power system. The resulting circuit creates a redundant/master safety circuit which controls the safety system 325. For example, if one component in the safety system 325 is triggered, power directed to all systems in the excavation vehicle 115 is shut down. Hard-wired emergency stop buttons are mounted in safe locations on the excavation vehicle 115 that are physically and easily accessible by a manual operator and out of range of the tool 175.”
Para [0076] “In embodiments in which the safety system 325 implements circuits involving relays or switches, the circuits operate on a “normally closed circuit,” or a circuit that transmits through the switch to the receiving computer in a typical operating state. In such circuits, when a hard-wired emergency stop button is engaged, the button cuts the signal and triggers the system to deactivate the machine.
}
Regarding Claim 14, Ikenori in view of Campbell and Hagerskans teaches The remote stop system of claim 1. Campbell further teaches the remote stop controller further comprising a pair of circuits connected in series and configured to selectively transmit the wireless control signal to the vehicle.
{ Para [0076] “Similar, to the watchdog timer, the wireless emergency stop button implements a “heartbeat” such that the receiver system on the vehicle 115 must receive a signal from the wireless emergency stop button at set intervals. If the receiver missed a predetermined number of “heartbeats,” the safety system triggers and the machine halts operation as if the wireless emergency stop button was engaged.”
}
Regarding Claim 15, Ikenori teaches A vehicle system comprising: a vehicle configured to be operated autonomously or semi-autonomously;
{Abstract “When in an autonomous travel mode, the control unit controls the operation of the electric actuator and switches the foot brake from the release state to the braking state when an abnormality is detected inside of the vehicle on the basis of detection information from a vehicle state detection device for detecting the state of each part of the vehicle, or when an emergency stop command is acquired from a wireless communication device set so as to be capable of wireless communication with the autonomous travel unit.”
Fig.1 shows the system is on a vehicle
}
a remote stop controller configured to be installed on the vehicle;
{Para [0118] “As illustrated in FIGS. 2, 4, 5, and 8 to 11, the brake system 17 includes an electric second brake operating device 100 that operates the left and right brake pedals 40 coupled by the coupling mechanism 55 so as to operate the left and right brakes 42 as safety brakes. As illustrated in FIG. 3, the autonomous drive control unit 22F includes a safety brake function unit 22Fa that controls the operation of the second brake operating device 100 so as to cause the left and right brakes 42 to function as safety brakes.”
}
and a remote stop system including a remote stop actuator
{Para [0134] “As illustrated in FIG. 3, the safety brake function unit 22Fa monitors the operating state of the components of the tractor 1 and the communication state with the components on the basis of various items of detection information from the vehicle state detection device 23 received via the speed change control unit 22B, the steering control unit 22C, etc. In the autonomous drive mode, when the safety brake function unit 22Fa detects an error inside the vehicle on the basis of detection information from the vehicle state detection device 23 or obtains an emergency stop command from the mobile communication terminal 3 or an emergency stop remote control 90 (see FIG. 2), which is an example of a wireless communication device, the safety brake function unit 22Fa performs emergency stop control to control the operation of the electric motor 102 and switch the left and right brakes 42 from a released state to a braking state. For this reason, the tractor 1 includes an emergency stop communication antenna 91 for receiving an emergency stop command sent from the emergency stop remote control 90, as illustrated in FIG. 2.”
Where the remote transmitting the stop command can be considered as a second state and not transmitting a first state.
}
wherein, in the second state, the safety system is triggered such that an engine of the vehicle is automatically stopped simultaneously with applying a braking force to the vehicle
{Para [0138] “In the emergency stop process, the safety brake function unit 22Fa sends an engine stop command to the engine control unit 22A and sends a safety brake operation command for operating the left and right brakes 42 as safety brakes to the steering control unit 22C.”
}
Ikenori does not teach,
remote stop actuator remote from the vehicle and one or more switches on the vehicle
a first state having the remote stop actuator continuously transmitting a wireless control signal to the vehicle such that the wireless control signal is transmitted to the vehicle without interruption for an entirety of a transmitting period, the wireless control signal causing the one or more switches to close to allow the vehicle to operate in a normal operation; and a second state having the remote stop system ceasing transmitting the wireless control signal to the vehicle, wherein, in the second state, the one or more switches open due to ceasing transmitting the wireless control signal such that an engine of the vehicle is automatically stopped simultaneously with applying a braking force to the vehicle upon the wireless control signal ceasing to be transmitted to the vehicle.
However, Campbell teaches a remote stop system including a remote stop actuator
{Para [0075] “In some embodiments, a safety system 325 comprises a wireless remote emergency stop button and a hard-wired emergency stop button are connected to the same circuit which is connected directly to the machine power system. The resulting circuit creates a redundant/master safety circuit which controls the safety system 325. For example, if one component in the safety system 325 is triggered, power directed to all systems in the excavation vehicle 115 is shut down. Hard-wired emergency stop buttons are mounted in safe locations on the excavation vehicle 115 that are physically and easily accessible by a manual operator and out of range of the tool 175.”
}
and a remote stop system having two states: a first state having the remote stop actuator continuously transmitting a wireless control signal to the vehicle such that the wireless control signal is transmitted to the vehicle without interruption for an entirety of a transmitting period; and a second state having the remote stop system ceasing transmitting, the wireless control signal causing the one or more switches to close to allow the vehicle to operate in a normal operation; the wireless control signal to the vehicle, wherein, in the second state, the one or more switches open due to ceasing transmitting the wireless control signal such that the vehicle stops
{ ara [0076] “In embodiments in which the safety system 325 implements circuits involving relays or switches, the circuits operate on a “normally closed circuit,” or a circuit that transmits through the switch to the receiving computer in a typical operating state. In such circuits, when a hard-wired emergency stop button is engaged, the button cuts the signal and triggers the system to deactivate the machine. In alternate embodiments, a watch dog timer is used to detect and recover from communications and computer hardware malfunctions. During normal operation, the computer 120 will regularly reset the watchdog timer to prevent the timer from expiring. If there is a malfunction with the computer 120, and the watchdog timer expires, the safety system 325 will trigger the excavation vehicle 115 to halt its operation until a corrective action has been taken. When halted under such conditions, the vehicle 115 is referred to as in “safe-state.” Accordingly, the vehicle 115 is put into safe-state when there is a communication or hardware malfunction on the remote monitoring computer or embedded system. Similar, to the watchdog timer, the wireless emergency stop button implements a “heartbeat” such that the receiver system on the vehicle 115 must receive a signal from the wireless emergency stop button at set intervals. If the receiver missed a predetermined number of “heartbeats,” the safety system triggers and the machine halts operation as if the wireless emergency stop button was engaged.”
There is no reason to believe that the safety system trigger for halting the machine operates differently between the button version and wireless version. Thus the triggering of the safety system from lack of heartbeat would also cut the signal resulting in opening the relay when the wireless heartbeat is missed.
A heartbeat signal by definition can be considered as a continuous uninterrupted signal as it continues at a regular expected pace. If a beat is missed then it can be considered interrupted.
}
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ikenori to incorporate the teachings of Campbell to have the state in which a wireless transmission is not received be the state that causes the vehicle emergency stop because it causes an emergency stop to occur if the vehicle if the vehicle is out of range of the emergency stop remote or the remote is disable improving safety as it helps mitigate the chance of a runaway vehicle.
Ikenori in view of campbell does not teach, performing control upon the wireless control signal ceasing to be transmitted to the vehicle
However Hagerskans teaches
remote stop actuator remote from the vehicle and and a remote stop system having two states: a first state having the remote stop actuator continuously transmitting a wireless control signal to the vehicle such that the wireless control signal is transmitted to the vehicle without interruption for an entirety of a transmitting period; and a second state having the remote stop system ceasing transmitting the wireless control signal to the vehicle, wherein, in the second state,
the vehicle stops upon the wireless control signal ceasing to be transmitted to the vehicle.
{Abstract “A wireless control system comprises a plurality of local stations linked by a communication network. Each local station transmits, in a respective radio coverage area, an enduring status signal. An autonomous vehicle is authorized to move while it receives the status signal. When an emergency stop switch of the local station is activated, the local station interrupts its transmission of the status signal. It also instructs one or more further local stations, to which it is linked by a communication network, to interrupt their transmission of the status signal. In this way, the activation of the local emergency stop switch will have effect throughout the control system and will eventually bring all autonomous vehicles to a halt.”
}
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ikenori in view of Campbell to incorporate the teachings of Hagerskans to cease the transmission upon activation of the actuator because as discussed in para [0003] of Hagerskans “The failure-prone nature of radio communication must be considered when wireless AV control systems are designed. Indeed, an emergency stop mechanism would be inherently unsafe if it assumed that the transmitter always possessed a working radio link to the moving AV, over which it could transmit an emergency stop message when needed. The risk of radio link failure can be neutralized if, instead, the wireless AV control system orders an emergency stop by no longer sending an authorization signal. From the AVs point of view, movement is allowed only when the vehicle receives the authorization signal as expected, e.g., at specified intervals. If the AV loses the radio link to the transmitter, it must halt.”
Regarding claim 17, it recites A vehicle system having limitations similar to those of claim 2 and therefore is rejected on the same basis.
Regarding Claim 18, Ikenori in view of Campbell and Hagerskans teaches The vehicle system of claim 15. Ikenori further teaches the remote stop system further comprising a remote stop controller configured to receive the wireless control signal from the remote stop actuator.
{ Para [0134] “As illustrated in FIG. 3, the safety brake function unit 22Fa monitors the operating state of the components of the tractor 1 and the communication state with the components on the basis of various items of detection information from the vehicle state detection device 23 received via the speed change control unit 22B, the steering control unit 22C, etc. In the autonomous drive mode, when the safety brake function unit 22Fa detects an error inside the vehicle on the basis of detection information from the vehicle state detection device 23 or obtains an emergency stop command from the mobile communication terminal 3 or an emergency stop remote control 90 (see FIG. 2), which is an example of a wireless communication device, the safety brake function unit 22Fa performs emergency stop control to control the operation of the electric motor 102 and switch the left and right brakes 42 from a released state to a braking state. For this reason, the tractor 1 includes an emergency stop communication antenna 91 for receiving an emergency stop command sent from the emergency stop remote control 90, as illustrated in FIG. 2.”
See also fig. 1 and label 3
}
Regarding claim 19, it recites A vehicle system having limitations similar to those of claim 3 and therefore is rejected on the same basis.
Regarding claim 20, it recites A vehicle system having limitations similar to those of claim 4 and therefore is rejected on the same basis.
Regarding Claim 21, Ikenori in view of Campbell and Hagerskans teaches The vehicle system of claim 15. Campbell further teaches the remote stop system further comprising a pair of redundant circuits configured to selectively transmit the wireless control signal to the vehicle.
{ Para [0075] “In some embodiments, a safety system 325 comprises a wireless remote emergency stop button and a hard-wired emergency stop button are connected to the same circuit which is connected directly to the machine power system. The resulting circuit creates a redundant/master safety circuit which controls the safety system 325. For example, if one component in the safety system 325 is triggered, power directed to all systems in the excavation vehicle 115 is shut down. Hard-wired emergency stop buttons are mounted in safe locations on the excavation vehicle 115 that are physically and easily accessible by a manual operator and out of range of the tool 175.”
}
Regarding Claim 22, Ikenori in view of Campbell teaches The vehicle system of claim 21. Campbell further teaches the remote stop system further comprising a remote stop controller having the pair of redundant circuits.
{ Para [0075] “In some embodiments, a safety system 325 comprises a wireless remote emergency stop button and a hard-wired emergency stop button are connected to the same circuit which is connected directly to the machine power system. The resulting circuit creates a redundant/master safety circuit which controls the safety system 325. For example, if one component in the safety system 325 is triggered, power directed to all systems in the excavation vehicle 115 is shut down. Hard-wired emergency stop buttons are mounted in safe locations on the excavation vehicle 115 that are physically and easily accessible by a manual operator and out of range of the tool 175.”
}
Regarding claim 23, it recites A vehicle system having limitations similar to those of claim 6 and therefore is rejected on the same basis.
Regarding claim 24, it recites A vehicle system having limitations similar to those of claim 7 and therefore is rejected on the same basis.
Claim(s) 8-10, 12, 25-26, and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ikenori (US 20210362718 A1) in view of Ready-Campbell (US 20200291608 A1, hereinafter known as Campbell), Hagerskans (US 20220404827 A1), and Backes, III et al. (US 20140097667 A1, hereinafter known as Backes).
Backes was cited in a previous office action.
Regarding Claim 8, Ikenori in view of Campbell and Hagerskans teaches The remote stop system of claim 1
Ikenori in view of Campbell and Hagerskans does not teach, further comprising a brake valve configured to selectively apply the braking force to the vehicle.
However, Backes teaches further comprising a brake valve configured to selectively apply the braking force to the vehicle.
{Para [0081] “In an embodiment, a method (e.g., for controlling a brake system of a vehicle) includes coupling a magnet valve to an air brake system of a vehicle that includes a first valve also coupled with the air brake system. Each of the magnet valve and the first valve is configured to be separately control to block or permit flow of air out of the air brake system to activate the air brake system. The method also includes connecting the magnet valve to an automatic control system of the vehicle. The automatic control system is configured to communicate one or more control signals to the first valve and the magnet valve to cause at least one of the first valve and the magnet valve to open and allow the air to flow out of the air brake system to activate the air brake system. The method further includes configuring the automatic control system to communicate a second control signal of the one or more control signals to the magnet valve responsive to the automatic control system previously communicating a first control signal of the one or more control signals to the first valve and the air brake system not being activated. The second control signal is communicated to the magnet valve to open the magnet valve and activate the air brake system.”
}
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ikenori in view of Campbell and Hagerskans to incorporate the teachings of Backes to use a fluid braking system with a brake valve because it allows for the vehicle to be slowed down. (Backes Para [0019] “the vehicle system 10 comprises a brake system 14 (e.g., an air brake system) onboard the vehicle 12. In one aspect, the brake system 14 can be activated by a first and/or second actuation component 16, 22 to slow or stop movement of the vehicle 12. For example, the first and/or second actuation component 16, 22 can be actuated to cause fluid pressure (e.g., air pressure) in the brake system 14 to be decreased by exhausting fluid (e.g., air) from the brake system 14. When the fluid pressure in the brake system 14 drops by a sufficient amount, the brake system 14 engages one or more moving components of the vehicle 12 (e.g., wheels, axles, or the like) to slow or stop movement of the vehicle 12.” ) It should also be noted that air brakes are commonly used in the art and thus it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to equip a vehicle with a typical air brake system because they are known for being effective at stopping a heavy vehicle reliably.
Regarding Claim 9, Ikenori in view of Campbell, Hagerskans, and Backes teaches The remote stop system of claim 8. Backes further teaches the brake valve comprising an open position and a closed position, wherein the brake valve is in the closed position during operation of the vehicle and in the open position to apply the braking force to the vehicle.
{Para [0081] “In an embodiment, a method (e.g., for controlling a brake system of a vehicle) includes coupling a magnet valve to an air brake system of a vehicle that includes a first valve also coupled with the air brake system. Each of the magnet valve and the first valve is configured to be separately control to block or permit flow of air out of the air brake system to activate the air brake system. The method also includes connecting the magnet valve to an automatic control system of the vehicle. The automatic control system is configured to communicate one or more control signals to the first valve and the magnet valve to cause at least one of the first valve and the magnet valve to open and allow the air to flow out of the air brake system to activate the air brake system. The method further includes configuring the automatic control system to communicate a second control signal of the one or more control signals to the magnet valve responsive to the automatic control system previously communicating a first control signal of the one or more control signals to the first valve and the air brake system not being activated. The second control signal is communicated to the magnet valve to open the magnet valve and activate the air brake system.”
Valve is opening to activate the brakes. This is how typical airbrake systems function
}
Regarding Claim 10, Ikenori in view of Campbell, Hagerskans, and Backes teaches The remote stop system of claim 8. Backes further teaches wherein the brake valve is configured to move from a closed position to an open position when the remote stop actuator is in the second state.
{Para [0079] “In an embodiment, a method (e.g., for controlling a brake system of a vehicle) includes coupling a magnet valve to an air brake system of a vehicle that includes a first valve also coupled with the air brake system. Each of the magnet valve and the first valve is configured to be separately control to block or permit flow of air out of the air brake system to activate the air brake system. The method also includes connecting the magnet valve to an automatic control system of the vehicle. The automatic control system is configured to communicate one or more control signals to the first valve and the magnet valve to cause at least one of the first valve and the magnet valve to open and allow the air to flow out of the air brake system to activate the air brake system. The method further includes configuring the automatic control system to communicate a second control signal of the one or more control signals to the magnet valve responsive to the automatic control system previously communicating a first control signal of the one or more control signals to the first valve and the air brake system not being activated. The second control signal is communicated to the magnet valve to open the magnet valve and activate the air brake system.”
Valve is opening to activate the brakes. This is how typical airbrake systems function
Ikenari in view of Campbell already teaches activating the brakes when the remote stop actuator is in the second state as discussed in the claim 1 rejection.
}
Regarding Claim 12, Ikenori in view of Campbell, Hagerskans, and Backes teaches The vehicle system of claim 8. Backes further teaches further comprising a pressure gauge configured to monitor a pressure through the brake valve.
{Para [0081] “As described above, the vehicle control system 10 can include the sensor 42 to measure the fluid pressure in the brake system 14. The sensor 42 can include or represent a pressure switch, a pressure gauge, or the like, that is fluidly coupled to the brake pipe 32 of the brake system 14 and operably coupled to the automatic control system 18.”
It can be seen in fig. 5 that the gauge 42 is connected to the brake valve 30
}
Regarding claim 25, it recites A vehicle system having limitations similar to those of claim 8 and therefore is rejected on the same basis.
Regarding Claim 26, Ikenori in view of Campbell, Hagerskans, and Backes teaches The vehicle system of claim 25. Backes further teaches wherein the brake valve is configured to move from a closed position to an open position when the remote stop actuator is in the second state.
{Para [0079] “In an embodiment, a method (e.g., for controlling a brake system of a vehicle) includes coupling a magnet valve to an air brake system of a vehicle that includes a first valve also coupled with the air brake system. Each of the magnet valve and the first valve is configured to be separately control to block or permit flow of air out of the air brake system to activate the air brake system. The method also includes connecting the magnet valve to an automatic control system of the vehicle. The automatic control system is configured to communicate one or more control signals to the first valve and the magnet valve to cause at least one of the first valve and the magnet valve to open and allow the air to flow out of the air brake system to activate the air brake system. The method further includes configuring the automatic control system to communicate a second control signal of the one or more control signals to the magnet valve responsive to the automatic control system previously communicating a first control signal of the one or more control signals to the first valve and the air brake system not being activated. The second control signal is communicated to the magnet valve to open the magnet valve and activate the air brake system.”
Valve is opening to activate the brakes. This is how typical airbrake systems function
Ikenari in view of Campbell already teaches activating the brakes when the remote stop actuator is in the second state as discussed in the claim 1 rejection.
}
Regarding claim 28, it recites A vehicle system having limitations similar to those of claim 12 and therefore is rejected on the same basis.
Claim(s) 11 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ikenori (US 20210362718 A1) in view of Ready-Campbell (US 20200291608 A1, hereinafter known as Campbell), Hagerskans (US 20220404827 A1), Backes, III et al. (US 20140097667 A1, hereinafter known as Backes), and Sabelstrom et al (US 20090232668 A1, hereinafter know as Sabelstrom).
Sabelstrom was cited in a previous office action
Regarding Claim 11, Ikenori in view of Campbell, Hagerskans, and Backes teaches The remote stop system of claim 8.
Ikenori in view of Campbell, Hagerskans, and Backes does not teach, urther comprising a pressure regulator configured to regulate the braking force.
However, Sabelstrom teaches further comprising a pressure regulator configured to regulate the braking force.
{Para [0002] “Compressed air systems for such vehicles conventionally comprise a power driven compressor to deliver compressed air to one or more storage tanks from which the air consuming devices are fed. The operation of the compressor is usually controlled by a pressure regulator system maintaining an air pressure within the storage tanks at a rather high level, such as about 10-12 bars, which is considered to be sufficient to meet the need of operating the air consuming devices even in the most demanding situations, such as frequent braking or braking over a prolonged period of time.”
}
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ikenori in view of Campbell, Hagerskans, and Backes to incorporate the teachings of Sabelstrom to use a pressure regulator to regulate braking force because its conventionally what is used for airbrake systems as discussed in para [0002] of Sabelstrom making the technology easy to implement and potentially more reliable.
Regarding claim 27, it recites A vehicle system having limitations similar to those of claim 11 and therefore is rejected on the same basis.
Claim(s) 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ikenori (US 20210362718 A1) in view of Ready-Campbell (US 20200291608 A1, hereinafter known as Campbell), Hagerskans (US 20220404827 A1), and Didier et al. (US 4845463 A, hereinafter known as Didier).
Didier was cited in a previous office action.
Regarding Claim 13, Ikenori in view of Campbell and Hagerskans teaches The remote stop system of claim 1
Campbell further teaches further comprising a fuse that is configured to reduce a vehicle power to one or more switches of the remote stop system, and wherein one or more switches are configured to open and detach from the vehicle power to stop transmission of the wireless control signal from the remote stop actuator to the vehicle.
{ Para [0075] “In some embodiments, a safety system 325 comprises a wireless remote emergency stop button and a hard-wired emergency stop button are connected to the same circuit which is connected directly to the machine power system. The resulting circuit creates a redundant/master safety circuit which controls the safety system 325. For example, if one component in the safety system 325 is triggered, power directed to all systems in the excavation vehicle 115 is shut down. Hard-wired emergency stop buttons are mounted in safe locations on the excavation vehicle 115 that are physically and easily accessible by a manual operator and out of range of the tool 175.”
Para [0076] “In embodiments in which the safety system 325 implements circuits involving relays or switches, the circuits operate on a “normally closed circuit,” or a circuit that transmits through the switch to the receiving computer in a typical operating state. In such circuits, when a hard-wired emergency stop button is engaged, the button cuts the signal and triggers the system to deactivate the machine.
}
Ikenori in view of Campbell and Hagerskans does not teach, wherein the fuse is configured to reduce a vehicle power to a power level employed by power source
However, Didier teaches wherein the fuse is configured to reduce a vehicle power to a power level employed by power source, and wherein the power source is configured to open one or more switches
{Para [0081] “If ignition switch 42' is closed (ON) and flow switch 30 closes (flow stops), the circuit from battery B+ via fuse F1, ignition switch 42', diode D13, lead 158, solenoid coil 72, and flow switch 30 to ground is completed, activating relay 66. Relay 66 closes contacts 68, 70, completing the circuit from battery B+ via closed relay contacts 68, 70, lead 65 to motor terminal 64 of pump motor 48.”
Thus when the fuse is tripped, electrical flow will be stopped and the relay will no longer activate.
}
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ikenori in view of Campbell and Hagerskans to incorporate the teachings of Didier to use a fuse to open a relay because if there is an electrical overload or short it would trip the fuse opening the relay, thus stopping a switched action potentially improving safety. In the case of Ikenori in view of Campbell this would mean stopping the vehicle. This improves safety as running the vehicle with a short or electrical overload is hazardous.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Elsmark et al. (US 20170341197 A1) teaches in para [0036] “The power pack comprises an emergency stop circuit 5 that comprises means for disconnecting the electrical contacts from the electrical power source upon receipt of an emergency stop signal, in the form of a set of relays physically disconnecting the negative 4 and the positive 4′ electrical contacts from the power source. The power pack further comprises a communication circuit for receiving an emergency stop signal from an external control unit. The communication circuit may be a wireless communication circuit for receiving an emergency stop signal over a wireless communication network, or connected to an emergency stop bus circuit via the cable 17. The emergency stop circuit is configured to open the relays and thus physically disconnect the electrical contacts from the power source upon receipt of an emergency stop signal from the communication circuit,”
/A.G.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3668
/JAMES J LEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3668