Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. KR 10-2021-0183127, filed on 12/20/2021.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1–5, 9–20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Oh et al. (CN 112552190 A, provided in Applicants’ IDS filed on 12/22/2025, hereafter Oh). An English translation is provided within this office action.
Regarding Claims 1 and 9, Oh teaches the organic light-emitting device of Example 8 which comprises an anode, a cathode, an interlayer comprising an emission layer, and Compound 8 [0156] – [0162]. Compound 8 reads on Applicants’ Formula 1 and Formula 2 (shown below),
wherein:
R13 is represented by Formula 2,
R3 is a C4 alkyl group (tert-butyl),
R1–R2, R4–R12, R14–R18 are each hydrogen,
L1, L3 are each a single bond,
L2 is an unsubstituted C6 carbocyclic group (phenylene),
a1–a3 are each 1,
Ar1 is a C13 carbocyclic group (fluorene) substituted with two C1 alkyl groups (methyl),
Ar2 is an unsubstituted C6 carbocyclic group (phenyl),
b1–b2 are each 1.
Regarding Claim 2, the organic light-emitting device of Example 8 comprises a hole injection layer and a hole transport layer as the hole transport region. Furthermore, Example 8 comprises an electron transport layer and an electron injection layer as the electron transport region [0156] – [0162].
Regarding Claims 3 and 4, the organic light-emitting device of Example 8 comprises Compound 8 in the hole transport layer [0156] – [0162].
Regarding Claim 5, the organic light-emitting device of Example 8 emits blue light [0156] – [0162]. Additionally, the dopant used in Example 8 (Compound BD) will have a maximum emission wavelength of about 450 nm as evidenced by Ogita et al. (US 2011/0248246 A1).
Compound BD, taught by Oh, and Blue Dopant 1, taught by Ogita, are nearly identical and therefore will inherently have the same maximum emission wavelength. The maximum emission wavelength of Blue Dopant 1 is about 450 nm as shown by Figure 10B below. Therefore, Compound BD will have the same maximum emission wavelength absent of evidence otherwise.
Regarding Claims 10 and 11, for Compound 8, L1 and L3 are each a single bond, while L2 is a benzene group represented by Applicants’ Formula 4-3 (shown below).
Regarding Claim 12, a1-–a3 are each 1 for Compound 8.
Regarding Claims 13 and 14, for Compound 8, Ar1 is a fluorenyl group represented by Applicants’ Formula 5-14, while Ar2 is a phenyl group represented by Applicants’ Formula 5-1 (shown below). Y31 is C(Z33)(Z34), wherein Z33 and Z34 are each an unsubstituted C1 alkyl group (methyl). Z31 and Z32 are each hydrogen, e5 is 5, e4 is 4, and e3 is 3.
Regarding Claim 15, b1 and b2 are each 1 for Compound 8.
Regarding Claim 16, for Compound 8, *-(L1)a1-(Ar1)b1 is represented by Applicants’ Formula 7-8, while *-(L2)a2-(Ar2)b2 is represented by Applicants’ Formula 7-5 (shown below). Y61 is C(R61)(R62) wherein R61–R62 are each an unsubstituted C1 alkyl group (methyl).
Regarding Claims 17–19, R13 is represented by Formula 2, while R3 is a C4 alkyl group (tert-butyl) for Compound 8. R1–R2, R4–R12, R14–R18 are each hydrogen.
Regarding Claim 20, Compound 8 is represented by Applicants’ Formula 1A-5 (shown below).
Claims 1-–4, 9–-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li et al. (CN 107936955 A, provided in Applicants’ IDS filed on 12/22/2025, hereafter Li). An English translation is provided within this office action.
Regarding Claims 1 and 9, Li teaches the organic light-emitting device of Example 15 comprising an anode, a cathode, an interlayer comprising an emission layer, and Compound C-6 [0146] – [0158]. Compound C-6 reads on Applicants’ Formula 1 and Formula 2 (shown below),
wherein:
R16 is represented by Formula 2,
R3 is an unsubstituted C5 heterocyclic group (pyridine),
R1–R2, R4–R15, R17–R18 are each hydrogen,
L1–L3 are each a single bond,
a1–a3 are each 1,
Ar1 is an unsubstituted C6 carbocyclic group (phenyl),
Ar2 is a C12 heterocyclic group (carbazole) substituted with a C6 carbocyclic group (phenyl),
b1–b2 are each 1.
Regarding Claim 2, the organic light-emitting device of Example 15 comprises a hole transport layer as the hole transport region. Furthermore, Example 15 comprises an electron transport layer and an electron injection layer as the electron transport region [0146] – [0158].
Regarding Claims 3 and 4, the organic light-emitting device of Example 15 comprises Compound C-6 in the hole transport layer [0146] – [0158].
Regarding Claims 10 and 11, L1–L3 are each a single bond for Compound C-6.
Regarding Claim 12, a1-–a3 are each 1 for Compound C-6.
Regarding Claims 13 and 14, for Compound C-6, Ar2 is a carbazolyl group represented by Applicants’ Formula 5-14, while Ar1 is a phenyl group represented by Applicants’ Formula 5-1 (shown below). Y31 is N(Z35), wherein Z35 is an unsubstituted C6 Carbocyclic group (phenyl). Z31 and Z32 are each hydrogen, e5 is 5, e4 is 4, and e3 is 3.
Regarding Claim 15, b1 and b2 are each 1 for Compound C-6.
Regarding Claim 16, for Compound C-6, *-(L1)a1-(Ar1)b1 is represented by Applicants’ Formula 7-1, while *-(L2)a2-(Ar2)b2 is represented by Applicants’ Formula 7-8 (shown below). Y61 is N(R61) wherein R61 is an unsubstituted C6 carbocyclic group (phenyl).
Regarding Claims 17–19, R16 is represented by Formula 2, while R3 is an unsubstituted C5 heterocyclic group (pyridine) for Compound C-6. R1–R2, R4–R15, R17–R18 are each hydrogen.
Regarding Claim 20, Compound C-6 is represented by Applicants’ Formula 1A-9 (shown below).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6–8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh et al. (CN 112552190 A) in further view of Jin et al. (US 2017/0308212 A1, hereafter Jin).
Regarding Claims 6-–8, Oh teaches the organic light-emitting device of Example 8, as described above, comprising Compound 8. Oh further teaches using the organic compounds taught by Oh will enable organic light-emitting diodes with improved drive voltage, luminous efficiency, brightness, and extended lifetime [pg. 1, Invention Content].
However, Oh does not teach an electronic apparatus including a light-emitting device and a thin-film transistor, wherein the first electrode of the light-emitting device is electrically connected to the source electrode or the drain electrode of the thin-film transistor. They also do not teach an electronic apparatus comprising a color filter, a polarizing film, or a touch screen.
Jin teaches a display device comprising an organic light-emitting device wherein the anode is electrically connected to the drain electrode of a thin-film transistor [0061]. Jin further teaches the display device is integrated with a touch screen in an exemplary embodiment [0016]. Additionally, Jin teaches the use of a polarizing film disposed on the cover substrate to prevent reflection of external light [0048].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the organic light-emitting device taught by Oh in the display device taught by Jin, based on the teaching of Oh and Jin. One would be motivated to use the organic light-emitting device taught by Oh in the display device since the light-emitting device has an improved drive voltage, luminous efficiency, brightness, and extended lifetime, as taught by Oh.
Per Claim 6, the display device, as described above, reads on Applicants’ limitation since it is an electronic apparatus comprising an organic light-emitting device and a thin-film transistor.
Per Claim 7, the display device, as described above, reads on Applicants’ limitation since it comprises an organic light-emitting device wherein the anode is electrically connected to the drain electrode of a thin-film transistor [0061].
Per Claim 8, the display device, as described above, reads on Applicants’ limitation since it comprises a polarizing film [0048] and a touch screen [0016].
Double Patenting
Claims 9–20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 20 of copending Application No. 17/343,650 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 20 of ‘650 recites a species which reads on the instant applications claims 9–20.
Regarding Claim 9, ‘650 recites Compound 63 which reads on the instant application’s Formula 1 and Formula 2 (shown below),
wherein:
R13 is represented by Formula 2,
R3 is a C6 carbocyclic group (phenyl),
R1–R2, R4–R12, R14–R18 are each hydrogen,
L1–L3 are each a single bond,
a1–a3 are each 1,
Ar1 is an unsubstituted C6 carbocyclic group (phenyl),
Ar2 is a C12 heterocyclic group (carbazole) substituted with a C6 carbocyclic group (phenyl),
b1–b2 are each 1.
Regarding Claims 10 and 11, L1–L3 are each a single bond for Compound 63.
Regarding Claim 12, a1-–a3 are each 1 for Compound 63.
Regarding Claims 13 and 14, for Compound 63, Ar2 is a carbazolyl group represented by Applicants’ Formula 5-14, while Ar1 is a phenyl group represented by Applicants’ Formula 5-1 (shown below). Y31 is N(Z35), wherein Z35 is an unsubstituted C6 Carbocyclic group (phenyl). Z31 and Z32 are each hydrogen, e5 is 5, e4 is 4, and e3 is 3.
Regarding Claim 15, b1 and b2 are each 1 for Compound 63.
Regarding Claim 16, for Compound 63, *-(L1)a1-(Ar1)b1 is represented by Applicants’ Formula 7-1, while *-(L2)a2-(Ar2)b2 is represented by Applicants’ Formula 7-8 (shown below). Y61 is N(R61) wherein R61 is an unsubstituted C6 carbocyclic group (phenyl).
Regarding Claims 17–19, R13 is represented by Formula 2, while R3 is a C6 carbocyclic group (phenyl) for Compound 63. R1–R2, R4–R12, R14–R18 are each hydrogen.
Regarding Claim 20, Compound 63 is represented by Applicants’ Formula 1A-5 (shown below).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 9–20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 20 of copending Application No. 17/362,764 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 20 of ‘764 recites a species which reads on the instant applications claims 9–20.
Regarding Claim 9, ‘764 recites Compound 1 which reads on the instant application’s Formula 1 and Formula 2 (shown below),
wherein:
R16 is represented by Formula 2,
R7–R10 are each deuterium,
R1–R6, R11–R15, R17–R18 are each hydrogen,
L1–L3 are each a single bond,
a1–a3 are each 1,
Ar1 is an unsubstituted C6 carbocyclic group (phenyl),
Ar2 is a C12 heterocyclic group (carbazole) substituted with a C6 carbocyclic group (phenyl),
b1–b2 are each 1.
Regarding Claims 10 and 11, L1–L3 are each a single bond for Compound 1.
Regarding Claim 12, a1-–a3 are each 1 for Compound 1.
Regarding Claims 13 and 14, for Compound 1, Ar2 is a carbazolyl group represented by Applicants’ Formula 5-14, while Ar1 is a phenyl group represented by Applicants’ Formula 5-1 (shown below). Y31 is N(Z35), wherein Z35 is an unsubstituted C6 Carbocyclic group (phenyl). Z31 and Z32 are each hydrogen, e5 is 5, e4 is 4, and e3 is 3.
Regarding Claim 15, b1 and b2 are each 1 for Compound 1.
Regarding Claim 16, for Compound 1, *-(L1)a1-(Ar1)b1 is represented by Applicants’ Formula 7-1, while *-(L2)a2-(Ar2)b2 is represented by Applicants’ Formula 7-8 (shown below). Y61 is N(R61) wherein R61 is an unsubstituted C6 carbocyclic group (phenyl).
Regarding Claims 17–19, R16 is represented by Formula 2, R7–R10 are each deuterium for Compound 1. R1–R6, R11–R15, R17–R18 are each hydrogen.
Regarding Claim 20, Compound 1 is represented by Applicants’ Formula 1A-11 (shown below).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Yang et al. (CN 111454161 A) teaches compounds that read on Applicants’ independent claim 1, such as Compound 4 (shown below) [0252].
/J.R.F./Examiner, Art Unit 1789
/MARLA D MCCONNELL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1789