Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-17 are pending. The amendment filed Feb 27, 2026 has been entered but does not place the application in condition for allowance.
The amendment to claim 2 overcomes the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections of the original claims 2-4. The amendments to claims 1, 15, and 17 overcome the objections to the original claims.
New rejections follow.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-8, 11-14, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamiki et al (JP5748108B2) in view of Ishizu et al (JP2014150074A).
Support is provided by evidentiary reference Al Ja’farawy et al “A Review: The Development of SiO2/C Anode Materials for Lithium‑Ion Batteries” Journal of Electronic Materials (2021) 50:6667–6687 Sep 2021.
Regarding claims 1 and 17, Kamiki teaches (Fig. 5) a lithium-ion battery comprising a wound structure 80 formed by winding a negative electrode plate 10, a separator (40A, 40B), and a positive electrode plate 20 in a winding direction ([0065]), wherein Figs. 5-6 show the wound structure comprising an ellipsoidal cross section with at least one arc-shaped bending part. Kamiki also teaches (Fig. 2, reproduced below) wherein the negative electrode plate 10 comprises a negative electrode material layer 14, and a porous insulating layer 50 containing layer 54 and layer 52 located on a surface of 54 is provided on a surface of the negative electrode material layer 14 (machine translation [0022]). Layer 54 reads on an insulation layer because its position between the negative electrode material layer 14 and layer 52 (Fig. 2) “makes it possible to suppress the absorption of lithium in the negative electrode 10 by the high absorbent inorganic filler, and to prevent a decrease in battery capacity” ([0027] lines 6-10; lines 20-26); thereby insulating the two layers from each other. Kamiki also teaches layer 54 to use inorganic materials with high electrical insulation properties ([0024] line 9). More generally, layer 54 acts to insulate dendrites extended from the negative electrode from reaching the positive electrode ([0008]). Layer 52 reads on a reaction layer because it is made of high-absorbency inorganic filler 56 that absorbs lithium dendrites that reach it ([0027] lines 10-13). Consequently, the reaction layer’s absorption of lithium reads on its use as a lithium storage material.
Kamiki teaches the negative electrode material plate 10 and separator 40A are laminated (coated) together when producing the wound electrode body 80 ([0064]), which thereby results in insulation layer 54 and reaction layer 52 located on a surface of the insulation layer being coated on and adherent to a surface of the negative electrode material layer. Additionally, given Kamiki’s taught arrangement of the insulation layer and reaction layer with respect to a surface of the negative electrode material layer shown in Fig. 5, winding of the layers into wound structure (80) would naturally include the insulation layer and the reaction layer in the bending part of the wound structure.
Kamiki teaches layer 54, i.e. the insulation layer, and layer 52, i.e. the reaction layer, are each porous ([0033]); thus, the layers have pores and are not continuous, i.e. are intermittent, where they are coated. Consequently, the insulation layer and the reaction layer are intermittently coated in the winding direction, including at the bending portion of the negative electrode plate in the wound cell, thereby satisfying the claimed limitation “the insulation layer and the reaction layer are intermittently coated in the winding direction at a position of the negative electrode plate that becomes the arc-shaped bending part of the wound structure after the winding.”
Fig. 2 from Kamiki:
Regarding claim 17, Kamiki also teaches the lithium-ion battery can be used as power sources for vehicles, personal computers, and mobile terminals ([0002], [0007], [0016]; Fig. 11), which are power consuming devices.
Kamiki does not teach the surface of the negative electrode material layer on which the insulation layer and the reaction layer are coated faces an outside of the wound structure after the winding.
In the same field of endeavor, Ishizu teaches a wound electrode group in which the negative electrode is located at the innermost periphery of the wound electrode group (machine translation [0044]) and further teaches their invention provides a battery that is free from peeling of the negative electrode mixture layer, does not cause internal micro-short circuits, is excellent in safety, and is easy to produce ([0044]). One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious at the time of filing to modify the battery of Kamiki such that the negative electrode is located at the innermost periphery of the wound electrode group as taught by Ishizu, because Ishizu teaches it is a known configuration and also further teaches it can provide advantages of a battery that is free from peeling of the negative electrode mixture layer, does not cause internal micro-short circuits, is excellent in safety, and is easy to produce ([0044]). The combination of prior art would yield a battery in which the negative electrode is located at the innermost region of the wound structure, which would accordingly result in the surface of the negative electrode material layer on which the insulation layer and the reaction layer are coated facing an outside of the wound structure after the winding.
Regarding claim 5, the combination above teaches the lithium-ion battery of claim 1. Kamiki further discloses examples of lithium storage materials that can be present in reaction layer 52, such as zinc oxide, silica, tin oxide ([0057] lines 1-9), which are claimed species.
Regarding claim 6, the combination above teaches the lithium-ion battery of claim 1. Kamiki further teaches the insulation layer 54 comprises at least one of alumina (aluminum oxide), boehmite, and magnesia (magnesium oxide) ([0058]), which are claimed species.
Regarding claim 7, the combination above teaches the lithium-ion battery of claim 1. Kamiki further teaches a thickness of the insulation layer 54 as 1 µm or more, including 1 µm to 10 µm ([0028]), which corresponds to the claimed range.
Regarding claim 8, the combination above teaches the lithium-ion battery of claim 1. Kamiki further teaches a thickness of the insulation layer 54 as 1 µm or more, including 1 µm to 10 µm ([0028]), which overlaps with the claimed range.
Regarding claim 11, the combination above teaches the lithium-ion battery of claim 1 and Kamiki teaches the reaction layer 52 can be silica (SiO2) and with 55% solids (45% porosity) ([0033]). Evidentiary reference Al Ja’farawy (p6668 right col para 1) teaches the capacity of SiO2 as 1965 mAh g-1, therefore the gram capacity of the reaction layer is 1080 mAh g-1, which is within the claimed range.
Regarding claim 12, the combination above teaches the lithium-ion battery of claim 1 and Kamiki teaches the reaction layer 52 can be silica (SiO2) and with 55% solids (45% porosity) ([0033]). Evidentiary reference Al Ja’farawy (p6668 right col para 1) teaches the capacity of SiO2 as 1965 mAh g-1, therefore the gram capacity of the reaction layer is 1080 mAh g-1, which is within the claimed range.
Regarding claim 13, the combination above teaches the lithium-ion battery of claim 1 and Kamiki teaches that a particle size of particles 56 of the reaction layer 52 and a particle size of particles 58 of the insulation layer 54 can each be 0.1 µm to 3 µm ([0022], [0036]), which overlaps with the claimed range.
Regarding claim 14, the combination above teaches the lithium-ion battery of claim 1 and Kamiki teaches that a particle size of particles 56 of the reaction layer 52 and a particle size of particles 58 of the insulation layer 54 can each be 0.1 µm to 3 µm ([0022], [0036]), which overlaps with the claimed range.
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamiki et al (JP5748108B2) in view of Ishizu et al (JP2014150074A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Morin et al (US 20210159507 A1).
Support is provided by evidentiary references Al Ja’farawy et al “A Review: The Development of SiO2/C Anode Materials for Lithium‑Ion Batteries” Journal of Electronic Materials (2021) 50:6667–6687 Sep 2021, and Table 3: Density, Hardness, and Thermal Properties of Quartzite (Silica) Compared with Other Ceramic Materials for Refractories” ASM Handbook, Vol 15 – Casting, 2008.
Regarding claim 2, the combination above teaches the lithium-ion battery of claim 1.
Claim 1 recites a formula expression wherein q is a capacity of a single layer of the negative electrode active material layer in the bending part, in mAh. Based on its definition and units, q = area capacity
a
^
[mAh/cm2] x area of the single layer of the negative electrode active material layer in the bending part a [cm2]. Accordingly, the variable a is not expected to contribute to the expression because its instance in the denominator of the expression would cancel out the instance in q. The equivalent but simplified expression is
a
^
×
x
+
h
2
+
h
3
-
h
1
h
1
×
m
1
×
ρ
×
10000
-
15
, wherein
a
^
is defined as the area capacity in mAh/cm2 of the negative electrode active material layer.
Kamiki teaches that the negative electrode active material can be graphite ([0062], [0074]), that the material of reaction layer 52 can be silica SiO2 ([0057]). Kamiki also teaches the thicknesses of the reaction layer 52, the insulation layer 54, and the separator 40 ([0028] - [0029], [0048]). Kamiki also teaches ([0020], Fig. 6, annotated below) a distance x (annotated in blue) between the negative electrode material layer of negative electrode 10 and the positive electrode material layer of positive electrode 20, which would correspond to the sum of the thicknesses of reaction layer 52, the insulation layer 54, and the separator 40. The multi-layer is present throughout wound structure 80 ([0064]) and therefore would be presumed to be present in the bending part. Evidentiary references Al Ja’farawy and ASM Handbook Table 3 are relied upon to teach material properties of graphite and silica. Kamiki is silent regarding the thickness of a single layer of the negative electrode material layer and a thickness of a single layer of the positive electrode material layer. Morin teaches an electrode thickness for lithium batteries that is preferably less than 70 µm and is applicable to cathode and/or anode ([0040], Claim 5), disclosing that it is a parameter that provides the results of generating a low internal cell resistance ([0040]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the modified lithium-ion battery of Kamiki to utilize electrode thicknesses less than 70 µm as taught by Morin for the benefit of a low internal cell resistance.
Accordingly, the values for the variables in the expression and the calculated value of the expression are listed in Table 1 below. Kamiki teaches a thickness d of the reaction layer 52 as 10 µm ([0029]), which would be greater than
a
^
×
x
+
h
2
+
h
3
-
h
1
h
1
×
m
1
×
ρ
×
10000
-
15
=
2.7 µm, as claimed.
Annotated Fig. 6 from Kamiki:
Table 1:
Variable or Expression
Citation
h1 (µm)
45 µm, based on 70 µm for double-side thickness and 10 µm foil
Electrode thickness (Morin [0040]), Foil (Kamiki [0074])
h2 (µm)
50 µm, based on 70 µm for double-side thickness and 15 µm foil
Electrode thickness (Morin [0040]); Foil (Kamiki [0073])
h3 (µm)
10 µm
Kamiki [0048]
x (µm)
30 µm
Separator thickness (h3) as 10 µm, insulation layer 54 as 10 µm, reaction layer 52 as 10 µm (Kamiki: Fig. 1, [0028]-[0029], [0048])
a
^
(mAh/cm2)
2.79 mAh/cm2, calculated as 372 mAh g-1 x 7.5 x 10-3 mg/cm2
Mass loading of graphite as negative electrode active material (Kamiki: [0074]), and graphite capacity (Al Ja’farawy: p6668 right col para 4)
m1 (mAh/g)
1080 mAh g-1, calculated from 55% solids (45% porosity) and solids capacity 1965 mAh g-1
Porosity (Kamiki: [0033]), Capacity of SiO2 (Al Ja’farawy: p6668 right col para 1)
ρ (g/cm3)
1.46 g/cm3, calculated from 55% solids (45% porosity) and bulk density 2.65 g/cm3
Porosity (Kamiki: [0033]); SiO2 density (ASM Handbook Table 3)
a
^
×
x
+
h
2
+
h
3
-
h
1
h
1
×
m
1
×
ρ
×
10000
-
15
2.7 µm
a
^
×
x
+
h
2
+
h
3
-
h
1
h
1
×
m
1
×
ρ
×
10000
-
10
7.7 µm
a
^
×
x
+
h
2
+
h
3
-
h
1
h
1
×
m
1
×
ρ
×
10000
+
80
98 µm
Regarding claim 3, the combination above teaches the lithium-ion battery of claim 2. The recited left-side expression can be rewritten as the equivalent
a
^
×
x
+
h
2
+
h
3
-
h
1
h
1
×
m
1
×
ρ
×
10000
-
10
, based on reasoning similar to that used in simplifying the expression in claim 2, and evaluation of it based on the variables in Table 1 above results in 7.7 µm. Kamiki teaches a thickness d of the reaction layer 52 as 10 µm ([0029]), which would satisfy the claimed limitation.
Regarding claim 4, the combination above teaches the lithium-ion battery of claim 2. The expression recited to the left-side of the inequality for d can be rewritten as the equivalent
a
^
×
x
+
h
2
+
h
3
-
h
1
h
1
×
m
1
×
ρ
×
10000
-
10
, which is equal to 7.7 µm, as pointed out previously in addressing the limitations of claim 3. The expression recited to the right-side of the inequality for d can be rewritten as the equivalent
a
^
×
x
+
h
2
+
h
3
-
h
1
h
1
×
m
1
×
ρ
×
10000
+
80
, which equals 98 µm. Kamiki teaches a thickness d of the reaction layer 52 as 10 µm ([0029]), which would satisfy the claimed limitation.
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamiki et al (JP5748108B2) in view of Ishizu et al (JP 2014150074 A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Son et al (US 10957911 B2).
Regarding claim 9, the combination above teaches the lithium-ion battery of claim 1 and an insulation layer 54 but is silent regarding a Young’s modulus of the insulation layer.
Son discloses a protective layer (130) which is formed on a surface of a negative active material layer (110) of a lithium secondary battery (Col 5: lines 55-58) that acts as an insulation layer against dendrite growth originating from the negative electrode toward the positive electrode (Col 4: lines 26-44). Son also discloses that the protective layer physically suppresses dendrite growth and preferably has Young’s modulus 5 GPa or higher (Col 6: lines 16- 22). The Young’s modulus represents a material’s resistance to elastic deformation (Col 6: lines 16 - 19); therefore, it is presumed that the taught range of Young’s modulus is necessary for its function to physically suppress dendrite growth. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the modified insulation layer of Kamiki to have a Young’s modulus of 5GPa or higher for the benefit to physically suppress dendrite growth, as taught by Son, which is consistent with its function as an insulation layer to insulate dendrites extended from the negative electrode from reaching the positive electrode (Kamiki: [0008]). The taught range of Young’s modulus for the insulation layer overlaps with the claimed range, and therefore supports a prima facie case of obviousness, see MPEP 2144.05, I.
Regarding claim 10, the combination above teaches the lithium-ion battery of claim 1 and an insulation layer 54 but is silent regarding a Young’s modulus of the insulation layer.
Son discloses a protective layer (130) which is formed on a surface of a negative active material layer (110) of a lithium secondary battery (Col 5: lines 55-58) that acts as an insulation layer against dendrite growth originating from the negative electrode toward the positive electrode (Col 4: lines 26-44). Son also discloses that the protective layer physically suppresses dendrite growth and preferably has Young’s modulus 5 GPa or higher (Col 6: lines 16- 22). The Young’s modulus represents a material’s resistance to elastic deformation (Col 6: lines 16 - 19); therefore, it is presumed that the taught range of Young’s modulus is necessary for its function to physically suppress dendrite growth. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the modified insulation layer of Kamiki to have a Young’s modulus of 5GPa or higher for the benefit to physically suppress dendrite growth, as taught by Son, which is consistent with its function as an insulation layer to insulate dendrites extended from the negative electrode from reaching the positive electrode (Kamiki: [0008]). The taught range of Young’s modulus for the insulation layer overlaps with the claimed range, and therefore supports a prima facie case of obviousness, see MPEP 2144.05, I.
Claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamiki et al (JP5748108B2) in view of Ishizu et al (JP 2014150074 A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Cho et al (US 20210305658 A1).
Regarding claim 15, Kamiki teaches (Fig. 5) a lithium-ion battery comprising a wound structure 80 formed by winding a negative electrode plate 10, a separator (40A, 40B), and a positive electrode plate 20 in a winding direction ([0065]), wherein Figs. 5-6 show the wound structure comprising an ellipsoidal cross section with at least one arc-shaped bending part. Kamiki also teaches (Fig. 2) wherein the negative electrode plate 10 comprises a negative electrode material layer 14, and a porous insulating layer 50 containing layer 54 and layer 52 located on a surface of 54 is provided on a surface of the negative electrode material layer 14 (machine translation [0022]). Layer 54 reads on an insulation layer because its position between the negative electrode material layer 14 and layer 52 (Fig. 2) “makes it possible to suppress the absorption of lithium in the negative electrode 10 by the high absorbent inorganic filler, and to prevent a decrease in battery capacity” ([0027] lines 6-10; lines 20-26); thereby insulating the two layers from each other. Kamiki also teaches layer 54 to use inorganic materials with high electrical insulation properties ([0024] line 9). More generally, layer 54 acts to insulate dendrites extended from the negative electrode from reaching the positive electrode ([0008]). Layer 52 reads on a reaction layer because it is made of high-absorbency inorganic filler 56 that absorbs lithium dendrites that reach it ([0027] lines 10-13). Consequently, the reaction layer’s absorption of lithium reads on its use as a lithium storage material.
Kamiki teaches the negative electrode material plate 10 and separator 40A are laminated (coated) together when producing the wound electrode body 80 ([0064]), which thereby results in insulation layer 54 and reaction layer 52 located on a surface of the insulation layer being coated on and adherent to a surface of the negative electrode material layer. Additionally, given Kamiki’s taught arrangement of the insulation layer and reaction layer with respect to a surface of the negative electrode material layer shown in Fig. 5, winding of the layers into wound structure (80) would naturally include the insulation layer and the reaction layer in the bending part of the wound structure.
Kamiki teaches layer 54, i.e. the insulation layer, and layer 52, i.e. the reaction layer, are each porous ([0033]); thus, the layers have pores and are not continuous, i.e. are intermittent, where they are coated. Consequently, the insulation layer and the reaction layer are intermittently coated in the winding direction, including at the bending portion of the negative electrode plate in the wound cell, thereby satisfying the claimed limitation “the insulation layer and the reaction layer are intermittently coated in the winding direction at a position of the negative electrode plate that becomes the arc-shaped bending part of the wound structure after the winding.”
Kamiki does not teach the surface of the negative electrode material layer on which the insulation layer and the reaction layer are coated faces an outside of the wound structure after the winding.
In the same field of endeavor, Ishizu teaches a wound electrode group in which the negative electrode is located at the innermost periphery of the wound electrode group (machine translation [0044]) and further teaches their invention provides a battery that is free from peeling of the negative electrode mixture layer, does not cause internal micro-short circuits, is excellent in safety, and is easy to produce ([0044]). One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious at the time of filing to modify the battery of Kamiki such that the negative electrode is located at the innermost periphery of the wound electrode group as taught by Ishizu, because Ishizu teaches it is a known configuration and also further teaches it can provide advantages of a battery that is free from peeling of the negative electrode mixture layer, does not cause internal micro-short circuits, is excellent in safety, and is easy to produce ([0044]). The combination of prior art would yield a battery in which the negative electrode is located at the innermost region of the wound structure, which would accordingly result in the surface of the negative electrode material layer on which the insulation layer and the reaction layer are coated facing an outside of the wound structure after the winding.
Cho teaches a plurality of lithium batteries may be stacked to form a battery module, and a plurality of the battery modules may form a battery pack to be used in any suitable device requiring high capacity and high output, including applications such as a notebook, a smartphone, an electric vehicle, and/or the like ([0116]). One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed would have found it obvious to stack a plurality of the lithium ion batteries of modified Kamiki into a plurality of battery modules to form a battery pack, as taught by Cho, in order to provide sufficiently high capacity and high output for applications such as a vehicle.
Regarding claim 16, the combination above teaches the battery module of claim 15. Kamiki teaches that the lithium secondary battery 100 used to power a vehicle may be in the form of a battery pack in which a plurality of lithium secondary batteries is connected together ([0086]). Additionally, as pointed out previously in addressing claim 15, Cho also teaches the use of a plurality of battery modules to form a battery pack to be used in a device requiring high capacity and high output, such as a vehicle.
Claims 1, 5-8, 11-14, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamiki et al (JP5748108B2) in view of Ishizu et al (JP2014150074A) and Li et al (CN 205992575 U, listed in IDS 12/08/2022, machine translation included).
Support is provided by evidentiary reference Al Ja’farawy et al “A Review: The Development of SiO2/C Anode Materials for Lithium‑Ion Batteries” Journal of Electronic Materials (2021) 50:6667–6687 Sep 2021.
Regarding claims 1 and 17, Kamiki teaches (Fig. 5) a lithium-ion battery comprising a wound structure 80 formed by winding a negative electrode plate 10, a separator (40A, 40B), and a positive electrode plate 20 in a winding direction ([0065]), wherein Figs. 5-6 show the wound structure comprising an ellipsoidal cross section with at least one arc-shaped bending part. Kamiki also teaches (Fig. 2, reproduced below) wherein the negative electrode plate 10 comprises a negative electrode material layer 14, and a porous insulating layer 50 containing layer 54 and layer 52 located on a surface of 54 is provided on a surface of the negative electrode material layer 14 (machine translation [0022]). Layer 54 reads on an insulation layer because its position between the negative electrode material layer 14 and layer 52 (Fig. 2) “makes it possible to suppress the absorption of lithium in the negative electrode 10 by the high absorbent inorganic filler, and to prevent a decrease in battery capacity” ([0027] lines 6-10; lines 20-26); thereby insulating the two layers from each other. Kamiki also teaches layer 54 to use inorganic materials with high electrical insulation properties ([0024] line 9). More generally, layer 54 acts to insulate dendrites extended from the negative electrode from reaching the positive electrode ([0008]). Layer 52 reads on a reaction layer because it is made of high-absorbency inorganic filler 56 that absorbs lithium dendrites that reach it ([0027] lines 10-13). Consequently, the reaction layer’s absorption of lithium reads on its use as a lithium storage material.
Kamiki teaches the negative electrode material plate 10 and separator 40A are laminated (coated) together when producing the wound electrode body 80 ([0064]), which thereby results in insulation layer 54 and reaction layer 52 located on a surface of the insulation layer being coated on and adherent to a surface of the negative electrode material layer. Additionally, given Kamiki’s taught arrangement of the insulation layer and reaction layer with respect to a surface of the negative electrode material layer shown in Fig. 5, winding of the layers into wound structure (80) would naturally include the insulation layer and the reaction layer in the bending part of the wound structure.
Fig. 2 from Kamiki:
Regarding claim 17, Kamiki also teaches the lithium-ion battery can be used as power sources for vehicles, personal computers, and mobile terminals ([0002], [0007], [0016]; Fig. 11), which are power consuming devices.
Kamiki does not explicitly describe their porous layer 50, comprising the claimed insulating layer and reaction layer, as being localized to the bending parts of the negative electrode plate. Kamiki also does not teach the surface of the negative electrode material layer on which the insulation layer and the reaction layer are coated faces an outside of the wound structure after the winding.
In the same field of endeavor, Li teaches a wound lithium-ion battery wherein an insulating tape can be provided on both the bending parts of the positive electrode sheet and the bending parts of the negative electrode sheet (machine translation [0026]), and Fig. 3 of Li shows that the insulating tape 9 is intermittently coated in the winding direction, therefore it is a known configuration. Li teaches their invention reduces the problem where the negative electrode sheet easily loses material during the hot pressing process of the wound cell which can more easily occur in the negative electrode bending portion and which can result in lithium plating inside the battery during use ([0007]) and lead to internal short circuits which pose a significant safety hazard ([0005]). A skilled artisan would have found it obvious to have modified Kamiki’s lithium-ion battery such that Kamiki’s porous insulating layer is at the bending parts of the positive electrode sheet and negative electrode sheet as taught by Li because it is a known configuration, and Li further teaches it provides advantages of mitigating the issue of short-circuits arising from lithium plating when the negative electrode sheet loses material during manufacturing of the wound cell. Consequently, the insulation layer and the reaction layer which form the porous insulating layer would be intermittently coated in the winding direction at a position of the negative electrode plate that becomes the arc-shaped bending part of the wound structure after winding and satisfy the claimed limitation.
In the same field of endeavor, Ishizu teaches a wound electrode group in which the negative electrode is located at the innermost periphery of the wound electrode group (machine translation [0044]) and further teaches their invention provides a battery that is free from peeling of the negative electrode mixture layer, does not cause internal micro-short circuits, is excellent in safety, and is easy to produce ([0044]). One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious at the time of filing to modify the modified battery of Kamiki such that the negative electrode is located at the innermost periphery of the wound electrode group as taught by Ishizu, because Ishizu teaches it is a known configuration and also further teaches it can provide advantages of a battery that is free from peeling of the negative electrode mixture layer, does not cause internal micro-short circuits, is excellent in safety, and is easy to produce ([0044]). The combination of prior art would yield a battery in which the negative electrode is located at the innermost region of the wound structure, which would accordingly result in the surface of the negative electrode material layer on which the insulation layer and the reaction layer are coated facing an outside of the wound structure after the winding.
Regarding claim 5, the combination above teaches the lithium-ion battery of claim 1. Kamiki further discloses examples of lithium storage materials that can be present in reaction layer 52, such as zinc oxide, silica, tin oxide ([0057] lines 1-9), which are claimed species.
Regarding claim 6, the combination above teaches the lithium-ion battery of claim 1. Kamiki further teaches the insulation layer 54 comprises at least one of alumina (aluminum oxide), boehmite, and magnesia (magnesium oxide) ([0058]), which are claimed species.
Regarding claim 7, the combination above teaches the lithium-ion battery of claim 1. Kamiki further teaches a thickness of the insulation layer 54 as 1 µm or more, including 1 µm to 10 µm ([0028]), which corresponds to the claimed range.
Regarding claim 8, the combination above teaches the lithium-ion battery of claim 1. Kamiki further teaches a thickness of the insulation layer 54 as 1 µm or more, including 1 µm to 10 µm ([0028]), which overlaps with the claimed range.
Regarding claim 11, the combination above teaches the lithium-ion battery of claim 1 and Kamiki teaches the reaction layer 52 can be silica (SiO2) and with 55% solids (45% porosity) ([0033]). Evidentiary reference Al Ja’farawy (p6668 right col para 1) teaches the capacity of SiO2 as 1965 mAh g-1, therefore the gram capacity of the reaction layer is 1080 mAh g-1, which is within the claimed range.
Regarding claim 12, the combination above teaches the lithium-ion battery of claim 1 and Kamiki teaches the reaction layer 52 can be silica (SiO2) and with 55% solids (45% porosity) ([0033]). Evidentiary reference Al Ja’farawy (p6668 right col para 1) teaches the capacity of SiO2 as 1965 mAh g-1, therefore the gram capacity of the reaction layer is 1080 mAh g-1, which is within the claimed range.
Regarding claim 13, the combination above teaches the lithium-ion battery of claim 1 and Kamiki teaches that a particle size of particles 56 of the reaction layer 52 and a particle size of particles 58 of the insulation layer 54 can each be 0.1 µm to 3 µm ([0022], [0036]), which overlaps with the claimed range.
Regarding claim 14, the combination above teaches the lithium-ion battery of claim 1 and Kamiki teaches that a particle size of particles 56 of the reaction layer 52 and a particle size of particles 58 of the insulation layer 54 can each be 0.1 µm to 3 µm ([0022], [0036]), which overlaps with the claimed range.
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamiki et al (JP5748108B2) in view of Ishizu et al (JP2014150074A) and Li et al (CN 205992575 U) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Morin et al (US 20210159507 A1).
Support is provided by evidentiary references Al Ja’farawy et al “A Review: The Development of SiO2/C Anode Materials for Lithium‑Ion Batteries” Journal of Electronic Materials (2021) 50:6667–6687 Sep 2021, and Table 3: Density, Hardness, and Thermal Properties of Quartzite (Silica) Compared with Other Ceramic Materials for Refractories” ASM Handbook, Vol 15 – Casting, 2008.
Regarding claim 2, the combination above teaches the lithium-ion battery of claim 1.
Claim 1 recites a formula expression wherein q is a capacity of a single layer of the negative electrode active material layer in the bending part, in mAh. Based on its definition and units, q = area capacity
a
^
[mAh/cm2] x area of the single layer of the negative electrode active material layer in the bending part a [cm2]. Accordingly, the variable a is not expected to contribute to the expression because its instance in the denominator of the expression would cancel out the instance in q. The equivalent but simplified expression is
a
^
×
x
+
h
2
+
h
3
-
h
1
h
1
×
m
1
×
ρ
×
10000
-
15
, wherein
a
^
is defined as the area capacity in mAh/cm2 of the negative electrode active material layer.
Kamiki teaches that the negative electrode active material can be graphite ([0062], [0074]), that the material of reaction layer 52 can be silica SiO2 ([0057]). Kamiki also teaches the thicknesses of the reaction layer 52, the insulation layer 54, and the separator 40 ([0028] - [0029], [0048]). Kamiki also teaches ([0020], Fig. 6, annotated below) a distance x (annotated in blue) between the negative electrode material layer of negative electrode 10 and the positive electrode material layer of positive electrode 20, which would correspond to the sum of the thicknesses of reaction layer 52, the insulation layer 54, and the separator 40. The multi-layer is present throughout wound structure 80 ([0064]) and therefore would be presumed to be present in the bending part. Evidentiary references Al Ja’farawy and ASM Handbook Table 3 are relied upon to teach material properties of graphite and silica. Kamiki is silent regarding the thickness of a single layer of the negative electrode material layer and a thickness of a single layer of the positive electrode material layer. Morin teaches an electrode thickness for lithium batteries that is preferably less than 70 µm and is applicable to cathode and/or anode ([0040], Claim 5), disclosing that it is a parameter that provides the results of generating a low internal cell resistance ([0040]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the modified lithium-ion battery of Kamiki to utilize electrode thicknesses less than 70 µm as taught by Morin for the benefit of a low internal cell resistance.
Accordingly, the values for the variables in the expression and the calculated value of the expression are listed in Table 1 below. Kamiki teaches a thickness d of the reaction layer 52 as 10 µm ([0029]), which would be greater than
a
^
×
x
+
h
2
+
h
3
-
h
1
h
1
×
m
1
×
ρ
×
10000
-
15
=
2.7 µm, as claimed.
Annotated Fig. 6 from Kamiki:
Table 1:
Variable or Expression
Citation
h1 (µm)
45 µm, based on 70 µm for double-side thickness and 10 µm foil
Electrode thickness (Morin [0040]), Foil (Kamiki [0074])
h2 (µm)
50 µm, based on 70 µm for double-side thickness and 15 µm foil
Electrode thickness (Morin [0040]); Foil (Kamiki [0073])
h3 (µm)
10 µm
Kamiki [0048]
x (µm)
30 µm
Separator thickness (h3) as 10 µm, insulation layer 54 as 10 µm, reaction layer 52 as 10 µm (Kamiki: Fig. 1, [0028]-[0029], [0048])
a
^
(mAh/cm2)
2.79 mAh/cm2, calculated as 372 mAh g-1 x 7.5 x 10-3 mg/cm2
Mass loading of graphite as negative electrode active material (Kamiki: [0074]), and graphite capacity (Al Ja’farawy: p6668 right col para 4)
m1 (mAh/g)
1080 mAh g-1, calculated from 55% solids (45% porosity) and solids capacity 1965 mAh g-1
Porosity (Kamiki: [0033]), Capacity of SiO2 (Al Ja’farawy: p6668 right col para 1)
ρ (g/cm3)
1.46 g/cm3, calculated from 55% solids (45% porosity) and bulk density 2.65 g/cm3
Porosity (Kamiki: [0033]); SiO2 density (ASM Handbook Table 3)
a
^
×
x
+
h
2
+
h
3
-
h
1
h
1
×
m
1
×
ρ
×
10000
-
15
2.7 µm
a
^
×
x
+
h
2
+
h
3
-
h
1
h
1
×
m
1
×
ρ
×
10000
-
10
7.7 µm
a
^
×
x
+
h
2
+
h
3
-
h
1
h
1
×
m
1
×
ρ
×
10000
+
80
98 µm
Regarding claim 3, the combination above teaches the lithium-ion battery of claim 2. The recited left-side expression can be rewritten as the equivalent
a
^
×
x
+
h
2
+
h
3
-
h
1
h
1
×
m
1
×
ρ
×
10000
-
10
, based on reasoning similar to that used in simplifying the expression in claim 2, and evaluation of it based on the variables in Table 1 above results in 7.7 µm. Kamiki teaches a thickness d of the reaction layer 52 as 10 µm ([0029]), which would satisfy the claimed limitation.
Regarding claim 4, the combination above teaches the lithium-ion battery of claim 2. The expression recited to the left-side of the inequality for d can be rewritten as the equivalent
a
^
×
x
+
h
2
+
h
3
-
h
1
h
1
×
m
1
×
ρ
×
10000
-
10
, which is equal to 7.7 µm, as pointed out previously in addressing the limitations of claim 3. The expression recited to the right-side of the inequality for d can be rewritten as the equivalent
a
^
×
x
+
h
2
+
h
3
-
h
1
h
1
×
m
1
×
ρ
×
10000
+
80
, which equals 98 µm. Kamiki teaches a thickness d of the reaction layer 52 as 10 µm ([0029]), which would satisfy the claimed limitation.
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamiki et al (JP5748108B2) in view of Ishizu et al (JP 2014150074 A) and Li et al (CN 205992575 U) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Son et al (US 10957911 B2).
Regarding claim 9, the combination above teaches the lithium-ion battery of claim 1 and an insulation layer 54 but is silent regarding a Young’s modulus of the insulation layer.
Son discloses a protective layer (130) which is formed on a surface of a negative active material layer (110) of a lithium secondary battery (Col 5: lines 55-58) that acts as an insulation layer against dendrite growth originating from the negative electrode toward the positive electrode (Col 4: lines 26-44). Son also discloses that the protective layer physically suppresses dendrite growth and preferably has Young’s modulus 5 GPa or higher (Col 6: lines 16- 22). The Young’s modulus represents a material’s resistance to elastic deformation (Col 6: lines 16 - 19); therefore, it is presumed that the taught range of Young’s modulus is necessary for its function to physically suppress dendrite growth. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the modified insulation layer of Kamiki to have a Young’s modulus of 5GPa or higher for the benefit to physically suppress dendrite growth, as taught by Son, which is consistent with its function as an insulation layer to insulate dendrites extended from the negative electrode from reaching the positive electrode (Kamiki: [0008]). The taught range of Young’s modulus for the insulation layer overlaps with the claimed range, and therefore supports a prima facie case of obviousness, see MPEP 2144.05, I.
Regarding claim 10, the combination above teaches the lithium-ion battery of claim 1 and an insulation layer 54 but is silent regarding a Young’s modulus of the insulation layer.
Son discloses a protective layer (130) which is formed on a surface of a negative active material layer (110) of a lithium secondary battery (Col 5: lines 55-58) that acts as an insulation layer against dendrite growth originating from the negative electrode toward the positive electrode (Col 4: lines 26-44). Son also discloses that the protective layer physically suppresses dendrite growth and preferably has Young’s modulus 5 GPa or higher (Col 6: lines 16- 22). The Young’s modulus represents a material’s resistance to elastic deformation (Col 6: lines 16 - 19); therefore, it is presumed that the taught range of Young’s modulus is necessary for its function to physically suppress dendrite growth. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the modified insulation layer of Kamiki to have a Young’s modulus of 5GPa or higher for the benefit to physically suppress dendrite growth, as taught by Son, which is consistent with its function as an insulation layer to insulate dendrites extended from the negative electrode from reaching the positive electrode (Kamiki: [0008]). The taught range of Young’s modulus for the insulation layer overlaps with the claimed range, and therefore supports a prima facie case of obviousness, see MPEP 2144.05, I.
Claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamiki et al (JP5748108B2) in view of Ishizu et al (JP 2014150074 A) and Li et al (CN 205992575 U) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Cho et al (US 20210305658 A1).
Regarding claim 15, Kamiki teaches (Fig. 5) a lithium-ion battery comprising a wound structure 80 formed by winding a negative electrode plate 10, a separator (40A, 40B), and a positive electrode plate 20 in a winding direction ([0065]), wherein Figs. 5-6 show the wound structure comprising an ellipsoidal cross section with at least one arc-shaped bending part. Kamiki also teaches (Fig. 2) wherein the negative electrode plate 10 comprises a negative electrode material layer 14, and a porous insulating layer 50 containing layer 54 and layer 52 located on a surface of 54 is provided on a surface of the negative electrode material layer 14 (machine translation [0022]). Layer 54 reads on an insulation layer because its position between the negative electrode material layer 14 and layer 52 (Fig. 2) “makes it possible to suppress the absorption of lithium in the negative electrode 10 by the high absorbent inorganic filler, and to prevent a decrease in battery capacity” ([0027] lines 6-10; lines 20-26); thereby insulating the two layers from each other. Kamiki also teaches layer 54 to use inorganic materials with high electrical insulation properties ([0024] line 9). More generally, layer 54 acts to insulate dendrites extended from the negative electrode from reaching the positive electrode ([0008]). Layer 52 reads on a reaction layer because it is made of high-absorbency inorganic filler 56 that absorbs lithium dendrites that reach it ([0027] lines 10-13). Consequently, the reaction layer’s absorption of lithium reads on its use as a lithium storage material.
Kamiki teaches the negative electrode material plate 10 and separator 40A are laminated (coated) together when producing the wound electrode body 80 ([0064]), which thereby results in insulation layer 54 and reaction layer 52 located on a surface of the insulation layer being coated on and adherent to a surface of the negative electrode material layer. Additionally, given Kamiki’s taught arrangement of the insulation layer and reaction layer with respect to a surface of the negative electrode material layer shown in Fig. 5, winding of the layers into wound structure (80) would naturally include the insulation layer and the reaction layer in the bending part of the wound structure.
Kamiki does not explicitly describe their porous layer 50, comprising the claimed insulating layer and reaction layer, as being localized to the bending parts of the negative electrode plate. Kamiki also does not teach the surface of the negative electrode material layer on which the insulation layer and the reaction layer are coated faces an outside of the wound structure after the winding.
In the same field of endeavor, Li teaches a wound lithium-ion battery wherein an insulating tape can be provided on both the bending parts of the positive electrode sheet and the bending parts of the negative electrode sheet (machine translation [0026]), and Fig. 3 of Li shows that the insulating tape 9 is intermittently coated in the winding direction, therefore it is a known configuration. Li teaches their invention reduces the problem where the negative electrode sheet easily loses material during the hot pressing process of the wound cell which can more easily occur in the negative electrode bending portion and which can result in lithium plating inside the battery during use ([0007]) and lead to internal short circuits which pose a significant safety hazard ([0005]). A skilled artisan would have found it obvious to have modified Kamiki’s lithium-ion battery such that Kamiki’s porous insulating layer to be on the bending parts of the positive electrode sheet and negative electrode sheet as taught by Li because it is a known configuration, and Li further teaches it provides advantages of mitigating the issue of short-circuits arising from lithium plating when the negative electrode sheet loses material during manufacturing of the wound cell. Consequently, the insulation layer and the reaction layer which form the porous insulating layer would be intermittently coated in the winding direction at a position of the negative electrode plate that becomes the arc-shaped bending part of the wound structure after winding and satisfy the claimed limitation.
In the same field of endeavor, Ishizu teaches a wound electrode group in which the negative electrode is located at the innermost periphery of the wound electrode group (machine translation [0044]) and further teaches their invention provides a battery that is free from peeling of the negative electrode mixture layer, does not cause internal micro-short circuits, is excellent in safety, and is easy to produce ([0044]). One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious at the time of filing to modify the modified battery of Kamiki such that the negative electrode is located at the innermost periphery of the wound electrode group as taught by Ishizu, because Ishizu teaches it is a known configuration and also further teaches it can provide advantages of a battery that is free from peeling of the negative electrode mixture layer, does not cause internal micro-short circuits, is excellent in safety, and is easy to produce ([0044]). The combination of prior art would yield a battery in which the negative electrode is located at the innermost region of the wound structure, which would accordingly result in the surface of the negative electrode material layer on which the insulation layer and the reaction layer are coated facing an outside of the wound structure after the winding.
Cho teaches a plurality of lithium batteries may be stacked to form a battery module, and a plurality of the battery modules may form a battery pack to be used in any suitable device requiring high capacity and high output, including applications such as a notebook, a smartphone, an electric vehicle, and/or the like ([0116]). One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed would have found it obvious to stack a plurality of the lithium ion batteries of modified Kamiki into a plurality of battery modules to form a battery pack, as taught by Cho, in order to provide sufficiently high capacity and high output for applications such as a vehicle.
Regarding claim 16, the combination above teaches the battery module of claim 15. Kamiki teaches that the lithium secondary battery 100 used to power a vehicle may be in the form of a battery pack in which a plurality of lithium secondary batteries is connected together ([0086]). Additionally, as pointed out previously in addressing claim 15, Cho also teaches the use of a plurality of battery modules to form a battery pack to be used in a device requiring high capacity and high output, such as a vehicle.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the prior art rejection of Kamiki in view of Ishizu have been fully considered but are not persuasive. The Examiner respectfully notes that Kamiki’s porous insulating layer 50 (comprising portions 54 and 52) broadly reads upon the limitation “the insulation layer and the reaction layer are intermittently coated in the winding direction…” because the porous material has pores and is not continuous. Therefore, inherently it would intermittently coat the surface of the negative electrode material layer and satisfy the limitation. Therefore, the original rejections over the prior art have been maintained.
Separately, the Examiner has prepared a new and independent set of rejections which are new grounds of rejection and do not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/G.L.L./Examiner, Art Unit 1726
/BACH T DINH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726 09/15/2026