DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim 8 reciting “a terrace-step-kink structure” has been interpreted in view of Applicant’s fig. 1 and also “Terrace ledge kink model” (see attached PTO-892 reference U), as both are consistent with Specification p. 10, lines 18-24 and p. 11, lines 1-8.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: the abbreviations “NCA” and “NCM” are cited, however the full names of the abbreviations (commonly known respectively as “nickel cobalt aluminum” and “nickel cobalt manganese”?) should be explicitly recited at least once in the Specification, such as p. 32, lines 11-18 with the first recitation each of NCA and NCM.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Amended claim 1 recites “an interplanar distance at an outermost surface of the lithium composite oxide is smaller than an interplanar distance in an interior thereof”. There is no support in the Specification for this broad limitation. Examiner notes that p. 32, lines 11-18 (as per p. 5 Remarks 1/20/2026) specifically states “referring to FIG. 15 showing the interplanar distances between crystal planes in regions A and B in the TEM image of the lithium composite oxide included in the positive electrode active material according to Example 1, in the region A, 4.729 Å corresponding to the interplanar distance between the (003) crystal planes of a general NCA or NCM-type lithium composite oxide was measured”. Claims 2-13 are also rejected as depending on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Cho et al (US 2020/0343551).
With respect to claim 1, Cho discloses a positive electrode active material comprising a “nickel-based lithium metal oxide” (i.e. claimed “lithium composite oxide” that “easily intercalates/deintercalates lithium ions” (Abstract; para 0005), wherein the lithium composite oxide has a surface part that is a “layered crystal structure” (i.e. claimed “step structure” (figs. 4-5; para 0073 and 0219). Cho also teaches at para 0086-0133 a method of preparation of the lithium composite oxide of the positive electrode material similar to Applicant’s method of preparation at Specification p. 16-18. Since Cho teaches the claim requirements of the “positive electrode active material comprising a lithium composite oxide […] has a surface part with a step structure” and is prepared by a similar method as Applicant, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness is established that Cho also teaches the resulting lithium composite oxide having a property of “an interplanar distance at an outermost surface of the lithium composite oxide is smaller than an interplanar distance in an interior thereof” (MPEP 2112.01, I).
With respect to claims 2 and 3, Cho further discloses the lithium composite oxide comprises Ni and Co and at least one of Mn and Al (para 0019-0021).
With respect to claim 4, Cho further discloses the surface part with the step structure is formed to intersect an extension direction of a (003) crystal plane of the lithium composite oxide (para 0054-0057 and 0219).
With respect to claims 5-7, Cho is cited as discussed for claim 1. Since Cho teaches the claim requirements of claim 1 (in addition to claims 2-4 and 8-10) for the lithium composite oxide with the step structure, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established that Cho also teaches the resulting lithium oxide with the step structure having properties of “the step structure formed on the surface part of the lithium composite oxide is formed such that one crystal plane belonging to at least one plane group selected from {0lx}, {02y} and {03z} plane groups among the crystal planes present on the surface part of the lithium composite oxide has a predetermined dihedral angle with another adjacent crystal plane (wherein x, y and z are each independently an integer of 0 to 12)” (claim 5), “the dihedral angle of one crystal plane, which belongs to at least one plane group selected from the {0lx}, {02y} and {03z} plane groups, with another adjacent crystal plane is 90o or more” (claim 6), and “a structure formed such that one crystal plane belonging to at least one plane group selected from the {01x},{02y } and {03z} plane groups among crystal planes present on the surface part of the lithium composite oxide has a predetermined dihedral angle with another adjacent crystal plane is periodically repeated on the surface part of the lithium composite oxide” (claim 7) (MPEP 2112.01, I).
With respect to claim 8, Cho further depicts in fig. 4A the step structure appearing as a terrace-step-kink structure (para 0046 and 0214-0218), similar to Applicant’s fig. 1 and shown in reference U (see PTO-892 10/20/2025).
With respect to claim 9, Cho further discloses the positive electrode active material of the lithium composite oxide is represented by Chemical Formula 3 comprising LiaNixCoyQ11-x-yO2, wherein 0.9≤a≤1.05, 0.6≤x≤0.98, 0.01≤y≤0.40, and Q1 is at least one metal element selected from Mn, Al, Cr, Fe, V, Mg, Nb, Mo, W, Cu, Zn, Ga, In, La, Ce, Sn, Zr, Te, Ru, Ti, Pb, and Hf (para 0019-0021), which reads on the claimed “Formula 1”.
With respect to claim 10, Cho further discloses the “positive [electrode] active material includes secondary particle in which a plurality of primary particles are aggregated” (para 0187), wherein a coating layer is formed on surfaces of the primary particles (para 0008, 0054, and 0068-0069), and the coating layer comprises a lithium-metal oxide of Li2SnO3 (para 0219), or more generally Chemical Formula 1 of Li2MO3 or Chemical Formula 2 Li8MO6, with M being a metal of oxidation number 4, and may include Li2SnO3, Li2ZrO3, Li2TiO3, Li2MnO3, Li2HfO3, Li8SnO6, Li8ZrO6, Li8TiO6, Li8MnO6, Li8HfO6, and/or a combination thereof (para 0065-0067).
With respect to claims 12 and 13, Cho further discloses the positive electrode active material is formed as a positive active material layer on a positive electrode current collector to form a positive electrode of a rechargeable or secondary battery (para 0131-0133 and 0155).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho et al (US 2020/0343551) as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Du et al (Enhanced high-voltage cycling stability of Ni-rich LiNi0.8Co0.1Mn0.1O2 cathode coated with Li2O-2B2O3).
With respect to claim 11, the reference is cited as discussed for claim 10. However Cho is limited in that while boron is suggested to be included with the lithium composite oxide (para 0079), the coating layer comprising boron is not specifically suggested.
Du teaches a coating layer of Li2O-2B2O3 applied onto cathode material (i.e. positive electro active material) of LiNi0.8Co0.1Mn0.1O2 (i.e. lithium composite oxide) (Abstract), similar to coating layer applied onto the positive electrode active material of the lithium composite oxide of Chemical Formula 3 of Cho; the Li2O-2B2O3 reads on the claimed “Formula 3”. Du cites the advantages of the Li2O-2B2O3 as lowering charge-transfer resistance between electrode and electrolyte in addition to improving structural stability during cycling (Abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the Li2O-2B2O3 of Du as the coating layer of Cho to gain the advantages of lowering charge-transfer resistance between electrode and electrolyte and improving structural stability during cycling.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of copending Application No. 18/064147 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the copending overlap in scope with the claims of the current invention, and encompass the subject matter of the current claims. Therefore, any reference meeting the limitations set forth in claims 1-12 of the copending would also meet the requirements set forth in claims 1-13 of the current invention.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s Remarks on p. 5-9 filed 1/20/2026 are addressed below.
112 Rejections
Claims 4-5 and 10-11 have been amended to provide antecedent basis; the previous 112(b) rejections have been withdrawn.
102 Rejections
On p. 6-8, Applicant argues that Cho does not teach the new limitation “an interplanar distance at an outermost surface of the lithium composite oxide is smaller than an interplanar distance in an interior thereof” as recited by amended claim 1.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. First, there is no support in the Specification for this limitation as discussed above in the 112 Rejections section. Second, Applicant’s arguments are not commensurate in scope to claim 1; at least Applicant’s arguments on p. 7-8 state a “boron coating” and “cobalt” are both required for particulars of interplanar distances in contrast to Cho, however neither are recited by claim 1. Claim 1 only recites a general “lithium composite oxide” is present, which Cho teaches, in addition to Cho teaching at 0086-0133 the lithium composite oxide being formed in a similar manner as Applicant at Specification p. 16-18. Therefore since Cho teaches the claim requirements of the “positive electrode active material comprising a lithium composite oxide […] has a surface part with a step structure” and is prepared by a similar method as Applicant, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness is established that Cho also teaches the resulting lithium composite oxide having a property of “an interplanar distance at an outermost surface of the lithium composite oxide is smaller than an interplanar distance in an interior thereof” (MPEP 2112.01, I).
Double Patenting Rejections
On p. 8-9, Applicant argues that amended claim 1 of the present application is now distinct from co-pending 18/064147.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees since there is no support for certain limitations of amended claim 1 (as previously discussed above for the new matter rejections). As such, the rejections are maintained until at least the new matter rejections are overcome. In addition, both the present application and 18/064147 are directed to a lithium composite oxide that has a step structure from a part being removed.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL A BAND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1794