DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 7 recites: “wherein the soft coating layer comprises an organic material and an inorganic material”. However, Claim 1, from which Claim 7 depends, already recites that the soft coating layer comprises a polymer layer, i.e., an organic material, and comprises a silica [silicon oxide] layer, i.e., an inorganic material. Therefore, Claim 7 does not appear to further limit the claim upon which it depends.
The Office notes that Claim 20 recites similar language to Claim 7, but is not rejected because it recites additional limitations which further limit Claim 13.
Applicant may cancel the claim, amend the claim to place the claim in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 7, 10 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al., US 2017/0357348 A1.
Regarding Claim 1, Lee discloses: A window protective film, comprising (the Office notes that the term “comprising” is an open-ended transitional phrase which permits additional elements or features):
a base layer (separation layer 120a; paragraph [0091] and FIG. 12 of Lee);
a soft coating layer disposed on the base layer (the combination of three layers: first touch electrode 410, high refractive insulating layer 430M, and connection part 412, is disposed on separation layer 120a; FIG. 12 of Lee); and
an anti-fingerprint coating layer disposed on the soft coating layer (either of second insulating layer 440 or adhesive layer 15, wherein these layers are each disposed on the combined layers [first touch electrode 410, high refractive insulating layer 430M, and connection part 412], and wherein second insulating layer 440 and/or adhesive layer 15 prevents fingerprints on layers below it; FIG. 12 of Lee);
wherein the soft coating layer comprises:
a conductive polymer layer disposed on and in contact with a first surface of the base layer (the first touch electrode 410 is disposed on, and in contact with, an upper surface of separation layer 120a, wherein the first touch electrode 410 may comprise a conductive polymer; paragraph [0052] and FIG. 12 of Lee);
a silica coating layer disposed on at least one side of the conductive polymer layer and that includes a plurality of silica nano particles (the high refractive insulating layer 430M is disposed on an upper surface of the first touch electrode 410, and may comprise nanoparticles which include silicon dioxide [SiO2, silica]; paragraphs [0050], [0088], [0091] and FIG. 12 of Lee); and
a cover layer disposed on at least one side of the silica coating layer (connection part 412 is disposed on an upper surface of high refractive insulating layer 430M; FIG. 12 of Lee).
Regarding Claim 4, Lee discloses the limitations of Claim 1 and further discloses: wherein a thickness of the base layer is from 70 µm to 100 µm (thickness of the separation layer 120a may be about 1 micrometer to about 100 micrometers; paragraph [0061], [0091] and FIG. 12 of Lee).
Regarding Claim 7, as best understood, Lee discloses the limitations of Claim 1 and further discloses: wherein the soft coating layer comprises an organic material and an inorganic material (the combination of three layers: first touch electrode 410, high refractive insulating layer 430M, and connection part 412 includes the first touch electrode 410 which may comprise a conductive polymer [polymers are organic materials] and includes the high refractive insulating layer 430M which may comprise nanoparticles which include silicon dioxide [SiO2, silica, wherein oxides are inorganic materials]; paragraphs [0050], [0052], [0088], [0091] and FIG. 12 of Lee).
Regarding Claim 10, Lee discloses the limitations of Claim 1 and further discloses: wherein a thickness of the soft coating layer is from 300 nm to 500 nm (the thickness of the high refractive insulating layer 430M may range from about 1 nanometer [1 nm] to about 10 micrometers [10000 nm]; paragraph [0089] and FIG. 12 of Lee; the Office notes that the present claim language does not require a “total thickness” of the soft coating layer to be from 300 nm to 500 nm, but merely “a thickness” of the soft coating layer is from 300 nm to 500 nm).
Regarding Claim 13, Lee discloses: A display device, comprising (the Office notes that the term “comprising” is an open-ended transitional phrase which permits additional elements or features):
a display panel that includes one surface located at front of the display panel (display panel 300 having an upper surface; paragraphs [0035], [0091] and FIGS. 1, 12 of Lee);
a front stacked structure on the one surface of the display panel, wherein the front stacked structure comprises a window and a window protective film attached onto the window (the layers above the upper surface of display panel 300 may be identified as a “front stacked structure”, and these layers include optical film 550 [corresponding to the claimed “window”] and layers 120a, 410, 430M, 412, 440, 15 [corresponding to the claimed “window protective film”] which are attached thereto; paragraphs [0039], [0091] and FIG. 12 of Lee);
wherein the window protective film comprises:
a base layer (separation layer 120a; paragraph [0091] and FIG. 12 of Lee);
a soft coating layer disposed on the base layer (the combination of three layers: first touch electrode 410, high refractive insulating layer 430M, and connection part 412, is disposed on separation layer 120a; FIG. 12 of Lee); and
an anti-fingerprint coating layer disposed on the soft coating layer (either of second insulating layer 440 or adhesive layer 15, wherein these layers are each disposed on the combined layers [first touch electrode 410, high refractive insulating layer 430M, and connection part 412], and wherein second insulating layer 440 and/or adhesive layer 15 prevents fingerprints on layers below it; FIG. 12 of Lee);
wherein the soft coating layer comprises:
a conductive polymer layer disposed on and in contact with a first surface of the base layer (the first touch electrode 410 is disposed on, and in contact with, an upper surface of separation layer 120a, wherein the first touch electrode 410 may comprise a conductive polymer; paragraph [0052] and FIG. 12 of Lee);
a silica coating layer disposed on at least one side of the conductive polymer layer and that includes a plurality of silica nano particles (the high refractive insulating layer 430M is disposed on an upper surface of the first touch electrode 410, and may comprise nanoparticles which include silicon dioxide [SiO2, silica]; paragraphs [0050], [0088], [0091] and FIG. 12 of Lee); and
a cover layer disposed on at least one side of the silica coating layer (connection part 412 is disposed on an upper surface of high refractive insulating layer 430M; FIG. 12 of Lee).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Yano et al., US 2015/0301667 A1.
Regarding Claims 5 and 17, Lee discloses the limitations of Claims 1 and 13, but does not appear to disclose specific examples of the conductive polymer of first touch electrode 410, such that: wherein the conductive polymer layer comprises at least one of a polythiophene-based compound, a polypyrrole-based compound, a polyaniline-based compound, a polyacetylene-based compound, and a polyphenylenether-based compound.
Yano is related to Lee with respect to display device having conductive polymer.
Yano teaches: wherein the conductive polymer layer comprises at least one of a polythiophene-based compound, a polypyrrole-based compound, a polyaniline-based compound, a polyacetylene-based compound, and a polyphenylenether-based compound (conductive polymer may comprise polythiophenes, polyanilines or polyacetylenes; paragraph [0258] of Yano).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select the specific polymers of Yano for the conductive polymer of Lee because such polymers provide a preferable ease of polymerization and stability, as taught in paragraph [0258] of Yano.
Claims 6 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (cited above with respect to Claims 1 and 13 and hereinafter Lee ‘348 or Lee-1) in view of Lee et al., US 2016/0307847 A1 (Lee ‘847 or Lee-2).
Regarding Claims 6 and 18, Lee discloses the limitations of Claims 1 and 13 but does not appear to explicitly disclose a modulus of the high refractive insulating layer 430M, such that: wherein a modulus of the soft coating layer is from 500 MPa to 2 GPa.
Lee-2 is related to Lee with respect to display device having insulating layers.
Lee-2 teaches: wherein a modulus of the soft coating layer is from 500 MPa to 2 GPa (insulating layer may have an elastic modulus of about 1 GPa to 3 GPa; paragraph [0095] of Lee-2; the Office notes that the present claim language does not require a “overall modulus” or “composite modulus” of the soft coating layer to be from 500 MPa to 2 GPa, but merely “a modulus” of the soft coating layer is from 500 MPa to 2 GPa).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select the modulus of Lee-2 for the insulating layer of Lee because such range of modulus provides a sufficient stress dispersion and relaxation effect (which is known to avoid warpage), as taught in paragraphs [0089], [0095], [0144] of Lee-2.
Claims 8 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Madden et al., US 2017/0356812 A1.
Regarding Claims 8 and 20, Lee discloses the limitations of Claims 7 and 13 and further discloses: the inorganic material comprises at least one of silicon oxide (SiO2), zirconium oxide (ZrO2), aluminum oxide (Al2O3), tantalum oxide (Ta2O5), niobium oxide (Nb2O5NbO2), glass bead, antimony (Sb), phosphorus (P), antimony tin oxide (ATO), and phosphorus tin oxide (PTO), or the inorganic material is glass bead (high refractive insulating layer 430M may comprise nanoparticles which include silicon dioxide [SiO2, silica]; paragraphs [0050], [0052], [0088], [0091] and FIG. 12 of Lee).
Lee does not appear to disclose specific examples of the conductive polymer of first touch electrode 410, such that: wherein the organic material comprises at least one of an acrylate-based compound, a polyurethane-based compound, an epoxy-based compound, a carboxylic acid-based compound, and a maleimide-based compound.
Madden is related to Lee with respect to optical device requiring transparency.
Madden teaches: wherein the organic material comprises at least one of an acrylate-based compound, a polyurethane-based compound, an epoxy-based compound, a carboxylic acid-based compound, and a maleimide-based compound (conductive polymer prepared using polyurethane; paragraph [0179] of Madden).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select the polyurethane of Madden for the conductive polymer of Lee because such composition is highly transparent (and thus would be desirable for the display device of Lee), as taught in paragraph [0179] of Madden.
Claims 11 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Kim et al., US 2020/0157386 A1.
Regarding Claims 11 and 19, Lee discloses the limitations of Claims 1 and 13, but does not appear to explicitly disclose including a functional additive to the layer(s), such that: wherein the soft coating layer comprises an additive, and the additive comprises at least one of 1,6-Hexaneciol diacrylate (HDDA), 1,10- Decanediol diacrylate (DDDA), bisphenol A (EO)4 diacrylate (BPA(EO)4DA), bisphenol A (EO)3 diacrylate (BPA(EO)3DA), bisphenol A (EO)10 diacrylate (BPA(EO)10DA), bisphenol A (EO)20 diacrylate (BPA(EO)20DA), bisphenol A (EO)30 diacrylate (BPA(EO)30DA), tricylclodecane dimethanol diacrylate (TCDDA), polyethylene glycol 400 diacrylate (PEG400DA), polyethylene glycol 300 diacrylate (PEG300DA), polyethylene glycol 200 diacrylate (PEG200DA), polyethylene glycol 600 diacrylate (PEG600DA), bisphenol F(EO)4 diacrylate (BPF(EO)4DA), and polypropylene glycol 400 diacrylate (PPG400DA).
Kim is related to Lee with respect to display device.
Kim teaches: wherein the soft coating layer comprises an additive, and the additive comprises at least one of 1,6-Hexaneciol diacrylate (HDDA), 1,10- Decanediol diacrylate (DDDA), bisphenol A (EO)4 diacrylate (BPA(EO)4DA), bisphenol A (EO)3 diacrylate (BPA(EO)3DA), bisphenol A (EO)10 diacrylate (BPA(EO)10DA), bisphenol A (EO)20 diacrylate (BPA(EO)20DA), bisphenol A (EO)30 diacrylate (BPA(EO)30DA), tricylclodecane dimethanol diacrylate (TCDDA), polyethylene glycol 400 diacrylate (PEG400DA), polyethylene glycol 300 diacrylate (PEG300DA), polyethylene glycol 200 diacrylate (PEG200DA), polyethylene glycol 600 diacrylate (PEG600DA), bisphenol F(EO)4 diacrylate (BPF(EO)4DA), and polypropylene glycol 400 diacrylate (PPG400DA) (polyethylene glycol 600 diacrylate may be added as a crosslinking agent; paragraphs [0091]-[0096] of Kim).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select the polyethylene of Kim for the soft coating layer of Lee because such crosslinking agent serves to increase mechanical strength, as taught in paragraph [0091] of Kim.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (cited above with respect to Claim 1 and hereinafter Lee ‘348 or Lee-1) in view of Lee et al., US 2016/0259104 A1 (Lee ‘104 or Lee-3).
Regarding Claim 12, Lee-1 discloses the limitations of Claim 1, but does not appear to explicitly disclose a thickness of the adhesive layer 15, such that: wherein a thickness of the anti-fingerprint coating layer is from 20 nm to 100 nm.
Lee-3 is related to Lee-1 with respect to display device having display panel.
Lee-3 teaches: wherein a thickness of the anti-fingerprint coating layer is from 20 nm to 100 nm (adhesive layer may have a thickness ranging from about 50 nm to about 500 nm; paragraph [0067] of Lee-3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select the adhesive layer thickness of Lee-3 for the adhesive layer of Lee-1 because in a case where the thickness of the adhesive layer is too low, the adhesive layer 110 may not provide adequate adhesiveness, but in a case where the thickness of the adhesive layer is too high, the device may have difficulty in achieving slimness [i.e., failing to avoid excessive thickness or bulk of the device], as taught in paragraph [0067] of Lee-3.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Nam, US 2016/0286673 A1.
Regarding Claim 14, Lee discloses the limitations of Claim 13, but does not appear to further disclose: wherein the front stacked structure comprises an impact absorbing layer disposed between the display panel and the window, and an impact absorbing layer bonding member that attaches the impact absorbing layer onto the display panel.
Nam is related to Lee with respect to display device including display panel.
Nam teaches: wherein the front stacked structure comprises an impact absorbing layer disposed between the display panel and the window, and an impact absorbing layer bonding member that attaches the impact absorbing layer onto the display panel (a barrier layer may be attached to a display panel via adhesive layer either above or below such display panel; paragraph [0049] and FIGS. 1, 2 of Nam).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the barrier layer of Nam for the display device of Lee because such barrier layer will absorb an impact from the outside to reduce or prevent damage of the flexible display panel, as taught in paragraph [0049] of Nam.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (cited above with respect to Claim 13 and hereinafter Lee ‘348 or Lee-1) in view of Lee et al., US 2019/0373719 A1 (Lee ‘719 or Lee-4).
Regarding Claim 15, Lee-1 discloses the limitations of Claim 13, but does not appear to further disclose: wherein the display panel comprises an other surface located at a rear of the display panel, and the display device further comprises a rear stacked structure stacked on the other surface of the display panel, wherein the rear stacked structure comprises a polymer layer disposed at the rear of the display panel, a cushion layer disposed at a rear of the polymer layer, a plate disposed at a rear of the cushion layer, and a heat dissipation member disposed at a rear of the plate.
Lee-4 is related to Lee-1 with respect to display device including display panel.
Lee-4 teaches: wherein the display panel comprises an other surface located at a rear of the display panel, and the display device further comprises a rear stacked structure stacked on the other surface of the display panel, wherein the rear stacked structure comprises a polymer layer disposed at the rear of the display panel, a cushion layer disposed at a rear of the polymer layer, a plate disposed at a rear of the cushion layer, and a heat dissipation member disposed at a rear of the plate (layers AM4, PF1, PF3, and PF2 sequentially provided at a rear side of display panel DP, wherein layer AM4 may be an optical clear resin [OCR; the Office notes that resin is a polymer], layer PF1 may be a plastic film, layer PF3 may be a light blocking layer depicted as a smooth flat thin piece of material, and layer PF2 may include a heat dissipating layer; paragraphs [0088]-[0095] and FIGS. 4A, 4B, 5A of Lee-4; the Office notes that without further definition or distinction, the claimed components may be interpreted broadly [see MPEP §§ 2111 and 2163]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select the functional layer stack of Lee-4 for the display device of Lee because such set of layers provides increased impact resistance in addition to increased visibility together with increased resistance against an external impact or stress, which are generated during use of the device, as taught in paragraphs [0088]-[0095] of Lee-4, but see especially paragraph [0095] of Lee-4.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 3, 9 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon rejected base claims, but would be allowable if rewritten to include all of the limitations of Claim 1 or Claim 13.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter.
With respect to Claim 2, although the prior art discloses various window protective films, including:
The prior art does not appear to disclose or suggest the above combination of features further comprising:
With respect to Claim 3, although the prior art discloses various window protective films, including:
The prior art does not appear to disclose or suggest the above combination of features further comprising:
With respect to Claim 9, although the prior art discloses various window protective films, including:
The prior art does not appear to disclose or suggest the above combination of features further comprising:
With respect to Claim 16, although the prior art discloses various display devices, including:
The prior art does not appear to disclose or suggest the above combination of features further comprising:
Examiner Note – Consider Entirety of References
Although various text and figures of the cited references have been specifically cited in this Office Action to show disclosures and teachings which correspond to specific claim language, Applicant is advised to consider the complete disclosure of each reference, including portions which have not been specifically cited by the Examiner.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to RYAN S DUNNING whose telephone number is 571-272-4879. The examiner can normally be reached Monday thru Friday 10:30AM to 7:00PM Eastern Time Zone. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice
/RYAN S DUNNING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872