DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the RCE filed on 90/15/2025.
Claims 1-18 and 20-21 are examined.
Claims 1, 3, 14, and 20 have been amended.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/15/2025 have been fully considered but they are not fully persuasive.
101 Rejection
This rejection is withdrawn.
102/103 Rejection
Applicant states that prior art Gates does not disclose the amended limitations of “generating and displaying a natural language question prompting action from an operator, the question relating to modifying lane availability to assist the vehicle in overcoming the detected obstacle and enabling selection from the among available land modifications”. It is not apparent to the Examiner how unique the language is with comparison to prior art Gates. Gates discloses option selections that use natural language communication [see at least Fig. 6, example “Close lane” or “Open Lane”]. Is Applicant stating that Gates does not use a formal question with natural language? Option selections, if not inherent would still be an obvious variation of being a type of question format, as in the selection is “asking” if any of these selections are applicable to the vehicle’s situation. Further the selections are offered in response for obstacles in the road. As there is no specific or explicit definition to obstacles, or to what is applicable to “natural language”, Gates would still at least be an obvious variation to the claimed language. The options are still used for vehicle navigation of the system’s vehicles to further navigate the area in subsequent routes. The purpose of modifying the mapping is to provide dynamic, obstacle -responsive interactions for modifying lane availability (open lane vs close lane, etc.). It appears that “natural language interaction” is a point of contention, however, Examiner is not understanding how such limitations are explicitly different other than presenting a formal question.
Applicant further stats, “Amended claim 1 now specifies a more precise technical mechanism: "for subsequent navigation by an onboard navigation system of the vehicle by electronically updating a map used by the onboard navigation system of the vehicle, thereby enabling the onboard navigation system to navigate based on the modified lane availability information".” It is not clear what part of this limitations are not disclosed by Gates. Do the autonomous vehicles of Gates not use an onboard navigation system? If not, how do they autonomously navigate? Gates [col 21: 1-7] states, “it may be desirable to permit a teleoperations system operator to mark that lane as closed in the mapping data used by an autonomous vehicle. By doing so, the autonomous vehicle will avoid that lane…”. The title of Gates invention is, “Autonomous Vehicle Remote Teleoperations System”. Although Gates discloses the system focusing on altering map data, the purpose of the alterations is for use with autonomous vehicle operations. Gates further includes a teleoperations system which communicates all the important navigation information to the fleet for subsequent navigation. Gates further discloses sharing navigation information to a fleet system, which is used by the entire fleet including the self-vehicle. These are understood as having types of computing devices to process the systems. According to the claim language, the operator does not have to be one with the computing device, instead, just be some operator involved somewhere in the system, and the computing device just receives the operators inputs at some point. This would allow an operator to be in one of the vehicles sending their input as well.
The claims are reevaluated in light of the amendments.
Examiner's Note
Examiner has cited particular paragraphs / columns and line numbers or figures in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing the responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner. Applicant is reminded that the Examiner is entitled to give the broadest reasonable interpretation to the language of the claims. Furthermore, the Examiner is not limited to Applicants' definition which is not specifically set forth in the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim(s) 1-12, 14-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over US Pat. No. 11560154 (“Gate”).
As per claim 1 Gate discloses a method comprising:
receiving, at a computing device, location information and sensor data from a vehicle [abstract: teleoperations system to modify elements in the mapping data (teleoperations is understood a two-way comm.), Fig. 1 remote vehicle service 178], wherein the vehicle is autonomously navigating a path on a road in an environment [Fig. 1 Autonomous vehicle (hardware), Fig. 4.258 Initiate streaming of session data, including autonomy sensor, telemetry and video data], and wherein the computing device is positioned remote from the vehicle [col 13:48-51 to propagate data collected during a teleoperation session, Fig. 1B centralized server (remotely from vehicle), Fig. 4];
based on the location information and the sensor data, displaying, by the computing device and on a display interface, a representation of the environment of the vehicle, wherein the representation of the environment shows an obstacle in the path of the vehicle and conveys lane information for the road [ Fig. 6 close lane, open lane (shown on display), Fig. 14];
based on detecting the obstacle in the path of the vehicle, generating and displaying a natural language question prompting action from an operator the question relating to modifying lane availability to assist the vehicle in overcoming the detected obstacle and enabling selection from among available lane modification options; [col 15:20-35 autonomous vehicle may initially detect a condition that triggers a desire for teleoperations monitoring… for example, a detection by a detector… potential conditions that may be sensed and used to trigger monitoring includes construction zones… , col 21:1-7 it may be desirable to permit a teleoperations system operator to mark that lane as closed in the mapping data used by an autonomous vehicle. By doing so, the autonomous vehicle will avoid that lane…, Fig. 4.252 Identify condition triggering teleoperations monitoring (for an autonomous vehicle), Fig. 4.254 Request session, Fig. 4.262 Receive operator input and communicate to vehicle, Fig. 6, Fig. 14];
receiving, at the computing device and from the operator, a first input selecting a first lane of the road [Fig. 6], wherein the first input modifies an availability of the first lane of the road for subsequent navigation by an onboard navigation system of the vehicle by electronically updating a map used by the onboard navigation system of the vehicle, thereby enabling the onboard navigation system to navigate based on the modified lane availability information [col 21:1-7 it may be desirable to permit a teleoperations system operator to mark that lane as closed in the mapping data used by an autonomous vehicle. By doing so, the autonomous vehicle will avoid that lane…, Fig. 4.252 Identify condition triggering teleoperations monitoring (for an autonomous vehicle), Fig. 4.254 Request session, Fig. 4.262 Receive operator input and communicate to vehicle, Fig. 6, Fig. 14, Fig. 7 Autonomous vehicle, receive map alterations command]; and
providing, by the computing device, navigation instructions to the vehicle based on the modified availability of the first lane of the road [Fig. 7 Autonomous vehicle, receive map alterations command], the modification having been made in response to the detected obstacle to guide the vehicle around the detected obstacle [col 21:1-7 it may be desirable to permit a teleoperations system operator to mark that lane as closed in the mapping data used by an autonomous vehicle. By doing so, the autonomous vehicle will avoid that lane when determining a path or trajectory for the vehicle along the roadway], and wherein the vehicle continues navigation on the road according to the navigation instructions to circumvent the detected obstacle. [col 1:60-65 facilitating interaction between an autonomous vehicle and a teleoperations system… modify elements in the mapping data used by an autonomous vehicle, col 21:1-7 mark that lane as closed in the mapping data used by an autonomous vehicle. By doing so, the autonomous vehicle will avoid that lane when determining a path or trajectory for the vehicle along the roadway, Fig. 4 Receive operator input and communicate to vehicle, Fig. 7.418 Resume normal path generation and execution].
Gates is not explicit to stating a generated/displayed question, in a formal sense, as in not displaying a question mark however the options selections found given to an teleoperator is understood as an obvious variation to one of ordinary skill in the art, as a type of questionnaire to an operator, as a selection would apply the same operations to a system with a triggered state where further input is required by the autonomous system to generate solutions to further navigate unique scenarios improving safety and reliability.
As per claim 14 Gate discloses a system comprising:
a vehicle [Fig. 1]; and
a computing device configured to [Fig. 1]:
receive location information and sensor data from a vehicle [abstract: teleoperations system to modify elements in the mapping data (teleoperations is understood a two-way comm.), Fig. 1 remote vehicle service 178], wherein the vehicle is autonomously navigating a path on a road in an environment [Fig. 1 Autonomous vehicle (hardware), Fig. 4.258 Initiate streaming of session data, including autonomy sensor, telemetry and video data], and wherein the computing device is positioned remote from the vehicle [col 13:48-51 to propagate data collected during a teleoperation session, Fig. 1B centralized server (remotely from vehicle), Fig. 4];
based on the location information and the sensor data, display, on a display interface, a representation of the environment of the vehicle, wherein the representation of the environment shows an obstacle in the path of the vehicle and conveys lane information for the path [ Fig. 6 close lane, open lane (shown on display), Fig. 14];
based on detecting the obstacle in the path of the vehicle, generate and display a natural language question prompting action from an operator, the question relating to modifying lane availability to assist the vehicle in overcoming the detected obstacle and enabling selection from among available lane modification options; [col 15:20-35 autonomous vehicle may initially detect a condition that triggers a desire for teleoperations monitoring… for example, a detection by a detector… potential conditions that may be sensed and used to trigger monitoring includes construction zones… , col 21:1-7 it may be desirable to permit a teleoperations system operator to mark that lane as closed in the mapping data used by an autonomous vehicle. By doing so, the autonomous vehicle will avoid that lane…, Fig. 4.252 Identify condition triggering teleoperations monitoring (for an autonomous vehicle), Fig. 4.254 Request session, Fig. 4.262 Receive operator input and communicate to vehicle, Fig. 6, Fig. 14];
receive, from the operator, a first input selecting a first lane of the road [Fig. 6], wherein the first input modifies an availability of the first lane of the road for subsequent navigation by an onboard navigation system of the vehicle by electronically updating a map used by the onboard navigation system of the vehicle, thereby enabling the onboard navigation system to navigate based on the modified lane availability information [col 21:1-7 it may be desirable to permit a teleoperations system operator to mark that lane as closed in the mapping data used by an autonomous vehicle. By doing so, the autonomous vehicle will avoid that lane…, Fig. 4.252 Identify condition triggering teleoperations monitoring (for an autonomous vehicle), Fig. 4.254 Request session, Fig. 4.262 Receive operator input and communicate to vehicle, Fig. 6, Fig. 14, Fig. 7 Autonomous vehicle, receive map alterations command];; and
provide navigation instructions to the vehicle based on the modified availability of the first lane of the road [Fig. 7 Autonomous vehicle, receive map alterations command], the modification having been made in response to the detected obstacle to guide the vehicle around the detected obstacle [col 21:1-7 it may be desirable to permit a teleoperations system operator to mark that lane as closed in the mapping data used by an autonomous vehicle. By doing so, the autonomous vehicle will avoid that lane when determining a path or trajectory for the vehicle along the roadway], and wherein the vehicle continues navigation on the road according to the navigation instructions to circumvent the detected obstacle. [col 1:60-65 facilitating interaction between an autonomous vehicle and a teleoperations system… modify elements in the mapping data used by an autonomous vehicle, col 21:1-7 mark that lane as closed in the mapping data used by an autonomous vehicle. By doing so, the autonomous vehicle will avoid that lane when determining a path or trajectory for the vehicle along the roadway, Fig. 4 Receive operator input and communicate to vehicle, Fig. 7.418 Resume normal path generation and execution].
Gates is not explicit to stating a generated/displayed question, in a formal sense, as in not displaying a question mark however the options selections found given to an teleoperator is understood as an obvious variation to one of ordinary skill in the art, as a type of questionnaire to an operator, as a selection would apply the same operations to a system with a triggered state where further input is required by the autonomous system to generate solutions to further navigate unique scenarios improving safety and reliability.
As per claim 20 Gate discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium configured to store instructions, that when executed by a computing system comprising one or more processors, causes the computing system to perform operations comprising [Fig. 1]:
receiving location information and sensor data from a vehicle [abstract: teleoperations system to modify elements in the mapping data (teleoperations is understood a two-way comm.), Fig. 1 remote vehicle service 178], wherein the vehicle is autonomously navigating a path on a road in an environment [Fig. 1 Autonomous vehicle (hardware), Fig. 4.258 Initiate streaming of session data, including autonomy sensor, telemetry and video data], and wherein the computing system is positioned remote from the vehicle [col 13:48-51 to propagate data collected during a teleoperation session, Fig. 1B centralized server (remotely from vehicle), Fig. 4];
based on the location information and the sensor data, displaying, on a display interface, a representation of the environment of the vehicle, wherein the representation of the environment shows an obstacle in the path of the vehicle and conveys lane information for the road [ Fig. 6 close lane, open lane (shown on display), Fig. 14];
based on detecting the obstacle in the path of the vehicle, generating and displaying a natural language question prompting action from an operator the question relating to modifying lane availability to assist the vehicle in overcoming the detected obstacle and enabling selection from among available lane modification options [col 15:20-35 autonomous vehicle may initially detect a condition that triggers a desire for teleoperations monitoring… for example, a detection by a detector… potential conditions that may be sensed and used to trigger monitoring includes construction zones… , col 21:1-7 it may be desirable to permit a teleoperations system operator to mark that lane as closed in the mapping data used by an autonomous vehicle. By doing so, the autonomous vehicle will avoid that lane…, Fig. 4.252 Identify condition triggering teleoperations monitoring (for an autonomous vehicle), Fig. 4.254 Request session, Fig. 4.262 Receive operator input and communicate to vehicle, Fig. 6, Fig. 14];
receiving, at the computing device and from the operator, a first input selecting a first lane of the road [Fig. 6], wherein the first input modifies an availability of the first lane of the road for subsequent navigation by an onboard navigation system of the vehicle by electronically updating a map used by the onboard navigation system of the vehicle, thereby enabling the onboard navigation system to navigate based on the modified lane availability information [col 21:1-7 it may be desirable to permit a teleoperations system operator to mark that lane as closed in the mapping data used by an autonomous vehicle. By doing so, the autonomous vehicle will avoid that lane…, Fig. 4.252 Identify condition triggering teleoperations monitoring (for an autonomous vehicle), Fig. 4.254 Request session, Fig. 4.262 Receive operator input and communicate to vehicle, Fig. 6, Fig. 14, Fig. 7 Autonomous vehicle, receive map alterations command]; and
providing, by the computing device, navigation instructions to the vehicle based on the modified availability of the first lane of the road [Fig. 7 Autonomous vehicle, receive map alterations command], the modification having been made in response to the detected obstacle to guide the vehicle around the detected obstacle [col 21:1-7 it may be desirable to permit a teleoperations system operator to mark that lane as closed in the mapping data used by an autonomous vehicle. By doing so, the autonomous vehicle will avoid that lane when determining a path or trajectory for the vehicle along the roadway], and wherein the vehicle continues navigation on the road according to the navigation instructions to circumvent the detected obstacle. [col 1:60-65 facilitating interaction between an autonomous vehicle and a teleoperations system… modify elements in the mapping data used by an autonomous vehicle, col 21:1-7 mark that lane as closed in the mapping data used by an autonomous vehicle. By doing so, the autonomous vehicle will avoid that lane when determining a path or trajectory for the vehicle along the roadway, Fig. 4 Receive operator input and communicate to vehicle, Fig. 7.418 Resume normal path generation and execution].
Gates is not explicit to stating a generated/displayed question, in a formal sense, as in not displaying a question mark however the options selections found given to an teleoperator is understood as an obvious variation to one of ordinary skill in the art, as a type of questionnaire to an operator, as a selection would apply the same operations to a system with a triggered state where further input is required by the autonomous system to generate solutions to further navigate unique scenarios improving safety and reliability.
As per claim 2 Gate discloses further comprising:
receiving a second input selecting a second lane of the road, wherein the second input modifies an availability of the second lane of the road during subsequent navigation by the vehicle [col 22:55-60 to represent a lane closure status for one or more lanes, Fig. 8, 10, 14]; and wherein providing navigation instructions to the vehicle comprises: providing navigation instructions based on the availability of both the first lane and the second lane [Fig. 9 generate and execute path based upon open lane, Fig. 6, Fig. 10].
As per claim 3 Gate discloses further comprising:
providing an indication with the representation of the environment that conveys a selection of a given lane of the road labels the given lane as unavailable during subsequent navigation by the vehicle [Fig. 8.364 “close lane”]; and
responsive to receiving the first input selecting the first lane of the road, determining that the first lane in the path is unavailable for subsequent navigation by the onboard navigation system of the vehicle for at least a threshold distance from a current location of the vehicle or for at least a threshold duration of time [col 3:60-64 alteration command is associated with a spatial extent that defines a length of roadway subject to a map alteration (defined length/threshold), Fig. 7.402 Receive operator input to close lane (optionally specifying end of closure), Fig. 7.404 Store event as training data, propagate to fleet and/or schedule session for another vehicle to reassess, Fig. 7.420 Periodically reassess condition lane closure, optionally initiate new session].
As per claim 4 Gate discloses further wherein providing the indication with the representation of the environment comprises: providing text or audio that conveys the selection of the given lane of the road labels the given lane unavailable during subsequent navigation [Fig. 6.364 “close lane”].
As per claim 5 Gate discloses further comprising:
providing an indication with the representation of the environment that conveys a selection of a given lane of the road labels the given lane as available during subsequent navigation by the vehicle [Fig. 9 generate and execute path based on open lane, Fig. 10.66 “open lane”]; and
responsive to receiving the first input selecting the first lane of the road, determining that the first lane is available for subsequent navigation by the vehicle for at least a threshold distance from a current location of the vehicle or for at least a threshold duration of time [Fig. 9.444 Store event as training data, propagate to fleet and/or schedule session for another vehicle to reassess, Fig. 9.460 Periodically reassess condition that triggered lane open, optionally initiate new session].
As per claim 6 Gate discloses further wherein receiving location information and sensor data from the vehicle comprises:
receiving a request for assistance from the vehicle, wherein the request for assistance includes the location information and images from a vehicle camera system [Fig. 4, 250 autonomous vehicle, 254 request session, 258 initiate streaming of session data, including autonomy sensor, telemetry and video data].
As per claim 7 Gate discloses further wherein displaying the representation of the environment of the vehicle comprises:
displaying the images from the vehicle camera system, wherein the images depict one or more obstacles in the environment of the vehicle [col 7:15-30 a primary sensor system… a digital camera… may be used to sense stationary and moving objects within the immediate vicinity of a vehicle, col 13:15-20 a graphical depiction of the immediate vicinity around a vehicle may be generated for display to a teleoperations operator (based on sensor system), Fig. 5].
As per claim 8 Gate discloses further comprising:
identifying the one or more obstacles in the environment [col 22:47-55 view of the vehicle and its environment… representations of various other dynamic objects or actors (e.g. construction barrels), Fig. 6];
determining at least one obstacle from the one or more obstacles is located in the first lane and in the path of the vehicle [Fig. 6, Fig. 8]; and
providing a suggestion for modifying availability of the first lane based on determining that the at least one obstacle is located in the first lane and in the path of the vehicle [Fig. 6.370 “Virtual Path Suggestion”].
As per claim 9 Gate discloses further comprising:
identifying the one or more obstacles in the environment [col 22:47-55 view of the vehicle and its environment… representations of various other dynamic objects or actors (e.g. construction barrels), Fig. 6.356];
determining at least one obstacle from the one or more obstacles is located in the first lane and in the path of the vehicle; automatically modifying availability of the first lane in the path based on determining that the one or more obstacles are located in the first lane and in the path of the vehicle [Fig. 8.380]; and
displaying the representation of the environment with an indication of the modified availability of the first lane [Fig. 6, Fig. 8].
As per claim 10 Gate discloses further comprising:
responsive to receiving the first input selecting the first lane of the road, displaying the representation of the environment with an indication of the modified availability for the first lane of the road [Fig. 8.382].
As per claim 11 Gate discloses further wherein displaying the representation of the environment with the indication of the modified availability for the first lane comprises:
displaying the first lane in a color that differentiates the first lane from other lanes in the path [col 22:60-65 some implementations to indicate that the shoulder is effectively closed, e.g., using a predetermined color or pattern that visually indicates the status…, Fig. 8].
As per claim 12 Gate discloses further comprising: receiving a second input selecting a particular area on the representation of the environment [Fig. 13.542 wait for further operator input]; and
based on receiving the second input, providing navigation instructions to the vehicle based on the availability of the first lane of the road and the second input selecting the particular area, wherein the vehicle is configured to determine whether the particular area on the representation is suitable for performing a pull-over maneuver [col 26:40-45 may ascertain from the streamed context that a construction worker or police officer is directing vehicles onto the shoulder for travel is an appropriate response, col 31:22-26 Then in a third phase, a stop and hold may be performed to the vehicle to a stop, Fig. 13.544 perform stop and hold at end of path (it is understood that the system, if the situation arises, can perform a pull-over maneuver)].
As per claim 15 Gate discloses further wherein the representation of the environment depicts the first lane in a first color and a second lane in a second color [col 22:60-65 some implementations to indicate that the shoulder is effectively closed, e.g., using a predetermined color or pattern that visually indicates the status… (if one lane is colored differently to show closure, then that would mean the other lanes would be in a different color not showing closure), Fig. 8].
As per claim 16 Gate discloses further wherein the computing device is further configured to: receive, from the vehicle, images depicting a forward path of the vehicle [Fig. 5.330]; and
wherein the representation of the environment conveys the forward path of the vehicle based on the images [Fig. 5.330].
As per claim 17 Gate discloses further wherein the computing device is further configured to: detect the obstacle in the forward path of the vehicle [Fig. 6.356]; and
augment the representation of the environment to indicate a location of the obstacle relative to the vehicle [col 22:47-55 view of the vehicle and its environment… representations of various other dynamic objects or actors (e.g. construction barrels), Fig. 6.356].
As per claim 18 Gate discloses further wherein the computing device is further configured to display an indication that a second lane on the road is unavailable for selection based on the location of the obstacle relative to the vehicle [Fig. 8.380 and 362].
Claims 13 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pat. No. 11560154 in further view of US 20150177007 (“Su”).
As per claim 13 Gate discloses further comprising:
based on displaying the representation of the environment, receiving a given input that selects a scenario or intended action in the environment of the vehicle [col 17: 60-65 operator input… autonomous vehicle can follow a scenario recommended, col 18:54-55 its current intended actions (e.g. follow)]; and
based on receiving the given input that selects the scenario or intended action, providing instructions to the vehicle to follow [col 17: 60-65 operator input… autonomous vehicle can follow a scenario recommended, col 18:54-55 its current intended actions (e.g. follow)].
Gate is silent to selecting a second vehicle to follow a given duration or distance.
Su discloses further a second vehicle to follow a given duration or distance [abstract: identify a vehicle ahead with the same driving route and destination (navigate around road with no markings), Fig. 2 to given destination (given duration)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date the invention was made to modify Gate with the teachings of Su to incorporate autonomous driving features of following a vehicle on a road for purposes of efficiently and safety traveling with traffic by sharing driving maneuvers on the same path of travel.
As per claim 21 Gate discloses further wherein the computing device is further configured to: receive a second input that selects a second vehicle in the environment [Fig. 2 Operations/Fleet interface 230]; and
based on receiving the second input, provide instructions to the vehicle to follow the second vehicle [col 17: 60-65 operator input… autonomous vehicle can follow a scenario recommended, col 18:54-55 its current intended actions (e.g. follow)].
Gate is silent to selecting a second vehicle to follow a threshold duration or a threshold distance.
Su discloses further a second vehicle to follow a threshold duration or distance [abstract: identify a vehicle ahead with the same driving route and destination (navigate around road with no markings), Fig. 2 to given destination (given duration)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date the invention was made to modify Gate with the teachings of Su to incorporate autonomous driving features of following a vehicle on a road for purposes of efficiently and safety traveling with traffic by sharing driving maneuvers on the same path of travel.
Additional Art to Consider
Application Pub. No US 2019/0316919 titled, HIERARCHICAL ROUTE GENERATION, PROVISION, AND SELECTION, also discloses an autonomous driving system that is in communication with a centralized server detailing lane/route details for the autonomous vehicle driving on the given road. This is similar to the Applicant’s invention in that Applicant’s reliance a centralized navigation engine for route planning that is based on vehicle sensor data.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
PAUL A. CASTRO
Examiner
Art Unit 3662
/P.A.C/Examiner, Art Unit 3662
/JELANI A SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3662