Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Diankov et al (US PG. Pub. 2020/0238519) in view of Lin (US PG. Pub. 2020/0241574). Relative to claim 1, Diankov discloses:
A warehouse robot control method, comprising:
obtaining a container scheduling instruction of a first target container, the container scheduling instruction comprises a container type of the first target container (Para. 0114, robot is instructed to select target object 112, which is a container, see Fig. 3A, the object is selected based on a predetermined selection measure, and/or selection rule and/or template related to a pose or an outline);
determining a container pose recognition algorithm according to the container type of the first target container (Para. 0096, see predetermined recognition mechanism), and recognizing pose information of the first target container based on the container pose recognition algorithm (pose of object 302 is based on predetermined recognition mechanism and/or recognition rule, see also, predetermined image pattern; Para. 0099); and
controlling the warehouse robot (100)(Fig. 4A) to pick up the first target container according to the pose information (Para. 0119).
Diankov does not expressly disclose:
controlling the warehouse robot to pick up the first target container according to the pose information comprises:
determining a position relation between the pickup apparatus of the warehouse robot and the first target container according to the pose information;
moving and/or rotating the warehouse robot according to the position relation; and controlling the pickup apparatus of the warehouse robot to pick up the first target container;
after the moving and/or rotating the warehouse robot according to the position relation, the method further comprises:
obtaining a pickup distance between the warehouse robot and the first target container;
determining whether the pickup distance meets a pickup condition of the warehouse robot; and
if yes, controlling the pickup apparatus of the warehouse robot to pick up the first target container.
Lin teaches:
controlling the warehouse robot (104)(Fig. 1) to pick up the first target object (108) according to the pose information comprises (Para. 0068):
determining a position relation between the pickup apparatus (for instance, arms, fingers, pincers) of the warehouse robot (104) and the first target object (108) according to the pose information (Para. 0068);
moving and/or rotating the warehouse robot (104) according to the position relation (Para. 0045); and controlling the pickup apparatus of the warehouse robot (104) to pick up the first target object (Para. 0044);
after the moving and/or rotating the warehouse robot (104) according to the position relation, the method further comprises:
obtaining a pickup distance between the warehouse robot (104) and the first target object (108)(Para. 0067-0068);
determining whether the pickup distance meets a pickup condition of the warehouse robot (104)(Para. 0068); and
if yes, controlling the pickup apparatus of the warehouse robot (104) to pick up the first target object (108)(Para. 0068, if object is within range of arm, then the success condition is met and object may be successfully onboarded).
Lin teaches: determining a position relation between the pickup apparatus of the robot and the target object according to the pose; moving and/or rotating the warehouse robot according to the position; after moving and/or rotating the warehouse robot according to the position relation; obtaining a pickup distance between the warehouse robot and the target object; determining whether the pickup distance meets a pickup condition; and the robot picking up the target object if the condition is met as described above for the purpose of providing a robot control system for accurately approaching the same designated object in different environments in an automated manner (Para. 0001-0002; 0005-0006).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art on or before the time of the filing to modify the method of Diankov with the determining a position relation between the pickup apparatus of the robot and the target object according to the pose, obtaining a pickup distance between the warehouse robot and the target object, and controlling the robot to pick up the first target container if the pickup distance meeting a pickup condition, as taught in Lin for the purpose of providing a robot control system for accurately approaching the same designated object in different environments in an automated manner.
Relative to claim 1, Lin does not expressly disclose the target object is a target container. Lin can be modified so that the target object is a target container as an obvious matter of design choice based on the user’s preference. The system of Lin includes identifying, approaching, picking, and manipulating a variety of objects, such as objects commonly used in homes (Para. 0020). The system implies that the objects may include containers, as containers are common objects used in homes to be picked by a robot. See MPEP §2144.01
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Lin, so that the target object is a target container as a matter of design choice since the disclosure implies that the target objects to be picked can include containers.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YOLANDA R CUMBESS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3651