DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/21/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The use of the term ZIGBEE, for example, which is a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claims 37-39, 45 and 47 are objected to because of the following informalities: the limitation “determine their intent” is unclear because how can one know another’s intent. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 33-36, 40, 44 and 46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over XP068167091 “Coordinated OFDMA protocol” (hereinafter Samsung) in view of 2022/0104257 (hereinafter Ryu) and US 2017/0006596 (hereinafter Adachi).
Regarding claims 33, 44 and 46, Samsung teaches an access point apparatus comprising: at least one memory that stores a set of instructions; and at least one processor that executes the instructions, the instructions, when executed, causing the access point apparatus to perform operations comprising: transmitting, to another access point apparatus with which the access point apparatus performs a multi access point coordination (slide 4: details Sharing AP), a trigger frame for triggering transmission of a frame from the another access point apparatus (slide 4: details Sharing AP initiates SH-TXOP by transmitting SH-TXOP announcement frame; STAs associated with the Shared AP).
Samsung does not explicitly teach wherein the trigger frame includes, in a user Info field, an Association ID (AID) field indicating identification information of the another access point apparatus, a Resource Unit (RU) allocation field indicating a resource unit allocated to the another access point apparatus, and a field indicating a frequency channel on which the another access point apparatus performs communication by using the allocated resource unit.
However, Ryu teaches wherein the trigger frame includes, in a user Info field, an Association ID (AID) field indicating identification information of the another access point apparatus ([0143]: details User Identifier field of FIG. 11 (or AID12 field, 1110) indicates the identifier of an STA (i.e., a receiving STA) corresponding to per user information, where an example of the identifier may be all or part of the AID), a Resource Unit (RU) allocation field indicating a resource unit allocated to the another access point apparatus ([0144]: details an RU Allocation field (1120) may be included).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Samsung to incorporate the teachings of Ryu and include wherein the trigger frame includes, in a user Info field, an Association ID (AID) field indicating identification information of the another access point apparatus, a Resource Unit (RU) allocation field indicating a resource unit allocated to the another access point apparatus of Ryu with Samsung. Doing so transmission may be efficiently performed (Ryu, at paragraph [0033]).
Moreover, Adachi teaches, a field indicating a frequency channel on which the another access point apparatus performs communication by using the allocated resource unit (FIG. 6; [0097]-[0109] [0194]: details field for channel information; in the 2.4 GHz band, as illustrated in FIG. 24, reference channel selection is performed at 25 MHz intervals (FIG. 24(A)) in such as North America and China, and at 30 MHz intervals (FIG. 24(B)) in Europe. Therefore, it may be performed at 25 MHz intervals (FIG. 24(A)) mirroring the selection for North America and China where, for example, ch.1 in the embodiment may be set to channel number 1 in the 2.4 GHz band in IEEE802.11 standard and ch.2 may be set to channel number 6 in the 2.4 GHz band in IEEE802.11 standard. Alternatively, it may be performed at 30 MHz intervals (FIG. 24(B)) mirroring the selection for Europe where, for example, ch.1 in the embodiment is set to channel number 1 in the 2.4 GHz band in the IEEE802.11 standard and ch.2 is set to channel number 7 in the 2.4 GHz band in the IEEE802.11 standard. Alternatively, as illustrated in FIG. 24(C), mirroring the 20 MHz channel intervals in the 5 GHz band, ch.1 in the embodiment may be set to channel number 1 in the 2.4 GHz band in IEEE802.11 standard and ch.2 may be set to channel number 5 in the 2.4 GHz band in IEEE802.11 standard. FIG. 24(C) exemplifies a future possible channel selection other than the ones in FIG. 24(A) and FIG. 24(B). However, in the case of such as North America, China and Europe, when another wireless communication system selects, as at least part of the channels, channel number 6 or 7 in the 2.4 GHz band, the frequency band partially overlaps with that of channel number 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Samsung to incorporate the teachings of Adachi and include a field indicating a frequency channel on which the another access point apparatus performs communication by using the allocated resource unit of Adachi with Samsung. Doing so would improve utilization efficiency (Adachi, at 0008).
Regarding claim 34, Samsung does not explicitly teach wherein the trigger frame includes a first User info field that includes information of a frequency channel on which first another access point apparatus performs communication and identification information of the first another access point apparatus and a second User info field that includes information of a frequency channel on which second another access point apparatus performs communication and identification information of the second another access point apparatus.
However, Ryu teaches wherein the trigger frame includes a first User info field that includes identification information of the first another access point apparatus and a second User info field that includes identification information of the second another access point apparatus ([0143][0144]: details User Identifier field of FIG. 11 (or AID12 field, 1110) indicates the identifier of an STA (i.e., a receiving STA) corresponding to per user information, where an example of the identifier may be all or part of the AID; an RU Allocation field (1120) may be included).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Samsung to incorporate the teachings of Ryu and include wherein the trigger frame includes a first User info field that includes identification information of the first another access point apparatus and a second User info field that includes identification information of the second another access point apparatus of Ryu with Samsung. Doing so transmission may be efficiently performed (Ryu, at paragraph [0033]).
Moreover, Adachi teaches information of a frequency channel on which first another access point apparatus performs communication and information of a frequency channel on which second another access point apparatus performs communication and (FIG. 6; [0097]-[0109] [0194]: details field for channel information; in the 2.4 GHz band, as illustrated in FIG. 24, reference channel selection is performed at 25 MHz intervals (FIG. 24(A)) in such as North America and China, and at 30 MHz intervals (FIG. 24(B)) in Europe. Therefore, it may be performed at 25 MHz intervals (FIG. 24(A)) mirroring the selection for North America and China where, for example, ch.1 in the embodiment may be set to channel number 1 in the 2.4 GHz band in IEEE802.11 standard and ch.2 may be set to channel number 6 in the 2.4 GHz band in IEEE802.11 standard. Alternatively, it may be performed at 30 MHz intervals (FIG. 24(B)) mirroring the selection for Europe where, for example, ch.1 in the embodiment is set to channel number 1 in the 2.4 GHz band in the IEEE802.11 standard and ch.2 is set to channel number 7 in the 2.4 GHz band in the IEEE802.11 standard. Alternatively, as illustrated in FIG. 24(C), mirroring the 20 MHz channel intervals in the 5 GHz band, ch.1 in the embodiment may be set to channel number 1 in the 2.4 GHz band in IEEE802.11 standard and ch.2 may be set to channel number 5 in the 2.4 GHz band in IEEE802.11 standard. FIG. 24(C) exemplifies a future possible channel selection other than the ones in FIG. 24(A) and FIG. 24(B). However, in the case of such as North America, China and Europe, when another wireless communication system selects, as at least part of the channels, channel number 6 or 7 in the 2.4 GHz band, the frequency band partially overlaps with that of channel number 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Samsung to incorporate the teachings of Adachi and include information of a frequency channel on which first another access point apparatus performs communication and information of a frequency channel on which second another access point apparatus performs communication of Adachi with Samsung. Doing so would improve utilization efficiency (Adachi, at 0008).
Regarding claim 35, Samsung does not explicitly teach wherein the trigger frame indicates a frequency channel used for communication between the another access point apparatus and a station apparatus.
However, Adachi teaches wherein the trigger frame indicates a frequency channel used for communication between the another access point apparatus and a station apparatus (FIG. 6; [0097]-[0109] [0194]: details field for channel information; in the 2.4 GHz band, as illustrated in FIG. 24, reference channel selection is performed at 25 MHz intervals (FIG. 24(A)) in such as North America and China, and at 30 MHz intervals (FIG. 24(B)) in Europe. Therefore, it may be performed at 25 MHz intervals (FIG. 24(A)) mirroring the selection for North America and China where, for example, ch.1 in the embodiment may be set to channel number 1 in the 2.4 GHz band in IEEE802.11 standard and ch.2 may be set to channel number 6 in the 2.4 GHz band in IEEE802.11 standard. Alternatively, it may be performed at 30 MHz intervals (FIG. 24(B)) mirroring the selection for Europe where, for example, ch.1 in the embodiment is set to channel number 1 in the 2.4 GHz band in the IEEE802.11 standard and ch.2 is set to channel number 7 in the 2.4 GHz band in the IEEE802.11 standard. Alternatively, as illustrated in FIG. 24(C), mirroring the 20 MHz channel intervals in the 5 GHz band, ch.1 in the embodiment may be set to channel number 1 in the 2.4 GHz band in IEEE802.11 standard and ch.2 may be set to channel number 5 in the 2.4 GHz band in IEEE802.11 standard. FIG. 24(C) exemplifies a future possible channel selection other than the ones in FIG. 24(A) and FIG. 24(B). However, in the case of such as North America, China and Europe, when another wireless communication system selects, as at least part of the channels, channel number 6 or 7 in the 2.4 GHz band, the frequency band partially overlaps with that of channel number 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Samsung to incorporate the teachings of Adachi and include wherein the trigger frame indicates a frequency channel used for communication between the another access point apparatus and a station apparatus of Adachi with Samsung. Doing so would improve utilization efficiency (Adachi, at 0008).
Regarding claim 36, Samsung does not explicitly teach wherein the trigger frame is a trigger frame defined by IEEE802.11 standard series.
However, Adachi teaches wherein the trigger frame is a trigger frame defined by IEEE802.11 standard series (FIG. 6; [0097]-[0109] [0194]: details field for channel information; in the 2.4 GHz band, as illustrated in FIG. 24, reference channel selection is performed at 25 MHz intervals (FIG. 24(A)) in such as North America and China, and at 30 MHz intervals (FIG. 24(B)) in Europe. Therefore, it may be performed at 25 MHz intervals (FIG. 24(A)) mirroring the selection for North America and China where, for example, ch.1 in the embodiment may be set to channel number 1 in the 2.4 GHz band in IEEE802.11 standard and ch.2 may be set to channel number 6 in the 2.4 GHz band in IEEE802.11 standard. Alternatively, it may be performed at 30 MHz intervals (FIG. 24(B)) mirroring the selection for Europe where, for example, ch.1 in the embodiment is set to channel number 1 in the 2.4 GHz band in the IEEE802.11 standard and ch.2 is set to channel number 7 in the 2.4 GHz band in the IEEE802.11 standard. Alternatively, as illustrated in FIG. 24(C), mirroring the 20 MHz channel intervals in the 5 GHz band, ch.1 in the embodiment may be set to channel number 1 in the 2.4 GHz band in IEEE802.11 standard and ch.2 may be set to channel number 5 in the 2.4 GHz band in IEEE802.11 standard. FIG. 24(C) exemplifies a future possible channel selection other than the ones in FIG. 24(A) and FIG. 24(B). However, in the case of such as North America, China and Europe, when another wireless communication system selects, as at least part of the channels, channel number 6 or 7 in the 2.4 GHz band, the frequency band partially overlaps with that of channel number 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Samsung to incorporate the teachings of Adachi and include wherein the trigger frame is a trigger frame defined by IEEE802.11 standard series of Adachi with Samsung. Doing so would improve utilization efficiency (Adachi, at 0008).
Regarding claim 40, Samsung does not explicitly teach wherein the identification information of the another access point apparatus in the AID field in the trigger frame is assigned by the access point apparatus to the another access point apparatus.
However, Ryu teaches wherein the identification information of the another access point apparatus in the AID field in the trigger frame is assigned by the access point apparatus to the another access point apparatus (FIG. 21; [0143]: details User Identifier field of FIG. 11 (or AID12 field, 1110) indicates the identifier of an STA (i.e., a receiving STA) corresponding to per user information, where an example of the identifier may be all or part of the AID; M-AP to S-AP).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Samsung to incorporate the teachings of Ryu and include wherein the identification information of the another access point apparatus in the AID field in the trigger frame is assigned by the access point apparatus to the another access point apparatus of Ryu with Samsung. Doing so transmission may be efficiently performed (Ryu, at paragraph [0033]).
Claims 37-39, 41-43, 45 and 47 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Samsung in view of Ryu and Adachi further in view of US 2023/0103807 (hereinafter Park).
Regarding claims 37, 45 and 47, Samsung does not explicitly teach wherein before transmitting the trigger frame, the access point apparatus transmits a frame to poll one or more other access points to solicit response from the polled one or more other access points and determine their intent relating to the multi access point coordination.
However, Park teaches wherein before transmitting the trigger frame, the access point apparatus transmits a frame to poll one or more other access points to solicit response from the polled one or more other access points (FIG. 32; [0298]: details Master AP may transmit a request frame to the Slave APs), and determine their intent relating to the multi access point coordination (FIG. 32; [0305]-[0316]: details A. Buffer status of Slave AP: The Master AP can participate in Multi-AP transmission with priority on Slave APs having a large amount of buffer. B. Available channels of the Slave AP: From the time point when the request frame is received from the Master AP, the Slave AP can check the status of its own channels and respond to the idle channel and clear channel assessment (CCA) results to the Master AP. Therefore, the Master AP can allocate the most suitable channel (in the order of the best CCA result) to each Slave AP in consideration of the available channels of all the Slave APs. C. Several channels with high priority among the available channels of the slave AP: In order to reduce the signaling overhead, the Slave AP can respond to the Master AP only a few specific channels with good channel status (considering the CCA result for each channel) among the available channels of the Slave AP corresponding to ‘B.’).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Samsung to incorporate the teachings of Park and include wherein before transmitting the trigger frame, the access point apparatus transmits a frame to poll one or more other access points to solicit response from the polled one or more other access points and determine their intent relating to the multi access point coordination of Park with Samsung. Doing so would be improving system performance (Park, at paragraph [0274]).
Regarding claim 38, Samsung does not explicitly teach wherein before transmitting the frame to poll, the access point apparatus establishes a group for the multi access point coordination with the another access point.
However, Park teaches wherein before transmitting the frame to poll, the access point apparatus establishes a group for the multi access point coordination with the another access point (FIG. 32; [0298][0305]-[0316]: details A. Buffer status of Slave AP: The Master AP can participate in Multi-AP transmission with priority on Slave APs having a large amount of buffer. B. Available channels of the Slave AP: From the time point when the request frame is received from the Master AP, the Slave AP can check the status of its own channels and respond to the idle channel and clear channel assessment (CCA) results to the Master AP. Therefore, the Master AP can allocate the most suitable channel (in the order of the best CCA result) to each Slave AP in consideration of the available channels of all the Slave APs. C. Several channels with high priority among the available channels of the slave AP: In order to reduce the signaling overhead, the Slave AP can respond to the Master AP only a few specific channels with good channel status (considering the CCA result for each channel) among the available channels of the Slave AP corresponding to ‘B.’).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Samsung to incorporate the teachings of Park and include wherein before transmitting the frame to poll, the access point apparatus establishes a group for the multi access point coordination with the another access point of Park with Samsung. Doing so would be improving system performance (Park, at paragraph [0274]).
Regarding claim 39, Samsung does not explicitly teach wherein the trigger frame is transmitted to another access point apparatus which indicated to join the multi access point coordination by transmitting a response to the poll, and wherein the trigger frame is not transmitted to another access point apparatus which indicated not to join the multi access point coordination by transmitting a response to the poll.
However, Park teaches wherein wherein the trigger frame is transmitted to another access point apparatus which indicated to join the multi access point coordination by transmitting a response to the poll, and wherein the trigger frame is not transmitted to another access point apparatus which indicated not to join the multi access point coordination by transmitting a response to the poll (FIG. 32; [0298][0305]-[0316]: details A. Buffer status of Slave AP: The Master AP can participate in Multi-AP transmission with priority on Slave APs having a large amount of buffer. B. Available channels of the Slave AP: From the time point when the request frame is received from the Master AP, the Slave AP can check the status of its own channels and respond to the idle channel and clear channel assessment (CCA) results to the Master AP. Therefore, the Master AP can allocate the most suitable channel (in the order of the best CCA result) to each Slave AP in consideration of the available channels of all the Slave APs. C. Several channels with high priority among the available channels of the slave AP: In order to reduce the signaling overhead, the Slave AP can respond to the Master AP only a few specific channels with good channel status (considering the CCA result for each channel) among the available channels of the Slave AP corresponding to ‘B.’).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Samsung to incorporate the teachings of Park and include wherein the trigger frame is transmitted to another access point apparatus which indicated to join the multi access point coordination by transmitting a response to the poll, and wherein the trigger frame is not transmitted to another access point apparatus which indicated not to join the multi access point coordination by transmitting a response to the poll of Park with Samsung. Doing so would be improving system performance (Park, at paragraph [0274]).
Regarding claim 41, Samsung does not explicitly teach wherein in the multi access point coordination, communication by the access point apparatus and communication by the another access point apparatus are performed in a time-division manner.
However, Park teaches wherein, in the multi access point coordination, communication by the access point apparatus and communication by the another access point apparatus are performed in a time-division manner (FIG. 24; [0254]-[0265]: details Multi-AP coordination technology… increases data transmission efficiency by participating in two or more APs on a specific time point of data transmission/reception to a terminal by sharing channel feedback information and scheduling information of the terminal between APs when transmitting and receiving data frames between the terminal and the APs, as time-division manner).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Samsung to incorporate the teachings of Park and include wherein, in the multi access point coordination, communication by the access point apparatus and communication by the another access point apparatus are performed in a time-division manner of Park with Samsung. Doing so would be improving system performance (Park, at paragraph [0256]).
Regarding claim 42, Samsung does not explicitly teach wherein the multi access point coordination is coordinated beamforming.
However, Park teaches wherein the multi access point coordination is a coordinated beamforming (FIG. 24; [0255]-[0257]: details In the coordinated beamforming, downlink transmission can be performed simultaneously without co-channel interference due to beamforming, such as designating a nulling point to another STA or using distributed joint beamforming… Multi-AP coordination technology in the wireless LAN system minimizes interference between BSSs during data transmission or increases data transmission efficiency by participating in two or more APs on a specific time point of data transmission/reception to a terminal by sharing channel feedback information and scheduling information of the terminal between APs when transmitting and receiving data frames between the terminal and the APs…).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Samsung to incorporate the teachings of Park and include wherein the multi access point coordination is a coordinated beamforming of Park with Samsung. Doing so would be improving system performance (Park, at paragraph [0256]).
Regarding claim 43, Samsung does not explicitly teach wherein, in the coordinated beamforming, if the access point apparatus transmits data to a station belonging to a Basic Service Set (BSS), an antenna gain in a direction of the station is increased and an antenna gain in a direction of a station belonging to BSS of another access point apparatus is decreased.
However, Park teaches wherein, in the coordinated beamforming, if the access point apparatus transmits data to a station belonging to a Basic Service Set (BSS), an antenna gain in a direction of the station is increased and an antenna gain in the direction of a station belonging to BSS of another access point apparatus is decreased (FIG. 24; [0254]-[0265]: details coordinated beamforming; Multi-AP coordination technology in the wireless LAN system minimizes interference between BSSs during data transmission… a coordinated beamforming scheme; conditional limitation, examiner suggests explicitly reciting all the other conditions to give the limitation patentable weight).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Samsung to incorporate the teachings of Park and include wherein, in the coordinated beamforming, if the access point apparatus transmits data to a station belonging to a Basic Service Set (BSS), an antenna gain in a direction of the station is increased and an antenna gain in the direction of a station belonging to BSS of another access point apparatus is decreased of Park with Samsung. Doing so would be improving system performance (Park, at paragraph [0256]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/28/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant alleges that the cited references does not teach the new claims. Examiner respectfully disagrees. As stated above, the combination of Samsung, Ryu, Adachi and Park teaches all the limitations of the new claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wang (US 2023/0362994) details Multi-RU Multi-AP transmissions in WLAN systems.
Gan (US 2023/0066731) details sending trigger frame.
Patil (US 2019/0215884) details mechanism to support secondary channel operation.
Matsuo (US 2018/0279171) details wireless communication.
Nabetani (US 2017/0070267) details wireless communication.
/JASPER KWOH/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2415