DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s Amendment filed on January 9, 2026 has been fully considered and entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9, 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Yu et al. (CN 111338039 A from Applicant’s Information Disclosure Statement) in view of Zhang et al. (CN 203660273 U from Applicant’s Information Disclosure Statement), further in view of Huang et al. (US 2021/0298168 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Yu discloses an optical module (Figs. 5-18), comprising: a circuit board (203) including a through hole (2031) disposed in a surface thereof; a substrate (700) disposed in the through hole; a laser assembly (501) disposed on the substrate; and a silicon photonic chip (600) disposed on the substrate and optically connected to the laser assembly, the silicon photonic chip being electrically connected to the circuit board through the substrate so as to ground the silicon photonic chip (see detailed description of circuit board 203 on page 5, describing how the “circuit board connects the electrical components in the optical module according to the circuit design through circuit traces to achieve electrical functions such as power supply, electrical signal transmission, and grounding”); wherein the substrate includes: a body disposed in the through hole, the laser assembly and the silicon photonic chip being disposed on the body; a first support step (707) disposed at an end of the body and configured to support the circuit board; and a second support step (see Fig. 15; base of 700 has a second protruding step at the opposite end from 707) disposed at another end of the body and configured to support the circuit board.
Still regarding claim 1, Yu teaches the claimed invention except for the support step connected to a metal layer. Zhang discloses a substrate (2 in Figs. 1-4) and a photonic chip (1) disposed on the substrate, the substrate having two side faces (5, 51) having conductive layers and attached to a circuit board so as to ground the photonic chip (abstract). Since both of the inventions relate to optical devices, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to form side surfaces with conductive layers as disclosed by Zhang in the device of Yu for the purpose of providing a grounding connection. In the proposed combination, one having ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to form the conductive layers on the first and second support steps since they are on the sides of the substrate, and also to electrically connect the support steps to corresponding first and second metal layers on the circuit board.
Still regarding claim 1, the proposed combination of Yu and Zhang teaches the claimed invention except for a ground layer disposed inside the circuit board. Huang discloses a circuit board (101 in Fig. 3) including a through hole (124) disposed in a surface thereof and a substrate (109) disposed in the through hole; wherein the circuit board includes a ground layer (bottom layer of 107) disposed inside the circuit board, and wherein a first metal layer and a second metal layer (portions of top layer of 107 which are in contact with 109) are connected to the ground layer of the circuit board through via holes (302). Since all of the inventions relate to optical devices, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to form a ground layer disposed inside the circuit board as disclosed by Huang in the device of the proposed combination of Yu and Zhang for the purpose of providing a grounding connection and providing electromagnetic shielding.
Regarding claim 2, the proposed combination of Yu, Zhang and Huang teaches the claimed invention except for specifically stating the metal layers electrically connected to the support steps through conductive silver paste. However, conductive silver paste is well-known and commonly used in the art and as such, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use conductive silver paste to electrically connect the metal layers to the support steps for the purpose of enhancing the electrical connection.
Regarding claim 3, Yu discloses the first support step and the second support step are protruding structures in Fig. 15.
Regarding claim 4, the proposed combination of Yu, Zhang and Huang teaches the claimed invention except for specifically stating the shape of the support steps is the same as the shape of the metal layers. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the shape of the support steps to be the same as the shape of the metal layers for the purpose of forming a good connection, resulting in a compact, robust device.
Regarding claim 5, Yu discloses the body includes a first side surface and a second side surface disposed opposite each other, and a third side surface and a fourth side surface disposed opposite each other; and the first support step is disposed around the first side surface and parts of the third side surface and the fourth side surface, and the second support step is disposed around the second side surface and parts of the third side surface and the fourth side surface in Fig. 15.
Regarding claim 6, Yu further discloses the through hole includes a first side and a second side disposed opposite each other, and a third side and a fourth side disposed opposite each other in Fig. 14. The proposed combination of Yu, Zhang and Huang teaches the claimed invention except for specifically stating the shape of the metal layer. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the shape of the metal layers to be the same as the shape of the support steps, resulting in the first metal layer disposed around the first side, and parts of the third side and the fourth side, and the second metal layer is disposed around the second side and parts of the third side and the fourth side, for the purpose of forming a good connection, resulting in a compact, robust device.
Regarding claim 7, Yu discloses a distance between a surface of the body proximate to the silicon photonic chip and a surface of the first support step proximate to the silicon photonic chip is equal to a thickness of the circuit board; and a distance between the surface of the body proximate to the silicon photonic chip and a surface of the second support step proximate to the silicon photonic chip is equal to the thickness of the circuit board in Fig. 15.
Regarding claim 8, Yu discloses the body includes: a first clamping portion (704), the silicon photonic chip being disposed on the first clamping portion; and a second clamping portion (702), the laser assembly being disposed on the second clamping portion in Fig. 15.
Regarding claim 9, Yu discloses the laser assembly includes: a laser upper cover (206) covering the second clamping portion; and a laser chip (501) disposed on the second clamping portion and located in a cavity formed by the laser upper cover and the second clamping portion in Fig. 15.
Regarding claim 16, Yu discloses an optical fiber interface; a first internal optical fiber ribbon (401), an end of the first internal optical fiber ribbon being connected to the silicon photonic chip, another end of the first internal optical fiber ribbon being connected to the optical fiber interface, and the first internal optical fiber ribbon being configured to transmit an optical signal to an outside of the optical module; and a second internal optical fiber ribbon, an end of the second internal optical fiber ribbon being connected to the silicon photonic chip, another end of the second internal optical fiber ribbon being connected to the optical fiber interface, and the second internal optical fiber ribbon being configured to receive an optical signal from the outside of the optical module (see page 6).
Regarding claim 17, Yu discloses a first optical fiber ribbon connector disposed on the substrate and configured to clamp the end of the first internal optical fiber ribbon connected to the silicon photonic chip; and a second optical fiber ribbon connector disposed on the substrate and configured to clamp the end of the second internal optical fiber ribbon connected to the silicon photonic chip in Fig. 6.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, filed January 9, 2026, with respect to claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry of a general or clerical nature should be directed to the Technology Center 2800 receptionist at telephone number (571) 272-1562.
Chris H. Chu
/CHRIS H CHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874 April 22, 2026