DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Receipt is acknowledged of applicant’s amendment filed on 12/15/25. Claims 1, 5 and 8 amended. Claims 15-20 withdrawn and thus canceled. Claims 1-14 pending and an action on the merits is as follows.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Kumnick et al. US Publication No. 2016/0267466 cited in previous action in view of Vu US Patent No. 11, 562, 194 cited in previous action in view of Hirka et al. US Patent No. 8, 515, 868.
Re Claim 1, Kumnick discloses a payment instrument, comprising:
a front face (Fig. 1; front side);
a rear face (Fig. 1; back side) ;
a first embedded computing device (214/212; Fig. 1) that stores a first cryptogram key (P34, P49-53, P58 Fig. 7 the cryptogram may be dependent on the transaction initiation method and may be associated with a certain transaction channel, the transaction token designated for a contact transaction channel may be associated with a contact transaction channel cryptogram algorithm,
the first embedded computing device (212,; Fig. 1) being configured to use the first cryptogram key to generate a first cryptogram for a first authorization request associated with a first transaction, the first transaction being charged to a first financial account(P6, P34, P41 , P58 tokens are associated with account numbers ),
the first embedded computing device (212; Fig. 1) device being located on the front face (Fig. 1);
a second embedded computing device (Fig. 1, ) that stores a second cryptogram key, the second embedded computing device being configured to generate a second cryptogram for a second authorization request associated with a second transaction, the second transaction being charged to a second financial account (P49, P60).
and a magnetic stripe (204) that stores the first financial account or a third financial account, the magnetic strip (204) is configured to provide the first financial account or the third financial account to a point of sale (POS) device for a third transaction, the first magnetic stripe adhering to the rear face (P47, P60, P91, P107Fig. 1).
Kumnick fails to specifically disclose that the second embedded computing device being located on the front face at a first end, the first end being configured to engage the first embedded computing device with a point of sale (POS device) and second embedded device being located on the front face at a second end, the second end being configured to engage the second embedded computing device with the POS device and wherein the first authorization request is provided to an issuer system to identify the first financial account and the second authorization request is provided to the issuer system to identify the second financial account based at least in part on a configurable arrangement of financial accounts, the configurable arrangement of financial accounts being specified by a client device.
However Vu discloses that the second embedded computing device being located on the front face at a first end, the first end being configured to engage the first embedded computing device with a point of sale (POS device) and second embedded device being located on the front face at a second end, the second end being configured to engage the second embedded computing device with the POS device (Fig. 5, and Fig. 7) .
Given the teachings of Vu it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Kumnick with disclose that the second embedded computing device being located on the front face at a first end, the first end being configured to engage the first embedded computing device with a point of sale (POS device) and second embedded device being located on the front face at a second end, the second end being configured to engage the second embedded computing device with the POS device since the placement of the chip and the contacts for the chip may be in locations defined in the appropriate standard and the reader may know to expect contacts for the chip to be in the appropriate locations such that communication may be established between the reader and the chip.
Kumnick as modified by Vu discloses all of the claimed limitations from above except for wherein the first authorization request is provided to an issuer system to identify the first financial account and the second authorization request is provided to the issuer system to identify the second financial account based at least in part on a configurable arrangement of financial accounts, the configurable arrangement of financial accounts being specified by a client device..
Hirka discloses wherein the first authorization request is provided to an issuer system to identify the first financial account (column 2, lines 33-40,Column 6 , lines 1-50; Column 9, lines 39-55) and the second authorization request is provided to the issuer system to identify the second financial account based at least in part on a configurable arrangement of financial accounts, the configurable arrangement of financial accounts being specified by a client device (Column 4, lines 5-18, Column 4, lines 42-56; Column 9, lines 57-61).
Given the teachings of Hirka it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Kumnick and Vu with wherein the first authorization request is provided to an issuer system to identify the first financial account and the second authorization request is provided to the issuer system to identify the second financial account based at least in part on a configurable arrangement of financial accounts, the configurable arrangement of financial accounts being specified by a client device.
This enables the multiple accounts accessed by the multiple purpose card to complement one another and to provide flexibility to the cardholder to complete a wide variety of transactions.
Re Claim 2, Kumnick, Vu and Hirka discloses the payment instrument of claim 1, and Vu discloses wherein the first embedded computing device is located at the first end and at a top portion of the payment instrument, and the second embedded computing device is located at a bottom portion of the payment instrument (Fig. 5and 7).
RE Claim 3, Kumnick, Vu and Hirka discloses the payment instrument of claim 1, and Kumnick discloses wherein the magnetic stripe comprises a first magnetic stripe, the rear face comprising a top portion and a bottom portion, the first magnetic stripe being located at the top portion and a second magnetic stripe is located at the bottom portion (Fig. 5 and Column 4, lines 3-8).
Re Claim 4, Kumnick , Vu and Hirka discloses the payment instrument of claim 1, and Kumnick discloses : an antenna that is electrically coupled or inductively coupled to the second embedded computing device (P49, fig. 1).
Re Claim 5, Kumnick, Vu and Hirka discloses the payment instrument of claim 1, and Kumnick discloses :an antenna that is electrically coupled or inductively coupled to the first embedded device (P49, fig. 1) .
Re Claim 6, Kumnick, Vu and Hirka discloses the payment instrument of claim 5, and Kumnick discloses wherein the front face comprises a first end and a second end, and the payment instrument further comprises: a first indicium (214/212) for the first end and a second indicium (201) for the second end, the first indicium representing the first financial account, the second indicium representing the second financial account (P105, user’s accounts are associated with tokens and see P6, P34, P41 tokens are associated with account numbers).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumnick et al. US Publication No. 2016/0267466 cited in previous action in view of Vu US Patent No. 11, 562, 194 cited in previous action in view of Hirka et al. US Patent No. 8, 515, 868 as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Teall GB 2492952 cited in previous action.
Re Claim 7, Kumnick, Vu and Hirka discloses the payment instrument of claim 6, but fails to disclose wherein the payment instrument further comprises a third indicium located at the first end, the third indicum indicating a presence of the antenna and being representing the first financial account.
However Teall discloses wherein the payment instrument further comprises a third indicium located at the first end, the third indicum indicating a presence of the antenna and being representing the first financial account (Abstract; Fig. 3).
Given the teachings of Teall it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Kumnick, Vu and Hirka discloses with wherein the payment instrument further comprises a third indicium located at the first end, the third indicum indicating a presence of the antenna and being representing the first financial account.
Doing so would add flexibility of payment methods and allow credit and debit transactions on the same card (see page 1) .
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-14 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter in Re Claim 8 : the prior art of record fails to disclose wherein the first cryptogram key and the second cryptogram key are configured to be used for generating an application cryptogram for an authorization request of a transaction, the authorization request being provided to an issuer system to identify a first financial account or a second financial account to be charged based at least in part on the card identifier and user preferences data, the user preferences data being specified by a client device. These limitations in conjunction with other limitations are not anticipated by nor made obvious over the prior art of record.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 has been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant amended the claims with new limitations which necessitated new search and consideration. Therefore this action is made final.
Conclusion
The following reference is cited but not relied upon:
Sandelov et al. relates generally to the field of transactional cards and, more specifically, to a new and useful for method for encrypting transactions at a dynamic transaction card in the field of transactional cards.
SONJI N. JOHNSON
Examiner
Art Unit 2876
/SONJI N JOHNSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876