Detailed Action
This is a Final Office action in response to communications received on 9/26/2025. Claims 1, 7 and 13 were amended. Claims 2-4, 8-10 and 14-16 were previously canceled. Claims 1, 5-7, 11-13 and 17-18 are pending and are examined.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments regarding the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102 of the claims under Zhang have been considered, and are found unpersuasive.
Applicant argues on pages 8-12 of the Remarks, filed 9/26/2025, the cited prior art fail to teach or suggest the limitations of newly amended claim 1. However, Examiner respectfully disagrees. Zhang explicitly discloses that cryptographic keys are managed by cloud-resident key management frameworks and vaults. Specifically, Zhang discloses that cryptographic keys are managed using a key management framework and/or secure hardware key store within a cloud instance ([0015]), and that the vault is used to securely store encryption keys and to provide public keys corresponding to private keys of cloud instances ([0018]). Zhang [0042] teaches “In various embodiments, the process of FIG. 5 can be performed on behalf of a source cloud instance at a cloud service such as cloud service 103 of FIG. 1 using one or more components of a key management framework, such as key management framework 203 of FIG. 2, including a key exporter component, such as by key exporter 207 of FIG. 2, and a key access management component such as key access management 215 of FIG. 2”. Therefore, Zhang teaches that software components executing in the cloud instance utilize the key management framework to perform cryptographic operations. Zhang [0044]-[0045] teaches that “the public key of the requesting target cloud instance is retrieved using a key access management component such as key access management 215 of FIG. 2” as well as “By utilizing the public key of the target cloud instance, the corresponding private key of the target cloud instance can be utilized to decrypt the encrypted encryption key”. These teach generation, storage and retrieval of a public/private key pair managed by a key management service in the first (source) and second (target) cloud environments, accessed by software components via a programmatic interface. Zhang repeatedly distinguishes between a source cloud instance and a target cloud instance, each having their own cryptographic keys and key management resources ([0015], [0018]).
In regards to arguments that Zhang does not disclose application programming instances, Examiner also reasserts previous arguments. The message service 209 is invoked by software components (key-exporter 207, key-importer 205). Its two corresponding ends on the respective cloud instances are the claimed API endpoints through which the first KMS is accessed and through which the encrypted key is received. These software-to-software interfaces exposed by the KMS satisfy the functional requirements of an API without needing to specifically recite an “API”, which is the means by which applications interface. After receipt, the target’s key-access-management 215 secures the key into a local keystore (para 0055). In some embodiments, this key exchange data is implements as database tables (para 0023). Storing through such a component constitutes using the claimed database service API. Zhang therefore teaches every limitation - generation, fetching, encrypting and storing via programmatic service interfaces.
Consequently, the rejection of the claims under 35 U.S.C. 102 is sustained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang (US 20220231848 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang teaches the limitations of claim 1 substantially as follows:
A method, comprising:
generating, by a synching computer application executed in a first cloud environment and using a first key management service executed in the first cloud environment accessed via a first key management service application programming interface endpoint in the first cloud environment, a data encryption key and storing the data encryption key in the first key management service using a first key management service endpoint; (Zhang; Para(s). [0015], [0018] & [0042]; Fig. 5: A cryptographic key is managed (i.e. a data encryption key and storing the data encryption key in the first key management service) for a first instance of a group of one or more cloud nodes providing a service (i.e. generating, by a synching computer application and using a first key management service in a first cloud environment) the cryptographic key is managed by the first cloud instance using a key management framework and/or by or using another module, such as a secure hardware key store)
generating, by the synching computer application in the first cloud environment and using a second key management service executed in a second cloud environment accessed via a second key management service application programming interface endpoint in the second cloud environment, a key encryption key pair comprising a private key and a public key and storing the key encryption key pair in the second key management service using a second key management service endpoints; (Zhang; Paras. [0015], [0018] & [0042]; Fig. 5: The secure transmittal involves encrypting the exchanged encryption key with a public key of the second cloud instance such that only the second cloud instance can decrypt the encryption key by using its corresponding private key (i.e. a key encryption key pair comprising a private key and a public key and storing the key encryption key pair in the second key management service) The private keys of source cloud instance and target cloud instance are securely stored by their respective cloud instances and may also utilize vault as appropriate)
fetching, by the synching computer application, the public key from the second key management service; (Zhang; Para. [0015]: The secure transmittal involves encrypting the exchanged encryption key with a public key of the second cloud instance (i.e. fetching, by the synching computer application, the public key from the second key management service) such that only the second cloud instance can decrypt the encryption key by using its corresponding private key)
encrypting, by the synching computer application, the data encryption key with the public key; and (Zhang; Para. [0015]: The secure transmittal involves encrypting the exchanged encryption key with a public key of the second cloud instance (i.e. encrypting, by the synching computer application, the data encryption key with the public key) such that only the second cloud instance can decrypt the encryption key by using its corresponding private key)
storing, by the synching computer application, the encrypted data encryption key in a database in the second cloud environment via a database application programming endpoint in the second cloud environment. (Zhang; Paras. [0015], [0018] & [0024]: The secure transmittal involves encrypting the exchanged encryption key with a public key of the second cloud instance such that only the second cloud instance can decrypt the encryption key by using its corresponding private key. The cluster includes database servers and/or other data stores for storing encrypted data (i.e. storing, by the synching computer application, the encrypted data encryption key in a database in the second cloud environment))
Regarding claim 7, Zhang teaches the limitations of claim 7 substantially as follows:
A system, comprising: (Zhang; Paras. [0010] & [0012]: a process; an apparatus; a system; a composition of matter; a computer program product embodied on a computer readable storage medium for the exchange of cryptographic keys between cloud instances)
a first electronic device executing a first cloud environment comprising a synching computer application and a first key management service; and a second electronic device executing a second cloud environment comprising a second key management service and a database; wherein: (Zhang; Para. [0015]: First and second cloud instances)
the synching computer application generates, using the first key management service accessed via a first key management service application programming interface endpoint in the first cloud environment, a data encryption key and stores the data encryption key in the first key management service using a first key management service endpoint; (Zhang; Para(s). [0015], [0018] & [0042]; Fig. 5: A cryptographic key is managed (i.e. a data encryption key and storing the data encryption key in the first key management service) for a first instance of a group of one or more cloud nodes providing a service (i.e. generating, by a synching computer application and using a first key management service in a first cloud environment) the cryptographic key is managed by the first cloud instance using a key management framework and/or by or using another module, such as a secure hardware key store)
the synching computer application generates, using the second key management service accessed via a second key management service application programming interface endpoint in the second cloud environment, a key encryption key pair comprising a private key and a public key and storing the key encryption key pair in the second key management service using a second key management service endpoint; (Zhang; Paras. [0015], [0018] & [0042]; Fig. 5: The secure transmittal involves encrypting the exchanged encryption key with a public key of the second cloud instance such that only the second cloud instance can decrypt the encryption key by using its corresponding private key (i.e. a key encryption key pair comprising a private key and a public key and storing the key encryption key pair in the second key management service) The private keys of source cloud instance and target cloud instance are securely stored by their respective cloud instances and may also utilize vault as appropriate)
the synching computer application fetches the public key from the second key management service; (Zhang; Para. [0015]: The secure transmittal involves encrypting the exchanged encryption key with a public key of the second cloud instance (i.e. fetching, by the synching computer application, the public key from the second key management service) such that only the second cloud instance can decrypt the encryption key by using its corresponding private key)
the synching computer application encrypts the data encryption key with the public key; and (Zhang; Para. [0015]: The secure transmittal involves encrypting the exchanged encryption key with a public key of the second cloud instance (i.e. encrypting, by the synching computer application, the data encryption key with the public key) such that only the second cloud instance can decrypt the encryption key by using its corresponding private key)
the synching computer application stores the encrypted data encryption key in a database in the second cloud environment via a database application programming endpoint in the second cloud environment. (Zhang; Paras. [0015], [0018] & [0024]: The secure transmittal involves encrypting the exchanged encryption key with a public key of the second cloud instance such that only the second cloud instance can decrypt the encryption key by using its corresponding private key. The cluster includes database servers and/or other data stores for storing encrypted data (i.e. storing, by the synching computer application, the encrypted data encryption key in a database in the second cloud environment))
Regarding claim 13, Zhang teaches the limitations of claim 13 substantially as follows:
A non-transitory computer readable storage medium, including instructions stored thereon, which when read and executed by one or more computer processors, cause the one or more computer processors to perform steps comprising: (Zhang; Paras. [0010] & [0012]: a process; an apparatus; a system; a composition of matter; a computer program product embodied on a computer readable storage medium for the exchange of cryptographic keys between cloud instances)
generating, using a first key management service executed in a first cloud environment accessed via a first key management service application programming interface endpoint in the first cloud environment, a data encryption key and storing the data encryption key in the first key management service using a first key management service endpoint; (Zhang; Para(s). [0015], [0018] & [0042]; Fig. 5: A cryptographic key is managed (i.e. a data encryption key and storing the data encryption key in the first key management service) for a first instance of a group of one or more cloud nodes providing a service (i.e. generating, by a synching computer application and using a first key management service in a first cloud environment) the cryptographic key is managed by the first cloud instance using a key management framework and/or by or using another module, such as a secure hardware key store)
generating, using a second key management service executed in a second cloud environment accessed via a second key management service application programming interface endpoint in the second cloud environment, a key encryption key pair comprising a private key and a public key and storing the key encryption key pair in the second key management service using a second key management service endpoint; (Zhang; Paras. [0015], [0018] & [0042]; Fig. 5: The secure transmittal involves encrypting the exchanged encryption key with a public key of the second cloud instance such that only the second cloud instance can decrypt the encryption key by using its corresponding private key (i.e. a key encryption key pair comprising a private key and a public key and storing the key encryption key pair in the second key management service) The private keys of source cloud instance and target cloud instance are securely stored by their respective cloud instances and may also utilize vault as appropriate)
fetching the public key from the second key management service; (Zhang; Para. [0015]: The secure transmittal involves encrypting the exchanged encryption key with a public key of the second cloud instance (i.e. fetching, by the synching computer application, the public key from the second key management service) such that only the second cloud instance can decrypt the encryption key by using its corresponding private key)
encrypting the data encryption key with the public key; and (Zhang; Para. [0015]: The secure transmittal involves encrypting the exchanged encryption key with a public key of the second cloud instance (i.e. encrypting, by the synching computer application, the data encryption key with the public key) such that only the second cloud instance can decrypt the encryption key by using its corresponding private key)
storing the encrypted data encryption key in a database in the second cloud environment via a database application programming endpoint in the second cloud environment. (Zhang; Paras. [0015], [0018] & [0024]: The secure transmittal involves encrypting the exchanged encryption key with a public key of the second cloud instance such that only the second cloud instance can decrypt the encryption key by using its corresponding private key. The cluster includes database servers and/or other data stores for storing encrypted data (i.e. storing, by the synching computer application, the encrypted data encryption key in a database in the second cloud environment))
Regarding claims 5, 11 and 17, Zhang teaches the limitations of claims 1, 7 and 13.
Zhang teaches the limitations of claims 5, 11 and 17 as follows:
receiving, by an application instance in the second cloud environment, encrypted data that is encrypted with the data encryption key; (Zhang; Paras. [0059]-[0060]: the data cloned is data encrypted using an encryption key accessible by source cloud instance but not accessible by target cloud instance (i.e. receiving, by an application instance in the second cloud environment, encrypted data that is encrypted with the data encryption key). The created key exchange request is a request for the encryption key required to decrypt the encrypted data cloned)
retrieving, by the application instance and from the database, the encrypted data encryption key; (Zhang; Paras. [0015] & [0018]: The secure transmittal involves encrypting the exchanged encryption key with a public key of the second cloud instance such that only the second cloud instance can decrypt the encryption key by using its corresponding private key. The cluster includes database servers and/or other data stores for storing encrypted data (i.e. retrieving, by the application instance and from the database, the encrypted data encryption key))
retrieving, by the application instance and from the second key management service, the private key; (Zhang; Paras. [0015] & [0018]: The secure transmittal involves encrypting the exchanged encryption key with a public key of the second cloud instance such that only the second cloud instance can decrypt the encryption key by using its corresponding private key (i.e. retrieving, by the application instance and from the second key management service, the private key). The cluster includes database servers and/or other data stores for storing encrypted data)
decrypting, by the application instance, the encrypted data encryption key with the private key; and (Zhang; Paras. [0015] & [0018]: The secure transmittal involves encrypting the exchanged encryption key with a public key of the second cloud instance such that only the second cloud instance can decrypt the encryption key by using its corresponding private key (i.e. decrypting, by the application instance, the encrypted data encryption key with the private key). The cluster includes database servers and/or other data stores for storing encrypted data)
decrypting, by the application instance, the encrypted data using the data encryption key. (Zhang; Paras. [0059]-[0060]: the data cloned is data encrypted using an encryption key accessible by source cloud instance but not accessible by target cloud instance. The created key exchange request is a request for the encryption key required to decrypt the encrypted data cloned (i.e. decrypting, by the application instance, the encrypted data using the data encryption key))
Regarding claims 6, 12 and 18, Zhang teaches the limitations of claims 1, 7 and 13.
Zhang teaches the limitations of claims 6, 12 and 18 as follows:
receiving, by an application instance in the second cloud environment, encrypted data that is encrypted with the data encryption key; (Zhang; Paras. [0059]-[0060]: the data cloned is data encrypted using an encryption key accessible by source cloud instance but not accessible by target cloud instance (i.e. receiving, by an application instance in the second cloud environment, encrypted data that is encrypted with the data encryption key). The created key exchange request is a request for the encryption key required to decrypt the encrypted data cloned)
retrieving, by the application instance and from the database, the encrypted data encryption key; sending, by the application instance, the encrypted data encryption key to the second key management service, (Zhang; Paras. [0015] & [0018]: The secure transmittal involves encrypting the exchanged encryption key with a public key of the second cloud instance such that only the second cloud instance can decrypt the encryption key by using its corresponding private key. The cluster includes database servers and/or other data stores for storing encrypted data (i.e. retrieving, by the application instance and from the database, the encrypted data encryption key))
wherein the second key management service is configured to decrypt the encrypted data encryption key with the private key; (Zhang; Paras. [0015] & [0018]: The secure transmittal involves encrypting the exchanged encryption key with a public key of the second cloud instance such that only the second cloud instance can decrypt the encryption key by using its corresponding private key (i.e. decrypt the encrypted data encryption key with the private key). The cluster includes database servers and/or other data stores for storing encrypted data)
receiving, by the application instance and from the second key management service, the data encryption key; and (Zhang; Paras. [0015] & [0018]: The secure transmittal involves encrypting the exchanged encryption key with a public key of the second cloud instance such that only the second cloud instance can decrypt the encryption key by using its corresponding private key (i.e. receiving, by the application instance and from the second key management service, the data encryption key). The cluster includes database servers and/or other data stores for storing encrypted data)
decrypting, by the application instance, the encrypted data using the data encryption key. (Zhang; Paras. [0059]-[0060]: the data cloned is data encrypted using an encryption key accessible by source cloud instance but not accessible by target cloud instance. The created key exchange request is a request for the encryption key required to decrypt the encrypted data cloned (i.e. decrypting, by the application instance, the encrypted data using the data encryption key))
Prior Art Considered But Not Relied Upon
BenHanokh (US 20220164462 A1) which teaches a cloud resource network configured with multiple storage regions, in order that a cloud application can automatically use special tags in the data specification to distinguish between group-encryptable, high-sensitivity, and public data so that the group encryption key can remain unknown to the storage platform.
Rawalkshatriya (US 20200280547 A1) which teaches a cloud storage system comprising of a plurality of user devices and at least one cloud device, wherein the key server comprises: a storage for storing at least one of public keys, re-encryption keys, user details of the plurality of user devices.
Conclusion
For the above-stated reasons, claims 1, 5-7, 11-13 and 17-18 are rejected.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BLAKE I NARRAMORE/Examiner, Art Unit 2438