DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This is an office action in response to Applicant’s arguments and remarks filed on 11 March 2026. Claims 1-5, 7, 12, 15-16, 20, and 23-29, 34-35, and 38 are currently pending in the application. Claims 23-29, 34-35, and 38 are currently withdrawn. Claims 6, 8-11, 13-14, 17-19, 21-22, 30-33, 36-37, and 39-40 have previously been cancelled. Claims 1-5, 7, 12, 15-16, and 20 are being examined herein.
Status of Objections and Rejections
The objection to claim 15 with withdrawn in view of amendment.
The rejection of claims 1-2, 4, and 7 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 in view of Nagasaki, et. al. (JP H04174361 A) in view of Speldrich, et. al. (US 20120192642 A1) are maintained.
The rejection of claims 3, 5, and 15-16 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 in view of Nagasaki, et. al. (JP H04174361 A) and Speldrich, et. al. (US 20120192642 A1) in further view of Maierhofer, et. al. (US 20100133189 A1) are maintained.
The rejection of claim 12 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 in view of Nagasaki, et. al. (JP H04174361 A) and Speldrich, et. al. (US 20120192642 A1) in further view of Lehto (US 20100166612 A1) are maintained.
The rejection of claim 20 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 in view of Nagasaki, et. al. (JP H04174361 A), Speldrich, et. al. (US 20120192642 A1), and Maierhofer, et. al. (US 20100133189 A1) in further view of Lehto (US 20100166612 A1) are maintained.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11 March 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
First, applicant argues, "the sensors disclosed in Speldrich are configured to measure the flow rate of a liquid and are not intended for detecting bubbles in a liquid" (Remarks, pg. 7, par. 03).
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Speldrich teaches three exemplary "thermal flow sensor (such as, for example, a microbridge flow sensor, a thermal anemometer sensor, a MEMS-based sensor, etc.)" (par. 0027). While Speldrich does not teach using the flow sensors for detecting bubble, the flow sensors are fully capable of detecting bubbles because air bubbles caught in a fluidic system lead to irregularities in the liquid flow. For example, thermal MEMS-based sensors are designed to detect changes in heat transfer; when encountering an air bubble in a line for transporting liquids, the heat transfer will be different than only liquid passing over the sensor because air and liquids (like water) have different thermal conductivities. Therefore, an irregularity will be indicated by the sensor when it detects the heat transfer of a bubble verses liquid.
Further, this claim is drawn to an apparatus, and therefore, as long as the device of the prior art teaches the same structural elements, changing the intended use of those structural elements does not give patentable weight over the prior are with the same structural elements. Nagasaki teaches all elements of claim 1 with the exception of a second sensor being in the bypass channel. Speldrich teaches a fluidic device with a bypass channel and within the bypass channel is a sensor to detect flow irregularities.
Second applicant argues the bypass channel of "Speldrich is never isolated from the main flow path, and therefore Speldrich refers to a "bypass" channel, the term has an entirely different meaning than in Nagasaki and in the present claims" (Remarks, pg. 7, par. 04).
Examiner respectfully reminds applicant the structure of the bypass channel is drawn to the bypass channel of Nagasaki, not Speldrich. The examiner defines a bypass channel as a channel that diverts fluid flow from a main channel for a length of the main channel. The goal of the bypass channel in Speldrich is to separate a volume of liquid from traveling along the main channel (Speldrich, par. 0038). The goal of the bypass channel of Nagasaki is to isolate a volume of fluid from a main channel (pg. 3, line 20 - pg. 4, line 02). Both bypass channels for a period of time and for at least a small portion of the entire fluidic path, isolate at least a volume of the liquid from the main channel of the fluidic path and therefore fundamentally hold the same purpose but are used differently, and the intended use of a structural element does not give patentable weight over prior art.
Each structural element of the bypass channel as disclosed in claim 1 is taught by Nagasaki. Nagasaki is only modified in view of Speldrich to teach that a bypass channel can have a sensor, and that sensor can detect an irregularity in fluid flow in the channel it is located. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to modify the bypass channel of Nagasaki to include a secondary sensor of Speldrich because doing so would minimize oversaturation of the sensor when exposed to mass volumetric flow (Speldrich, par. 0003).
Third, applicant argues "Maierhofer does not teach or suggest the use of sensors to trigger the opening or closing of any valve" (Remarks, pg. 8, par. 03; pg. 9, par. 05).
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Maierhofer teaches, "the signal of the gas sensor is transferred to an evaluation unit which performs a signal evaluation. It is conceivable for instance that upon detection of leakages as a result of the sensor signal the evaluation unit emits an alarm signal or initiates certain operating modes of the dialysis liquid circuit. In accordance with the invention, this provides for a continuous detection of air bubbles in the dialysis liquid" (par. 0008). Maierhofer teaches gas sensors 20 and 30 continuously monitor the liquid for irregularities, and "when the measured conductivity value of the dialysis liquid free from air bubbles is available, the valve 16 is closed and the region 11 to be monitored is traversed with open valves 17, 18" (par. 0056). While it is not explicitly stated, one of ordinary skill in the art will understand that because the sensors are continuously monitoring for air bubbles and the sensors send signals to a processor, the processor will determine if the signal suggests the presence of an air bubble and therefore changes the operating mode of the liquid circuit, like opening and closing valves because the valves are what dictates the flow path of the liquid circuit.
Maierhofer teaches the continuous monitoring allows for quick and reliable error detection (par. 0008). One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to modify the sensors of modified Nagasaki to send the signal to a processor for the processor to respond accordingly (like closing/opening valves) because doing so would allow for quick and reliable error/irregularity detection and response.
Fourth, applicant argues how the bypass channel of Maierhofer "serves a fundamentally different purpose from the bypass channel of the present invention" (Remarks, pg. 9, par. 02).
Examiner respectfully reminds the applicant that the intended use of a structural element does not give it patentable wight over the prior art with the same structural elements. Similarly to both the bypass channel of Nagasaki and Speldrich, the bypass channel of Maierhofer for a period of time and for at least a small portion of the entire fluidic path, isolates at least a volume of the liquid from the main channel of the fluidic path and therefore fundamentally holds the same purpose but is used different.
To summarize all of these point together:
Nagasaki in view of Speldrich teaches a bypass channel can further comprise a sensor because doing so would allow for the condition of the fluid to be monitored without being influenced by bulk fluid oversaturation of the sensor.
Modified Nagasaki in further view of Maierhofer teaches sensors can further be modified to send signals to a processor wherein the processor responds with modifying the liquid circuit because doing so would allow for quick and reliable detection of errors and irregularities.
Applicant offers no additional arguments for claims 2, 4, 5, 7, 12, 15-16, 20 outside of their dependence on claim 1 (Remarks, pg. 10, par. 02).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagasaki, et. al. (JP H04174361 A; citations made with respect to provided original and machine translated copy) in view of Speldrich, et. al. (US 20120192642 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Nagasaki teaches a debubbling device for a liquid flow path (par. 0001). Nagasaki teaches a device comprising:
A main flow path going through a flow cell 6. The main flow path further comprising an inlet connection to flow cell 6 (second arrow from the left in provided Figure 1 below) (a flow cell inlet connection) and an outlet connection after flow cell 6 (third arrow from the left in provided Figure 1 below) (a flow cell outlet connection).
A channel leading to the inlet of the flow cell 6 (first arrow from the left in provided Figure 1 below) (a flow cell inlet channel) and a channel leading away from the outlet of the flow cell 6 (fourth arrow from the left in provided Figure 1 below) (a flow cell outlet channel) (the flow cell outlet connection is in fluid communication with the flow cell outlet channel).
Gas sensors comprising capacitance sensors 10 (a first sensor) and 11 (a second sensor) that detect an air bubble, trigger amplifier 12 and control means 16 which triggers switch valve 13 (a first fluidic switch) changing the flow path from detection unit 6 to bypass flow path 14 (a bypass channel) (Fig. 1, 2a, 2b; par. 0001, pg. 04).
As seen in Figures 2a and 2b, switch valve 13 changes based on the detection of an air bubble 16, directing air bubbles 14 to bypass flow path 14 and the liquid 17 to detection unit 6 (wherein the first fluidic switch directs flow from the flow cell inlet channel into either the flow cell inlet connection or the bypass channel) (the first sensor is disposed to detect a bubble upstream of the first fluidic switch). Nagasaki teaches even with a defoaming device 9, air bubbles can get in at joints or valves after the defoamer so the air bubble sensors 10 and 11 just before detection unit 6 minimizes any error in detection (par. 0001, pg. 03).
Nagasaki is silent to the second sensor is disposed to detect the bubble in the bypass channel.
Speldrich teaches a flow sensor assembly with a flow sensor located in a bypass channel (Abstract). Speldrich teaches a sensor assembly 38 comprises a primary flow channel 46 and a bypass channel 62 connected to the primary flow channel 46 through taps 64 and 66 (Fig. 4; par. 0028-0029). Within bypass channel 62 is a sensor 19 that measures flow rate or interferences in flow rates (like from air bubbles) (Fig. 4; par. 0028) (the second sensor is disposed to detect the bubble in the bypass channel). Speldrich teaches isolating the sensor from the bulk flow (locating the sensor in an isolated bypass channel) minimizes oversaturation of the sensor when exposed to a mass volumetric flow (par. 0003).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the location of the second sensor to detect air bubbles of Nagasaki to have at least one sensor located in the bypass channel as taught by Speldrich because doing so would minimize oversaturation of the sensor in the primary channel with reasonable expectation of success. MPEP 2143(I)(G).
Regarding claim 2, modified Nagasaki teaches bypass channel 14 fluidically rejoins the main channel after the flow cell 6 (see fourth arrow from the left in provided Figure 1 above) (wherein the bypass channel is… actively in fluid communication with the flow cell outlet channel).
Regarding claim 4, modified Nagasaki teaches container 7, fluidically connected to bypass channel 14 by the flow cell outlet channel, for collecting the discharged liquid (Fig. 1; par. 0001, pg. 02) (further comprising… reservoir in fluid communication with the bypass channel).
Regarding claim 7, Modified Nagasaki teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 (see above) (a system comprising the device of claim 1). Nagasaki additionally teaches the detection unit 6 is specifically a flow cell (par. 0001, pg. 02) (wherein the device further comprises a flow cell). Nagasaki teaches flow cell 6 is fluidically connected to the main flow path by an inlet (second arrow from the left in provided Figure 1 below) and an outlet (third arrow from the left in provided Figure 1 below) (a flow cell having an inlet in fluid communication with the flow cell inlet connection and an outlet in fluid communication with the flow cell outlet connection).
Nagasaki additionally teaches two pumps 2 and 5 that drive fluid from a container 1, 4 to joint 8 and ultimately to detection unit (flow cell) 6 (Fig. 1; par. 0001, pg. 02) (and wherein the system further comprises a fluidic pump configured to pump liquid into the flow cell).
Claims 3, 5, and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagasaki, et. al. (JP H04174361 A; citations made with respect to provided original and machine translated copy) and Speldrich, et. al. (US 20120192642 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Maierhofer, et. al. (US 20100133189 A1).
Regarding claim 3, modified Nagasaki teaches the limitations as applied to claim 2 (see above). Specifically, the flow of liquid flow from the flow cell outlet connection into the flow cell outlet channel (Fig. 1-2b) (flow from the flow cell outlet connection… into the flow cell outlet channel).
Modified Nagasaki is silent to a second fluidic switch that directs flow from the flow cell outlet connection or the bypass channel into the flow cell outlet channel.
Maierhofer teaches liquid circuit with at least one gas sensor to continuously measure the liquid for air bubbles (Abstract). Maierhofer teaches liquid circuit 10 comprises a two gas sensors 30 and 20 separated by valves 16, 17, and 18, monitored region 11, and bypass conduit 14 (Fig. 2; par. 0049, 0055-0057). Figure 2, provided below, shows first regions that comprise the main line:
An inlet connection (second arrow from the left)
An outlet connection (third arrow from the left)
An inlet channel (first arrow from the left)
An outlet channel (fourth arrow from the left)
Maierhofer teaches valve 18 downstream monitored region 11, when open, directs fluid flow from monitored region 11 from the outlet connection to the outlet channel (Fig. 2) (a second fluidic switch that directs flow from the… outlet connection… into the… outlet channel). The addition of the second valve downstream the primary fluid pathway and the bypass conduit/channel prevents any backflow or additional air bubbles in sections not being utilized.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of modified Nagasaki to further include a second fluidic switch downstream the main pathway/flow cell and bypass channel as taught by Maierhofer because doing so would prevent backflow or emptying of sections not being used with reasonable expectation of success. MPEP 2143(I)(G).
Regarding claim 5, modified Nagasaki teaches the limitations as applied to claim 1 (see above). Nagasaki teaches the sensors 10 and 11 are capacitance sensors (par. 0001; pg. 04).
Modified Nagasaki is silent to wherein the first and second sensors are optical sensors.
Maierhofer teaches liquid circuit with at least one gas sensor to continuously measure the liquid for air bubbles (Abstract). Maierhofer teaches liquid circuit 10 comprises a two gas sensors 30 and 20 separated by valves 16, 17, and 18, monitored region 11, and bypass conduit 14 (Fig. 2; par. 0049, 0055-0057). Maierhofer teaches the gas sensors are not limited to conductivity sensors, but can also be capacitive or optical sensors, both well known in the art (par. 0014-0015) (wherein the first and second sensors are optical sensors). Maierhofer teaches that optical sensors, depending on the arrangement of the device, provide a reliable signal that can distinguish air bubbles based on the scattering of light (par. 0015).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the capacitance sensors of modified Nagasaki to instead be optical sensors as taught by Maierhofer. One would be motivated in doing so because optical sensors are well known in the art and provide a reliable signal when detecting air bubbles in a flowing stream of liquid, and this simple substitution of capacitance sensors to optical sensors to obtain the predictable result of reliable bubble detection within a flow path. MPEP 2143(I)(B).
Regarding claim 15, modified Nagasaki teaches the limitation of claim 1 (see above) (a system comprising a device of claim 1). Nagasaki additionally teaches the detection unit 6 is specifically a flow cell (par. 0001, pg. 02) (wherein the device further comprises a flow cell). Nagasaki teaches flow cell 6 is fluidically connected to the main flow path by an inlet (second arrow from the left in provided Figure 1 below) and an outlet (third arrow from the left in provided Figure 1 below) (a flow cell having an inlet in fluid communication with the flow cell inlet connection and an outlet in fluid communication with the flow cell outlet connection) (the flow cell outlet connection is in fluid communication with the flow cell outlet channel).
As seen in Figures 2a and 2b, switch valve 13 changes based on the detection of an air bubble 16, directing air bubbles 14 to bypass flow path 14 and the liquid 17 to detection unit 6 (wherein the first fluidic switch directs flow from the flow cell inlet channel into either the flow cell inlet connection or the bypass channel) (the first sensor is disposed to detect a bubble upstream of the first fluidic switch). Nagasaki teaches even with a defoaming device 9, air bubbles can get in at joints or valves after the defoamer so the air bubble sensors 10 and 11 just before detection unit 6 minimizes any error in detection (par. 0001, pg. 03).
Modified Nagasaki teaches the switch valve 13 is driven by control means 16 that receives a signal from amplifier 12 from sensors 10 and 11 (Fig. 2a-2b; par. 0001, pg. 04) (a switch controller for controlling the first switch, wherein the switch controller is configured to receive an input from the first sensor). Figures 2a and 2b illustrate how the presence of an air bubble triggers the switch valve to open and send the air bubble to the bypass channel 14 (whereby upon detection of a bubble by the first sensor, the switch controller actuates the first fluidic switch to place the flow cell inlet channel in fluid connection with the bypass channel).
Modified Nagasaki in view of Speldrich teaches a sensor assembly 38 comprises a primary flow channel 46 and a bypass channel 62 connected to the primary flow channel 46 through taps 64 and 66 (Fig. 4; par. 0028-0029). Within bypass channel 62 is a sensor 19 that measures flow rate or interferences in flow rates (like from air bubbles) (Fig. 4; par. 0028) (the second sensor is disposed to detect the bubble in the bypass channel).
Modified Nagasaki is silent to wherein the switch controller is configured to receive an input from the second sensor, whereby upon detection of the bubble by the second sensor, the switch controller actuates the first fluidic switch to place the flow cell inlet channel in fluid connection with the flow cell inlet connection.
Maierhofer teaches liquid circuit with at least one gas sensor to continuously measure the liquid for air bubbles (Abstract). Maierhofer teaches liquid circuit 10 comprises a two gas sensors 30 and 20 separated by valves 16, 17, and 18, monitored region 11, and bypass conduit 14 (Fig. 2; par. 0049, 0055-0057). Maierhofer teaches when sensor 20 (downstream monitored region 11) no longer indicates the presence of bubbles, valves 17 and 18 reopen and valve 16 closes directing the fluid to flow through monitored region 11 (par. 0056-0057); Maierhofer teaches the signal from the gas sensors are transferred to and processed by an evaluation unit (par. 0008) (wherein the switch controller is configured to receive an input from the second sensor, whereby upon detection of the bubble by the second sensor, the switch controller actuates the first fluidic switch to place the flow cell inlet channel in fluid connection with the flow cell inlet connection). Maierhofer teaches the signal from the downstream gas sensors allows for confirmation of the presence of an air bubble, whether the air bubble basses or if there is a potential leak after the first sensor (par. 0022-0023).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of modified Nagasaki to further use the signal received from a second (downstream) sensor to influence trigger the opening and closing of valves as taught by Maierhofer because doing so would ensure the fluid moving through the bypass channel is free of air bubbles with reasonable expectation of success. MPEP 2143(I)(G).
Regarding claim 16, modified Nagasaki teaches the limitations as applied to claim 2 (see above). Specifically, the flow of liquid flow from the flow cell outlet connection into the flow cell outlet channel (Fig. 1-2b) (flow from the flow cell outlet connection… into the flow cell outlet channel).
Modified Nagasaki is silent to a second fluidic switch that directs flow from the flow cell outlet connection or the bypass channel into the flow cell outlet channel and wherein the switch controller is further configured for controlling the second fluidic switch.
Maierhofer teaches liquid circuit with at least one gas sensor to continuously measure the liquid for air bubbles (Abstract). Maierhofer teaches liquid circuit 10 comprises a two gas sensors 30 and 20 separated by valves 16, 17, and 18, monitored region 11, and bypass conduit 14 (Fig. 2; par. 0049, 0055-0057). Maierhofer teaches an evaluation unit configured so continuously monitor the signal from the gas sensors and initiates a certain mode of operation (which valves are open/closed) of the device (par. 0008, 0018-0019) (wherein the switch controller is further configured for controlling the second fluidic switch). Figure 2, provided below, shows first regions that comprise the main line:
An inlet connection (second arrow from the left)
An outlet connection (third arrow from the left)
An inlet channel (first arrow from the left)
An outlet channel (fourth arrow from the left)
Maierhofer teaches valve 18 downstream monitored region 11, when open, directs fluid flow from monitored region 11 from the outlet connection to the outlet channel (Fig. 2) (a second fluidic switch that directs flow from the… outlet connection… into the… outlet channel). The addition of the second valve downstream the primary fluid pathway and the bypass conduit/channel prevents any backflow or additional air bubbles in sections not being utilized.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of modified Nagasaki to further include a second fluidic switch downstream the main pathway/flow cell and bypass channel as taught by Maierhofer because doing so would prevent backflow or emptying of sections not being used with reasonable expectation of success. MPEP 2143(I)(G).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagasaki, et. al. (JP H04174361 A; citations made with respect to provided original and machine translated copy) and Speldrich, et. al. (US 20120192642 A1) as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Lehto (US 20100166612 A1).
Regarding claim 12, modified Nagasaki teaches the limitations as applied to claim 7 (see above). Nagasaki teaches an optical-based flow cell detection unit 6 (par. 0001, pg. 02).
Modified Nagasaki is silent to an imaging device or imaging system disposed to image the flow cell.
Lehto teaches a flow cell system for analyzing biological samples (Abstract). Lehto teaches a flow cell system comprising at least one mounted flow cell with optics, light sources, and imaging devices (par. 0009). Lehto teaches using an imaging system in place of an optical detection unit allows for real-time images of relations and samples within the sample chamber of the flow cell (par. 0066) (further comprising an… imaging system disposed to image the flow cell). Lehto teaches flow cells systems that utilize optical detection units can easily be paired with or replaced by imaging systems because each utilize similar elements such as transparent material to allows light through to the flow cell.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the optical flow cell detection unit of modified Nagasaki to an imaging system as taught by Lehto. One would be motivated to make the substitution because the imaging systems are well known in the art, can be easily paired with or replace optical detection units, and provide real-time images of the flow cell, and this involves the simple substitution of the optical flow cell detection unit for an imaging system would obtain the predictable results of providing real-time images of the flow cell. MPEP 2143(I)(B).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagasaki, et. al. (JP H04174361 A; citations made with respect to provided original and machine translated copy) and Speldrich, et. al. (US 20120192642 A1) and Maierhofer, et. al. (US 20100133189 A1) as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Lehto (US 20100166612 A1).
Regarding claim 20, modified Nagasaki teaches the limitations as applied to claim 15 (see above). Nagasaki teaches an optical-based flow cell detection unit 6 (par. 0001, pg. 02).
Modified Nagasaki is silent to an imaging device or imaging system disposed to image the flow cell.
Lehto teaches a flow cell system for analyzing biological samples (Abstract). Lehto teaches a flow cell system comprising at least one mounted flow cell with optics, light sources, and imaging devices (par. 0009). Lehto teaches using an imaging system in place of an optical detection unit allows for real-time images of relations and samples within the sample chamber of the flow cell (par. 0066) (further comprising an… imaging system disposed to image the flow cell). Lehto teaches flow cells systems that utilize optical detection units can easily be paired with or replaced by imaging systems because each utilize similar elements such as transparent material to allows light through to the flow cell.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the optical flow cell detection unit of modified Nagasaki to an imaging system as taught by Lehto. One would be motivated to make the substitution because the imaging systems are well known in the art, can be easily paired with or replace optical detection units, and provide real-time images of the flow cell, and this involves the simple substitution of the optical flow cell detection unit for an imaging system would obtain the predictable results of providing real-time images of the flow cell. MPEP 2143(I)(B).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.T.H./Examiner, Art Unit 1758
/SAMUEL P SIEFKE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1758