Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11 December 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Specifically in regard to claim 1 and 10, as seen below, the prior art is reasonably considered to include “a projection of the connection member of each sampling terminal on a plane perpendicular to a thickness direction of the main board being entirely within a projection of the corresponding electrical connection area of the main board on the plane”.
In regard to new claim 20, the term “main body” has been given its broadest reasonable interpretation and is taken to include the collective of both bus bar groups in the prior art in a manner that the prior art includes symmetrical hook structures as now required. In any event, a new ground of rejection is presented below, necessitated by the amendment.
Therefore, the claim amendments fail to distinguish from the prior art of record and newly cited prior art, therefore this action is made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-15 and 16-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1 or 2) as being anticipated by Choi et al. (US Pub 2018/0138484 of record).
In regard to claim 1, Choi et al. teach a sampling circuit board for a battery module, comprising: a main board (printed circuit board 5 i.e. PCB) comprising a plurality of electrical connection areas (electrical circuit pattern - paragraph [0050]); and a plurality of sampling terminals (portions of electrode integrated sensing bus bars 50, 100) respectively electrically connected to the plurality of the electrical connection areas, an end of each of the sampling terminals extending away from the main board, and each of the sampling terminals being connected to a respective one of the electrical connection areas of the main board via a respective connection member (lead stacks A21, A22, A23, etc. and/or L shaped middle strip busbars 21, 22, 23, 25, 27, 71, 72, 73, 75, 77, 79 etc. – paragraph [0053]);
wherein: the connection member comprises a main body and a hook assembly provided on the main body, and the hook assembly stacks and bonds one of the sampling terminals and one of the electrical connection areas of the main board; and the hook assembly comprises a hook structure (paragraph [0101]), the hook structure comprises a bent portion and a pressing portion (various bent and flat portions of elements listed above for connection members in figures 6-10), and the bent portion connects the pressing portion and the main body, so that a space is formed between the pressing portion and the main body, wherein the space is used to receive part of the one of the sampling terminals and part of the one of the electrical connection areas of the main board (annotated figure 6 below, paragraphs [0048-0082]).
In regard to the amendment, a projection of the connection member (busbars 21-29) of each sampling terminal on a plane perpendicular to a thickness direction of the main board being entirely within a projection of the corresponding electrical connection area of the main board 5 on the plane (see annotated figure 8 below).
In regard to claim 10, Choi et al. teach a battery module, comprising: a plurality of single cells 130 stacked (figure 4); and a sampling circuit board (PCB 5) comprising: a main board comprising a plurality of electrical connection areas (electrical circuit pattern); and a plurality of sampling terminals (electrode integrated sensing bus bars 30, 80, 50, 100 etc. and/or lead tab groups) electrically connected to the single cells (paragraphs [0050-0081]) which have the connection members and structural requirements as applied to claim 1 above.
In regard to claim 2 and 12, the hook assembly comprises two hook structures (annotated figure 6, paragraph [0053] – at least 6 hook structures shown in figure 6 above).
In regard to claim 3 and 13, the main body 5 comprises a first boundary and a second boundary opposite to each other, and both the first boundary and the second boundary extend along a first direction; and the bent portion is one of two bent portions of the hook assembly that are respectively connected to the first boundary and the second boundary (figure 8, paragraph [0050] – two symmetrical sides of board 5).
In regard to claim 4 and 14, each of the sampling terminals is provided with two or more first openings arranged at intervals (channels through hooks the lead stack A21), and each of the sampling terminals is provided with an abutting portion formed between the two or more first openings; and the electrical connection areas (circuit pattern on PCB 5) are located between the sampling terminals (leads and busbars) and the main body, the bent portions pass through the first openings, and the pressing portion abuts the abutting portion, so that the one of the sampling terminals and the one of the electrical connection areas of the main board are stacked and bonded to the main body (annotated figure 8 below, paragraph [0068-0090] – entire assembly is stacked and bonded).
In regard to claim 5 and 15, the hook assembly is one or two or more hook assemblies of the connection member that are arranged along the first direction, and the abutting portion extends along the first direction (annotated figure 6 and 8 above, paragraph [0053]).
In regard to claim 6 and 16, each of the electrical connection areas of the main board is provided with two or more second openings (openings in main board 5 for sensing bus bar groups 30, 80) arranged at intervals, and the bent portion passes through one of the second openings; and a shape of the one of the second openings matches a shape of a cross section of the bent portion cut with a surface parallel to the electrical connection areas (figure 9, paragraph [0092-0098]).
In regard to claim 7 and 17, the main board comprises a first surface and a second surface opposite to each other, and the plurality of the electrical connection areas (circuit patterns) are provided on the first surface of the main board; and the main body of the connection member is located on a side of the second surface of the main board (figure 9), the hook assembly (of L shaped sensing bus bars 30, 80) passes from the second surface of the main board through the electrical connection areas of the main board and the sampling terminals, and the hook assembly presses one of the sampling terminals and one of the electrical connection areas of the main board toward the main body (annotated figures above, paragraph [0053-0101]).
In regard to claim 8 and 18, a connection terminal provided on the second surface of the main board (figure 9 and 10, paragraph [0082] – electrical circuit of PCB is partially internal and therefore provided on both surfaces).
In regard to claim 9 and 19, the electrical connection areas W1 are thinner than other areas W2 of the main board (figure 9, paragraph [0095]).
In regard to claim 11, a bus bar (40, 90) electrically connecting two or more of the single cells; wherein each of the sampling terminals comprises a first area and a second area connected with each other, wherein the first area is connected to one of the electrical connection areas of the main board through the connection member, and the second area extends away from the main board and is connected to the bus bar (figure 2 and 6 etc., paragraph [0057] – all components of the prior art are considered connected).
In regard to claim 20, Choi et al. teach a sampling circuit board for a battery module, comprising: a main board (printed circuit board 5 i.e. PCB) comprising a plurality of electrical connection areas (electrical circuit pattern - paragraph [0050]); and
a plurality of sampling terminals (portions of electrode integrated sensing bus bars 50, 100) respectively electrically connected to the plurality of the electrical connection areas, an end of each of the sampling terminals extending away from the main board, and each of the sampling terminals being connected to a respective one of the electrical connection areas of the main board via a respective connection member (lead stacks A21, A22, A23, etc. and/or L shaped middle strip busbars 21, 22, 23, 25, 27, 71, 72, 73, 75, 77, 79 etc. – paragraph [0053]);
wherein: the connection member comprises a main body (first and second sensing busbar groups 30 and 80) and a hook assembly provided on the main body, and the hook assembly stacks and bonds one of the sampling terminals and one of the electrical connection areas of the main board (see annotated figure below); and the hook assembly comprises two hook structures symmetrically arranged (about the vertical axis below) on the main body, each of the two hook structures comprises a bent portion and a pressing portion, and the bent portion connects the pressing portion and the main body, so that a space is formed between the pressing portion and the main body, wherein the space is used to receive part of the one of the sampling terminals and part of the one of the electrical connection areas of the main board (paragraphs [0050-0099], annotated figure 8 below).
In regard to claim 21, the main body comprises a first boundary (left side above) and a second boundary (right side above) opposite to each other, and both the first boundary and the second boundary extend along a first direction (left – right in figure above); and the bent portion is one of two bent portions of the hook assembly that are respectively connected to the first boundary and the second boundary, and the two bent portions are bent toward each other (figure 8 above – being bent down towards each other on circuit board 5).
Claims 20 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1 or 2) as being anticipated by Park (US Pub 2011/0308856 newly cited).
In regard to claim 20, Park teaches a sampling circuit board for a battery module, comprising: a main board (protective circuit module 130) comprising a plurality of electrical connection areas (positive and negative electrode pads 131A, 131B - paragraph [0039], figure 3); and
a plurality of sampling terminals (wire 141a, connecting tab 220) respectively electrically connected to the plurality of the electrical connection areas, an end of each of the sampling terminals extending away from the main board, and each of the sampling terminals being connected to a respective one of the electrical connection areas of the main board via a respective connection member (connecting tab 120 – paragraph [0043-0053]);
wherein: the connection member comprises a main body (connecting region 123 of connecting tab 120) and a hook assembly (coupling protrusions 124) provided on the main body, and the hook assembly stacks and bonds one of the sampling terminals 141a and one of the electrical connection areas of the main board (see annotated figure below); and the hook assembly comprises two hook structures symmetrically arranged (about the vertical axis below) on the main body, each of the two hook structures comprises a bent portion and a pressing portion, and the bent portion connects the pressing portion and the main body, so that a space is formed between the pressing portion and the main body, wherein the space is used to receive part of the one of the sampling terminals and part of the one of the electrical connection areas of the main board (paragraphs [0061-0082], annotated figure 7 below).
In regard to claim 21, the main body comprises a first boundary (bottom of tab 120 above) and a second boundary (top of 120 above) opposite to each other, and both the first boundary and the second boundary extend along a first direction (vertical in figure above); and the bent portion is one of two bent portions of the hook assembly that are respectively connected to the first boundary and the second boundary, and the two bent portions are bent toward each other (figure 7 above – being bent down towards each other as seen in figures 7E).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-14 and 16-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of U.S. Patent No. 11,563,240. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are currently broader than the patented claims, the patented claims require a sampling circuit board for a battery module, comprising: a main board comprising a plurality of electrical connection areas; and a plurality of sampling terminals respectively electrically connected to the plurality of the electrical connection areas, and an end of each of the sampling terminals extends away from the main board, and each of the sampling terminals connected to a respective one of the electrical connection areas of the main board via a respective connection member,
wherein the connection member comprises a main body and at least one hook assembly provided on the main body, and the hook assembly stacks and bonds one of the sampling terminals and one of the electrical connection areas of the main board, and the hook assembly comprises two hook structures, each of the hook structures comprises a bent portion and a pressing portion, and the bent portion connects the pressing portion and the main body, so that a space is formed between the pressing portion and the main body, and wherein the space is used to receive part of one of the sampling terminals and part of one of the electrical connection areas of the main board, and the main body comprises a first boundary and a second boundary opposite to each other, both the first boundary and the second boundary extend along a first direction, the two bent portions of the hook assembly are respectively connected to the first boundary and the second boundary, each of the electrical connection areas of the main board is provided with two or more second openings arranged at intervals, the bent portion passes through the second openings, and the shape of the second openings matches that of the cross section of the bent portion cut with a surface parallel to the electrical connection areas and a battery which includes said sampling circuit in a manner which obviates the instant claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US Patent 8,388,382 newly cited, teaches a similar symmetrical hook structure for voltage monitoring terminals.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICHOLAS P D'ANIELLO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723