Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that Abhishek is nonanalogous art (see pages 6-9 of the remarks), it has been held that a prior art reference must either be in the field of the inventor’s endeavor or, if not, then be reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned, in order to be relied upon as a basis for rejection of the claimed invention. See In re Oetiker, 977 F.2d 1443, 24 USPQ2d 1443 (Fed. Cir. 1992). In this case Abhishek is relied upon to teach/suggest that subsets of physical addresses can be used for hashing instead of the full address and the hash can be used to identify a potential cache location. This technique is pertinent to the claimed invention as it uses the same encoding (hashing) technique of a proper subset of a physical address, and Abshishek itself has to do with snoop filtering/coherency, which is definitely in the “same field of endeavor” of an application about a snoop filter.
In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, the engineering design tradeoffs of reducing the size of the snoop tag array vs. the cache tag array would be knowledge that is generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art, as less bits provides a size savings per entry at the cost of accuracy. That act of reducing accuracy (which may be an incredibly miniscule amount) may be significantly out weighed by the size/space/complexity savings. The statements of Cypher to the effect that hashing causes aliasing is NOT a teaching away, as hashing is extensively used in the computer storage arts and there are known tradeoffs when using hashing.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9-10, and 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cypher (US 7,325,102) in view of Abhishek (US 2021/0294607).
In regards to claims 9 and 15, taking claim 15 as exemplary Cypher teaches
a snoop filter to maintain coherency of a cache, the snoop filter comprising: (fig. 2, snoop filter 205)
an encoded value generator to create an encoded value from [a subset of a physical] address of data stored in the cache, (C6:10-26 teaches tags (addresses of data) of the cache are hashed by the hash function generator 215 (encoded value generator)
the encoded value generator to create another encoded value from another subset of another [physical] address of a memory transaction; (figs. 1 and 2, C4:49-53, a remote request is received (detected) from external processor 150 to the (shared) cache memory 120 of processor 100. The request includes an address. C4:55-62 teaches the incoming address is hashed)
a snoop filter cache tag array to store the encoded value and set a corresponding state bit; (C6:10-26 teaches tags (addresses of data) of the cache are hashed by the hash function generator 215 (encoded value generator) and uses these hashes (encoding) to identify a location in the storage 220 (snoop filter tag array) and set the corresponding indicator in the storage 220 (snoop filter tag array)
the snoop filter to identify the another encoded value in the snoop filter cache tag array and another corresponding state bit; the snoop filter to initiate a snoop of the cache if the another corresponding state bit is set. (fig. 2 C5:36-53 teaches that the storage 220 (snoop filter cache tag array) includes a snoop filter indicator (i.e. state bit) that indicates if the cache line is either not stored in the cache 120 (i.e. the indicator is not set) or may potentially be stored in the cache 120 (i.e. the indicator is set) and that if the snoop filter indicator indicates that the cache line is potentially stored in the cache 120 (i.e. the indicator is set) then cache controller 110 snoops the cache 120)
Cypher may not explicitly teach that the address is a physical address, and that the hash value is only created from a subset of the physical address or
wherein the snoop tag array is 1/Nth a size of the cache tag array, and N is at least 2.
However, Abhishek teaches in ¶102 that a portion of a physical address can be hashed and used to identify if the cache potentially stores a cache line associated with the full address.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Abhishek to improve the system of Cypher by using hashes of a portion of physical addresses for the hashing function. This allows the hashes to be simpler/faster to compute and have a smaller number of possible hashed outputs (i.e. indexes into the snoop array, or number of tags to store in the snoop array that require to be matched) such that the snoop tag array can be a fraction of the size of the cache tag array. The motivation for such is there is a tradeoff between speed, size, circuity complexity and accuracy where in situations like this it’s beneficial to give up accuracy (i.e. many addresses could result in the same hash, only resulting in a potential indication of a hit, while a miss is still guaranteed) at the benefit of gaining speed and reducing the size and complexity of the circuit.
In regards to claims 10 and 16 Cypher further teaches
wherein the state bit indicates there is a chance the physical address is owned by the cache if set and indicates the physical address is not owned by the cache if not set. ( C5:45-63 teaches that the filter indication (state bit) indicates either the cache line is not stored in the cache (not set) or that the cache line may be in the cache (i.e. the state bit is set and indicates only a chance that the address is owned by the cache, i.e. it’s not guaranteed)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1, 2 and 5-8 are allowed.
Claims 11-14, and 17-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims (with the assumption that the 101 rejection is corrected for claims 4-8).
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of Cypher describes changing between two different snoop filters, with only one being active at a time while the other is being updated. The claims 4, 11, and 17 require checking both the portions for indications if data is potentially located in the cache. The prior art of Cypher does not provide any teaching/suggestions/motivation for checking both the active and the inactive (currently being updated) portions of the snoop filter array in response to receiving a new memory transaction while the updating (refreshing) is occurring. While fig. 4 of Cypher and its associated teachings in C7:41-C9:27 does describe using multiple different snoop array that are indexed by different hashes, the separate snoop arrays are also divided into active and inactive (currently being repopulated/refreshed) portions, and Cypher is silent on accessing both the active and inactive portions for checking the indicators, and using a combination of the indicators to determine whether or not to snoop the cache.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JASON W BLUST/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2132