Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 6/02/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-5 and 7-22 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Examiner has considered Applicant’s argument with respect to the 112(b) rejection of Claim 20 and finds it persuasive. Thus, Examiner is removing the 112(b) rejection of Claim 20.
Examiner finds Applicant’s amendments and argument regarding Claims 1, 11, and 15 unpersuasive.
Applicant argues that Jones and Viswanathan fail to disclose, in combination, both a) a ground terminal that is directly connected to a thermal dissipation structure adjacent to a side of a power transistor die, and b) a signal terminal directly connected to a signal pad at a mounting surface of the module substrate through which a thermal dissipation structure extends. Applicant continues that Jones does not disclose a terminal that is coupled to the thermal dissipation structure.
In response to the above, Examiner notes that Applicant’s claims also do not disclose a terminal that is coupled to the thermal dissipation structure. Claim 1 recites a signal terminal that is connected to a signal pad on one end, and is exposed at the contact surface at the other end. This is exactly what is disclosed in Jones (see rejection of Claim 1 below). Further, Examiner contends that Jones and Viswanathan do (together) disclose a) and b) above. Viswanathan (in Fig. 5) discloses a ground terminal directly connected to a thermal dissipation structure directly adjacent to a side of a die (that the die is not explicitly a power die is not relevant in this case, in the view of the Examiner), and Jones discloses b) (see analysis of Claim 1) below. So the question is whether a person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to modify Jones using the idea of a ground terminal directly attached to a thermal dissipation structure, as proposed by Viswanathan. Examiner contends that such a person would be motivated to do so.
Applicant further argues that Viswanathan does not disclose anything analogous to the combination of the “module substrate” and the embedded “thermal dissipation structure” of Jones; and argues that Viswanthan does not disclose a signal terminal extending from the substrate.
However, Examiner is not relying on Viswanathan for an analogous structure to Jones. Examiner is stating that a person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to attach an internal ground terminal directly to a heat dissipation structure, because the idea is presented in Viswanathan. Although the structures in Jones and Viswanathan are not the same, the issue is whether the concept of attaching a ground terminal directly to a thermal dissipation structure would be obvious. Again, Examiner contends that it would be.
The fact that Viswanathan does not disclose a signal terminal extending form the substrate irrelevant because Jones does so.
Applicant’s remaining arguments are similar to the above. In essence, Applicant argues that a person of ordinary skill in the art would not be motivated to combine Jones and Viswanathan. Examiner contends that they would be so motivated, chiefly because the main teaching from Viswanathan that they would need is the idea of attaching a ground terminal directly to a heat dissipation structure. The rest of the concepts in Applicant’s Claim 1 are taught by Jones.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
US20220208670A1 (Jones) in view of US20160150632A1 (Viswanathan).
Regarding Claim 1, Jones discloses an amplifier module (Figs. 2, 3, and 4A, Para. [0036])
comprising, a module substrate (Fig. 3, el. 210, Para. [0037]) with a mounting surface (Fig. 3, el. 209,
Para. [0037]) and a signal pad at the mounting surface (Fig. 3, el. 312, Para. [0041]), a first thermal dissipation structure (Figs. 3, el. 316, Para. [0044]) extending through the
module substrate 210 (Para. [0044]), wherein the first thermal dissipation structure 316 has a first
surface (Fig. 3, el. 317, Para. [0044]) and a second surface (Fig. 3, el. 318, Para. [0044]), wherein the first
surface 317 is exposed at the mounting surface 209 of the module substrate 210 (Para. [0044]), a first
power transistor die (Figs. 3 and 4A, el. 234, Para. [0044]) with a first ground contact (Fig. 4A, el. 434,
Para. [0064]), wherein the first ground contact 434 is coupled to the first surface 317 of the first thermal
dissipation structure 316 (Figs. 3 and 4A, Para. [0054]), encapsulant material (Fig. 3, el. 380, Para.
[0037]) covering the mounting surface 209 of the module substrate 210 and the first power transistor
die 234 (Fig. 3, Para. [0037]), wherein a surface (Fig. 3, el. 382, Para. [0037]) of the encapsulant material
380 defines the contact surface 382 of the amplifier module 200 (Para. [0038]), and a first interior
ground terminal (Figs. 3 and 4A, el. 244, Para. [0063]) embedded within the encapsulant material 380
(Para. [0037]), wherein the first interior ground terminal 244 has a proximal end (Figs. 3 and 4A, not
numbered, Para. [0067]) connected to the first thermal dissipation structure 316 (Para. [0064]) directly
adjacent to a first side of the first power transistor die (Fig. 4A, Para. [0064]) with only a portion of the
encapsulant material and no other circuitry present between the first side of the first power transistor
die and the first interior ground terminal (Fig. 4A), and a distal end (Figs. 3 and 4A, not numbered, Para.
[0067]) exposed at the contact surface 382 (Para. [0067]), and wherein the first interior ground terminal
244 is electrically coupled to the first ground contact 434 of the first power transistor die 234 through a
first conductive path through thermal dissipation structure 316 (Fig. 4A, Para. [0064]), and a signal terminal (Fig. 3, el. 2112, Paras. [0041] and [0046]) embedded within the encapsulant material (Para. [0061]), wherein the signal terminal has a proximal end directly connected to the signal pad (Para. [0038]), and a distal end exposed at the contact surface (Para. [0038]), and wherein the signal terminal is electrically coupled to the first power transistor die through additional circuitry (Para. [0047]).
12. Jones does not disclose that the first interior ground terminal has a proximal end directly
connected to the first thermal dissipation structure.
13. Viswanathan discloses a system (Fig. 5, el. 500, Para. [0049]) with a thermal dissipation structure
(Fig. 5, el. 522, Para. [0049] – note that although this is referred to as a substrate, it can be a thermal
dissipation structure, similar to Fig. 3, el. 322, Para. [0039]), an interior terminal (Fig. 5, el. 563, Para.
Para. [0050]) that can serve as a ground terminal (in Fig. 5, conductive pad 512 can be grounded, and
thus internal terminal 563 will be grounded as well), wherein the interior terminal has a proximal end
connected to the heat dissipation structure (Fig. 5, Para. [[0050) and a distal end exposed at a contact
surface (Fig. 5, Para. [0050]).
14. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the
claimed invention to attach the ground terminal of Jones directly to the heat dissipation structure (as in
Viswanathan). One benefit would be to provide a lower inductance ground path for high frequency
signals, since the ground terminal would be directly connected to a large heat dissipation structure, and
so the signal would not have to travel through narrow conductive structures.
Regarding Claim 2, Jones in view of Viswanathan discloses the amplifier module 200 of claim 1, wherein the first thermal dissipation structure 316 includes a metallic coin embedded in the module substrate 210 (Para. [0044]).
Regarding Claim 3, Jones in view of Viswanathan discloses the amplifier module 200 of claim 1, wherein the first interior ground terminal 244 comprises a conductive pillar (Para. [0067]).
Regarding Claim 4, Jones in view of Viswanathan discloses the amplifier module 200 of claim 1, further comprising: an interposer terminal (Fig. 4B, el. 491, Para. [0071]) that includes a dielectric body (Fig. 4B, el. 492, Para. [0071]) with a top surface (Fig. 4B, el. 493, Para. [0071]) and a bottom surface (Fig. 4B, el. 494, Para. [0071]), and a conductive via (Fig. 4B, el. 495, Para. [0071]) extending between the top 493 and bottom 494 surfaces of the dielectric body 492 (Fig. 4B, Para. [0071]), wherein the conductive via 495 corresponds to the first interior ground terminal 244’ (Paras. [0070] and [0071], 244’ corresponds to 244).
Regarding Claim 5, Jones in view of Viswanathan discloses the amplifier module 200 of claim 4, wherein the first interposer terminal 244’ further comprises: a first conductive pad (Fig. 4B, el. 496, Para. [0071]) on the top surface 493 of the dielectric body 492 (Para. [0071]) and connected to a first end of the conductive via 495 (Para. [0071]), wherein the first conductive pad 496 corresponds to the distal end of the first interior ground terminal 244’ (the first conductive pad 496 is away from the substrate 210); and a second conductive pad (Fig. 4B, el. 497, Para. [0071]) on the bottom surface 494 of the dielectric body 492 and connected to a second end of the conductive via 495 (Para. [0071]), wherein the second conductive pad 497 corresponds to the proximal end of the first interior ground terminal 244’ (the second conductive pad 497 is on the substrate 210).
Regarding Claim 8, Jones in view of Viswanathan discloses the amplifier module 200 of claim 6, further comprising: a second interior ground terminal (Fig. 4A, el. 243, Para. [0063]) connected to the first thermal dissipation structure 316 in close proximity to a second side of the first power transistor die 234 (Fig. 4A, Para. [0064]).
Regarding Claim 9, Jones in view of Viswanathan discloses the amplifier module 200 of claim 1, further comprising: a second thermal dissipation structure extending through the module substrate, wherein the second thermal dissipation structure has a first surface and a second surface, wherein the first surface is exposed at the mounting surface of the module substrate (see Para. [0056], which describes a second thermal dissipation structure that has the same characteristics as the first thermal dissipation structure 316); a second power transistor die (Fig. 2, el. 254, Para. [0057]) with a second ground contact (Para. [0057]), wherein the second ground contact is coupled to the first surface of the second thermal dissipation structure (see Fig. 4A, which first ground contact 434 coupled to the first thermal dissipation structure; since the second transistor die, second ground contact, etc. is analogous to the first transistor die, first ground contact, etc., it will have the same configuration) and a second interior ground terminal (Fig. 2, el. 247, Para. [0066]) embedded within the encapsulant material (Para. [0061]), wherein the second interior ground terminal 247 has a proximal end connected to the second thermal dissipation structure (Para. [0067], which discloses that the proximal end of second interior ground terminal 247 is connected to a terminal pad, which in turn is connected to the second thermal dissipation structure, just like the first interior ground terminal 244) and a distal end exposed at the contact surface (Para. [0067]), and wherein the second interior ground terminal 247 is electrically coupled to the second ground contact of the second power transistor die through the second thermal dissipation structure (Para. [0056]).
Regarding Claim 10, Jones in view of Viswanathan discloses the amplifier module of claim 9, wherein: the first power transistor die is a carrier amplifier die of a Doherty power amplifier (el. 232, Para. [0045]); the second power transistor die is a peaking amplifier die of a Doherty power amplifier (el. 252, Para. [0055]); and the amplifier module further includes a phase delay and impedance inversion element electrically connected between outputs of the first and second power transistor dies (el. 270, Para. [0058]).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jones in view of Viswanathan.
Regarding Claim 7, Jones in view of Viswanathan discloses the amplifier module 200 of claim 1, wherein a distance between the first power transistor die 234 and the first interior ground terminal 244 is less than a width of the first power transistor die 234 (Para. [0064]).
Jones in view of Viswanathan does not disclose that the distance is less than half a width of the first power transistor die.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the
claimed invention to move the first interior ground terminal and position it such that its distance from the first power transistor die is less than half a width of the first power transistor die. Doing so would be the result of routine optimization (see MPEP 2144.05(II)(B)). As noted in Jones, the ground terminal 244 may be positioned at additional or different locations to minimize or eliminate the RF return current spreading across the module substrate (Para. [0064]), so a person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to experiment with the distance. In particular, they would have been motivated to move it closer, since this would reduce the inductance in the ground path. Further, by moving it from a distance of less than a width of the die to less than half a width of the die, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to minimize the RF return current, since the path length would be reduced.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jones in view of Viswanathan and US20210328551A1 (Maalouf).
Regarding Claim 19, Jones in view of Viswanathan discloses the amplifier module of claim 1.
Jones in view of Viswanathan does not disclose peripheral ground terminal embedded within the encapsulant material, wherein the peripheral ground terminal has a proximal end directly connected to the mounting surface of the module substrate, and a distal end exposed at the contact surface, and wherein the peripheral ground terminal is electrically coupled to the first ground contact of the first power transistor die through a second conductive path through the first thermal dissipation structure and through a ground layer within the module substrate that contacts the first thermal dissipation structure.
Maalouf discloses an amplifier module (Fig. 1, el. 110, Para. [0017]) comprising a heat dissipation structure (Fig. 1, el. 610, Para. [0018]), a power transistor die (Fig. 1, el. 310, Para. [0018]), and a peripheral ground terminal (Fig. 1, el. 620, Para. [0023]) that has a distal end exposed at the contact surface (Fig. 7).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the
claimed invention to add a peripheral ground terminal, similar to Maalouf, to the amplifier module of Jones in view of Viswanathan. Doing so would have the benefit of providing better grounding, as well as facilitating connection of the module to another substrate (as in Maalouf, Fig. 10).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jones in view of Viswanathan.
Regarding Claim 20, Jones in view of Viswanathan discloses the amplifier module 200 of claim 1, wherein a distance between the first power transistor die 234 and the first interior ground terminal 244 is less than a width of the first power transistor die 234 (Para. [0064]).
Jones in view of Viswanathan does not disclose that the distance between the first side of the first power transistor die and the first interior ground terminal is less than a distance between the first side of the first power transistor die and a side of the first thermal dissipation structure that extends between the first and second surfaces of the first thermal dissipation structure.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the
claimed invention to move the first interior ground terminal and position it such that its distance from the first power transistor die is extremely short (see claim interpretation under Claim Rejections – 112). Doing so would be the result of routine optimization (see MPEP 2144.05(II)(B)). As noted in Jones, the ground terminal 244 may be positioned at additional or different locations to minimize or eliminate the RF return current spreading across the module substrate (Para. [0064]), so a person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to experiment with the distance. In particular, they would have been motivated to move it closer, since this would reduce the inductance in the ground path. Further, by moving it extremely close to a first side of the die, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to minimize the RF return current, since the path length would be reduced.
Claims 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jones in view of Viswanathan.
Regarding Claim 11, Jones discloses an amplifier system (Fig. 6, el. 600, Para. [0076]) comprising a system substrate (Fig. 6, el. 610, Para. [0077]) with a mounting surface (Fig. 6, el. 609, Para. [0076]), a first signal conducting layer (Fig. 6, el. 601, Para. [0079]), a first ground layer (Fig. 6, el. 602, Para. [0080]), and a ground pad (Fig. 6, el. 641, Para. [0080]) at the mounting surface 609 (Para. [0081]), wherein the ground pad 641 is electrically coupled to the first ground layer 602 (Para. [0084]); and an amplifier module (Fig. 6, el. 200, Para. [0076]) with a contact surface (Fig. 6, el. 382, Para. [0081]) and a heat sink attachment surface (Fig. 6, el. 211, Para. [0082]), wherein the amplifier module 200 is coupled to the system substrate 610 with the mounting surface 609 of the system substrate 610 facing the contact surface 382 of the amplifier module 200 (Fig. 6, Para. [0081]), and wherein the amplifier module 200 further includes a module substrate (Figs. 3 and 6, el. 210, Para. [0037]) with a mounting surface (Figs. 3 and 6, el. 209, Para. [0037]) and a signal pad at the mounting surface (Fig. 3, el. 312, Para. [0041]), a first thermal dissipation structure (Figs. 3 and 6, el. 316, Para. [0044]) extending through the module substrate 210 (Para. [0044]), wherein the first thermal dissipation structure 316 has a first surface (Fig. 3, el. 317, Para. [0044]) and a second surface (Fig. 3, el. 318, Para. [0044]), wherein the first surface 317 is exposed at the mounting surface 209 of the module substrate 210 (Para. [0044]), a first power transistor die (Figs. 3, 4A and 6, el. 234, Para. [0044]) with a first ground contact (Fig. 4A, el. 434, Para. [0064]), wherein the first ground contact 434 is coupled to the first surface 317 of the first thermal dissipation structure 316 (Figs. 3 and 4A, Para. [0054]), encapsulant material (Figs. 3 and 6, el. 380, Para. [0037]) covering the mounting surface 209 of the module substrate 210 and the first power transistor die 234 (Figs. 3 and 6, Para. [0037]), wherein a surface (Fig. 3, el. 382, Para. [0037]) of the encapsulant material 380 defines the contact surface 382 of the amplifier module 200 (Para. [0038]), a first interior ground terminal (Figs. 3, 4A and 6, el. 244, Para. [0063]) embedded within the encapsulant material 380 (Para. [0037]), wherein the first interior ground terminal 244 has a proximal end (Figs. 3 and 4A, not numbered, Para. [0067]) connected to the first thermal dissipation structure 316 (Para. [0064]) ]) directly adjacent to a first side of the first power transistor die (Fig. 4A, Para. [0064]) with only a portion of the encapsulant material and no other circuitry present between the first side of the first power transistor die and the first interior ground terminal (Fig. 4A), and a distal end (Figs. 3 and 4A, not numbered, Para. [0067]) exposed at the contact surface 382 (Para. [0067]), and wherein the first interior ground terminal 244 is electrically coupled to the first ground contact 434 of the first power transistor die 234 through a first conductive path through the thermal dissipation structure 316 (Fig. 4A, Para. [0064]) and a signal terminal (Fig. 3, el. 2112, Paras. [0041] and [0046]) embedded within the encapsulant material (Para. [0061]), wherein the signal terminal has a proximal end directly connected to the signal pad (Para. [0038]), and a distal end exposed at the contact surface (Para. [0038]), and wherein the signal terminal is electrically coupled to the first power transistor die through additional circuitry (Para. [0047]).
Jones does not disclose that the first interior ground terminal has a proximal end directly connected to the first thermal dissipation structure.
Viswanathan discloses a system (Fig. 5, el. 500, Para. [0049]) with a thermal dissipation structure (Fig. 5, el. 522, Para. [0049] – note that although this is referred to as a substrate, it can be a thermal dissipation structure, similar to Fig. 3, el. 322, Para. [0039]), an interior terminal (Fig. 5, el. 563, Para. Para. [0050]) that can serve as a ground terminal (in Fig. 5, conductive pad 512 can be grounded, and thus internal terminal 563 will be grounded as well), wherein the interior terminal has a proximal end connected to the heat dissipation structure (Fig. 5, Para. [[0050) and a distal end exposed at a contact surface (Fig. 5, Para. [0050]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the
claimed invention to attach the ground terminal of Jones directly to the heat dissipation structure (as in Viswanathan). One benefit would be to provide a lower inductance ground path for high frequency signals, since the ground terminal would be directly connected to a large heat dissipation structure, and so the signal would not have to travel through narrow conductive structures.
Regarding Claim 12, Jones in view of Viswanathan discloses the amplifier system 600 of claim 11, wherein the distal end of the interior ground terminal 244 is coupled to the ground pad 641 of the system substrate 610 (Para. [0084]).
Regarding Claim 13, Jones in view of Viswanathan discloses the amplifier system 600 of claim 11, further comprising: a heat sink (Fig. 6, el. 616, Para. [0082]) coupled to the heat sink attachment surface 211 (Para. [0082]).
Claims 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jones in view of Viswanathan.
Regarding Claim 14, Jones in view of Viswanathan discloses the amplifier system 600 of claim 11, wherein a distance between the first side of the first power transistor die 234 and the first interior ground terminal 244 is less than a width of the first power transistor die 234 (Para. [0064]).
Jones in view of Viswanathan does not disclose that the distance is less than half a width of the first power transistor die.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the
claimed invention to move the first interior ground terminal and position it such that its distance from the first power transistor die is less than half a width of the first power transistor die. Doing so would be the result of routine optimization (see MPEP 2144.05(II)(B)). As noted in Jones, the ground terminal 244 may be positioned at additional or different locations to minimize or eliminate the RF return current spreading across the module substrate (Para. [0064]), so a person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to experiment with the distance. In particular, they would have been motivated to move it closer, since this would reduce the inductance in the ground path. Further, by moving it from a distance of less than a width of the die to less than half a width of the die, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to minimize the RF return current, since the path length would be reduced.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jones in view of Viswanathan and Maalouf.
Regarding Claim 21, Jones in view of Viswanathan discloses the amplifier module of claim 11.
Jones in view of Viswanathan does not disclose peripheral ground terminal embedded within the encapsulant material, wherein the peripheral ground terminal has a proximal end directly connected to the mounting surface of the module substrate, and a distal end exposed at the contact surface, and wherein the peripheral ground terminal is electrically coupled to the first ground contact of the first power transistor die through a second conductive path through the first thermal dissipation structure and through a ground layer within the module substrate that contacts the first thermal dissipation structure.
Maalouf discloses an amplifier module (Fig. 1, el. 110, Para. [0017]) comprising a heat dissipation structure (Fig. 1, el. 610, Para. [0018]), a power transistor die (Fig. 1, el. 310, Para. [0018]), and a peripheral ground terminal (Fig. 1, el. 620, Para. [0023]) that has a distal end exposed at the contact surface (Fig. 7).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the
claimed invention to add a peripheral ground terminal, similar to Maalouf, to the amplifier module of Jones in view of Viswanathan. Doing so would have the benefit of providing better grounding, as well as facilitating connection of the module to another substrate (as in Maalouf, Fig. 10).
Claims 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jones in view of Viswanathan.
Regarding Claim 15, Jones discloses a method of fabricating a power amplifier (Fig. 7, Para. [0087]), the method comprising: coupling a power transistor die to a thermal dissipation structure that extends through a module substrate (see analysis of claim 1), wherein the module substrate has a mounting surface and a signal pad at the mounting surface (see analysis of claim 1), a first surface of the thermal dissipation structure is exposed at the mounting surface of the module substrate (see analysis of claim 1), and the power transistor die has a ground contact (see analysis of claim 1), wherein the ground contact is connected to the first surface of the thermal dissipation structure (see analysis claim 1); directly connecting a proximal end of a signal terminal to the signal pad (Para. [0041]); electrically coupling the signal pad to the first power transistor die through additional circuitry (Para. [0047]); coupling a proximal end of an interior ground terminal to the thermal dissipation structure directly adjacent to a first side of the power transistor die (see analysis of claim 1 and Fig. 4A, Para. [0064] where the interior ground terminal is connected to the thermal dissipation structure through via 444); and covering the mounting surface of the module substrate and the power transistor die with an encapsulant material to form an amplifier module (Fig. 7, step 706, Para. [0087, also see analysis of claim 1), wherein a surface of the encapsulant material defines a contact surface of the amplifier module (see analysis of claim 1), a distal end of the signal terminal is exposed at the contact surface (Para. [0038]), a distal end of the interior ground terminal is exposed at the contact surface (see analysis of claim 1), only a portion of the encapsulant material and no other circuitry is present between the first side of the power transistor die and the interior ground terminal (see analysis of Claim 1) and the interior ground terminal is electrically coupled to the ground contact of the power transistor die through a first conductive path through the thermal dissipation structure (see analysis of claim 1).
Jones does not disclose the step of directly connecting a proximal end of an interior ground to the first thermal dissipation structure.
Viswanathan discloses a method (Fig. 9, Para. [0064]) with a step (Fig. 9, el. 904, Para. [0068]) of applying ground termination pins to a substrate. Note that this method can apply to Fig. 5, which discloses a thermal dissipation structure (Fig. 5, el. 522, Para. [0049] – note that although this is referred to as a substrate, it can be a thermal dissipation structure, similar to Fig. 3, el. 322, Para. [0039]), an interior terminal (Fig. 5, el. 563, Para. Para. [0050]) that can serve as a ground terminal (in Fig. 5, conductive pad 512 can be grounded, and thus internal terminal 563 will be grounded as well), wherein the interior terminal has a proximal end connected to the heat dissipation structure (Fig. 5, Para. [[0050) and a distal end exposed at a contact surface (Fig. 5, Para. [0050]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the
claimed invention to include the step of attaching the ground terminal of Jones directly to the heat dissipation structure (as in Viswanathan). One benefit would be to provide a lower inductance ground path for high frequency signals, since the ground terminal would be directly connected to a large heat dissipation structure, and so the signal would not have to travel through narrow conductive structures.
Regarding claim 16, Jones in view of Viswanathan discloses the method of claim 15, further comprising coupling the amplifier module to a system substrate with a mounting surface of the system substrate facing the contact surface of the amplifier module (Fig. 7, step 708, Para. [0088]), wherein the system substrate further includes a second signal conducting layer, a second ground layer, and a ground pad, wherein the ground pad is electrically coupled to the second ground layer, and wherein the distal end of the interior ground terminal is coupled to the ground pad (see analysis of claim 11).
Regarding claim 17, Jones in view of Viswanathan discloses the method of claim 15, wherein the amplifier module 200 has a heat sink attachment surface (Fig. 6, el. 211, Para. [0082]) opposite the contact surface (Fig. 6, el. 382, Para. [0081]), and the method further comprises: coupling a heat sink to the heat sink attachment surface of the amplifier module (Fig. 7, step 710, Para. [0089]).
Claims 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jones in view of Viswanathan.
Regarding claim 18, Jones in view of Viswanathan discloses the method of claim 15, wherein a distance between the first side of the first power transistor die 234 and the first interior ground terminal 244 is less than a width of the first power transistor die 234 (Para. [0064]).
Jones in view of Viswanathan does not disclose that the distance is less than half a width of the first power transistor die.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the
claimed invention to move the first interior ground terminal and position it such that its distance from the first power transistor die is less than half a width of the first power transistor die. Doing so would be the result of routine optimization (see MPEP 2144.05(II)(B)). As noted in Jones, the ground terminal 244 may be positioned at additional or different locations to minimize or eliminate the RF return current spreading across the module substrate (Para. [0064]), so a person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to experiment with the distance. In particular, they would have been motivated to move it closer, since this would reduce the inductance in the ground path. Further, by moving it from a distance of less than a width of the die to less than half a width of the die, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to minimize the RF return current, since the path length would be reduced.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jones in view of Viswanathan and Maalouf.
Regarding Claim 22, Jones in view of Viswanathan discloses the method of claim 15.
Jones in view of Viswanathan does not disclose the steps of before covering the mounting surface of the module substrate and the power transistor die with the encapsulant material, directly connecting a proximal end of a peripheral ground terminal to the mounting surface of the module substrate, wherein the peripheral ground terminal is electrically coupled to the ground contact of the power transistor die through a second conductive path through the thermal dissipation structure and through a ground layer within the module substrate that contacts the thermal dissipation structure, and wherein after covering the mounting surface of the module substrate and the power transistor die with the encapsulant material, a distal end of the peripheral ground terminal is exposed at the contact surface.
Maalouf discloses an amplifier module (Fig. 1, el. 110, Para. [0017]) comprising a heat dissipation structure (Fig. 1, el. 610, Para. [0018]), a power transistor die (Fig. 1, el. 310, Para. [0018]), and a peripheral ground terminal (Fig. 1, el. 620, Para. [0023]) that has a distal end exposed at the contact surface (Fig. 7).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the
claimed invention to add the steps of connecting a peripheral ground terminal, similar to Maalouf, to the amplifier module of Jones in view of Viswanathan. Doing so would have the benefit of providing better grounding, as well as facilitating connection of the module to another substrate (as in Maalouf, Fig. 10).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROHIT PARTHASARATHY/Examiner, Art Unit 2899 /DALE E PAGE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2899