DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant's amendments and remarks filed on October 7, 2025 have been entered and considered. Claim 6 is cancelled, claims 1 and 7 are amended and claims 1 – 5 and 7 are pending. In view of Applicant’s amendments to claim 1, the examiner withdraws both 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) rejections as being anticipated by Kobayashi et al. (US 2012/0015018). The invention as currently claimed is not found to be patentable for reasons herein below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed October 7, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Akiyama does not describe or suggest that the second glass powder is a phosphate glass powder and contains at least one element selected from Li, Ba, Y, Ce, Pr, Nd, Pm, Sm, Eu, Gd, Tb, Dy, Ho, Er, Tm, Yb, Lu, Ti, Zr, Ta,Cu, Al. Ga, Si, Sn, and P”. As noted in the previously set forth 35 USC 103 rejection over Akiyama et al. (US 2019/0151204) which is repeated in this Office Action, Akiyama et al. teach a second glass powder (i.e. phosphate containing dental glass [0010]).
It should be noted that phosphate glass is P2O5, therefore, it would contain “at least one element selected from…P:” If the Applicant intends that the “at least one element is not a part of the basic glass structure”, the Applicant should amend the claim to indicate “at least one additional element”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akiyama et al. (US 2019/0151204).
Akiyama et al. discloses a glass powder composite formed by mixing:
a first glass powder (i.e. filler, e.g. fluoroaluminosilicate glass [0042]); and
a second glass powder (i.e. phosphate containing dental glass [0010]) having a different solubility from that of the first glass powder; and
wherein both the first glass powder and the second glass powder have ion sustained-release properties.
It should be noted that phosphate glass is P2O5, therefore, it would contain “at least one element selected from…P:”
The second glass may also contain fluorine [0028]; aluminum is excluded from the second glass [0021] while included in the first glass. There are many elements disclosed as possible additions to the second glass that are not recited in the first glass (e.g. Ag [0027] and Zn [0026].
With respect to the claimed dissolution rates, where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). MPEP 2112.01
Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. MPEP 2112.01
Note that Akiyama et al. discloses that the solubility of dental glass in water is 10% or greater [0034].
Further note that since the first and second glass powder in Akiyama et al. are compositionally different, they will have different properties.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JENNIFER A BOYD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1786