DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to communications filed on 07/07/2026.
Claims 6-7, 13, and 20 have been canceled.
Claims 1-5, 8-12, and 14-19 are pending and have been examined.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 9, and 15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
As per claim 1, it appears that the word “and” should be inserted after “…plant,” in line 17. It appears that the word “and” should be inserted after “…manner,” in the 3rd to last line. It appears that comma in “…manner,” in the 3rd to last line should be replaced with a semicolon.
The above similarly applies to claims 9 and 15.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “storage device…configured to store…” in claims 1-14).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. See Na et al. (US 20200320237 A1) below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8-12, and 14-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ariyoshi et al. (US 20150112900 A1) in view of Nakajima et al. (US 20200109063 A1), Na et al. (US 20200320237 A1), and Iwamoto et al. (US 20030014382 A1).
As per independent claim 1, Ariyoshi teaches a device for selecting an optimal model, the device comprising:
a processor (e.g. in paragraph 166, “CPU”);
a memory connected to the processor and storing instructions (e.g. in paragraphs 166 and 168, “stored in a computer-readable recording medium in the form of a program… memories”); and
a storage device connected to the processor and configured to store model data (e.g. in paragraphs 60, 166 and 168, “storage unit 31 stores various kinds of data, such as… model… a storage device, such as a hard disk”), wherein the processor is configured to execute instructions to:
store a first model in a first model storage place (e.g. in paragraph 60, “storage unit 31 stores various kinds of data, such as…a previous prediction model”) and an existing optimal model in an optimal model storage place (e.g. in paragraphs 50 and 60, “storage unit 31 stores various kinds of data, such as…a prediction model used for demand prediction”, e.g. “the latest prediction model… with the smallest error”);
generate a variable model using training data (e.g. in paragraphs 49-50 and 61, “no-cluster prediction model…cluster-specific prediction model…[and/or] average use prediction model… learning data used for the generation of a prediction model, and further divides the learning data into training data used for the model learning of the latest prediction model”);
prepare evaluation data, and use the evaluation data to select a champion model from among a plurality of evaluation target models including the first model, the existing optimal model, and the variable model by evaluating the plurality of evaluation target models (e.g. in paragraphs 63 and 143, “evaluation unit 35 calculates prediction results based on various prediction models using the test data for evaluation… selects a prediction model with the smallest error… writes the selected latest prediction model in the storage unit”)
predict, using the selected champion model and real-time data, information (e.g. in paragraph 55, “prediction device calculates a prediction result…based on the selected prediction model using the prediction data (time-series data X.sub.n-2, X.sub.n-1, and X.sub.n), and outputs the calculated prediction result”),
but does not specifically teach controlling chemical dosage in a water treatment plant, wherein the first model includes a seed model and wherein the information includes a state of treated water, and derive a control value that minimizes the chemical dosage required for maintaining the state of the treated water within a predetermined normal range; and cause a control device, based on the control value, to control the chemical dosage in a water treatment process in the water treatment plant, in response to selecting the existing optimal model as the champion model, extract the existing optimal model selected as the champion model from the optimal model storage place and store the existing optimal model again in the optimal model storage place in a First-In First-Out (FIFO) manner, in response to selecting the seed model as the champion model, maintain a state in which the seed model selected as the champion model is stored in the seed model storage place.
However, Nakajima teaches controlling chemical dosage in a water treatment plant (e.g. in abstract and paragraphs 14, 97 and 120-121, “a water treatment system including a water system, a plurality of chemical tanks that retain chemicals having different components, a plurality of chemical feed pumps that supply the chemicals retained respectively in the plurality of chemical tanks to the water system, and the chemical feed control device… the chemical feed control device 110 determines the feed amount of each of a plurality of chemicals having different components, so that a minimum feed amount of each of the chemicals corresponding to each of the disruptive factors can be determined”), predicting, using a model and real time data, information including a state of treated water (e.g. in paragraphs 161 and 164, “water quality index prediction unit [i.e. model]… predicts the water quality index values… during the specific period starting from the present time”, i.e. real-time), deriving a control value that minimizes the chemical dosage required for maintaining the state of the treated water within a predetermined normal range (e.g. in paragraphs 97 and 120-121, “the chemical feed control device 110 determines the feed amount of each of a plurality of chemicals having different components, so that a minimum feed amount of each of the chemicals corresponding to each of the disruptive factors can be determined… determines whether or not a difference between the water quality index value (actual index value) obtained in Step S31 and the water quality index value (target index value) related to the target water quality is equal to or larger than a specific threshold [i.e. threshold defines predetermined normal range]… When the difference between the actual index value and the target index value is equal to or larger than the threshold (Step S35: YES), the updating unit 1107 corrects the feed amount of the chemical determined by the determination unit 1105”, i.e. maintains the predetermined normal range for water quality); and causing a control device, based on the control value, to control the chemical dosage in a water treatment process in the water treatment plant (e.g. in paragraphs 14, 97 and 120-121, “a water treatment system including a water system, a plurality of chemical tanks that retain chemicals having different components, a plurality of chemical feed pumps that supply the chemicals retained respectively in the plurality of chemical tanks to the water system, and the chemical feed control device… the chemical feed control device 110 determines the feed amount of each of a plurality of chemicals having different components, so that a minimum feed amount of each of the chemicals corresponding to each of the disruptive factors can be determined… corrects the feed amount of the chemical determined by the determination unit 1105 in Step S32, based on the difference between the actual index value and the target index value”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Ariyoshi to include the teachings of Nakajima because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the benefit of optimizing predictions/models for well-known water treatment application,
but does not specifically teach wherein the first model includes a seed model and in response to selecting the existing optimal model as the champion model, extract the existing optimal model selected as the champion model from the optimal model storage place and store the existing optimal model again in the optimal model storage place in a First-In First-Out (FIFO) manner, in response to selecting the seed model as the champion model, maintain a state in which the seed model selected as the champion model is stored in the seed model storage place.
However, Na teaches a first model including a seed model (e.g. in paragraph 68, “fixed model (hereinafter, referred to as model root)… The fixed model may be input to the database 540 by a specific user and cannot be changed or deleted unless the specific user arbitrarily changes it. The fixed model may be the basis for a…model to be derived by the model deriver”) and in response to selecting an existing optimal model as a champion model, extract the existing optimal model selected as the champion model from the optimal model storage place and store the existing optimal model again in the optimal model storage place in a manner (e.g. in paragraph 69, “database 540 may contain the model fruits arranged in order of being determined as the optimal model. Accordingly, the database 540 may have a hierarchical structure in which the model fruits are sequentially stored in respective layers from the highest layer to the lowest layer in an order being determined as the optimal…model… selected as the optimal…model, the…model may be stored in the database… if the storage space is insufficient, the database 540 may delete one of the optimal models stored in the database 540 and store the derived…model”, i.e. a model is stored again on highest layer if performs the best at a later time), in response to selecting the seed model as the champion model, maintain a state in which the seed model selected as the champion model is stored in the seed model storage place (e.g. in paragraphs 68-69, “fixed model (hereinafter, referred to as model root)… The fixed model may be input to the database 540 by a specific user and cannot be changed or deleted… optimal model (hereinafter, referred to as model fruit) may be a…model that has been previously selected as an optimal…model… database 540 may contain the model fruits”, i.e. selecting the fixed model as an optimal model does not change the state of the fixed model being stored in part of database 540). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of the combination to include the teachings of Na because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the benefit of managing models in storage,
but does not specifically teach the manner including a First-In First-Out (FIFO) manner.
However, Iwamoto teaches storing in a First-In-First-Out manner (e.g. in paragraphs 22-23, “When a residual of storage capacity becomes insufficient, data is deleted in chronological order, that is, the oldest data is deleted first. Therefore, it is possible to reserve an area for storing new data”, i.e. FIFO). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of the combination to include the teachings of Iwamoto because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the benefit of reserving an area for storing most recent data (e.g. also amounts a simple substitution that yields predictable results [e.g. see KSR Int'l Co v. Teleflex Inc., 550 US 398,82 USPQ2d 1385,1396 (U.S. 2007) and MPEP 2143(B)]).
As per claim 2, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and the combination further teaches receive the training data created from raw data received within a predetermined period of time from a time point of evaluation, detect, from the received training data, input data and output data related to the input data, set the output data as an expected value, and set the input data and the expected value as the evaluation data (e.g. Ariyoshi, in paragraphs 21, 69, and 93-94, “time-series data... an observation value… sets the time-series data X.sub.n-7, X.sub.n-6, X.sub.n-5, X.sub.n-4, and X.sub.n-3 (from the newest data of the learning data) of 5 days as a sum of the prediction use period of 3 days and the prediction target period of 2 days, among the learning data,…as test data for evaluation… first feature amount, which includes feature amounts x.sub.1 to x.sub.m extracted for training data for prediction D.sub.0 to D.sub.dn used for the learning of the approximation model, and the power demand acquired from the corresponding training data for correct answer acquisition”).
As per claim 3, the rejection of claim 2 is incorporated and the combination further teaches input the input data to each of the plurality of evaluation target models, and in response to performing operation on the input data by each of the plurality of evaluation target models to calculate a prediction value, calculate a difference between the expected value and the prediction value of each of the plurality of evaluation target models as an error of each of the plurality of evaluation target models, and select the evaluation target model having the smallest error among the plurality of evaluation target models as the champion model (e.g. Ariyoshi, in paragraphs 21, 63-64, 69, and 74, “a deviation amount detection unit that detects a record deviation amount that is a difference between an observation value and the predicted value calculated by the prediction unit… evaluation unit 35 calculates prediction results based on various prediction models using the test data for evaluation acquired by the acquisition unit 32, collates the calculated prediction results with test data for correct verification, and selects a prediction model with the smallest error”).
As per claim 4, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and the combination further teaches in response to selecting the variable model as the champion model, store the variable model selected as the champion model as the optimal model in the optimal model storage place in the First-In-First-Out manner (e.g. Ariyoshi, in paragraph 143, “evaluation unit 35 updates the storage content of the storage unit 31 based on the selection… When a no-cluster prediction model is selected, the evaluation unit 35 writes the no-cluster prediction model in the storage unit … On the other hand, when a cluster-specific prediction model is selected, the evaluation unit 35 writes the cluster-specific prediction model in the storage unit”; Na, in paragraphs 68 and 70-71, “That is, the model deriver 520 may derive a…model based on the structure of the fixed model… model derived by the model deriver 520 is selected as the optimal…model, the derived…model may be stored in the database”; Iwamoto, in paragraphs 22-23, “When a residual of storage capacity becomes insufficient, data is deleted in chronological order, that is, the oldest data is deleted first. Therefore, it is possible to reserve an area for storing new data”, i.e. FIFO).
As per claim 5, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and the combination further teaches decide whether there is an insufficiency of a storage space of the optimal model storage place and in response to selecting the variable model as the champion model and deciding the insufficiency of the storage space of the optimal model storage place, delete the existing optimal model in chronological order of storage according to the FIFO manner and store the variable model selected as the champion model as the optimal model in the optimal model storage place in the FIFO manner (e.g. Ariyoshi, in paragraph 143, “evaluation unit 35 updates the storage content of the storage unit 31 based on the selection… When a no-cluster prediction model is selected, the evaluation unit 35 writes the no-cluster prediction model in the storage unit … On the other hand, when a cluster-specific prediction model is selected, the evaluation unit 35 writes the cluster-specific prediction model in the storage unit”; Na, in paragraphs 68 and 70-71, “That is, the model deriver 520 may derive a…model based on the structure of the fixed model… model derived by the model deriver 520 is selected as the optimal…model, the derived…model may be stored in the database… if the storage space is insufficient, the database 540 may delete one of the optimal models stored in the database 540 and store the derived…model”; Iwamoto, in paragraphs 22-23, “When a residual of storage capacity becomes insufficient, data is deleted in chronological order, that is, the oldest data is deleted first. Therefore, it is possible to reserve an area for storing new data”, i.e. FIFO).
As per claim 8, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and the combination further teaches generate the variable model through training with the training data created from raw data collected within a predetermined period of time from a time point of generation (e.g. Ariyoshi, in paragraphs 9 and 47, “prediction model generation unit that generates a prediction model to calculate time-series data, which is an observation value predicted based on given time-series data, using the training data… sets the time-series data X.sub.1, X.sub.2, . . . , X.sub.n-3 of the remaining 362 days as learning data used for the learning of a prediction model”), the variable model being based on design information of the seed model (e.g. Na, in paragraph 68, “The fixed model may be the basis for a…model to be derived by the model deriver 520. That is, the model deriver 520 may derive a…model based on the structure of the fixed model”).
Claims 9-12 and 14 correspond to claims 1-3, 5, and 8, and are rejected under the same reasons set forth, and the combination further teaches in response to generation of a variable model, use evaluation data (e.g. Ariyoshi, in paragraphs 49-50, 61, 63, and 143, “no-cluster prediction model…cluster-specific prediction model…[and/or] average use prediction model… learning data used for the generation of a prediction model, and further divides the learning data into training data used for the model learning of the latest prediction model… evaluation unit 35 calculates prediction results based on [the] various prediction models using the test data for evaluation… selects a prediction model with the smallest error”) and store the champion model in the optimal model storage place (e.g. Ariyoshi, in paragraphs 63 and 143, “evaluation unit 35 calculates prediction results based on various prediction models using the test data for evaluation… selects a prediction model with the smallest error… writes the selected latest prediction model in the storage unit”; Na, in paragraph 69, “database 540 may contain the model fruits arranged in order of being determined as the optimal model. Accordingly, the database 540 may have a hierarchical structure in which the model fruits are sequentially stored in respective layers from the highest layer to the lowest layer in an order being determined as the optimal…model… selected as the optimal…model, the…model may be stored in the database”).
Claims 15-19 are the method claims corresponding to device claims 1-5 and are rejected under the same reasons set forth and the combination further teaches
maintaining a state in which a seed model is stored in a seed model storage place (e.g. Na, in paragraphs 68-69, “fixed model (hereinafter, referred to as model root)… The fixed model may be input to the database 540 by a specific user and cannot be changed or deleted… optimal model (hereinafter, referred to as model fruit) may be a…model that has been previously selected as an optimal…model… database 540 may contain the model fruits”, i.e. selecting the fixed model as an optimal model does not change the state of the fixed model being stored in part of database 540) and an existing optimal model is stored in an optimal model storage place (e.g. Na, in paragraph 69, “database 540 may contain the model fruits arranged in order of being determined as the optimal model. Accordingly, the database 540 may have a hierarchical structure in which the model fruits are sequentially stored in respective layers from the highest layer to the lowest layer in an order being determined as the optimal…model… selected as the optimal…model, the…model may be stored in the database”).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
For example,
Chu (US 8214308 B2) teaches “the competing models' performance (with respect to predicting both data sources 1A and 1B) can be compared with champion model 1's prediction performance using the performance decay indexes. Based upon the comparison, if a competing model outperforms the champion model, then a corrective action can include replacing at 270 the champion model 222 with the competing model” (e.g. in column 4 lines 59-66).
/W.W/Examiner, Art Unit 2144 09/19/2026
/TAMARA T KYLE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2144