DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
1. Applicant's election, without traverse, of claims 1-24 in the “Response to Restriction Requirement” filed on 07/23/2025 is acknowledged and entered by the Examiner. This office action consider claims 1-24 pending for prosecution..
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Notes: when present, semicolon separated fields within the parenthesis (; ;) represent, for example, as (100; Fig 3A; [0063]) = (element 100; Figure No. 3A; Paragraph No. [0063]). For brevity, the texts “Element”, “Figure No.” and “Paragraph No.” shall be excluded, though; additional clarification notes may be added within each field. The number of fields may be fewer or more than three indicated above. These conventions are used throughout this document.
2. Claims 1, 5-9, 11, 13, 17-19, and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Byun et al. (US 20020104874 A1; hereinafter Byun).
Regarding claim 1, Byun teaches an electrical package (see the entire document, specifically Fig. 4+; [0012+], and as cited below), comprising:
a substrate (120; Fig. 4 in view of Figs. 5-6; [0026]) having a first side (top side of 120) and a second side (bottom side of 120) opposite the first side (top side of 120);
one or more electrical components (110; Fig. 4 in view of Figs. 5-6; [0026]) mounted to the substrate (120; Fig. 4 in view of Figs. 5-6; [0026]); and
a plurality of electrically conductive interconnect members ({160, 162}; Fig. 4 in view of Figs. 5-6; [0029-0031]) coupled to the second side (bottom side of 120) of the substrate (120; Fig. 4 in view of Figs. 5-6; [0026]), including at least one ({162}; Fig. 4 in view of Figs. 5-6; [0029-0031]) of the interconnect members ({160, 162}; Fig. 4 in view of Figs. 5-6; [0029-0031]) that has an elongated shape with a length that is longer than a width ({162}; Fig. 4 in view of Figs. 5-6; [0029-0031]).
Regarding claim 5, Byun teaches all of the features of claim 1.
Byun further teaches wherein the substrate (120; Fig. 4 in view of Figs. 5-6; [0026]) has a generally rectangular shape in plan view with four corners, with the interconnect member ({162}; Fig. 4 in view of Figs. 5-6; [0029-0031]) with the elongated shape positioned at or proximate one of the corners.
Regarding claim 6, Byun teaches all of the features of claim 5.
Byun further teaches wherein others ({160}; Fig. 4 in view of Figs. 5-6; [0029-0031]) of the interconnect members ({160, 162}; Fig. 4 in view of Figs. 5-6; [0029-0031]) have a generally circular shape in plan view and are disposed inward from the one of the corners (see Fig. 4 in view of Figs. 5-6; [0029-0031]).
Regarding claim 7, Byun teaches all of the features of claim 1.
Byun further teaches wherein the substrate (120; Fig. 4 in view of Figs. 5-6; [0026]) has a corner, and the closest interconnect member ({162}; Fig. 4 in view of Figs. 5-6; [0029-0031]) to the corner has the elongated shape ({162}; Fig. 4 in view of Figs. 5-6; [0029-0031]).
Regarding claim 8, Byun teaches all of the features of claim 1.
Byun further teaches wherein a plurality ({160}; Fig. 4 in view of Figs. 5-6, 8a-8d; [0029-0031, 0036-0038]) of the interconnect members ({160, 162}; }; Fig. 4 in view of Figs. 5-6, 8a-8d; [0029-0031, 0036-0038]) have a generally circular shape in plan view with a substantially uniform diameter, the at least one of the interconnect members with the elongated shape ({162}; Fig}; Fig. 4 in view of Figs. 5-6, 8a-8d; [0029-0031, 0036-0038]) having a width that is substantially equal to the diameter of the circular interconnect members ({160}; Fig. 4 in view of Figs. 5-6; [0029-0031]) and a length (see Fig. 4 in view Figs. 8c-8d; see [0038]; see Fig. 8c, where solder balls 160 are formed on pads 124, where layer 162 that forms in Fig. 8d comprises of a length of at least two solder balls 160) that is at least two times the diameter of the circular interconnect members ({160}; Fig. 4 in view of Figs. 5-6; [0029-0031]).
Regarding claim 9, Byun teaches all of the features of claim 1.
Byun further teaches wherein the interconnect member with the elongated shape ({162}; Fig. 4 in view of Figs. 5-6; [0029-0031]) is a furthest interconnection member from a center of the package (see Fig. 4 in view of Figs. 5-6).
Regarding claim 11, Byun teaches all of the features of claim 1.
Byun further teaches wherein the interconnect members ({160, 162}; Fig. 4 in view of Figs. 5-6; [0029-0031]) are arranged as a grid, with a group of the interconnect members each occupying a single grid cell (see Fig. 4 in view of Figs. 5-6), and the interconnect member ({162}; Fig. 4 in view of Figs. 5-6; [0029-0031]) with the elongated shape occupying at least two grid cells arranged linearly (see Fig. 4 in view of Figs. 5-6).
Regarding claim 13, Byun teaches an electrical package (see the entire document, specifically Fig. 4+; [0012+], and as cited below), comprising:
substrate (120; Fig. Fig. 4 in view of Figs. 5-6, 8a-8d; [0029-0031, 0036-0038]) having a first side (top side of 120) and a second side (bottom side of 120) opposite the first side (top side of 120);
one or more electrical components (110; Fig. 4 in view of Figs. 5-6, 8a-8d; [0029-0031, 0036-0038]) mounted to the substrate (120; Fig. 4 in view of Figs. 5-6, 8a-8d; [0029-0031, 0036-0038]);
a plurality of first electrically conductive interconnect members ({160}; Fig. 4 in view of Figs. 5-6, 8a-8d; [0029-0031, 0036-0038]) coupled to the second side (bottom side of 120) of the substrate (120; Fig. 4 in view of Figs. 5-6, 8a-8d; [0029-0031, 0036-0038]) and having substantially uniform widths (Fig. 4 in view of Figs. 5-6, 8a-8d; [0029-0031, 0036-0038]); and
at least one second electrically conductive interconnect member ({162}; Fig. 4 in view of Figs. 5-6, 8a-8d; [0029-0031, 0036-0038]) having a width that is substantially the same as the substantially uniform widths of the first interconnect members ({160}; Fig. 4 in view of Figs. 5-6, 8a-8d; [0029-0031, 0036-0038]) and a length (see Fig. 4 in view Figs. 8c-8d; see [0038]; see Fig. 8c, where solder balls 160 are formed on pads 124, where layer 162 that forms in Fig. 8d comprises of a length of at least two solder balls 160) that is greater than or equal to a combined length of two of the first interconnect members ({160}; Fig. 4 in view of Figs. 5-6, 8a-8d; [0029-0031, 0036-0038]).
Regarding claim 17, Byun teaches all of the features of claim 13.
Byun further teaches wherein the substrate (120; Fig. 4 in view of Figs. 5-6; [0026]) has a generally rectangular shape in plan view with four corners, with the at least one second interconnect member ({162}; Fig. 4 in view of Figs. 5-6; [0029-0031]) positioned at or proximate one of the corners.
Regarding claim 18, Byun teaches all of the features of claim 13.
Byun further teaches wherein the first interconnect members ({160}; Fig. 4 in view of Figs. 5-6, 8a-8d; [0029-0031, 0036-0038]) have a generally circular shape in plan view.
Regarding claim 19, Byun teaches all of the features of claim 13.
Byun further teaches wherein the second interconnect member ({162}; Fig. 4 in view of Figs. 5-6, 8a-8d; [0029-0031, 0036-0038]) is a furthest interconnection member from a center of the package (see Fig. 4 in view of Figs. 5-6, 8a-8d; [0029-0031, 0036-0038]).
Regarding claim 21, Byun teaches all of the features of claim 13.
Byun further teaches wherein the interconnect members ({160, 162}; Fig. 4 in view of Figs. 5-6; [0029-0031]) are arranged as a grid, with the first interconnect members ({160,}; Fig. 4 in view of Figs. 5-6; [0029-0031]) each occupying a single grid cell, and the at least one second interconnect member ({162}; Fig. 4 in view of Figs. 5-6; [0029-0031]) each occupying at least two grid cells.
Regarding claim 22, Byun teaches all of the features of claim 13.
Byun further teaches wherein the second interconnect member ({162}; Fig. 4 in view of Figs. 5-6; [0029-0031]) has a shape of two of the first interconnect members coupled by a bridge portion (Fig. 4 in view of 8c-8d; [0029-0031, 0036-0038]; see Fig. 8c, where solder balls 160 are formed on pads 124, where layer 162 that forms in Fig. 8d comprises of a length of at least two solder balls 160 and portion that connects the two solder balls 160)
Regarding claim 23, Byun teaches all of the features of claim 13.
Byun further teaches wherein the second interconnect member ({162}; Fig. 4 in view of Figs. 5-6; [0029-0031]) has a generally capsular shape.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claims 2-4, 12, 14-16, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being unpatentable over Byun et al. (US 20020104874 A1; hereinafter Byun), in view of Chiu et al. (US 20180063966 A1; hereinafter Chiu).
Regarding claim 2, Byun teaches all of the features of claim 1.
Byun further teaches wherein the one or more electrical components (110; Fig. 4 in view of Figs. 5-6; [0026]) are mounted to the first side (top side of 120) of the substrate (120; Fig. 4 in view of Figs. 5-6; [0026]), and having (see below for “one or more additional electrical components mounted to”) the second side (bottom side of 120) of the substrate (120; Fig. 4 in view of Figs. 5-6; [0026]).
As noted above, Byun does not expressly disclose “wherein the one or more electrical components are mounted to the first side of the substrate, and having one or more additional electrical components mounted to the second side of the substrate”.
However, in the analogous art, Chiu teaches semiconductor structures ([0001]), wherein (Fig. 2C; [0021+]) a carrier (20; Fig. 2C; [0033]) has a second electronic component (22; Fig. 2C; [0033]) on its top surface and the first electronic component (21; Fig. 2C; [0033]) on its bottom surface, where the electronic component (21; Fig. 2C; [0033]) is encapsulated by a second encapsulant (26; Fig. 2C; [0046-0047])
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate Chiu’s first electronic component on the bottom side of the carrier into Byun’s device, and thereby, modified device Byun’s (by Chiu) device will have wherein the one or more electrical components (Byun 110; Fig. 4 in view of Figs. 5-6; [0026]) are mounted to the first side (Byun top side of 120) of the substrate (Byun 120; Fig. 4 in view of Figs. 5-6; [0026]), and having one or more additional electrical components (in view of Chiu 21; Fig. 2C; [0033]) mounted to the second side (Byun bottom side of 120) of the substrate (Byun 120; Fig. 4 in view of Figs. 5-6; [0026])
The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Byun in the manner set forth above, at least, because this inclusion provides an additional electronic component to be connected to the bottom side of the substrate (Chiu [0033]), which helps add increased functionality to the device for faster processing.
Regarding claim 3, modified Byun (by Chiu) teaches all of the features of claim 2.
Modified Byun (by Chiu) further comprising a mold structure (in view of Chiu 26; Fig. 2C; [0046-0047]) extending over at least part of the second side (Byun bottom side of 120) of the substrate (Byun 120; Fig. 4 in view of Figs. 5-6; [0026]) and at least partially surrounding the one or more additional electrical components (in view of Chiu 21; Fig. 2C; [0033]).
Regarding claim 4, modified Byun (by Chiu) teaches all of the features of claim 3.
Modified Byun (by Chiu) further comprising a mold structure (Byun 140; Fig. 4 in view of Figs. 5-6; [0027]) extending over at least part of the first side (Byun top side of 120) of the substrate (Byun 120; Fig. 4 in view of Figs. 5-6; [0026]) and at least partially surrounding the one or more electrical components (110; Fig. 4 in view of Figs. 5-6; [0026]).
Regarding claim 12, Byun teaches all of the features of claim 1.
Byun further teaches wherein the package (Fig. 4 in view of Figs. 5-6; [0026]) (see below for “is a dual-sided”) molded package (see [0027; mold layer 140).
As noted above, Byun does not expressly disclose “wherein the one or more electrical components are mounted to the first side of the substrate, and having one or more additional electrical components mounted to the second side of the substrate”.
However, in the analogous art, Chiu teaches semiconductor structures ([0001]), wherein (Fig. 2C; [0021+]) a carrier (20; Fig. 2C; [0033]) has a second electronic component (22; Fig. 2C; [0033]) on its top surface and the first electronic component (21; Fig. 2C; [0033]) on its bottom surface, where the electronic component (21; Fig. 2C; [0033]) is encapsulated by a second encapsulant (26; Fig. 2C; [0046-0047])
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate Chiu’s bottom molded package structure into Byun’s device, and thereby, modified device Byun’s (by Chiu) device will have wherein the package (Byun Fig. 4 in view of Figs. 5-6; [0026]) is a dual-sided molded package (Byun see [0027; top mold layer 140 in view of Chiu 26; Fig. 2C; [0046-0047]; bottom mold layer 26)
The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Byun in the manner set forth above, at least, because this inclusion provides a encapsulant layer on the bottom side of the substrate (Chiu [0033, 0046-0047]), which helps further insulate the package which adds more protection for a more stable package.
Regarding claim 14, Byun teaches all of the features of claim 13.
Byun further teaches wherein the one or more electrical components (110; Fig. 4 in view of Figs. 5-6; [0026]) are mounted to the first side (top side of 120) of the substrate (120; Fig. 4 in view of Figs. 5-6; [0026]), and having (see below for “one or more additional electrical components mounted to”) the second side (bottom side of 120) of the substrate (120; Fig. 4 in view of Figs. 5-6; [0026]).
As noted above, Byun does not expressly disclose “wherein the one or more electrical components are mounted to the first side of the substrate, and having one or more additional electrical components mounted to the second side of the substrate”.
However, in the analogous art, Chiu teaches semiconductor structures ([0001]), wherein (Fig. 2C; [0021+]) a carrier (20; Fig. 2C; [0033]) has a second electronic component (22; Fig. 2C; [0033]) on its top surface and the first electronic component (21; Fig. 2C; [0033]) on its bottom surface, where the electronic component (21; Fig. 2C; [0033]) is encapsulated by a second encapsulant (26; Fig. 2C; [0046-0047])
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate Chiu’s first electronic component on the bottom side of the carrier into Byun’s device, and thereby, modified device Byun’s (by Chiu) device will have wherein the one or more electrical components (Byun 110; Fig. 4 in view of Figs. 5-6; [0026]) are mounted to the first side (Byun top side of 120) of the substrate (Byun 120; Fig. 4 in view of Figs. 5-6; [0026]), and having one or more additional electrical components (in view of Chiu 21; Fig. 2C; [0033]) mounted to the second side (Byun bottom side of 120) of the substrate (Byun 120; Fig. 4 in view of Figs. 5-6; [0026])
The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Byun in the manner set forth above, at least, because this inclusion provides an additional electronic component to be connected to the bottom side of the substrate (Chiu [0033]), which helps add increased functionality to the device for faster processing.
Regarding claim 15, modified Byun (by Chiu) teaches all of the features of claim 14.
Modified Byun (by Chiu) further comprising a mold structure (in view of Chiu 26; Fig. 2C; [0046-0047]) extending over at least part of the second side (Byun bottom side of 120) of the substrate (Byun 120; Fig. 4 in view of Figs. 5-6; [0026]) and at least partially surrounding the one or more additional electrical components (in view of Chiu 21; Fig. 2C; [0033]).
Regarding claim 16, modified Byun (by Chiu) teaches all of the features of claim 15.
Modified Byun (by Chiu) further comprising a mold structure (Byun 140; Fig. 4 in view of Figs. 5-6; [0027]) extending over at least part of the first side (Byun top side of 120) of the substrate (Byun 120; Fig. 4 in view of Figs. 5-6; [0026]) and at least partially surrounding the one or more electrical components (110; Fig. 4 in view of Figs. 5-6; [0026]).
Regarding claim 24, Byun teaches all of the features of claim 13.
Byun further teaches wherein the package (Fig. 4 in view of Figs. 5-6; [0026]) (see below for “is a dual-sided”) molded package (see [0027; mold layer 140).
As noted above, Byun does not expressly disclose “wherein the one or more electrical components are mounted to the first side of the substrate, and having one or more additional electrical components mounted to the second side of the substrate”.
However, in the analogous art, Chiu teaches semiconductor structures ([0001]), wherein (Fig. 2C; [0021+]) a carrier (20; Fig. 2C; [0033]) has a second electronic component (22; Fig. 2C; [0033]) on its top surface and the first electronic component (21; Fig. 2C; [0033]) on its bottom surface, where the electronic component (21; Fig. 2C; [0033]) is encapsulated by a second encapsulant (26; Fig. 2C; [0046-0047])
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate Chiu’s bottom molded package structure into Byun’s device, and thereby, modified device Byun’s (by Chiu) device will have wherein the package (Byun Fig. 4 in view of Figs. 5-6; [0026]) is a dual-sided molded package (Byun see [0027; top mold layer 140 in view of Chiu 26; Fig. 2C; [0046-0047]; bottom mold layer 26)
The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Byun in the manner set forth above, at least, because this inclusion provides a encapsulant layer on the bottom side of the substrate (Chiu [0033, 0046-0047]), which helps further insulate the package which adds more protection for a more stable package.
4. Claims 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being unpatentable over Byun et al. (US 20020104874 A1; hereinafter Byun), in view of the following statement.
Regarding claim 10, Byun teaches all of the features of claim 1.
Byun further teaches wherein the at least one interconnect member with the elongated shape ({162}; Fig. 4 in view of Figs. 5-6; [0029-0031]) (see below for “has a length L that is substantially equal to n- W + (n-1)- G, where n is a positive integer, W is a width of the interconnect member, and G is a distance between”) adjacent interconnect members ({160, 162}; Fig. 4 in view of Figs. 5-6; [0029-0031]).
As noted above, Byun does not expressly disclose “wherein the at least one interconnect member with the elongated shape has a length L that is substantially equal to n- W + (n-1)- G, where n is a positive integer, W is a width of the interconnect member, and G is a distance between adjacent interconnect members”.
However, the Applicant has not presented persuasive evidence that the claimed “wherein the at least one interconnect member with the elongated shape has a length L that is substantially equal to n- W + (n-1)- G, where n is a positive integer, W is a width of the interconnect member, and G is a distance between adjacent interconnect members” is for a particular purpose that is critical to the overall claimed invention (i.e. the invention would not work without wherein the at least one interconnect member with the elongated shape has a length L that is substantially equal to n- W + (n-1)- G, where n is a positive integer, W is a width of the interconnect member, and G is a distance between adjacent interconnect members). Also, the Applicant has not shown that “wherein the at least one interconnect member with the elongated shape has a length L that is substantially equal to n- W + (n-1)- G, where n is a positive integer, W is a width of the interconnect member, and G is a distance between adjacent interconnect members” produces a result that was new or unexpected enough to patentably distinguish the claimed invention over the cited prior art. Instead, paragraph [0037] of the instant disclosure discloses other possible options such as “In some embodiments of the present invention, the bottom plate 300 sidewall extends 1 to 100 nm past a sidewall of the bottom plate contacts 102”. Therefore, no rationale is given that the invention will not function without “wherein the at least one interconnect member with the elongated shape has a length L that is substantially equal to n- W + (n-1)- G, where n is a positive integer, W is a width of the interconnect member, and G is a distance between adjacent interconnect members”. Thus, the claimed “wherein the at least one interconnect member with the elongated shape has a length L that is substantially equal to n- W + (n-1)- G, where n is a positive integer, W is a width of the interconnect member, and G is a distance between adjacent interconnect members” is not critical to the invention.
Examiner would like to note that MPEP §2144.04.IV(B) guideline, where change of shape is a Legal Precedent as Source of Supporting Rationale. See In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (The court held that the configuration of the claimed disposable plastic nursing container was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container was significant.).
In view of the above, as there is no persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of “wherein the at least one interconnect member with the elongated shape has a length L that is substantially equal to n- W + (n-1)- G, where n is a positive integer, W is a width of the interconnect member, and G is a distance between adjacent interconnect members” is significant. Thus, the claimed limitation of “wherein the at least one interconnect member with the elongated shape has a length L that is substantially equal to n- W + (n-1)- G, where n is a positive integer, W is a width of the interconnect member, and G is a distance between adjacent interconnect members” is a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious as per MPEP §2144.04.IV(B) guideline. Therefore, the claimed limitation of “wherein the at least one interconnect member with the elongated shape has a length L that is substantially equal to n- W + (n-1)- G, where n is a positive integer, W is a width of the interconnect member, and G is a distance between adjacent interconnect members” is not patentable over Byun.
Regarding claim 20, Byun teaches all of the features of claim 13.
Byun further teaches wherein the at least one second interconnect member ({162}; Fig. 4 in view of Figs. 5-6; [0029-0031]) (see below for “has a length L that is substantially equal to n-W + (n-1)-G, where n is a positive integer, W is the width of”) the first interconnect members ({160}; Fig. 4 in view of Figs. 5-6, 8a-8d; [0029-0031, 0036-0038]), and G is a distance between adjacent first interconnect members ({160}; Fig. 4 in view of Figs. 5-6, 8a-8d; [0029-0031, 0036-0038]).
As noted above, Byun does not expressly disclose “wherein the at least one second interconnect member has a length L that is substantially equal to n-W + (n-1)-G, where n is a positive integer, W is the width of the first interconnect members, and G is a distance between adjacent first interconnect members”.
However, the Applicant has not presented persuasive evidence that the claimed “wherein the at least one second interconnect member has a length L that is substantially equal to n-W + (n-1)-G, where n is a positive integer, W is the width of the first interconnect members, and G is a distance between adjacent first interconnect members” is for a particular purpose that is critical to the overall claimed invention (i.e. the invention would not work without wherein the at least one second interconnect member has a length L that is substantially equal to n-W + (n-1)-G, where n is a positive integer, W is the width of the first interconnect members, and G is a distance between adjacent first interconnect members). Also, the Applicant has not shown that “wherein the at least one second interconnect member has a length L that is substantially equal to n-W + (n-1)-G, where n is a positive integer, W is the width of the first interconnect members, and G is a distance between adjacent first interconnect members” produces a result that was new or unexpected enough to patentably distinguish the claimed invention over the cited prior art. Instead, paragraph [0037] of the instant disclosure discloses other possible options such as “In some embodiments of the present invention, the bottom plate 300 sidewall extends 1 to 100 nm past a sidewall of the bottom plate contacts 102”. Therefore, no rationale is given that the invention will not function without “wherein the at least one second interconnect member has a length L that is substantially equal to n-W + (n-1)-G, where n is a positive integer, W is the width of the first interconnect members, and G is a distance between adjacent first interconnect members”. Thus, the claimed “wherein the at least one second interconnect member has a length L that is substantially equal to n-W + (n-1)-G, where n is a positive integer, W is the width of the first interconnect members, and G is a distance between adjacent first interconnect members” is not critical to the invention.
Examiner would like to note that MPEP §2144.04.IV(B) guideline, where change of shape is a Legal Precedent as Source of Supporting Rationale. See In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (The court held that the configuration of the claimed disposable plastic nursing container was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container was significant.).
In view of the above, as there is no persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of “wherein the at least one second interconnect member has a length L that is substantially equal to n-W + (n-1)-G, where n is a positive integer, W is the width of the first interconnect members, and G is a distance between adjacent first interconnect members” is significant. Thus, the claimed limitation of “wherein the at least one second interconnect member has a length L that is substantially equal to n-W + (n-1)-G, where n is a positive integer, W is the width of the first interconnect members, and G is a distance between adjacent first interconnect members” is a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious as per MPEP §2144.04.IV(B) guideline. Therefore, the claimed limitation of “wherein the at least one second interconnect member has a length L that is substantially equal to n-W + (n-1)-G, where n is a positive integer, W is the width of the first interconnect members, and G is a distance between adjacent first interconnect members” is not patentable over Byun.
Conclusion
/OMAR F MOJADDEDI/Examiner, Art Unit 2898