DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 1, lines 8-9, applicant claims “…wherein the at least one wear plate and the fasteners securing the at least one wear plate to the main body are entirely inward the inner surface and/or entirely outward of the outer surface relative to the inner cavity.” As employed, the phrase “and/or” is inherently unclear in that “the at least one wear plate” cannot be secured to the inner surface and outer surface at the same time. The lack of clarity renders the claimed subject matter indefinite.
Note: A similar issue exists in claim 21 with “…wherein the at least one wear plate and the fasteners securing the at least one wear plate to the main body and/or the door are entirely inward of the inner surface and/or entirely outward of the outer surface.”
Note: To replace “and/or” with –or—would overcome the lack of clarity.
Claims 2-10 are rejected based on their claim dependencies.
Note: Applicant’s arguments with respective to the above rejection are not persuasive. It remains unclear as to how a single wearplate and its fasteners “are entirely inward of the inner surface and entirely outward of the outer surface” at the same time. This would require at least two separate assemblies, which is not what is being claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 5-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lombardo et al. (USP 10,428,494).
Regarding claim 1: Lombardo discloses a bucket (column 1, lines 15-17) comprising:
a main body defining an inner cavity (column 2, lines 25-27, incorporating by reference the bucket structure of USP 8,336,233),
at least one wear plate (as seen in figure 1A, generally 12) covering an inner surface and/or an outer surface of the main body (as seen in figures 4D and 4E; also, column 3, lines 1-9), the wear plate having holes therein (as seen in figure 1A, area of 81); and
fasteners (as seen in figure 1A, at 13 and 14) passing through the holes and secured to the main body by screwing engagement (as seen in figures 3C and 3D), the fasteners having a portion thereof (as seen in figure 2A, at 13) in a fixed position (as seen in figure 3A, moved into a “fixed” position, in phantom view; also, column 5, lines 34-67) on the main body prior to a securing of the at least one wear plate;
wherein the at least one wear plate and the fasteners securing the at least one wear plate to the main body are entirely inward the inner surface or entirely outward of the outer surface relative to the inner cavity (as seen in figures 3B-3E, relative to inner surface at 15).
Regarding claim 2: Lombardo discloses the bucket of claim 1. Further, Lombardo discloses wherein the fasteners include bolts (as seen in figures 3B and 3E, at 14) passing through the holes, and nuts (as seen in figure 2A and 3E, at 13).
Regarding claim 3: Lombardo discloses the bucket of claim 2. Further, Lombardo discloses wherein the nuts are secured to the main body (as seen in figure 3E).
Regarding claims 5 and 6: Lombardo discloses the bucket of claim 2. Further, Lombardo discloses wherein the nuts (as seen in figure 3E, at 13) and bolts (as seen in figure 3E, at 14) are fixed in a retainer cup (as seen in figure 3E, area of 86) on the main body.
Regarding claim 7: Lombardo discloses the bucket of claim 1. Further, Lombardo discloses wherein the wear plate has edge portions against supports separated by a spacing, the fasteners being partly received in the spacing (as seen in annotated figure 3E below).
Regarding claims 8 and 9: Lombardo discloses the bucket of claim 1. Further, Lombardo discloses wherein the at least one wear plate is against the inner surface of a bottom portion of the bucket and has a surface against the inner surface and/or the outer surface of the bucket, the surface having a complementary negative geometry to that of the inner surface and/or the outer surface. (as seen in figure 3B with the inner surface being 15; also, column 2, lines 25-27, incorporating by reference the bucket structure of USP 8,336,233, figure 1).
Regarding claim 10: Lombardo discloses the bucket of claim 1. Further, Lombardo discloses wherein the holes in the at least one wear plate are counterbore holes (as seen in figures 3B-3E, area of 81).
Claims 11-15, 17 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hren et al. (USP 8,590,180).
Regarding claim 11: Hren discloses a bucket (as seen in figure 1, at generally 62) comprising:
a main body defining an inner cavity (as seen in figure 1, area of 78),
a door (as seen in figure 1, area of 86) pivotally mounted to the main body (as seen in figure 1, via 90),
at least one wear plate laid against a surface of the main body or a surface of the door (as seen in figure 4, member 104 being part of the door and thus part of its “surface”) at an interface therebetween (as seen in figure 8, at 113), the wear plate having holes therein (as seen in figures 5 and 8, at 112); and
fasteners passing through the holes and secured to the main body or the door by screwing engagement (as seen figure 8, unnumbered but members above “FIG. 8” and to the right of reference numeral 108).
Regarding claim 12: Hren discloses the bucket of claim 11. Further, Hren discloses wherein the fasteners include bolts passing through the holes, and nuts (as seen in annotated figure 8 below).
Regarding claim 13: Hren discloses the bucket of claim 11. Further, Hren discloses the fasteners have heads trapped in a wear plate mounting area via counterbore holes defined on the main body or the door (as seen in the annotated figure above and figure 8, recess in member 113 ”traps” the nut head with member 113 being part of the door structure 86).
Regarding claim 14: Hren discloses the bucket of claim 13. Further, Hren discloses wherein the mounting area extends along one of a front lip of the door (as seen in figure 4, between reference numerals 108 and 112) and a rear lip of the main body (as seen in figures 1 and 5, area of 100), the front lip and the rear lip facing each other, the front lip and the rear lip movable towards and away each other as the main body and the door pivot relative to each other (as seen in figure 1, via pivot at 90 as well as “closing” movement as seen between figures 5 and 6).
Regarding claim 15: Hren discloses the bucket of claim 13. Further, Hren discloses wherein the mounting area is defined by a mounting plate (as seen in figure 8, at 113) forming an integral part of the main body (as seen in figure 11 when fully assembled).
Regarding claim 17: Hren discloses the bucket of claim 11. Further, Hren discloses wherein the wear plate has at least one guiding member at a back thereof (as seen in figure 8), the guiding member engageable with a complementary feature of the main body or the door aligning with the guiding member (as seen in annotated figure 8 below).
Regarding claim 21: Hren discloses the bucket of claim 11. Further, Hren discloses wherein the at least one wear plate and the fasteners securing the at least one wear plate to the main body and/or the door are entirely outward of the outer surface (as seen in figures 11 and 23B).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lombardo et al. (USP 10,428,494) in view of Henning et al. (USP 10,113,297).
Regarding claim 4: Lombardo discloses the claimed device substantially as discussed above but fails to show the use of welded nuts. However, Henning teaches that it is well known to employ such welded nuts (as seen in figure 6, at 22N) in concert with an excavating bucket type arrangement (as seen in figure 7, generally 10). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the device of Lombardo with the teachings of Henning in order to provide an excavating bucket with a fastening means having a more positive securement and therein providing greater ease of installation, absent any showing to the contrary.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hren et al. (USP 8,590,180) in view of Lammli (USP 9,840,830).
Regarding claim 16: Hren discloses the claimed device substantially as discussed above but fails to show the use of a sliding lock incorporated with fasteners and mounting means of a bucket wear assembly. However, Lammli teaches that it is well known within the excavating art to employ such a sliding lock arrangement (as seen in figures 3-7 ) having a wear member (as seen in figures 3-6, at 16), mounting (as seen in figures 3-6, at 18) and fastening means (as seen in figure 7, at 30) in concert with an excavating bucket type arrangement (as seen in figure 3, generally 100). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the device of Hren with the teachings of Lammli in order to provide an excavating bucket with a sliding fastener means therein providing for greater time saving and ease of installation, absent any showing to the contrary.
Claims 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hren et al. (USP 8,590,180) in view of Long et al. (USPGPub 2017/0314236).
Regarding claims 18 and 19: Hren discloses the claimed device substantially as discussed above but fails to show internal and external wear plates of varying geometry. However, Long teaches that it is well known within the excavating art to have both internal and external wear plates in varying locations on a bucket and of varying geometries (as seen in figures 1-23). Long teaches to provide an excavating bucket with both wear plates which have an L-shaped profile (as seen in figures 17-19, generally 194) as well as complimentary negative geometry to the inner or outer surface to which they may be applied (as seen in figure 9, at 178 or figures 13 and 14, at 186). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the device of Hren with the teachings of Long in order to provide an excavating bucket with a more diverse replaceable wear means and thus allow for greater operational life to the bucket assembly at large.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed December 16, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Firstly, and as discussed above, the issue under 35 USC 112 remains. It remains unclear as to how a single assembly can be secured (and not “capable” of being secured) both entirely inward of the inner surface and entirely outward of the outer surface at the same time. The examiner requests that the applicant points out where in the drawings such an embodiments exists. Regarding the fasteners of Lombardo, as discussed in the above rejection, whereas the Lombardo fasteners are moveable during installation, as discussed portion 13 is moveable to a “captured” or “fixed” position as seen in figure 3A.
Conclusion
/ROBERT E PEZZUTO/Examiner, Art Unit 3671