DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant's amendment filed on 4/7/2026 has been entered. The specification and claims 1 and 3 have been amended. Claim 4 has been canceled. Claims 2 and 5-8 are as previously presented.
Claims 1-3 and 5-8 are still pending in this application, with claim 1 being independent.
This amendment overcomes the previously set-forth 1/16/2026 objection to the abstract of the disclosure.
This amendment overcomes the previously set-forth 1/16/2026 rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) of claims 1-3 and 5-8.
This amendment overcomes the previously set-forth 1/16/2026 rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 of claims 1-3 and 5-8.
The amendment to the specification introduces a new objection to the drawings, see below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/7/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pp. 9-12 [see REMARKS], Applicant argues: “Applicant respectfully submits that the cited references fail to disclose or suggest all of the features of the present invention, as defined in amended independent Claim 1. In particular, the cited references fail to disclose or suggest a surface processing machine which includes "a collimation lens that is arranged between the laser oscillator and the condenser and collimates the laser beam into parallel light" and a controller that "causes the processing feed mechanism to reduce the thickness of the workpiece by: positioning the focal points of the multiple beams on the top surface of the workpiece, and irradiating the entire area of the workpiece from the outer edge to the center" as recited in amended Claim 1.”
Regarding “a collimation lens…”, Applicant continues: “Thus, the Eifel reference fails to disclose or suggest a collimation lens, as adding a collimation lens after the laser system 1, would be redundant given that the laser beam 2 emitted from the laser system 1 is a collimated laser beam 2. As such, the Eifel reference fails to disclose or suggest "a collimation lens that is arranged between the laser oscillator and the condenser and collimates the laser beam into parallel light."”. Examiner respectfully disagrees. In response to applicant's argument that adding a collimation lens would be redundant, the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981). In this case, it was presented that Eifel discloses a laser system 1 that provides a collimated laser beam 2, but does not explicitly disclose a collimation lens that provides the collimated laser beam. Tayebati was presented as teaching that a laser oscillator of a laser system may include a collimation lens when providing a collimated laser beam. Thus, a PHOSITA, in view of the teachings of both Eifel and Tayebati, would find it obvious to substitute the laser system of Eifel with the laser oscillator and collimation lens of Tayebati, with a reasonable expectation of success for providing a collimated laser beam.
Regarding “a controller that…”, Applicant continues: “Moreover, while the machining device applies laser machining to a surface 23, the Eifel reference fails to disclose or suggest a control unit which causes the laser system 1 to irradiate "the entire area of the workpiece from the outer edge to the center" as recited in amended Claim 1. While the Tayebati reference discloses a "laser head 350 [which] includes a collimating lens 355, an adjusting/rotating wave plate 360, and a focusing lens 365 to direct beam 370 onto the surface of the workpiece", the Tayebati reference fails to disclose or suggest the collimation lens of amended Claim 1. Further, the Tayebati reference fails to disclose or suggest a control unit which causes the laser system 1 to irradiate "the entire area of the workpiece from the outer edge to the center" as recited in amended Claim 1. Accordingly, the cited references, whether considered alone or in combination, fail to disclose or suggest the features of amended Claim 1, and withdrawal of the rejection to Claim 1 is respectfully requested.”. Examiner respectfully disagrees, and has provided a rejection of amended claim 1 below, wherein Eifel discloses the conventional practice of irradiating a surface of a workpiece with a laser relatively moved in a two-dimensional path, and wherein Tayebati teaches a conventional control unit for controlling laser output, and the relative positioning/path of the laser during irradiation. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have a conventional controller control the laser, since it has been held by the courts that broadly providing an automatic or mechanical means to replace a manual activity which accomplished the same result is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art, as it requires only ordinary skill in the art, as evidenced by Tayebati. In re Venner, 120 USPQ 192 (CCPA 1958).
Regarding claims 5 and 6-7, Applicants arguments [see pp. 5-13 of REMARKS] are not persuasive for the same reasons presented above.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: “controller 9” in amended paras. 0019, 0029, 0037. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Interpretation
Regarding claim 8, which recites “a gauge that measures one of a thickness or a height of the workpiece”
the term “gauge” is used by the claim to mean any instrument or device capable of measuring a thickness or height of a wafer [para. 0019: “No particular limitation is imposed on the type of the gauge 5. For example, the gauge 5 is a contactless thickness gauge, which measures the thickness (or height) of the wafer 10 by applying a measuring laser beam LB0 (see FIGS. 3 and 4) of a predetermined wavelength range from a distal end portion 51 of an extension arm 52, detecting return light reflected by the back surface 10b and the front surface 10a of the wafer 10, and then performing a Fourier transform of a spectral interference waveform based on the return light.”]
Claim Interpretation - 35 USC § 112(f)
The following claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f):
Regarding claim 1, lines 7-9 recite “a processing feed mechanism that carries out relative processing feed of the chuck table and the processing unit”
In view of:
para. 0016: “Inside the main body section 21, a processing feed mechanism (not illustrated) is disposed to carry out processing feed of the chuck table 32 of the holding unit 3 in the X-axis direction. Operation of the processing feed mechanism moves the cover member 31 along with the chuck table 32 in the X-axis direction”;
para. 0018: “The surface processing machine 1 illustrated in FIG. 2 includes a Z-axis moving mechanism 7, which moves the processing unit 4 along the paired guide rails 221…The Z-axis moving mechanism 7 includes an externally threaded rod 71… Disposed on the upper end portion of the externally threaded rod 71 is a pulse motor 72 as a drive source for rotationally driving the externally threaded rod 71… ”; and
para. 0019: “The above-described laser applying unit 42, processing feed mechanism (not illustrated), gauge 5, Z-axis moving mechanism, and the like are connected to a controller (not illustrated).”;
it seems relative processing feed is used by the claim to mean relative movement during processing, and thus the limitation “processing feed mechanism” is being interpreted as including rails, threaded rods, motors, and equivalents thereof.
Regarding claim 1, lines 13-15 recite “a condenser that forms the laser beam which has been emitted by the laser oscillator, into a plurality of laser beams”
In view of:
para. 0008: “Preferably, the condenser may be a microlens array or a diffractive optical element.”
para. 0021: “The condenser 45 is not limited to the configuration of the above-described microlens array or diffraction optical element alone, and may also be configured by combination with one or more additional condenser lenses, aspherical lenses, or the like.”
the limitation “condenser” is being interpreted as including a microlens array, a diffraction optical element, a condenser lens, or an aspherical lens, and equivalents thereof.
Regarding claim 1, lines 19-21 recite “a beam intensity adjuster that is arranged between the condenser and the collimation lens and adjusts an intensity of the laser beams”
In view of:
para. 0023: “As the beam intensity adjuster 47, a spatial light modulator (reflective type (liquid crystal on silicon (LCOS)) or transmissive type (liquid crystal display (LCD))) or a digital micromirror device (DMD) can be used. The laser beam LB1 passed through the collimation lens 46 is adjusted by the beam intensity adjuster 47, so that the spatial strength distribution of the beams LB2 to be applied from the condenser 45 can be adjusted to a desired spatial strength distribution. In this embodiment, an example with an LCOS, i.e., reflective spatial light modulator, adopted therein is illustrated. However, an LCD, i.e., transmissive spatial light modulator, can also be adopted.”
the limitation “beam intensity adjuster” is being interpreted as a reflective type spatial light modulator, a transmissive type spatial light modulator, or a digital micromirror device, and equivalents thereof.
Regarding claim 1, lines 22-23 recite “a rotating mechanism that rotates the condenser”
In view of:
para. 0022: “As the rotating mechanism 48, a hollow motor is adopted, for example. The hollow motor includes encoders arranged on an outer periphery of a hollow shaft, and is formed in an annular shape.”
the limitation “rotating mechanism” is being interpreted as a hollow motor, and equivalents thereof.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eifel (DK 3094444 T3) in view of Tayebati (WO 2018013901 A2).
Regarding claim 1,
Eifel discloses:
A surface processing machine for processing a surface of a workpiece [see fig. 1; p. 21: “Fig. 1 shows an embodiment, by way of example, of a machining device according to the invention for laser machining of a surface 23.”], the surface processing machine comprising:
a processing unit that processes the surface of the workpiece [see fig. 1];
a processing feed mechanism [Eifel discloses a deflection unit that carries out a relative movement between the workpiece and the machining device during processing; p. 19: “the workpiece can be moved relative to the machining device so that a cut gap is produced in the workpiece”; p. 44: “The pattern made of the machining points (laser foci) with a spacing of the spot period is thereby moved by the deflection unit along a scan contour and hence produces a structure.”],
wherein the processing unit includes:
a laser oscillator that emits a laser beam [p. 21: “The machining device here has a laser system 1 which emits a collimated laser beam 2.”],
a condenser that forms the laser beam which has been emitted by the laser oscillator and which has passed through a beam intensity adjuster, into a plurality of laser beams [p. 25: “The divergence unit 3 can be for example a beam splitter 3… The divergence unit 3 divides the laser beam 29 into a total beam 4 made of partial beams. The distribution of these partial beams is determined by the construction of the divergence unit 3.”],
a collimation [Eifel discloses that the laser beam is collimated prior to being split; p. 8: “Preferably, the divergence unit produces collimated partial beams.”; p. 32: “In summary, the example of Fig. 1 can therefore be produced as follows. A collimated laser beam 2 is emitted from the laser system 1 and subsequently impinges on a rotation unit 28”],
the beam intensity adjuster that is arranged between the condenser and the collimation lens and adjusts an intensity of the laser beam from the laser oscillator [Eifel discloses that the divergence unit may comprise one or more units, including a spatial light modulator, wherein the intensity distribution is adjusted; p. 25: “The offset laser beam 29 impinges, after the rotation unit 28, on one or more of these divergence units through which it passes or at which it is reflected.”; p. 7: “The divergence unit can preferably be a diffractive optical element with a pattern of micro- and/or nanostructures. The beam splitter can be, in addition, also a dichroic beam splitter, a refractive optical element, such as e.g. a microlens array, or another fixed or dynamic diffraction grating, such as for example a spatial light modulator, a hologram or a grating light valve.”; p. 6: “The divergence unit can however also produce any intensity distribution in the mentioned plane perpendicular to the optical axis.”], and
a rotating mechanism that rotates the condenser [p. 19: “In an advantageous embodiment, the beam splitter can be rotated about the optical axis during machining”; pp. 22-23: “The rotation unit can advantageously be a rotating plane-parallel plate of thickness t which can be actuated by a hollow shaft motor.”],
wherein
positioning the focal points of the multiple beams on the top surface of the workpiece [p. 12: “The machining device according to the invention has, furthermore, a focusing unit with which the remaining partial beams of the total beam respectively can be focused. Preferably, they can be focused thereby onto the surface to be machined.”], and
.
Although Eifel discloses the relative movement of the workpiece during processing [p. 19], Eifel does not explicitly disclose a chuck table that holds the workpiece.
Although Eifel discloses providing a collimated laser beam 2 emitted from laser system 1, upstream of divergence unit 3, Eifel does not explicitly disclose a collimation lens.
Although Eifel discloses that the focal points of the multiple beams impinging/machining the top surface of the workpiece can be deflected onto any two-dimensional path on the top surface [p. 31: “Together with the ray deflectors 16 and 18, the resulting foci can be deflected onto any two-dimensional paths on the workpiece 23.”], Eifel does not explicitly disclose a controller; and irradiating the entire area of the workpiece from the outer edge to the center.
Tayebati, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
a chuck table (i.e., a mechanical arrangement) that holds the workpiece in order to allow for moving the workpiece [p. 42: “As is well understood in the plotting and scanning art, any requisite relative motion between the output beam and the workpiece may be produced by optical deflection of the beam using a movable mirror, physical movement of the laser using a gantry, lead-screw or other arrangement, and/or a mechanical arrangement for moving the workpiece rather than (or in addition to) the beam.”];
the laser oscillator [fig. 3B: laser head 350] may include a collimation lens that collimates a laser beam into parallel light [fig. 3B: collimating lens 355; p. 11, lines 16-17: “The beam shaper may include, consist essentially of, or consist of a collimating lens for collimating a beam received from the beam emitter”; p. 26, lines 7-9: “The laser head 350 includes collimating lens 355 and focusing lens 365 to direct beam 370 onto the surface of the workpiece, just as the laser head 350 depicted in Figure 3B.”]; and
a controller for controlling laser output and the relative positioning/path of the laser during irradiation, capable of irradiating the entire area of the workpiece from the outer edge to the center [p. 8, lines 12-20: “In another aspect, embodiments of the invention feature a system for processing a workpiece. The system includes, consists essentially of, or consists of a beam emitter for emission of a laser output beam, a positioning device for varying a position of the laser output beam with respect to the workpiece, means for altering a shape of the laser output beam, and a controller, coupled to the positioning device and the shape-altering means, for operating the beam emitter cause the laser output (i) beam to traverse a path across at least a portion of the workpiece to physically alter a surface thereof and (ii) altering the shape of the laser output beam based at least in part on a thickness of the workpiece along the path.”].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the surface processing machine of Eifel, by:
including a chuck table that holds the workpiece since Tayebati discloses this would predictably allow for the requisite relative motion of the workpiece and the output beam;
substituting the laser system 1 of Eifel with the laser oscillator and collimation lens of Tayebati since Tayebati teaches this would predictably provide a collimated laser beam to the condenser; and
including a controller, wherein the controller causes the processing feed mechanism to reduce the thickness of the workpiece by irradiating the entire area of the workpiece from the outer edge to the center, as taught and suggested by Tayebati, since this would obviously allow for automatic operation of the surface processing machine [i.e., it is conventionally known that a controller allows for automatic operation of the machining device and machining process such that the laser irradiation is done in a predetermined processing path/trajectory, and it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to select a path irradiating the entire top surface, from the outer edge to the center according to the requirements of a given application, i.e., in response to different thicknesses/materials of portions of the workpiece, e.g., a top surface wherein an outer edge requires relatively more machining than the remaining inner portion; p. 11, lines 4-7: “The path may include at least one directional change. The workpiece may have at least two portions having different thicknesses. The workpiece may have at least two portions that include, consist essentially of, or consist of different materials.”; p. 25, lines 16-24: “As is well understood in the plotting and scanning art, the requisite relative motion between the beam and the workpiece may be produced by optical deflection of the beam using a movable mirror, physical movement of the laser using a gantry', lead-screw or oilier arrangement, and/or a mechanical arrangement for moving the workpiece rather than (or in addition to) the beam. The controller 310 may, in some embodiments, receive feedback regarding the position and/or processing efficacy of the beam relative to the workpiece from a feedback unit 335, which will be connected to suitable monitoring sensors. In response to signals from the feedback unit 335, the controller 310 alters the path, composition and/or polarization of the beam.”].
Regarding claim 2, Eifel in view of Tayebati discloses the surface processing machine according to claim 1.
Eifel further discloses:
wherein the condenser is a microlens array or a diffractive optical element [p. 7: “The divergence unit can preferably be a diffractive optical element with a pattern of micro- and/or nanostructures.”].
Regarding claim 3, Eifel in view of Tayebati discloses the surface processing machine according to claim 1.
Eifel further discloses:
wherein the beam intensity adjuster is configured to adjust a spatial intensity distribution of the laser beam from the laser oscillator [p. 5: “The divergence unit can preferably be regarded as a beam splitter. The partial beams can thereby form a continuous intensity distribution in a plane perpendicular to the optical axis, however they can preferably also have an intensity distribution which, for each of the partial beams, has a local maximum of intensity in the mentioned plane perpendicular to the optical axis. In this case, the partial beams respectively can be regarded or be configured as individual laser beams. The partial beams can thereby be superimposed along the optical axis in partial regions in their edge regions with adjacent partial beams or be present completely separately from each other. In the latter case, the intensity distribution in the mentioned plane is discontinuous. The distribution of the partial beams is determined by the construction of the beam splitter.”].
Regarding claim 8, Eifel in view of Tayebati discloses the surface processing machine according to claim 1.
Eifel as modified by Tayebati, specifically Tayebati further teaches:
wherein the processing unit further includes a gauge that measures one of a thickness or a height of the workpiece held on the chuck table [p. 42, lines 27-32: “ln addition, the laser system may incorporate one or more systems for detecting the thickness of the workpiece and/or heights of features thereon. For example, the laser system may incorporate systems ( or components thereof) for interferometric depth measurement of the workpiece, as detailed in U.S. Patent Application Serial No. 14/676,070, filed on April 1, 2015, the entire disclosure of which is incorporated by reference herein.”].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to further modify the surface processing machine of Eifel, by including a gauge that measures one of a thickness or a height of the workpiece held on the chuck table, since Tayebati teaches that the thickness may be utilized to optimize the processing of the workpiece [p. 42, line 32 – p. 43, line 1: “Such depth or thickness information may be utilized by the controller to control the output beam shape to optimize the processing ( e.g., cutting or welding) of the workpiece, e.g., in accordance with records in the database corresponding to the type of material being processed.”].
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eifel (DK 3094444 T3) in view of Tayebati (WO 2018013901 A2) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kanitz (US 20240316695 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Eifel in view of Tayebati discloses the surface processing machine according to claim 1.
However, Eifel does not disclose:
wherein the processing unit further includes a liquid reservoir receptacle arranged between the condenser and the workpiece and configured to submerge the surface of the workpiece in liquid.
Kanitz, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a liquid reservoir receptacle [fig. 2: process chamber 20] arranged between a focusing unit 18 and a workpiece 22 and configured to submerge the surface of the workpiece in liquid [para. 0079: “FIG. 2 shows an exemplary embodiment of a system for laser processing of a workpiece 22 in liquid according to the present invention.”].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the surface processing machine of Eifel and Tayebati, by including a liquid reservoir receptacle arranged between the condenser and the workpiece and configured to submerge the surface of the workpiece in liquid since Kanitz teaches that this allows for achieving better cutting and surface quality [para. 0005: “Furthermore, it is known from prior art to perform the laser processing operation in liquid to improve the process described above. This has the particular advantage that the workpiece is cooled directly by the liquid used, which on the one hand avoids or at least reduces undesirable thermal effects and on the other hand prevents ablated material from getting back onto the surface. In particular, this allows better cutting and surface quality to be achieved. For laser processing in liquids, a process chamber can be used, for example, which is provided to receive the workpiece and the liquid.”].
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eifel (DK 3094444 T3) in view of Tayebati (WO 2018013901 A2) and Kanitz (US 20240316695 A1) as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Jeong (KR 20110091984 A).
Regarding claim 6, Eifel in view of Tayebati and Kanitz discloses the surface processing machine according to claim 5.
Although Kanitz teaches that cavitation bubbles often form during processing [para. 0006: “In addition, cavitation bubbles often form during processing, leading to additional interference effects.”], and is directed towards reducing any corresponding interference effects [para. 0017: “The present invention allows particles and cavitation bubbles created during laser processing of workpieces to be effectively removed from the interior of the processing chamber, thereby significantly reducing any interference effects that may arise during processing.”], Eifel as modified by Tayebati and Kanitz does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the processing unit is configured to apply processing to the surface of the workpiece with plasma generated by application of the laser beams to the liquid in which the surface of the workpiece is submerged in the liquid reservoir receptacle.
Jeong, in the same field of endeavor, teaches that it is known in the art to use water submerging a surface of a workpiece to trap plasma generated by laser processing thereby maximizing pressure in a laser peening process [p. 2: “In addition, in order to prevent the diffusion of plasma generated by applying the laser peening technology and to increase the intensity of the shock wave, water is sprayed on the metal surface to which the laser beam is irradiated, or peening is performed while the specimen is submerged in water. This causes the plasma to be trapped instead of spreading around, as in the air, thus exerting a greater shock wave pressure on the metal surface. As shown in FIG. 1, a general laser pinning system beams a high power laser beam 11 from a light source unit 10 to a specimen 1 to be cured using at least one or more mirrors 21 and 22. Fix the direction of the, focusing the laser beam 11 using the focusing lens 30, increases the energy density of the laser beam (11). At this time, the specimen (1) is located in the chamber 40 filled with water (W), the water (W) is not the plasma generated when the laser beam 11 is irradiated on the specimen (1) without the specimen ( 1) Maximizes the pressure applied to the specimen 1 by focusing on the surface, and the position where pinning is required by moving the path of the laser beam 11 using the XY axis transfer unit 50. Laser peening is performed.”].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the surface processing machine of Eifel, Tayebati, and Kanitz, by using plasma generated by the application of the laser beams to the liquid in which the surface of the workpiece is submerged in the liquid reservoir receptable, since Jeong teaches that the plasma can be trapped and used to maximize pressure in a laser peening process [p. 2].
Regarding claim 7, Eifel in view of Tayebati and Kanitz discloses the surface processing machine according to claim 5.
Although Kanitz teaches that cavitation bubbles often form during processing [para. 0006: “In addition, cavitation bubbles often form during processing, leading to additional interference effects.”], and is directed towards reducing any corresponding interference effects [para. 0017: “The present invention allows particles and cavitation bubbles created during laser processing of workpieces to be effectively removed from the interior of the processing chamber, thereby significantly reducing any interference effects that may arise during processing.”], Eifel as modified by Tayebati and Kanitz does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the processing unit is configured to apply processing to the surface of the workpiece with cavitation occurred by application of the laser beams to the liquid in which the surface of the workpiece is submerged in the liquid reservoir receptacle.
Jeong, in the same field of endeavor, teaches that it is known in the art to use water submerging a surface of a workpiece to trap plasma generated by laser processing (i.e., the trapped plasma inherently creates a cavitation effect due to expansion/evaporation caused by the plasma) thereby maximizing pressure in a laser peening process [p. 2: “In addition, in order to prevent the diffusion of plasma generated by applying the laser peening technology and to increase the intensity of the shock wave, water is sprayed on the metal surface to which the laser beam is irradiated, or peening is performed while the specimen is submerged in water. This causes the plasma to be trapped instead of spreading around, as in the air, thus exerting a greater shock wave pressure on the metal surface. As shown in FIG. 1, a general laser pinning system beams a high power laser beam 11 from a light source unit 10 to a specimen 1 to be cured using at least one or more mirrors 21 and 22. Fix the direction of the, focusing the laser beam 11 using the focusing lens 30, increases the energy density of the laser beam (11). At this time, the specimen (1) is located in the chamber 40 filled with water (W), the water (W) is not the plasma generated when the laser beam 11 is irradiated on the specimen (1) without the specimen ( 1) Maximizes the pressure applied to the specimen 1 by focusing on the surface, and the position where pinning is required by moving the path of the laser beam 11 using the XY axis transfer unit 50. Laser peening is performed.”].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the surface processing machine of Eifel, Tayebati, and Kanitz, by using cavitation occurred by the application of the laser beams to the liquid in which the surface of the workpiece is submerged in the liquid reservoir receptable, since Jeong teaches that the plasma and cavitation can be trapped and used to maximize pressure in a laser peening process [p. 2].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Kung (US 20170050267 A1), in the same field of endeavor [para. 0001], discloses a collimation lens 4 [fig. 2], a controller [fig. 1: robot controller 70] and a spiral path of a laser beam [fig. 4].
Zhang (US 20120064735 A1), in the same field of endeavor [para. 0001], discloses a processing path comprising concentric circular paths [figs. 7-8].
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THEODORE J EVANGELISTA/Examiner, Art Unit 3761 /EDWARD F LANDRUM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761