DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 2-3 and 10-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 16 April 2024.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species III, corresponding to originally filed Claims 1 and 5-9, in the reply filed on 16 April 2024 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 5-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (hereinafter “Kim” US 2020 / 0013766) in view of Sagawa et al. (hereinafter “Sagawa” US 2009 / 0115708).
As pertaining to Claim 1, Kim discloses (see Fig. 3A and Fig. 4 in combination with Fig. 8 and Fig. 13) a display device (see Page 1, Para. [0002] and Page 13, Para. [0170]) comprising:
a scan line (i.e., see (Si) in Fig. 3A) configured to transmit a scan signal (i.e., a gate-on voltage), and extending in a first direction (i.e., a horizontal direction; see Page 5, Para. [0066]; and Page 6, Para. [0077] and [0080]);
a power line (i.e., see (PL) in Fig. 13 and (VDD or VSS) in Fig. 3A) configured to transmit a first power voltage or a second power voltage (i.e., VDD or VSS), and spaced apart from the scan line (i.e., see (Si) in Fig. 3A) in a second direction (i.e., a vertical direction; see Page 5, Para. [0073]; and Page 8, Para. [0103]);
sub-pixels (see (SPX1, SPX2, SPX3) in Fig. 13) comprising emission areas (see (SPA1, SPA2, SPA3) in Fig. 13) corresponding to the scan line (i.e., see (Si) in Fig. 3A) and the power line (i.e., see (PL) in Fig. 13 and (VDD or VSS) in Fig. 3A; see Page 13, Para. [0171]-[0173] and [0176]);
light-emitting elements (i.e., see (LD1, LD2, LD3) in Fig. 13) in light-emitting element arrangement areas (i.e., see (LCP1, LCP2, LCP3) in Fig. 13) in the emission areas (see (SPA1, SPA2, SPA3) in Fig. 13; see Page 7, Para. [0097]-[0098]; Page 8, Para. [0112]; Page 9, Para. [0115]; and Page 14, Para. [0183]-[0184]);
a bank pattern (see (PW) in Fig. 13) overlapping with the scan line (i.e., see (Si) in Fig. 3A) and the power line (i.e., see (PL) in Fig. 13; and see Page 13, Para. [0173] and note that the scan line (Si) and the power line (PL) are disposed in a same layer that is underneath (PW)), and defining openings (i.e., spaces) corresponding to the light-emitting element arrangement areas (i.e., see (LCP1, LCP2, LCP3) in Fig. 13; see Page 9, Para. [0116]-[0120]; and Page 13, Para. [0178]); and
a bank (see (BM) in Fig. 13) surrounding the emission areas (i.e., see (LCP1, LCP2, LCP3) in Fig. 13), and overlapping with the scan line (i.e., see (Si) in Fig. 3A), the power line (i.e., see (PL) in Fig. 13), and the bank pattern (PW; see Page 16, Para. [0208]; and again, see Page 13, Para. [0173] and again note that the scan line (Si) and the power line (PL) are disposed in a same layer that is underneath (PW));
floating patterns (see (CNL2, ELT2) in Fig. 4) extending lengthwise in the second direction (i.e., the vertical direction), and connected to the power line (see (PL) in Fig. 4 and Fig. 13) via contact holes (see (CH2) in Fig. 4); and
a first alignment electrode (see (ELT1) in Fig. 4, Fig. 8, and Fig. 13) at a periphery of first end portions (i.e., left end portions) of the light-emitting elements (i.e., see (LD1, LD2, LD3) in Fig. 13; also see Fig. 4 and Fig. 8), at a same layer (see Fig. 4) as the floating patterns (CNL2, ELT2), electrically separated from the floating patterns (see (CNL2, ELT2) in Fig. 4), aligned with a corresponding one of the floating patterns (see (CNL2, ELT2) and (ELT1) in Fig. 4) along the second direction (i.e., the vertical direction), and extending lengthwise in the second direction (i.e., the vertical direction; see Page 7 through Page 8, Para. [0099]-[0106]).
Kim does not explicitly show the layout of the scan line (Si) relative to the power line (PL). That is, Kim does not explicitly show that the scan line (Si) and the power line (PL) are disposed such that the emission areas are between the scan line (Si) and the power line (PL). However, Kim does explicitly disclose that the scan line (Si) and the power line (PL) are disposed in a same layer (again, see Para. [0173]).
Further, in the same field of endeavor, Sagawa discloses (see Fig. 3) that it was a well-known construction in the art to implement a display device (see Page 3, Para. [0049] and [0051]) comprising a scan line (52) and a power line (53) disposed in a same layer, wherein the scan line (52) extends in a first direction (i.e., a horizontal direction) and the power line (53), which is spaced apart from the scan line (52) in a second direction (i.e., a vertical direction), extends in the same direction (i.e., the horizontal direction) as the scan line (52), wherein sub-pixels (20) comprising emission areas are between the scan line (52) and the power line (53; see Page 4, Para. [0059]). Sagawa discloses a layout of the scan line and the power line that was well-known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Further, the teachings of Sagawa are generally directed to a means for improving yield in a light-emitting display device and for allowing quick and easy repair of damaged scan and power lines through the formation and layout of those scan and power lines (see Page 2, Para. [0018] and [0022]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kim with the teachings of Sagawa, such that the scan line (Si) and the power line (PL) of Kim are disposed such that the scan line (Si) and the power line (PL) extend in the first direction and are spaced apart in the second direction with emission areas between the scan line (Si) and the power line (PL), according to the suggestion of Sagawa, in order to provide a well-known scan line and power line layout that allows for improved yield and quick and easy repair.
As pertaining to Claim 5, Kim discloses (see Fig. 8 with Fig. 13) that the first alignment electrode (ELT1) comprises an end portion (i.e., a left portion) at a portion of a non-emission area (i.e., an arbitrary area) adjacent to an emission area (see (SPA1, SPA2, SPA3) in Fig. 13) of a corresponding sub-pixel (see (SPX1, SPX2, SPX3) in Fig. 13) in the second direction (i.e., the vertical direction; again, see Page 7 through Page 8, Para. [0099]-[0106]).
As pertaining to Claim 6, Kim discloses (see Fig. 8 with Fig. 13) that the first alignment electrode (i.e., see (ELT1) in Fig. 8) is electrically connected to the first end portions (i.e., the left end portions) of the light-emitting elements (i.e., see (LD1, LD2, LD3) in Fig. 13; again, see Page 7 through Page 8, Para. [0099]-[0106]).
As pertaining to Claim 7, Kim discloses (see Fig. 8 with Fig. 13) that the sub-pixels (see (SPX1, SPX2, SPX3) in Fig. 13) further comprise a pixel circuit (PCL) electrically connected to the first alignment electrode (ELT1; see Page 7, Para. [0100]).
As pertaining to Claim 8, Kim discloses (see Fig. 4, Fig. 8, and Fig. 13) that the sub-pixels (see (SPX1, SPX2, SPX3) in Fig. 13) further comprise a second alignment electrode (i.e., see any other (ELT2)) at a periphery of second end portions (i.e., right end portions) of the light-emitting elements (i.e., see (LD1, LD2, LD3) in Fig. 13), and extending in the second direction (i.e., the vertical direction; again, see Page 7 through Page 8, Para. [0099]-[0106]).
As pertaining to Claim 9, Kim discloses (see Fig. 8 with Fig. 13) that the power line (PL) is electrically connected to the second alignment electrode (i.e., the any other (ELT2); see Page 8, Para. [0103]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03 October 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant has argued that none of the references relied upon by the examiner in the prior Office Action, namely Kim and Sagawa, teach or fairly suggest the newly claimed “floating patterns extending lengthwise in the second direction” with the claimed “first alignment electrode” being “electrically separated from the floating patterns, aligned with a corresponding one of the floating patterns along the second direction, and extending lengthwise in the second direction” (see Remarks at Pages 8 through 10). The examiner respectfully disagrees, as these features are explicitly provided by Kim at least with respect to Figures 4, 8, and 13. The applicant has explicitly asserted that the teachings of Kim do not show, with respect to Figure 4, that a “floating pattern” (CNL2), as previously relied upon by the examiner in the prior Office Action, extends in a second direction, namely a vertical direction. In this regard, the examiner respectfully maintains that the claimed invention remains open to broad interpretation. That is, Kim clearly provides for a “floating pattern” that includes at least portions of both elements (CNL2) and (ELT2), wherein the floating patterns (CNL2, ELT2) extend lengthwise in the second direction, or the vertical direction (see (ELT2) in Figure 4). Kim further clearly provides for a first alignment electrode (ELT1), at a same layer as the floating patterns (CNL2, ELT2), electrically separated from the floating patterns (CNL2, ELT2), aligned with a corresponding one of the floating patterns (see (CNL2, ELT2) and (ELT1)) along the second direction, or the vertical direction, and extending lengthwise in the second direction, or the vertical direction.
Therefore, the rejection of Claims 1 and 5-9 is maintained.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kim et al. (US 2018 / 0174519) discloses a display device having bank and bank patterns pertinent to the claimed invention.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JASON M MANDEVILLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623