DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawanami et al. (“Kawanami” US 2011/0057713), Hable et al. (“Hable” US 2018/0122720), and Oka et al. (“Oka” US 2012/0098138).
Regarding claim 1, Kawanami teaches a power module package (Figure 1), comprising:
an electronic assembly including at least one substrate (202, 203, 204):
a first terminal assembly (211, on upper side of substrate 203) including at least one first power device terminal (211 is a gate signal terminal for the power devices); and
a second terminal assembly (211, on lower side of substrate 203) including at least one second power device terminal (211 is a gate terminal for the power devices);
a package layer (resin member 216) for enclosing the electronic assembly (encloses the assembly, see Figure 1), wherein each of the at least one first power device terminal (211, upper) and the at least one second power device terminal (211, lower) has a portion protruding from a side surface of the package layer (216) and being exposed outside the package layer (216, see Figure 1, terminals 211 protrude from the left side surface of the package layer 216); and
an electrical isolation portion located on the side surface of the package layer (216, electrical isolation portion is the portion of the left side of the package layer 216 that extends between the upper and lower terminals 211, this provides a creepage/insulation distance and electrical insulation between the terminals and thus is considered an electrical isolation portion) and between the at least one first power device terminal (211, upper) and the at least one second power device terminal (211, lower, see Figure 1).
wherein the at least one first power device terminal (211, upper) and the at least one second power device terminal (211, lower) respectively extend from different surfaces of the substrate (203, extend from the upper and lower surfaces of the substrate 203, respectively), and a height difference is formed between the at least one first power device terminal and the at least one second power device terminal (see Figure 1, there is a height difference between the upper and lower terminals 211);
wherein the at least one first power device terminal (211, upper) includes a first contact section (section with the lower surface directly physically contacting joining material 210) and a first non-contact section (section of 211, upper with lower surface not directly contacting 210), the first contact section is directly connected to the substrate (203, first contact section is directly connected to the substrate through joining material 210), and the first non-contact section is not in contact with the substrate (203, see Figure 1), and the substrate (203) protrudes from the first contact section and extends to a position under the first non-contact section (see Figure 1, see also annotated Figure 1 below);
wherein the at least one second power device terminal (211, lower) includes a second contact section (section with the upper surface directly physically contacting joining material 210) and a second non-contact section (section with upper surface not directly contacting 210), the second contact section (section of 211, lower contacting the joining material 210) is directly connected to the substrate (directly connected to the substrate 203 through the joining material 210, see Figure 1), and the second non-contact section (portion of 211, lower not directly contacting the joining material 210) is not in contact with the substrate (203, see Figure 1), and the substrate (203) protrudes from the second contact section (portion of 211, lower that directly contacts the joining material 210) and extends to a position above the second non-contact section (portion of 211, lower not in direct contact with the joining material 210, see Figure 1);
wherein the at least one first power device terminal (211, upper) and the at least one second power device terminal (211, lower) are symmetric with respect to the electrical isolation portion (left side portion of package layer 216 between the terminals 211, see Figure 1); and
wherein a side edge of the substrate (203) is laterally aligned with the electrical isolation portion of the package layer (216, see Figure 1, which shows the substrate 203 provided on the same horizontal extending region as the portion of the package layer between the terminals 211, thus is considered laterally aligned with the electrical isolation portion of the package layer 216).
Kawanami does not teach that the electrical isolation portion is recessed within the side surface of the package layer, or that the non-contact section of the terminals includes a bending portion and an extending portion, the bending portions extend in opposite directions to each other in a thickness direction of the substrate, and the extending portions extend in a direction transverse to the thickness direction and protrude from the package layer.
However, Hable teaches two terminals (118/119, see Figure 1), an electrical isolation portion (dielectric film 170) between the terminals (118/119, see Figure 1) that is also recessed within a side surface of the package layer (108, see Figure 1 which shows the dielectric film 170 protrudes into a recessed side surface of the package layer 108).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Hable into the teachings of Kawanami to include the electrical isolation portion between the terminals recessed within a side surface of the package layer for the purpose of providing further electrical isolation therebetween which reduces parasitic electrical coupling (Hable, para. [0030], [0075]). The combination of the teachings of Kawanami and Hable would result in the following structure:
Further, Oka teaches terminals (10) having non-contact sections (21 plus portion protruding from mold resin 7) including a bending portion (21) and an extending portion (portion outside of the mold resin 7), the bending portions (21) extend in opposite directions to each other (see Figure 1, they extend away from each other horizontally) in a thickness direction of the substrate (the substrate 1 has thickness in the horizontal direction of Figure 1), and the extending portions (portions outside of the mold resin 7) extend in a direction transverse to the thickness direction (upwards in Figure 1, perpendicular or transverse to the horizontal direction in Figure 1) and protrude from the package layer (mold resin 7, see Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Oka into the teachings of Kawanami and Hable to include the bending and extending portions of the terminals in order to further increase the insulating distance between external electrodes (Oka, para. [0056]).
Regarding claim 7, Kawanami teaches wherein the at least one first power device terminal (211, upper) and the at least one second power device terminal (211, lower) are aligned with each other in a thickness direction of the substrate (203, cross-section of Figure 1 shows the upper and lower terminals 211 are aligned vertically).
Regarding claim 13, Kawanami teaches wherein the substrate (203) further includes:
an insulating plate (203) having a first surface and a second surface opposite to each other (upper and lower surfaces of the insulating plate 203),
wherein the insulating plate has a side edge extending along a direction (left side edge extending in a vertical direction, see Figure 1);
a first circuit pattern layer (upper “wiring layer” disposed between insulating plate 203 and joining material 210, see Figure 1 and para. [0038]-[0039]) disposed on the first surface of the insulating plate (203, upper surface), wherein the first terminal assembly (211, upper) is connected to the first circuit pattern layer (upper wiring layer is connected to the upper terminal 211 through joining material, see Figure 1); and
a second circuit pattern layer (lower “wiring layer” disposed between insulating plate 203 and lower joining material 210, see Figure 1) disposed on the second surface of the insulating plate (203, lower surface),
wherein the second terminal assembly (211, lower) is connected to the second circuit pattern layer (lower wiring layer, see Figure 1).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawanami, Hable, and Oka as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Gong et al. (“Gong” US 2023/0326907).
Regarding claim 14, Kawanami does not teach a temperature sensor.
Gong teaches that the electronic assembly (Figure 5) further includes a temperature sensor (13) disposed on the substrate (1, para. [0048], Figure 5), and the first terminal assembly (14, 15, 16) further includes a temperature sensing pin group (16, para. [0048]) electrically connected to the temperature sensor (13, see Figure 5 and para. [0048]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Gong into the teachings of Kawanami, Hable, and Oka to include a temperature sensor as described above for the purpose of improving service life of the device (Gong, para. [0048]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendment to claim 1 with respect to the 112(b) rejection of claim 1 have been fully considered and overcome the 112(b) rejection. The 112(b) rejection of claim 1 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the prior art rejection have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Genevieve G Bullard-Connor/Examiner, Art Unit 2899 /DALE E PAGE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2899