DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/19/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding the amendment, it is addressed below as Lu teaches this new limitations as the dopant is introduced in different levels and the concentration may be different which is equivalent to asymmetric distribution. Pandey also teaches the same limitation as explained below in the rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10-13 and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu; Zhenyu (US PGpub: 2021/0035994 A1), herein after Lu, in view of Pandey et al. (US PGpub: 2015/0340372 A1), herein after Pandey.
Regarding claim 10, Lu teaches an electronic component with at least one layer of a ferroelectric or antiferroelectric material, wherein the layer is provided, for setting an imprint, with a chemical element as a dopant (Paragraph [0046], [0051]), and is introduced into the layer in a locally inhomogeneous distribution (Paragraph [0038], [0049]-[0052]) the layer comprises at least two sub-layers, each sub-layer having a substantially uniform dopant concentration different from that of an adjacent sub-layer (FIG. 2C-2E and description Paragraph [0012]-[0014], [0060]-[0062]. In fact having “a layer with plurality of sub-layer with substantially uniform dopant concentration different from that of an adjacent sub-layer” is known in the industry as taught in YOO; Hyangkeun (US PGpub: 20200105770 A1) in Paragraph [0057], FIG. 7), wherein the chemical element is introduced into the layer in an asymmetric (As stated in Paragraph [0012]-[0014], dopant concentration at the surface may be the same as or different from a dopant concentration at the middle level. Also, in some embodiments, the second level includes another middle level of the doped ferroelectric layer between the surface and the middle level. A dopant concentration at the other middle level may be the same as or different from the dopant concentration at surface and may be the same as or different from the dopant concentration at the middle level. This indicates that the dopant is introduced into the layer can be as asymmetric distribution).
Lu does not explicitly, perhaps, teach dopant with chemical element as a dopant which has a different number of free outer electrons than a non-oxide element of the ferroelectric or antiferroelectric material.
However, Pandey teaches dopant with chemical element as a dopant which has a different number of free outer electrons than a non-oxide element of the ferroelectric or antiferroelectric material (Paragraph [0041]-[0052]). Also, as stated in Paragraph [0050], the dopant concentration may be increased in order to achieve desired crystallization having ferroelectric properties. This indicates that the dopant can be introduced into the layer in an asymmetric distribution.
Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use Lu’s electronic component with other teaching from Pandey so that the device resulting in a crystallized oxide layer that is suitable as a FE material for an FE memory cell.
Regarding claim 11, Lu teaches the electronic component according to claim 10, wherein the chemical element is introduced at a proportion with respect to the material with which the layer is formed of between 1 percent and 10 percent (Paragraph [0051]-[0062], [0066]-[0068], [0077])..
Regarding claim 12, Lu teaches the electronic component according to claim 10, wherein said layer is formed of a ferroelectric material having a fluorite structure (Paragraph [0051]-[0062], [0066]-[0068], [0077]). ferroelectric layer known to include at least one of a fluorite-based material or perovskite as in US 11843037 B2 (Choe et al.). ferroelectrics have a spontaneous dipole (electric dipole), namely, spontaneous polarization, because a charge distribution within a unit cell is non-centrosymmetric in a crystallized material structure. The ferroelectrics may also have a remnant polarization due to a dipole even in a state where there are no external electric fields. In the ferroelectrics, a direction of polarization may be switched in units of domain by an external electric field.
Regarding claim 13, Lu d teaches the electronic component according to claim 10, wherein the ferroelectric material is hafnium oxide or zirconium oxide (Paragraph [0042]-[0062], [0066]-[0068], [0077]).
Regarding claim 14, Lu teaches the electronic component according to claim 10, wherein the chemical element is introduced into the layer in an asymmetric distribution (Paragraph [0051]-[0062], [0066]-[0068], [0077])..
Regarding claim 15, Lu teaches the electronic component according to claim 10, wherein the chemical element is selected from aluminum, lanthanum and yttrium (Paragraph [0051]-[0062], [0066]-[0068], [0077])..
Regarding claim 16, Lu teaches the electronic component according to claim 10, wherein the layer is formed with an antiferroelectric material in which the chemical element used for doping is contained in the layer material in such a way that when the external electrical potential is neutral, the polarization of the layer does not switch back (Paragraph [0051]-[0062], [0066]-[0068], [0077]).
Regarding claim 17, Lu teaches a buffer capacitor as an electronic component according to claim 16 (FeRaM is a storage device which has memory associated with it).
Regarding claim 18, Lu teaches a method of manufacturing an electronic component having at least one layer of a ferroelectric or antiferroelectric material, wherein the layer is provided, for setting an imprint, with a chemical element as a dopant (Paragraph [0046], [0051]) and is introduced into the layer in a locally inhomogeneous distribution (Paragraph [0042]-[0062], [0066]-[0068], [0077]), adding at least two sub-layers to the at least one layer of ferroelectric or antiferroelectric material, wherein each sub-layer is provided with a substantially uniform dopant concentration different from that of an adjacent sub-layer (FIG. 2C-2E and description Paragraph [0012]-[0014], [0060]-[0062]. In fact having “a layer with plurality of sub-layer with substantially uniform dopant concentration different from that of an adjacent sub-layer” is known in the industry as taught in YOO; Hyangkeun (US PGpub: 20200105770 A1) in Paragraph [0057], FIG. 7), wherein the chemical element is introduced into the layer in an asymmetric (As stated in Paragraph [0012]-[0014], dopant concentration at the surface may be the same as or different from a dopant concentration at the middle level. Also, in some embodiments, the second level includes another middle level of the doped ferroelectric layer between the surface and the middle level. A dopant concentration at the other middle level may be the same as or different from the dopant concentration at surface and may be the same as or different from the dopant concentration at the middle level. This indicates that the dopant is introduced into the layer may be as asymmetric distribution).
Lu does not explicitly, perhaps, teach dopant with chemical element as a dopant which has a different number of free outer electrons than a non-oxide element of the ferroelectric or antiferroelectric material..
However, Pandey teaches dopant with chemical element as a dopant which has a different number of free outer electrons than a non-oxide element of the ferroelectric or antiferroelectric material (Paragraph [0041]-[0052]). Also, as stated in Paragraph [0050], the dopant concentration may be increased in order to achieve desired crystallization having ferroelectric properties. This indicates that the dopant can be introduced into the layer in an asymmetric distribution.
Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use Lu’s electronic component with other teaching from Pandey so that the method resulting in a crystallized oxide layer that is suitable as a FE material for an FE memory cell.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHEIKH MARUF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897