Allowable Subject Matter
The indicated allowability of the subject matter previously recited in claims 4, 7, and 9 is withdrawn in view of the newly discovered reference U.S. Patent Application Publication No 2020/0108382 to Cox-Muranami et al. Rejections based on the newly cited reference follow.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 1, 3, 5-7, 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over International Patent Publication No. WO2020/187617 to Govindaraju et al. (cited by applicant) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No 2020/0108382 to Cox-Muranami et al.
Govindaraju et al. discloses an apparatus for supplying a target material ([0002]) that includes an inert gas pressurized reservoir 1193 that supplies pressure to a plurality of liquid containing reservoirs 112 and 113 as shown in Fig. 11. [0149]
Govindaraju et al. teaches that the flow rate of the fluid target material 120 from the second fluid reservoir 113 to the first fluid reservoir 112 is controlled by the flow rate of the inert gas transferred from the pressurized reservoir 1193 to the first fluid reservoir 112 (as this controls the pressure of the gas inside the first fluid reservoir 112). [0149]
Govindaraju et al. teaches that flow regulation apparatuses can be included ([0057]) but does not teach controller coupled to a gas flow rate sensor that measures the rate of flow of pressurized gas to the reservoirs.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to use a volume of the gas that has been transferred from the pressurized reservoir 1193 to determine a volume of the fluid target material that remains in the first fluid reservoir 112 and the second fluid reservoir 113, and that modifying Govindaraju et al. to include a gas flow rate sensor would be an obvious means to monitor the volume of gas transferred to the reservoirs 112 and 113 for purposes of calculating the volume of liquid displaced by the gas.
Govindaraju et al does not teach a cartridge in which the plurality of reservoirs are located, which cartridge is removably coupled to the instrument.
Cox-Muranami et al. teaches a fluid cartridge 52 that can be used in an instrument 50, which fluid cartridge includes a plurality of reservoirs 110 and a flow control valve 104. (Fig. 21, [0109]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Govindaraju to be configured to receive the plurality of reservoirs in a removable cartridge as taught by Cox-Muranami et al. for purposes of being able to switch out different fluids in reservoirs provided in different cartridges.
I.) Regarding applicant’s claim 1, as noted above Govindaraju et al. in view of Cox-Muranami et al. renders all the limitations of claim 1 obvious.
Therefore, Govindaraju et al. in view of Cox-Muranami et al. renders claim 1 obvious.
II.) Regarding applicant’s claim 3, as noted above Govindaraju et al. in view of Cox-Muranami et al. renders claim 1 obvious from which claim 3 depends.
Claim 3 recites that the respective liquids comprise reagents.
The liquids in the reservoirs do not structurally limit the instrument of claim 1 and therefore are not afforded patentable weight.
Accordingly, Govindaraju et al. in view of Cox-Muranami et al. renders claim 3 obvious as noted above in reference to claim 1.
III.) Regarding applicant’s claim 5, as noted above Govindaraju et al. in view of Cox-Muranami et al. renders claim 1 obvious from which claim 5 depends.
Claim 5 recites the controller actuates a plurality of actuators to selectively control the displacement of the liquids.
Govindaraju et al. in view of Cox-Muranami et al. does not teach that the controller actuates a plurality of actuators to selectively control the displacement of the liquids.
Applicant discloses that the claimed actuators are valves. [0061]
Cox-Muranami et al. teaches a valve 104 that is provided on cartridge 52.
Modifying Govindaraju et al. in view of Cox-Muranami et al. to include a plurality of valves to control the gas flow to each of the reservoirs 112 and 113 separately and providing a controller to actuate the valves would have been obvious since duplication of parts is deemed obvious unless a new and unexpected result is produced. (MPEP 2144.04 (VI)(B)).
Therefore, Govindaraju et al. in view of Cox-Muranami et al. renders claim 5 obvious.
IV.) Regarding applicant’s claim 6, as noted above Govindaraju et al. in view of Cox-Muranami et al. renders claim 5 obvious from which claim 6 depends.
Claim 6 recites that actuators comprise valves.
As noted above, Cox-Muranami et al. teaches a valve 104 that is provided on cartridge 52.
Therefore, Govindaraju et al. in view of Cox-Muranami et al. renders claim 6 obvious.
V.) Regarding applicant’s claim 7, as noted above Govindaraju et al. in view of Cox-Muranami et al. renders claim 5 obvious from which claim 7 depends.
Claim 7 recites that the actuators are located on the cartridge.
As noted above, Cox-Muranami et al. teaches a valve 104 that is provided on cartridge 52.
Modifying Govindaraju et al. in view of Cox-Muranami et al. to include a plurality of valves on the cartridge to control the gas flow to each of the reservoirs 112 and 113 separately would have been obvious since duplication of parts is deem obvious unless a new and unexpected result is produced. (MPEP 2144.04 (VI)(B)).
Therefore, Govindaraju et al. in view of Cox-Muranami et al. renders claim 7 obvious.
VI.) Regarding applicant’s claim 10, as noted above Govindaraju et al. in view of Cox-Muranami et al. renders claim 1 obvious from which claim 10 depends.
Claim 10 recites that the gas comprises nitrogen.
The type of gas used in the instrument system of claim 1 does not encompass any structural limitations to claim 1 and is not afforded patentable weight.
In any event, Govindaraju et al. teaches the use of an inert gas rendering obvious the use of any inert gas including nitrogen gas.
Therefore, Govindaraju et al. in view of Cox-Muranami et al. renders claim 10 obvious.
VII.) Regarding applicant’s claim 11, as noted above Govindaraju et al. in view of Cox-Muranami et al. renders claim 1 obvious from which claim 11 depends.
Claim 11 recites a pressure regulator coupled upstream of the gas flow rate sensor.
Govindaraju et al. teaches that the flow rate of the fluid target material 120 from the second fluid reservoir 113 to the first fluid reservoir 112 is controlled by the flow rate of the inert gas transferred from the pressurized reservoir 1193 to the first fluid reservoir 112. [0149]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill that a volume of the gas that has been transferred from the pressurized reservoir 1193 can be used to determine a volume of the fluid target material that remains in the first fluid reservoir 112 and the second fluid reservoir 113, and that modifying Govindaraju et al. in view of Cox-Muranami et al. to include a gas flow rate sensor would be an obvious means to monitor the volume of gas transferred to the reservoirs 112 and 113 for purposes of calculating the volume of liquid displaced by the gas.
It would have further been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Govindaraju et al. to include a pressure regulator upstream of the gas flow rate sensor to control the gas flow rate based on Govindaraju et al. teaching controlling the gas flow rate.
Therefore, Govindaraju et al. in view of Cox-Muranami et al. renders claim 11 obvious.
2. Claim 9 is rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Govindaraju et al.
As noted above, Govindaraju et al. discloses an apparatus for supplying a target material ([0002]) that includes an inert gas pressurized reservoir 1193 that supplies pressure to a plurality of liquid containing reservoirs 112 and 113 as shown in Fig. 11. [0149]
Govindaraju et al. teaches that the flow rate of the fluid target material 120 from the second fluid reservoir 113 to the first fluid reservoir 112 is controlled by the flow rate of the inert gas transferred from the pressurized reservoir 1193 to the first fluid reservoir 112 (as this controls the pressure of the gas inside the first fluid reservoir 112). [0149]
Govindaraju et al. teaches that flow regulation apparatuses can be included ([0057]) but does not teach controller coupled to a gas flow rate sensor that measures the rate of flow of pressurized gas to the reservoirs.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to use a volume of the gas that has been transferred from the pressurized reservoir 1193 to determine a volume of the fluid target material that remains in the first fluid reservoir 112 and the second fluid reservoir 113, and that modifying Govindaraju et al. to include a gas flow rate sensor would be an obvious means to monitor the volume of gas transferred to the reservoirs 112 and 113 for purposes of calculating the volume of liquid displaced by the gas.
I.) Regarding applicant’s claim 9, as noted above, Govindaraju et al. teaches or renders all of the elements of claim 9.
Therefore, Govindaraju et al. renders claim 9 obvious.
3. Claim 12 is rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Govindaraju et al. as applied to claim 9 and further in view of Cox-Muranami et al
I.) Regarding applicant’s claim 12, as noted above, Govindaraju et al. renders claim 9 obvious from which claim 12 depends.
Claim 12 recites a cartridge that is removably coupled to the instrument, wherein: the flow of pressurized gas displaces a plurality of fluids from a plurality of reservoirs storing respective liquids, and the reservoirs are located within the cartridge.
Govindaraju et al does not teach a cartridge in which the plurality of reservoirs are located, which cartridge is removably coupled to the instrument.
Cox-Muranami et al. teaches a fluid cartridge 52 that can be used in an instrument 50, which fluid cartridge includes a plurality of reservoirs 110, a flow control valve 104. (Fig. 21, [0109]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Govindaraju to be configured to receive the plurality of reservoirs in a removable cartridge as taught by Cox-Muranami et al. for purposes of being able to switch out different fluids in reservoirs provided in different cartridges.
I.) Regarding applicant’s claim 12, as noted above Govindaraju et al. in view of Cox-Muranami et al. renders all the limitations of claim 12 obvious.
Therefore, Govindaraju et al. in view of Cox-Muranami et al. renders claim 12 obvious.
4. Claim 46 is rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Govindaraju et al.
As noted above, Govindaraju et al. discloses an apparatus for supplying a target material ([0002]) that includes an inert gas pressurized reservoir 1193 that supplies pressure to a plurality of liquid containing reservoirs 112 and 113 as shown in Fig. 11. [0149]
Govindaraju et al. teaches that the flow rate of the fluid target material 120 from the second fluid reservoir 113 to the first fluid reservoir 112 is controlled by the flow rate of the inert gas transferred from the pressurized reservoir 1193 to the first fluid reservoir 112 (as this controls the pressure of the gas inside the first fluid reservoir 112). [0149]
Govindaraju et al. teaches that flow regulation apparatuses can be included ([0057]) but does not teach controller coupled to a gas flow rate sensor that measures the rate of flow of pressurized gas to the reservoirs.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to use a volume of the gas that has been transferred from the pressurized reservoir 1193 to determine a volume of the fluid target material that remains in the first fluid reservoir 112 and the second fluid reservoir 113, and that modifying Govindaraju et al. to include a gas flow rate sensor would be an obvious means to monitor the volume of gas transferred to the reservoirs 112 and 113 for purposes of calculating the volume of liquid displaced by the gas.
I.) regarding applicant’s claim 46, as noted above Govindaraju et al. teaches or renders obvious all the elements of claim 46.
Therefore, Govindaraju et al. renders claim 46 obvious.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0011847 to Brockman et al. teaches a cartridge 100 that includes a plurality of channels 114 and/or valves 115A, 115B and cavities 108 that are filled with liquids. [0093], [0099] Fig. 2.
/M.S.G./Examiner, Art Unit 1798
/CHARLES CAPOZZI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1798