DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 7, 14, and 27 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claims 1, 7, and 14, “over the substrate and insulating material” should be changed to “over the substrate and the insulating material”.
Regarding claim 27, “to the substrate and insulating material” should be changed to “to the substrate and the insulating material”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 6-7, 10, and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ching Tee et al. (US 2013/0320485 A1; hereinafter “Ching”).
Regarding claim 1, referring to Figs. 6-7, Ching teaches a power transistor including a plurality of cells (a SOI power IC including two transistors as shown in Fig. 7 and a half of Fig. 7 is shown in Fig. 6), each cell comprising: a substrate (604) including a notch formed in a top surface of the substrate (a notch region in a top surface of 604 where 614 is formed therein); an insulating material (614) disposed to completely fill the notch with a top surface of the insulating material co-planar with the top surface of the substrate (a top surface of 614 is co-planar with a top surface of 604); and a semiconductor layer (a semiconductor layer including 606, 613, 620, and 624) disposed over the substrate and insulating material, wherein the semiconductor layer includes a first region of the cell with a first type of semiconductor material (a p-well 624) and a second region of the cell with a second type of semiconductor material (a lateral semiconductor region 606 is n-doped) opposite the first type of semiconductor material, wherein the first region directly physically contacts the top surface of the insulating material and is isolated from the substrate by the insulating material (624 is in direct physical contact with 614 and is isolated from 604 by 614) (Fig. 6), and wherein the second region extends laterally to outside a footprint of the insulating material (a footprint of 614 in a vertical direction) to directly physically contact the substrate (606 is in direct physical contact with 604) (Figs. 6-7 and paragraphs 65-71).
Ching teaches each and every limitation of the power transistor including the insulating material within the notch identically as claimed as discussed above. As such, the claimed property/function of the power transistor including the insulating material within the recessed area (i.e., “the power transistor with a reduced output capacitance by nature of the insulating material within the notch”) is presumed to be inherent: Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977) and MPEP 2112.01.
Regarding claim 4, Ching teaches wherein the notch includes a step (the notch region in 604 includes a single step towards the top surface of 604) (Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 6, Ching teaches wherein the insulating material includes an oxide (paragraphs 2 and 67).
Regarding claim 7, referring to Figs. 6-7, Ching teaches a semiconductor device, comprising: a substrate (604) including a recessed area within the substrate (a recessed region within 604 where 614 is formed therein); an insulating material (614) disposed in the recessed area with a surface of the insulating material co-planar with a surface of the substrate (a top surface of 614 is co-planar with a top surface of 604); and a semiconductor layer (a semiconductor layer including 606, 613, 620, and 624) formed disposed over the substrate and insulating material, wherein the semiconductor layer includes a first region with a first type of semiconductor material (a p-well 624) and a second region with a second type of semiconductor material (a lateral semiconductor region 606 is n-doped) opposite the first type of semiconductor material, wherein the first region contacts the surface of the insulating material and is isolated from the substrate by the insulating material (624 is in direct physical contact with 614 and is isolated from 604 by 614) (Fig. 6), and wherein the second region extends laterally to outside a footprint of the insulating material (a footprint of 614 in a vertical direction) to contact the substrate (Figs. 6-7 and paragraphs 65-71).
Regarding claim 10, Ching teaches wherein the recessed area includes a step (the recessed region within 604 includes a single step towards the top surface of 604) (Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 12, Ching teaches wherein the insulating material includes an oxide (paragraphs 2 and 67).
Regarding claim 13, Ching teaches wherein the semiconductor layer includes a cell of a power transistor (a SOI power IC including a transistor) (Figs. 6-7 and paragraphs 1, 46, and 65). Furthermore, Ching teaches each and every limitation of the power transistor including the insulating material within the recessed area identically as claimed as discussed above. As such, the claimed property/function of the power transistor including the insulating material within the recessed area (i.e., “the power transistor with a reduced output capacitance by nature of the insulating material within the recessed area”) is presumed to be inherent: Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977) and MPEP 2112.01.
Claims 1, 4-7, 10-14, and 17-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ning (US 2018/0012966 A1).
Regarding claim 1, referring to Figs. 5-11, Ning teaches a power transistor including a plurality of cells (a LDMOSFET including 20A and 20B), each cell (for example 20B) comprising: a substrate (a combination of 2 and 3A, wherein 3A is a bottom part of 3 in Fig. 11) including a notch (32) formed in a top surface of the substrate (32 in a top surface of 3A); an insulating material (24 including 24A and 24B) disposed to completely fill the notch (24 is disposed to completely fill 32 with 22) with a top surface of the insulating material co-planar with the top surface of the substrate (a top surface of 24B of 24 is co-planar with a top surface of 3A); and a semiconductor layer (34B shown in Fig. 10) disposed over the substrate and insulating material, wherein the semiconductor layer includes a first region of the cell with a first type of semiconductor material (a p-type body 4) and a second region of the cell with a second type of semiconductor material (a top part of an n-type drift region 3, which is from 34B) opposite the first type of semiconductor material, wherein the first region directly physically contacts the top surface of the insulating material and is isolated from the substrate by the insulating material (4 is in direct physical contact with 24 and is isolated from 2 and 3A by 24) (Fig. 11), and wherein the second region extends laterally to outside a footprint of the insulating material (a footprint of 24 in a vertical direction) to directly physically contact the substrate (the top part of 3, which is from 34B is in direct physical contact with the bottom part of 3, which is from 3A) (paragraphs 3 and 34-49).
Ning teaches each and every limitation of the power transistor including the insulating material within the notch identically as claimed as discussed above. As such, the claimed property/function of the power transistor including the insulating material within the recessed area (i.e., “the power transistor with a reduced output capacitance by nature of the insulating material within the notch”) is presumed to be inherent: Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977) and MPEP 2112.01.
Regarding claim 4, Ning teaches wherein the notch includes a step (32 includes a single step towards the top surface of 3A as shown in Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 5, Ning teaches wherein the insulating material includes a first thickness (a thickness of 24A) and a second thickness (a combined thickness of 24A and 24B) greater than the first thickness within the notch (Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 6, Ning teaches wherein the insulating material includes an oxide (paragraphs 38-39).
Regarding claim 7, referring to Figs. 5-11, Ning teaches a semiconductor device, comprising: a substrate (a combination of 2 and 3A, wherein 3A is a bottom part of 3 in Fig. 11) including a recessed area (32) within the substrate; an insulating material (24 including 24A and 24B) disposed in the recessed area with a surface of the insulating material co-planar with a surface of the substrate (a top surface of 24B of 24 is co-planar with a top surface of 3A); and a semiconductor layer (34B shown in Fig. 10) formed disposed over the substrate and insulating material, wherein the semiconductor layer includes a first region with a first type of semiconductor material (a p-type body 4) and a second region with a second type of semiconductor material (a top part of an n-type drift region 3, which is from 34B) opposite the first type of semiconductor material, wherein the first region contacts the surface of the insulating material and is isolated from the substrate by the insulating material (4 is in contact with 24 and is isolated from 2 and 3A by 24) (Fig. 11), and wherein the second region extends laterally to outside a footprint of the insulating material (a footprint of 24 in a vertical direction) to contact the substrate (paragraphs 3 and 34-49).
Regarding claim 10, Ning teaches wherein the notch includes a step (32 includes a single step towards the top surface of 3A as shown in Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 11, Ning teaches wherein the insulating material includes a first thickness (a thickness of 24A) and a second thickness (a combined thickness of 24A and 24B) greater than the first thickness within the notch (Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 12, Ning teaches wherein the insulating material includes an oxide (paragraphs 38-39).
Regarding claim 13, Ning teaches wherein the semiconductor layer includes a cell of a power transistor (a LDMOSFET including at least 20B) (Fig. 11 and paragraphs 1 and 42). Furthermore, Ning teaches each and every limitation of the power transistor including the insulating material within the recessed area identically as claimed as discussed above. As such, the claimed property/function of the power transistor including the insulating material within the recessed area (i.e., “the power transistor with a reduced output capacitance by nature of the insulating material within the recessed area”) is presumed to be inherent: Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977) and MPEP 2112.01.
Regarding claim 14, Ning teaches a method of making a semiconductor device, comprising: providing a substrate (2 and 3A) (Fig. 5 and paragraphs 34-35); forming a recessed area (32) within the substrate (Fig. 6 and paragraph 37); forming an insulating material (24 including 24A and 24B) to completely fill the recessed area (forming 24 to completely fill 32 with 22 together) with a surface of the insulating material co-planar with a surface of the substrate (a top surface of 24B of 24 is co-planar with a top surface of 3A) (Fig. 8 and paragraphs 38-39); and forming a semiconductor layer (34B) over the substrate and insulating material (Figs. 10-11 and paragraphs 40-43), wherein the semiconductor layer includes a first region with a first type of semiconductor material (a p-type body 4) and a second region with a second type of semiconductor material (a top part of an n-type drift region 3, which is from 34B) opposite the first type of semiconductor material, wherein the first region contacts the surface of the insulating material and is isolated from the substrate by the insulating material (4 is in contact with 24 and is isolated from 2 by 24) (Fig. 11), and wherein the second region extends laterally to outside a footprint of the insulating material (a footprint of 24 in a vertical direction) to contact the substrate (the top part of 3 is in contact with the bottom part of 3) (paragraphs 3 and 34-49).
Regarding claim 17, Ning teaches wherein the recessed area includes a step (32 includes a single step towards the top surface of 3A as shown in Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 18, Ning teaches wherein the insulating material includes a first thickness (a thickness of 24A) and a second thickness (a combined thickness of 24A and 24B) greater than the first thickness within the notch (Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 19, Ning teaches wherein the insulating material includes an oxide (paragraphs 38-39).
Regarding claim 20, Ning teaches wherein the semiconductor layer includes a cell of a power transistor (a LDMOSFET including at least 20B) (Fig. 11 and paragraphs 1 and 42).
Regarding claim 21, Ning teaches each and every limitation of the power transistor including the insulating material within the recessed area identically as claimed as discussed above. As such, the claimed property/function of the power transistor including the insulating material within the recessed area (i.e., “the power transistor has a reduced output capacitance by nature of the insulating material within the recessed area”) is presumed to be inherent: Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977) and MPEP 2112.01.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 22-25 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ning.
Regarding claims 22-25, while Ning does not explicitly teach that the insulating material has a thickness in the range of 1.0-2.0 µm, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adjust the thickness of the insulating material by a routine experimentation in order to obtain the optimal and/or workable insulating material thickness range, including the claimed range of 1.0-2.0 µm while maintaining the function of the insulating material (i.e., avoiding the leakage): It has held that discovering an optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Furthermore, since the claimed thickness of the insulating material is discussed above over Ning, the claimed property/function for the insulating material having such thickness (“to reduce the output capacitance” in claims 22-24 and “such that the first region fully depletes at a drain-source voltage of less than about 20 volts” in claim 25) is presumed to be inherent.
Regarding claim 27, Ning does not teach a bonding process for the semiconductor layer to the substrate and the insulating material since Ning teaches epitaxial process for growing 34B (Figs. 9-10 and paragraphs 40-41). Nevertheless, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form 34B along with 34A together by a different process such as a deposition/bonding process as a well known layer formation process known in the art for obtaining the predictable layer structure.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 26 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to amended and newly submitted claims have been considered but are moot in view of new/different grounds of rejections as set forth above in this Office Action.
Conclusion
/DANIEL WHALEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893