DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are presented for the examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 9, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Balle (US 20200409877) in view of Singh(US 20090307442 A1) and further in view of Coppola( US 20170206169 A1).
As to claim 1, Balle teaches processor(executed by one or more processors, para[0024], ln 6-8), one or more circuits to perform an application programming interface (API) to transfer information between memory of one or more first accelerators and memory of one or more second accelerators ( in block 2216, the accelerator device 1620 may receive a request from the kernel 1660 to write data at a local memory address to a memory address of a remote accelerator device. The request may be received through an application programming interface exposed to a high level software language in which the kernel 1660 of the accelerator device 1620 is implemented in block 2218. Such a request may be embodied as a command to the communication abstraction logic unit 1640 that includes a write instruction as well as one or more remote memory addresses and/or one or more local memory addresses, para[0103], ln 1-15/ Fig. 16/ Example 11 includes the subject matter of any of Examples 8-10, and wherein the circuitry is further to receive, from the kernel and through the application programming interface, a request to write data at a memory address of the accelerator device to a second memory address of the remote accelerator device; and transmit, to the remote accelerator device and through the logical communication path established between the accelerator device and the remote accelerator device, the write request and the data at the memory address of the accelerator device, para[0117]),
the API call including address information of data stored in memory of one or more first accelerators( The request may be received through an application programming interface exposed to a high level software language in which the kernel 1660 of the accelerator device 1620 is implemented in block 2204. Such a request may be embodied as a command to the communication abstraction logic unit 1640 that includes a read instruction as well as one or more remote memory addresses and/or one or more local memory addresses. In block 2206, the accelerator device 1620 may transmit the read request for the data at the memory address through a logical communication path to the remote accelerator device. After the remote accelerator processes the request (e.g., by the communication abstraction logic unit 1644 or 1648), the accelerator device 1620 receives the data that was at the memory address of the remote accelerator device, para[0101], ln 15-27 to para[0102], ln 1-12/ In block 2216, the accelerator device 1620 may receive a request from the kernel 1660 to write data at a local memory address to a memory address of a remote accelerator device. The request may be received through an application programming interface exposed to a high level software language in which the kernel 1660 of the accelerator device 1620 is implemented in block 2218. Such a request may be embodied as a command to the communication abstraction logic unit 1640 that includes a write instruction as well as one or more remote memory addresses and/or one or more local memory addresses, para[0103]/ Fig. 22).
Singh teaches in response to receipt of the API call, generate, from the address information, a data structure including information usable to cause the data to be transfer ( receiving one or more requests to control memory access. The requests are in the form of a call to a register_as(base address, offset address, locking policy) function. The call to the register_as( ) function is performed shortly after the concurrent computer program is executed. More specifically, the concurrent computer program makes the register_as( ) function call by invoking an initialization software module that contains the register_as( ) function call. The register_as( ) has three parameters: base address; offset address; and locking policy. The base address parameter identifies the base address of a region of memory, while the offset address parameter identifies the upper limit of the region of memory. The locking policy parameter identifies the locking policy (or memory access control technique) that is to be used to control access to the region of memory defined by the base address and offset address parameters, para[0016], ln 3-12 to para[0017], ln 1-10/ Following on from the previous step 202 of receiving the first request (the register_as( ) function), the memory access control means 108 performs the step 204 of creating an instance of a data structure 300, which is represented in FIG. 3, that is based on the first request, or more specifically, the three parameters accompanying the register_as( ) function. With reference to FIG. 3, the instance of the data structure 300 includes six fields 302 to 312 that are used to contain information about the called register_as( ) function. The first field 302 specifies the base address of a region of protected memory, while the second field 304 specifies the upper limit of the region of protected memory. The third field 306 contains a pointer to a queue of tasks waiting to access the region of protected memory defined by the first and second fields 302 and 304. The fourth field 308 identifies the type of policy being used to protect the region of memory defined by the first and second fields 302 and 304. The fifth field 310 is used to indicate whether the region of memory defined by the first and second fields 302 and 304 is accessible. Finally, the sixth field 312 is used to contain a pointer to another related data structure 300, para[0020])).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of claimed invention was made to modify the teaching of Balle with Singh to incorporate the above feature because this keeps track of which memory access control techniques are being used and which region of memory each control technique protects.
Coppola teaches the API call, generate a data structure include information cause the data to be from the one or more first accelerators to one or more second accelerator( FIG. 1a shows the computing system comprising a co-processor 103 which may be a GPU[accelerators] and further co-processors, for example, co-processor #N 105. Furthermore, in some embodiments the computing multiprocessor system may comprise one or more discrete co-processors 2 and 3. The discrete co-processors 2 and 3 may be connected to the MPSoC 1 via a suitable network technology 120. The discrete coprocessors including the MPSoC can communicate with each other via network adapters 107, 104. In some embodiments the discrete part may comprise a FPGA or a discrete GPU[accelerators], for example, co-processor #M 106 that may include a local memory 112 or an external memory 114, para[0005], ln 10-23/ The device 105 (which may be a Hardware accelerator [accelerators ]or any suitable co-processor unit) may be further connected to the system main memory 111. A computing kernel 252 may be run on the device 105. It is understood that the computation kernel 252 can be any suitable part of an application or program (with data) which can be accelerated on the device 105, The device 106 may be a FPGA[accelerators] or any suitable external co-processor that are communicatively coupled to the MPSOC, para[0065] to para[0066], ln 1-3/Fig. 1b/ The method 400 begins at step 411, where the application that requires to offload a computing kernel to a co-processor 303 starts with the creation of a user level queue 305a using the appropriate API function provided by ULDD 3107. In this API call the size of the queue, together with other information, such as the priority of the queue are also provided. The 411 step is usually performed only once by the application. In some embodiments, the outcome of the step 411 is a Virtual Address VA (referred hereafter as queueVA) within the VAS 243 where the data structure of user level queue is located. This virtual address, queueVA, obtained in step 411, is mapped to a physical address located in one page frame 205 managed by the OS kernel 3102, para[0088], ln 1-10/ The GPPU 543 de-queuing from the hardware queues 305a and depending the type of the packet, it performs the specify activity. In case of a Dispatch packet 307 the GPPU passes the memory handles to the associated co-processor 547 via physical wires or other communication mechanisms as known by those skilled in the art, para[0123], ln 1-10).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of claimed invention was made to modify the above teaching to incorporate the above feature because this allows techniques may incur significant latency penalties while transferring code and/or data between processing units and provides a significant burden is required by different components (OS, device drivers, application) to make this process work smoothly.
As to claims 8, 15, they are rejected for the same reason as to claim 1 above.
Claims 2, 9, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Balle (US 20200409877) in view of Singh(US 20090307442 A1) in view of Coppola( US 20170206169 A1) and further in view of Rossbach( US 20130232495 A1).
As to claim 2, Balle teaches the information is to indicate one or more memory regions comprising data to be transferred from memory of the one or more first accelerators to memory of the one or more second accelerators( para[0122]/ para[0046], ln 6-18]/ para[0101] ln 12-20), Woo teaches data structure( para[0104]/ Fig. 12) for the same reason as to claim 1 above .
Rossbach teaches the information is to indicate one or more memory regions(the datablocks A and B may be pushed by the application interface 140 into input channels represented by the edges from the datablocks A and B to the node 701, causing the application task associated with the node 701 to be executed by an accelerator 120a-c, para[0074], ln 8-14/ each datablock of the datablocks 340 may include one or more pointers to one or memory locations that are associated with the datablock. The memory locations may include buffers. A datablock may be implemented as a logical buffer with a corresponding physical buffer at one or more of the memories of the computing device 110 and the accelerators 120a-c., para[0033], ln 1-10/ each datablock 340 may also include an indicator of which memory location includes the most current version of the data. Each datablock 340 may further indicate which memory locations are writable, readable, or contain valid data, para[0033], ln 12-16/ The graph includes a node for each of the accelerator tasks, and edges between pairs of nodes corresponding to accelerator task pairs where a data output of a first accelerator task in the pair is a data input of a second accelerator task in the pair, para[0005, ln 3-7/ The graph 900 may similarly be used to eliminate unnecessary copying of data between accelerators 120a-c, para[0065], ln 1-2/ For example, FIG. 2 is an illustration of an example graph 200. The graph includes nodes 207, 209, and 211 that each represent an accelerator task. The graph 200 further includes datablocks 201, 203, 205, and 213 that represent data sources and data sinks used by the accelerator tasks associated with the nodes 207, 209, and 211 of the graph 200, para[0024]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of claimed invention was made to modify the above teaching to incorporate the above feature because this schedules the execution of accelerator tasks to minimize the amount of data that is copied to and from the accelerators.
As to claims 9, 16, they are rejected for the same reasons as to claim 2 above.
Claims 3, 4, 7, 10, 11, 12, 14,18, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Balle (US 20200409877) in view of Singh(US 20090307442 A1) in view of Coppola( US 20170206169 A1) and further in view of Lee( US 20220283851 A1).
As to claim 3, Lee teaches the one or more first accelerators are one or more accelerators within a heterogeneous processor( FIG. 3 illustrates an example of an interconnect switch. More specifically, FIG. 3 illustrates an example of an operation of an interconnect switch configured to manage direct communication between accelerators is illustrated. In the example of FIG. 3, accelerators A and B may be devices of heterogeneous hardware types. A first case 310 may indicate passing numerous hardware stacks and software stacks for direct communication between the accelerators A and B. In a case in which an electronic device is configured using heterogeneous accelerators, the performance of the electronic device may be limited due to frequent data synchronizations between the accelerators. A synchronization used herein may refer to a process of transferring input and output of a function to be performed by each of the accelerators A and B, para[0059] to para[0060], ln 1-11).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of claimed invention was made to modify the above teaching incorporate above feature because this manages direct communication between the accelerators without interference by the host processor and a software stack.
As to claim 4, Lee teaches herein the address information of the data comprises pointer to data( para[0059]/ para[0023]/ para[0033], ln 1-5) for the same reason as to claim 2 above.
As to claim 7, Lee teaches the one or more second accelerators are graphics processing units (GPUs)( para[0057], ln 1-5) for the same reason as to claim2 above.
As to claim 10, 12, 14, 19, they are rejected for the same reasons as to claims 2, 3, 4, 7 above.
As to claim 11, Lee teaches the one or more processors comprise the one or more second accelerators( para[0043],l n 1-5) for the same reason as to claim 2 above.
As to claim 18, Lee teaches the one or more first accelerators are accelerators within a heterogeneous processor and the one or more second accelerators are graphics processing units (GPUs)( para[0012], ln 1-8/ para[0017], ln 1-5) for the same reason as to claim 3 above.
Claims 5, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Balle (US 20200409877) in view of Singh(US 20090307442 A1) in view of Coppola( US 20170206169 A1) and further in view of Rossbach1( US 20150007182 A1).
As to claim 5, Rossbach1 teaches the information is to be transferred from memory of the one or more first accelerators to memory of the one or more second accelerators( at least one datablock of the plurality of datablocks with a control code to control a flow of the data between memories of accelerators, right col 14, ln 10).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of claimed invention was made to modify the above teaching to incorporate above feature because this provides techniques and constructs to improve execution speed of distributed iterative computation using heterogeneous specialized resources including, for example, processors and accelerators.
As to claim 17, is it rejected for the same reason as to claim 5 above.
Claims 6, 13, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Balle (US 20200409877) in view of Singh(US 20090307442 A1) in view of Coppola( US 20170206169 A1) in view of Lee( US 20220283851 A1) in view of Yang( US 20190005606 A1).
As to claim 6, Lee teaches GPU accelerator(The accelerators may include any combination of any two or more of an application-specific integrated circuit (ASIC), a field-programmable gate array (FPGA), a graphics processing unit (GPU), para[0017, ln 1-5) for the same reason as to claim 3 above.
Yang teaches the API is to receive, as input, indicating one or more locations in memory of the one or more second accelerators to store the information( computing system that has operating system calls and device driver functions to enable direct memory access transfer of data between peripheral devices and the CPU memory, data structures are established to enable mapping of bus addresses to physical GPU memory, allowing peripheral devices connected to the bus to be able to transfer data directly from or to the GPU memory without copying the data to or from the CPU memory. For example, for a system that uses the Linux operating system, the “struct page” data structure is used to represent a physical page of memory. A user application executing in the user space of the CPU memory can, via a proper system call, send a struct page data object or data structure that represents a page of the CPU physical memory mapped to the user space, to the device driver of a storage device connected to a PCIe bus to enable the storage device to directly transfer data from or to the CPU memory through the PCIe bus without being processed by the CPU. Struct page data objects or data structures can also be established for pages of the GPU physical memory. When the user application intends to transfer data between the GPU memory and the storage device, the user application, via a proper system call, sends the struct page data object(s) representing the page(s) of the GPU physical memory mapped to the user space, to the storage device driver to enable the storage device to directly transfer data from or to the GPU memory page(s) through the PCIe bus without having the data being processed by the CPU and without having the data copied to the CPU memory, para[0019]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of claimed invention was made to modify the above teaching to incorporate above feature because this enables direct memory access for both central processing unit memory and graphics processing unit memory.
As to claims 13, 20, they are rejected for the same reason as to claim 6 above.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Balle (US 20200409877) in view of Singh(US 20090307442 A1) and further in view of WOO(US 20160259739 A1) and further in view of Stabrawa(US 20210240616 A1).
As to claim 21, Stabrawa teaches the data structure includes a handle and an offset usable to indicate a range of memory addresses in the memory of the one or more first accelerators( . The memory appliance 110 may be a server, a device, an embedded system, a circuit, a chipset, an integrated circuit, a field programmable gate array (FPGA), an application-specific integrated circuit, para[0043], ln 5-10/ The memory appliance 110 may include a memory 210, a memory controller 220, a communication interface 230, a processor 240, a storage controller 250, and a backing store 260. In other examples, the memory appliance may contain different elements. For example, in another example, the memory appliance 110 may not include the storage controller 250 and the backing store 260. The memory 210 may further include a region access logic 212, one or more regions 214, region metadata 215, and an observer logic 218., para[0043], ln 15-26/ For example, the memory-allocation data structure(s) may include addresses, offsets, and or sizes which describe the position and/or size of the portion(s) within the region 214 and/or the external memory allocation, para[0206], ln 2-7).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of claimed invention was made to modify the above teaching to incorporate above feature because this enables applications that use a memory allocation interface to be migrated from one physical machine to another, without losing metadata related to allocated portions.
Response to the argument:
A. Applicant amendment filed on 04/07/2026 has been considered but they are not persuasive:
Applicant argued in substance that :
(1) “ does not teach or suggest the claimed "receiving an application programming interface (API) call, the API call including address information of data stored in memory of one or more first accelerators," and, "in response to receipt of the API call, generate, from the address information, a data structure including information usable to cause the data to be transferred from the memory of the one or more first accelerators to memory of one or more second accelerators.".
B. Examiner respectfully disagreed with Applicant's remarks:
As to the point (1), Balle teaches processor(executed by one or more processors, para[0024], ln 6-8), one or more circuits to perform an application programming interface (API) to transfer information between memory of one or more first accelerators and memory of one or more second accelerators ( in block 2216, the accelerator device 1620 may receive a request from the kernel 1660 to write data at a local memory address to a memory address of a remote accelerator device. The request may be received through an application programming interface exposed to a high level software language in which the kernel 1660 of the accelerator device 1620 is implemented in block 2218. Such a request may be embodied as a command to the communication abstraction logic unit 1640 that includes a write instruction as well as one or more remote memory addresses and/or one or more local memory addresses, para[0103], ln 1-15/ Fig. 16/ Example 11 includes the subject matter of any of Examples 8-10, and wherein the circuitry is further to receive, from the kernel and through the application programming interface, a request to write data at a memory address of the accelerator device to a second memory address of the remote accelerator device; and transmit, to the remote accelerator device and through the logical communication path established between the accelerator device and the remote accelerator device, the write request and the data at the memory address of the accelerator device, para[0117]),
the API call including address information of data stored in memory of one or more first accelerators( The request may be received through an application programming interface exposed to a high level software language in which the kernel 1660 of the accelerator device 1620 is implemented in block 2204. Such a request may be embodied as a command to the communication abstraction logic unit 1640 that includes a read instruction as well as one or more remote memory addresses and/or one or more local memory addresses. In block 2206, the accelerator device 1620 may transmit the read request for the data at the memory address through a logical communication path to the remote accelerator device. After the remote accelerator processes the request (e.g., by the communication abstraction logic unit 1644 or 1648), the accelerator device 1620 receives the data that was at the memory address of the remote accelerator device, para[0101], ln 15-27 to para[0102], ln 1-12/ In block 2216, the accelerator device 1620 may receive a request from the kernel 1660 to write data at a local memory address to a memory address of a remote accelerator device. The request may be received through an application programming interface exposed to a high level software language in which the kernel 1660 of the accelerator device 1620 is implemented in block 2218. Such a request may be embodied as a command to the communication abstraction logic unit 1640 that includes a write instruction as well as one or more remote memory addresses and/or one or more local memory addresses, para[0103]/ Fig. 22).
Singh teaches in response to receipt of the API call, generate, from the address information, a data structure including information usable to cause the data to be transfer ( receiving one or more requests to control memory access. The requests are in the form of a call to a register_as(base address, offset address, locking policy) function. The call to the register_as( ) function is performed shortly after the concurrent computer program is executed. More specifically, the concurrent computer program makes the register_as( ) function call by invoking an initialization software module that contains the register_as( ) function call. The register_as( ) has three parameters: base address; offset address; and locking policy. The base address parameter identifies the base address of a region of memory, while the offset address parameter identifies the upper limit of the region of memory. The locking policy parameter identifies the locking policy (or memory access control technique) that is to be used to control access to the region of memory defined by the base address and offset address parameters, para[0016], ln 3-12 to para[0017], ln 1-10/ Following on from the previous step 202 of receiving the first request (the register_as( ) function), the memory access control means 108 performs the step 204 of creating an instance of a data structure 300, which is represented in FIG. 3, that is based on the first request, or more specifically, the three parameters accompanying the register_as( ) function. With reference to FIG. 3, the instance of the data structure 300 includes six fields 302 to 312 that are used to contain information about the called register_as( ) function. The first field 302 specifies the base address of a region of protected memory, while the second field 304 specifies the upper limit of the region of protected memory. The third field 306 contains a pointer to a queue of tasks waiting to access the region of protected memory defined by the first and second fields 302 and 304. The fourth field 308 identifies the type of policy being used to protect the region of memory defined by the first and second fields 302 and 304. The fifth field 310 is used to indicate whether the region of memory defined by the first and second fields 302 and 304 is accessible. Finally, the sixth field 312 is used to contain a pointer to another related data structure 300, para[0020])).
Coppola teaches the API call, generate a data structure include information cause the data to be from the one or more first accelerators to one or more second accelerator( FIG. 1a shows the computing system comprising a co-processor 103 which may be a GPU[accelerators] and further co-processors, for example, co-processor #N 105. Furthermore, in some embodiments the computing multiprocessor system may comprise one or more discrete co-processors 2 and 3. The discrete co-processors 2 and 3 may be connected to the MPSoC 1 via a suitable network technology 120. The discrete coprocessors including the MPSoC can communicate with each other via network adapters 107, 104. In some embodiments the discrete part may comprise a FPGA or a discrete GPU[accelerators], for example, co-processor #M 106 that may include a local memory 112 or an external memory 114, para[0005], ln 10-23/ The device 105 (which may be a Hardware accelerator [accelerators ]or any suitable co-processor unit) may be further connected to the system main memory 111. A computing kernel 252 may be run on the device 105. It is understood that the computation kernel 252 can be any suitable part of an application or program (with data) which can be accelerated on the device 105, The device 106 may be a FPGA[accelerators] or any suitable external co-processor that are communicatively coupled to the MPSOC, para[0065] to para[0066], ln 1-3/Fig. 1b/ The method 400 begins at step 411, where the application that requires to offload a computing kernel to a co-processor 303 starts with the creation of a user level queue 305a using the appropriate API function provided by ULDD 3107. In this API call the size of the queue, together with other information, such as the priority of the queue are also provided. The 411 step is usually performed only once by the application. In some embodiments, the outcome of the step 411 is a Virtual Address VA (referred hereafter as queueVA) within the VAS 243 where the data structure of user level queue is located. This virtual address, queueVA, obtained in step 411, is mapped to a physical address located in one page frame 205 managed by the OS kernel 3102, para[0088], ln 1-10/ The GPPU 543 de-queuing from the hardware queues 305a and depending the type of the packet, it performs the specify activity. In case of a Dispatch packet 307 the GPPU passes the memory handles to the associated co-processor 547 via physical wires or other communication mechanisms as known by those skilled in the art, para[0123], ln 1-10).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Conclusion
US 20200409877 A1teaches memory locations on the FPGA 1622 or the GPU 1624). The request may be received through an application programming interface exposed to a high level software language in which the kernel 1660 of the accelerator device 1620 is implemented in block 2204. Such a request may be embodied as a command to the communication abstraction logic unit 1640 that includes a read instruction as well as one or more remote memory addresses and/or one or more local memory addresses.
US 20160259739 A1 teaches some embodiments, the call to “dc_malloc(a, b, size)” allocates “size” bytes over which a direct transfer can occur. The function call “dc_malloc(a, b, size)” sets the pointer “a” to an address at the start of the allocated memory space in one DIMM on a memory channel. The function call “dc_malloc(a, b, size)” sets the pointer “b” to another address on the same memory channel.
US 10802807 teaches B1FIG. 20B includes a global memory input/output (GMIO) class with special APIs for moving data between the DPE array and DDR memory in the SoC. For example, the init( ) API initializes a GMIO object by providing a set of memory addresses that exist in the DDR memory. The gm2me_nb( ) APIs can use the DMA registers in the shim to transfer data from the global memory to the DPE array.
US 20100161976 A1 teaches a system call having memory reference parameters, a memory area referred to by a parameter of the system call may be a structured object rather than raw data. For example, the ioctl( ) system call may have an object supporting a buffer interface. The structured object referred to by the parameter should be evaluated and converted element by element of the structured object.
US 20170206169 A1 teaches in the GPU 103) or outside the coprocessor (e.g., as shown in FIG. 1b by the IO MMU 107 located separate from the co-processor #N 105). Using the IO MMU a plurality of co-processors may be configured to share the page table structure with the Host CPU, and to perform read or write operations on the physical memory shared with the operating systems partition of the host processor 101.
/LECHI TRUONG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2194
.
US 20210240616 A1 electing a type of memory to allocate in a client device from a group of memory types in response to a memory allocation request and/or in response to a request to access a portion of an address space, wherein the selection of the type of memory to allocate is based on an available memory determination
US 20120297163 A1 computing system includes a first processor core with a single instruction multiple data micro-architecture and a second processor core with a general-purpose micro-architecture. A compiler predicts execution of a function call in a program migrates at a given location to a different processor core. The compiler creates a data structure to support moving live values associated with the execution of the function call at the given location