CTNF 18/070,361 CTNF 89223 DETAILED ACTION 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Applicant's response to the Office Final Action filed on 5/11/2026 is acknowledged. Applicant amended claims 1, 9, and 15. Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114 07-42-04 AIA A request for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, including the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on 5/11/2026 has been entered. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-3, 5-7, and 9-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang et al. (US 2023/0420429) (hereafter Chang), in view of Kannan et al. (US 2021/0242124) (hereafter Kannan) . Regarding claim 1 , Chang discloses an integrated circuit package (device in Fig. 10A) comprising: a first integrated circuit die (left 701 in Fig. 10A, paragraph 0052); a first spacer die (left 710 and right 710 in Fig. 10A, paragraph 0052) coupled in the integrated circuit package (device in Fig. 10A) in a first location (region where left 710 and right 710 are formed in Fig. 10A) designed to house a second integrated circuit die (left 703 in Fig. 10A, paragraph 0052); and an interconnection bridge 405 (Fig. 10A, paragraph 0035) embedded in a substrate 400 (Fig. 10A, paragraph 0079), wherein the first integrated circuit die (left 701 in Fig. 10A) and the first spacer die (left 710 and right 710 in Fig. 10A) are coupled (see Fig. 10A, wherein 701 and 710 are indirectly coupled to 405) to the interconnection bridge 405 (Fig. 10A). Chang does not disclose the first spacer die is a short-loop die made from a semiconductor wafer. Kannan discloses the first spacer die 210 (Fig. 2A, paragraph 0063) is a short-loop die (see paragraph 0050, wherein “short looping wafer”) made from a semiconductor wafer (see paragraph 0063, wherein “bridge die (e.g., made of silicon)”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Chang to form the first spacer die is a short-loop die made from a semiconductor wafer, as taught by Kannan, since these substrates (Kannan, paragraph 0050) can include bridge dies and/or interposers, and can be made by short looping wafer processing (which make them low cost). Short looping may involve processing a wafer with a reduced mask set (e.g., by skipping process steps associated with subsequent masks). Regarding claim 2 , Chang further discloses the integrated circuit package of claim 1 further comprising: wherein the interconnection bridge 405 (Fig. 10A) comprises conductors (element number is not shown in Fig. 10A but see 480 in Fig. 3, paragraph 0034) that are coupled to the first integrated circuit die (left 701 in Fig. 10A) and to the first spacer die (left 710 and right 710 in Fig. 10A). Regarding claim 3 , Chang further discloses the integrated circuit package of claim 1 further comprising: a second spacer die (top 710 and bottom 710 in Fig. 10B, paragraph 0052) coupled in the integrated circuit package (device in Fig. 10A) in a second location (region where top 710 and bottom 710 are formed in Fig. 10B) designed to house a third integrated circuit die (top right 701 in Fig. 10B, paragraph 0052). Regarding claim 5 , Chang further discloses the integrated circuit package of claim 1, wherein the first integrated circuit die (left 701 in Fig. 10A, paragraph 0053, wherein “application processor die, a central processing unit die, or a graphic processing unit die”) comprises a processing integrated circuit. Regarding claim 6 , Chang further discloses the integrated circuit package of claim 1 further comprising: a third integrated circuit die (bottom left 701 in Fig. 10B) coupled to the first integrated circuit die (top left 701 in Fig. 10B). Regarding claim 7 , Chang further discloses the integrated circuit package of claim 6, wherein the third integrated circuit die (bottom left 701 in Fig. 10B) comprises a first transceiver integrated circuit (bottom left 701 in Fig. 10B; see Fig. 10A and paragraph 0099, wherein “the package-side redistribution wiring interconnects (580, 582) embodiments wafer-level communication for SoC dies 701 and data transmission to, and from, high bandwidth memory dies that are attached to the composite interposer (400, 500)”), and wherein the first spacer die (left vertical 710 and right vertical 710 in Fig. 10B) is coupled in the integrated circuit package (device in Fig. 10A) in the first location (region where left vertical 710 and right vertical 710 are formed in Fig. 10B) that is designed to house a second transceiver integrated circuit (bottom right 701 in Fig. 10B; see Fig. 10A and paragraph 0099, wherein “the package-side redistribution wiring interconnects (580, 582) embodiments wafer-level communication for SoC dies 701 and data transmission to, and from, high bandwidth memory dies that are attached to the composite interposer (400, 500)”). Regarding claim 9 , Chang discloses a method for forming an integrated circuit package (device in Fig. 10A), the method comprising: coupling a first integrated circuit die (left 701 in Fig. 10A, paragraph 0052) in the integrated circuit package (device in Fig. 10A); and coupling a first spacer die (left 710 and right 710 in Fig. 10A, paragraph 0052) in the integrated circuit package (device in Fig. 10A) in a first location (region where left 710 and right 710 are formed in Fig. 10A) designed to house a second integrated circuit die (left 703 in Fig. 10A, paragraph 0052); and coupling an interconnection bridge 405 (Fig. 10A, paragraph 0035) embedded in a substrate 400 (Fig. 10A, paragraph 0079) to the first integrated circuit die (left 701 in Fig. 10A) and to the first spacer die (left 710 and right 710 in Fig. 10A). Chang does not disclose the first spacer die is a short-loop die made from a semiconductor wafer. Kannan discloses the first spacer die 210 (Fig. 2A, paragraph 0063) is a short-loop die (see paragraph 0050, wherein “short looping wafer”) made from a semiconductor wafer (see paragraph 0063, wherein “bridge die (e.g., made of silicon)”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Chang to form the first spacer die is a short-loop die made from a semiconductor wafer, as taught by Kannan, since these substrates (Kannan, paragraph 0050) can include bridge dies and/or interposers, and can be made by short looping wafer processing (which make them low cost). Short looping may involve processing a wafer with a reduced mask set (e.g., by skipping process steps associated with subsequent masks). Regarding claim 10 , Chang further discloses the method of claim 9, wherein coupling the first integrated circuit die (left 701 in Fig. 10A) in the integrated circuit package (device in Fig. 10A) and coupling the first spacer die (left 710 and right 710 in Fig. 10A) in the integrated circuit package (device in Fig. 10A) further comprise coupling the first integrated circuit die (left 701 in Fig. 10A) and the first spacer die (left 710 and right 710 in Fig. 10A) to the interconnection bridge 405 (Fig. 10A) through conductive bumps (element number is not shown in Fig. 10A but see 435 in Fig. 3, paragraph 0034). Regarding claim 11 , Chang further discloses the method of claim 9 further comprising: coupling a second spacer die (top horizontal 710 and bottom horizontal 710 in Fig. 10B, paragraph 0052) in the integrated circuit package (device in Fig. 10A) in a second location (region where top horizontal 710 and bottom horizontal 710 are formed in Fig. 10B) designed to house a third integrated circuit die (top right 701 in Fig. 10B, paragraph 0052). Regarding claim 12 , Chang further discloses the method of claim 11, wherein each of the first (left vertical 710 and right vertical 710 in Fig. 10B) and the second spacer dies (top horizontal 710 and bottom horizontal 710 in Fig. 10B) is an open circuit die (see paragraph 0052, wherein “Each spacer die 710 is free from any transistor therein”) that lacks active circuits. Regarding claim 13 , Chang further discloses the method of claim 9 further comprising: coupling a third integrated circuit die (bottom left 701 in Fig. 10B) to the first integrated circuit die (top left 701 in Fig. 10B) in the integrated circuit package (device in Fig. 10A). Regarding claim 14 , Chang further discloses the method of claim 9, wherein the first integrated circuit die (top left 701 in Fig. 10B, paragraph 0053, wherein “application processor die, a central processing unit die, or a graphic processing unit die”) comprises a processing integrated circuit, and wherein the first spacer die (left vertical 710 and right vertical 710 in Fig. 10B) is coupled in the integrated circuit package (device in Fig. 10B) in the first location (region where left vertical 710 and right vertical 710 are formed in Fig. 10B) that is designed to house a transceiver integrated circuit (bottom left 701 in Fig. 10B; see Fig. 10A and paragraph 0099, wherein “the package-side redistribution wiring interconnects (580, 582) embodiments wafer- level communication for SoC dies 701 and data transmission to, and from, high bandwidth memory dies that are attached to the composite interposer (400, 500)”). Regarding claim 15 , Chang discloses a circuit system comprising: a substrate 400 (Fig. 10A, paragraph 0039) comprising an interconnection bridge 405 (Fig. 10A, paragraph 0035) embedded in the substrate 400 (Fig. 10A); a first integrated circuit die (left 701 in Fig. 10A, paragraph 0052) coupled to the substrate 400 (Fig. 10A); and a first spacer die (left 710 and right 710 in Fig. 10A, paragraph 0052) coupled to the substrate 400 (Fig. 10A) at a first location (region where left 710 and right 710 are formed in Fig. 10A) designed to house a second integrated circuit die (left 703 in Fig. 10A, paragraph 0052), wherein the first integrated circuit die (left 701 in Fig. 10A) and the first spacer die (left 710 and right 710 in Fig. 10A) are coupled to the interconnection bridge 405 (Fig. 10A). Chang does not disclose the first spacer die is a short-loop die made from a semiconductor wafer that is run through only a subset of process steps used to create the first integrated circuit die. Kannan discloses the first spacer die 210 (Fig. 2A, paragraph 0063) is a short-loop die (see paragraph 0050, wherein “short looping wafer”) made from a semiconductor wafer (see paragraph 0063, wherein “bridge die (e.g., made of silicon)”) that is run through only a subset of process steps used to create the first integrated circuit die 32 (Fig. 2A, paragraph 0064). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Chang to form the first spacer die is a short-loop die made from a semiconductor wafer that is run through only a subset of process steps used to create the first integrated circuit die, as taught by Kannan, since these substrates (Kannan, paragraph 0050) can include bridge dies and/or interposers, and can be made by short looping wafer processing (which make them low cost). Short looping may involve processing a wafer with a reduced mask set (e.g., by skipping process steps associated with subsequent masks). Regarding claim 16 , Chang further discloses the circuit system of claim 15 further comprising: a second spacer die (top 710 and bottom 710 in Fig. 10B, paragraph 0052) coupled to the substrate 400 (Fig. 10B) at a second location (region where top 710 and bottom 710 are formed in Fig. 10B) designed to house a third integrated circuit die (top right 701 in Fig. 10B, paragraph 0052). Regarding claim 17 , Chang further discloses the circuit system of claim 15, wherein the substrate 400 (Fig. 10A, paragraph 0039) is a package substrate, and wherein the circuit system is an integrated circuit package (see paragraph 0053, wherein “system-on-chip (SoC) die”). Regarding claim 18 , Chang further discloses the circuit system of claim 15 further comprising: a third integrated circuit die (top right 701 in Fig. 10B, paragraph 0052) coupled to the substrate 400 (Fig. 10B) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1, 4, 8, 15, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong et al. (US 2005/0208701), in view of Kannan et al. (US 2021/0242124) (hereafter Kannan) . Regarding claim 1 , Jeong discloses an integrated circuit package 64 (Fig. 12, paragraph 0041) comprising: a first integrated circuit die 24B (Fig. 12, paragraph 0041); a first spacer die 66 (Fig. 12, paragraph 0041) coupled in the integrated circuit package 64 (Fig. 12) in a first location (region where 66 is formed in Fig. 12) designed to house a second integrated circuit die 24A (Fig. 12, paragraph 0041); and an interconnection bridge 54 (Fig. 12, paragraph 0039) embedded in a substrate 58 (Fig. 12, paragraph 0039), wherein the first integrated circuit die 24B (Fig. 12) and the first spacer die 66 (Fig. 12) are coupled (see Fig. 12, wherein 24B and 66 are indirectly coupled to 58) to the interconnection bridge 58 (Fig. 12). Jeong does not disclose the first spacer die is a short-loop die made from a semiconductor wafer. Kannan discloses the first spacer die 210 (Fig. 2A, paragraph 0063) is a short-loop die (see paragraph 0050, wherein “short looping wafer”) made from a semiconductor wafer (see paragraph 0063, wherein “bridge die (e.g., made of silicon)”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Jeong to form the first spacer die is a short-loop die made from a semiconductor wafer, as taught by Kannan, since these substrates (Kannan, paragraph 0050) can include bridge dies and/or interposers, and can be made by short looping wafer processing (which make them low cost). Short looping may involve processing a wafer with a reduced mask set (e.g., by skipping process steps associated with subsequent masks). Regarding claim 4 , Jeong further discloses the integrated circuit package of claim 1, wherein the first spacer die 66 (Fig. 12, paragraph 0041, wherein “prevent electrical leakage”) is an open circuit die that blocks leakage current. Regarding claim 8 , Jeong further discloses the integrated circuit package of claim 1, wherein the first spacer die 66 (Fig. 12, paragraph 0048) has a same size (see paragraph 0048, wherein “spacer stacked over the first die can be the same size as the first die”) as the second integrated circuit die 24A (Fig. 12). Regarding claim 15 , Jeong discloses a circuit system comprising: a substrate 46 (Figs. 9 and 12, paragraph 0039) comprising an interconnection bridge 54 (Figs. 9 and 12, paragraph 0039) embedded (see Fig. 9) in the substrate 58 (Figs. 9 and 12); a first integrated circuit die 24B (Fig. 12, paragraph 0041) coupled to the substrate 46 (Fig. 12); and a first spacer die 66 (Fig. 12, paragraph 0041) coupled to the substrate 46 (Fig. 12) at a first location (region where 66 is formed in Fig. 12) designed to house a second integrated circuit die 24A (Fig. 12, paragraph 0041), wherein the first integrated circuit die 24B (Fig. 12) and the first spacer die 66 (Fig. 12) are coupled to the interconnection bridge 54 (Fig. 12). Jeong does not disclose the first spacer die is a short-loop die made from a semiconductor wafer that is run through only a subset of process steps used to create the first integrated circuit die. Kannan discloses the first spacer die 210 (Fig. 2A, paragraph 0063) is a short-loop die (see paragraph 0050, wherein “short looping wafer”) made from a semiconductor wafer (see paragraph 0063, wherein “bridge die (e.g., made of silicon)”) that is run through only a subset of process steps used to create the first integrated circuit die 32 (Fig. 2A, paragraph 0064). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Jeong to form the first spacer die is a short-loop die made from a semiconductor wafer that is run through only a subset of process steps used to create the first integrated circuit die, as taught by Kannan, since these substrates (Kannan, paragraph 0050) can include bridge dies and/or interposers, and can be made by short looping wafer processing (which make them low cost). Short looping may involve processing a wafer with a reduced mask set (e.g., by skipping process steps associated with subsequent masks). Regarding claim 19 , Jeong further discloses the circuit system of claim 15, wherein the first spacer die 66 (Fig. 12, paragraph 0041, wherein “prevent electrical leakage”) is an open circuit die that blocks leakage current through the first spacer die 66 (Fig. 12). Regarding claim 20 , Jeong further discloses the circuit system of claim 15, wherein the first spacer die 66 (Fig. 12, paragraph 0048) has a same footprint (see paragraph 0048, wherein “spacer stacked over the first die can be the same size as the first die”) over the substrate 46 (Fig. 12) as the second integrated circuit die 24A (Fig. 12) . Response to Arguments 1. Applicant's arguments filed 5/11/2026 have been fully considered. 07-38 2. Applicant's arguments with respect to claim s 1-20 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to LAMONT B KOO whose telephone number is (571)272-0984. The examiner can normally be reached 7:00 AM - 3:30 PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Steven Gauthier can be reached on (571)270-0373. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /L.B.K/Examiner, Art Unit 2813 /STEVEN B GAUTHIER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2813 Application/Control Number: 18/070,361 Page 2 Art Unit: 2813 Application/Control Number: 18/070,361 Page 3 Art Unit: 2813 Application/Control Number: 18/070,361 Page 4 Art Unit: 2813 Application/Control Number: 18/070,361 Page 5 Art Unit: 2813 Application/Control Number: 18/070,361 Page 6 Art Unit: 2813 Application/Control Number: 18/070,361 Page 7 Art Unit: 2813 Application/Control Number: 18/070,361 Page 8 Art Unit: 2813 Application/Control Number: 18/070,361 Page 9 Art Unit: 2813 Application/Control Number: 18/070,361 Page 10 Art Unit: 2813 Application/Control Number: 18/070,361 Page 11 Art Unit: 2813 Application/Control Number: 18/070,361 Page 12 Art Unit: 2813