DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings (see Fig. 1a-3) are objected to under 37 CFR 1.84(l), because the character of the lines are insufficient for satisfactory reproduction characteristics, and 37 CFR 1.84(m), because the use of solid gray shading reduces legibility and does not adequately contrast with the rest of the drawings.
“(l) Character of lines, numbers, and letters. All drawings must be made by a process which will give them satisfactory reproduction characteristics. Every line, number, and letter must be durable, clean, black (except for color drawings), sufficiently dense and dark, and uniformly thick and well-defined. The weight of all lines and letters must be heavy enough to permit adequate reproduction. This requirement applies to all lines however fine, to shading, and to lines representing cut surfaces in sectional views. Lines and strokes of different thicknesses may be used in the same drawing where different thicknesses have a different meaning.
(m) Shading. The use of shading in views is encouraged if it aids in understanding the invention and if it does not reduce legibility. Shading is used to indicate the surface or shape of spherical, cylindrical, and conical elements of an object. Flat parts may also be lightly shaded. Such shading is preferred in the case of parts shown in perspective, but not for cross sections. See paragraph (h)(3) of this section. Spaced lines for shading are preferred. These lines must be thin, as few in number as practicable, and they must contrast with the rest of the drawings. As a substitute for shading, heavy lines on the shade side of objects can be used except where they superimpose on each other or obscure reference characters. Light should come from the upper left corner at an angle of 45°. Surface delineations should preferably be shown by proper shading. Solid black shading areas are not permitted, except when used to represent bar graphs or color.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 8-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawamura (US 20020001180 A1) in view of Pax (US 20210144840 A1) and Chen (US 20070247820 A1).
As to Claim 1, Kawamura discloses:
An apparatus (memory module of Figs. 3a-3c), comprising:
a memory module cooling assembly (cooling assembly of Figs. 3a-3c) to spread heat for a memory module 10 having a first side with first semiconductor chips (memory IC 3; Par. 0006 “the semiconductor memory ICs 3”) disposed on it and a second side with second semiconductor chips 3 disposed on it (ICs disposed on both sides of board 1), the memory module 10 having outer edges between the first side and the second side (side edges of module 10), the memory module cooling assembly having:
a first heat spreader 7B to cover the first side of the memory module (7B covers first side of 10) when the memory module 10 is plugged into a socket (memory module 10 plugged into slot of computer, see Par. 0047);
a second heat spreader to cover the second side of the memory module (7C covers second side of 10) when the memory module is plugged into the socket (see Par. 0047, 10 in slot of computer);
a heat dissipative structure (top plate portion 7a of clip type cover and heat sink 7) connected to the first heat spreader 7B and the second heat spreader 7C (7a is integral with 7B,7C), the heat dissipative structure 7 to apply a first compressive force above where the first semiconductor chips 3 and the second semiconductor chips 3 are disposed on the memory module 10 (at least a portion of compressive force from 7 is above ICs 3).
Kawamura does not disclose:
a DIMM (dual inline memory module); and
fixturing elements to apply a second compressive force between the first heat spreader and the second heat spreader at approximately half a height of the outer edges of the DIMM when the DIMM is plugged into the socket.
However, Pax discloses:
a DIMM (dual inline memory module) (Par. 0007 “In several of the embodiments, a heat spreader configured for use with a dual-in line memory module (DIMM)”);
in order to provide heat dissipation for a DIMM (Par. 0007).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kawamura as further suggested by Pax e.g., providing:
a DIMM (dual inline memory module);
in order to provide heat dissipation for a DIMM.
Further, Chen discloses:
fixturing elements (clips 40; Figs. 1-3) to apply a second compressive force between the first heat spreader 20 and the second heat spreader 30 at approximately half a height of the outer edges of the DIMM 10 (40 disposed at approximately half height of outer edges of 10) when the DIMM 10 is plugged into the socket (10 corresponds to module 10 of Kawamura in computer slot; Par. 0015 “The pair of first clips 40 sandwiches the first shell 20, the tape 130 the memory card 10 and the second shell 30 therebetween”);
in order to clamp the shells toward the memory card (Par. 0007) to further improve heat dissipation (Par. 0015).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kawamura in view of Pax as further suggested by Chen e.g., providing:
fixturing elements to apply a second compressive force between the first heat spreader and the second heat spreader at approximately half a height of the outer edges of the DIMM when the DIMM is plugged into the socket;
in order to clamp the shells/heat spreaders toward the DIMM to further improve heat dissipation.
As to Claim 2, the obvious modification of Kawamura in view of Pax and Chen discloses:
wherein the fixturing elements (40 of Chen) comprise aligned holes (apertures 211, 311, protrusions 330 of 30 and holes in 450) disposed in the first 20 and second heat spreaders 30, the aligned holes (211, 330, holes of 450) to be aligned with notches at the outer edges of the DIMM (gaps 113 of board 110 of Chen; defined holes are at least laterally aligned with 113; Chen).
As to Claim 3, the obvious modification of Kawamura in view of Pax and Chen discloses:
wherein screws are to be tightened within the aligned holes (Par. 0015 “A rear one of the first clips 40 is further fixed to the second shell 30 via screws (not shown) extending through the pressing portions 450 of the rear one of the first clips 40 and screwing in the protrusions 330 of the second shell 30”; screws tightened in at least a portion of aligned holes; Chen).
As to Claim 4, the obvious modification of Kawamura in view of Pax and Chen does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the fixturing elements further comprise clips that are to be applied at the outer edges of the DIMM.
However, Pax further discloses:
wherein the fixturing elements further comprise clips 411 that are to be applied at the outer edges of the DIMM (411 disposed on outer edges of DIMM 300);
in order to facilitate heat sinking and thermal radiation away from the DIMM (Par. 0011).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kawamura in view of Pax and Chen as further suggested by Pax e.g., providing:
wherein the fixturing elements further comprise clips that are to be applied at the outer edges of the DIMM;
in order to facilitate heat sinking and thermal radiation away from the DIMM.
As to Claim 5, the obvious modification of Kawamura in view of Pax and Chen discloses:
wherein the heat dissipative structure (7 of Kawamura) comprises heat sink fins (7D; Par. 0040 “a number of convexities or small projections 7D formed on an outer surface thereof in order to have an increase surface area so as to elevate heat radiation efficiency. But, not only the pair of side plates 7B and 7C but also both the top plate 7A can have a number of convexities or small projections 7D on an outer surface thereof”; Kawamura).
As to Claim 6, the obvious modification of Kawamura in view of Pax and Chen discloses:
wherein the first semiconductor chips (3 of Kawamura) and the second semiconductor chips (3 of Kawamura) comprise memory chips (3 are memory ICs).
As to Claim 8, Kawamura discloses:
An apparatus (memory module of Figs. 3a-3c) comprising:
a memory module 10 having a first side with first semiconductor chips (memory IC 3; Par. 0006 “the semiconductor memory ICs 3”) disposed on it and a second side with second semiconductor chips 3 disposed on it (ICs disposed on both sides of board 1), the memory module having outer edges between the first side and the second side (side edges of module 10);
a memory module cooling assembly (cooling assembly of Figs. 3a-3c) that is mechanically coupled to spread heat for the memory module 10 (cooling assembly mechanically coupled to module 10, e.g., 7), the memory module cooling assembly having:
a first heat spreader 7B to cover the first side of the memory module (7B covers first side of 10) when the memory module 10 is plugged into a socket (memory module 10 plugged into slot of computer, see Par. 0047);
a second heat spreader to cover the second side of the memory module (7C covers second side of 10) when the memory module is plugged into the socket (see Par. 0047, 10 in slot of computer);
a heat dissipative structure (top plate portion 7a of clip type cover and heat sink 7) connected to the first heat spreader 7B and the second heat spreader 7C (7a is integral with 7B,7C), the heat dissipative structure 7 to apply a first compressive force above where the first semiconductor chips 3 and the second semiconductor chips 3 are disposed on the memory module 10 (at least a portion of compressive force from 7 is above ICs 3).
Kawamura does not disclose:
a DIMM (dual inline memory module); and
fixturing elements that apply a second compressive force between the first heat spreader and the second heat spreader at approximately half a height of the outer edges of the DIMM when the DIMM is plugged into the socket.
However, Pax discloses:
a DIMM (dual inline memory module) (Par. 0007 “In several of the embodiments, a heat spreader configured for use with a dual-in line memory module (DIMM)”);
in order to provide heat dissipation for a DIMM (Par. 0007).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kawamura as further suggested by Pax e.g., providing:
a DIMM (dual inline memory module);
in order to provide heat dissipation for a DIMM.
Further, Chen discloses:
fixturing elements (clips 40; Figs. 1-3) that apply a second compressive force between the first heat spreader 20 and the second heat spreader 30 at approximately half a height of the outer edges of the DIMM 10 (40 disposed at approximately half height of outer edges of 10) when the DIMM is plugged into the socket (10 corresponds to module 10 of Kawamura in computer slot; Par. 0015 “The pair of first clips 40 sandwiches the first shell 20, the tape 130 the memory card 10 and the second shell 30 therebetween”);
in order to clamp the shells toward the memory card (Par. 0007) to further improve heat dissipation (Par. 0015).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kawamura in view of Pax as further suggested by Chen e.g., providing:
fixturing elements that apply a second compressive force between the first heat spreader and the second heat spreader at approximately half a height of the outer edges of the DIMM when the DIMM is plugged into the socket;
in order to clamp the shells/heat spreaders toward the DIMM to further improve heat dissipation.
As to Claim 9, the obvious modification of Kawamura in view of Pax and Chen discloses:
wherein the fixturing elements (40 of Chen) comprise aligned holes (apertures 211, 311, protrusions 330 of 30 and holes in 450) disposed in the first 20 and second heat spreaders 30, the aligned holes (211, 330, holes of 450) to be aligned with notches at the outer edges of the DIMM (gaps 113 of board 110 of Chen; defined holes are at least laterally aligned with 113; Chen).
As to Claim 10, the obvious modification of Kawamura in view of Pax and Chen discloses:
wherein screws are tightened within the aligned holes (Par. 0015 “A rear one of the first clips 40 is further fixed to the second shell 30 via screws (not shown) extending through the pressing portions 450 of the rear one of the first clips 40 and screwing in the protrusions 330 of the second shell 30”; screws tightened in at least a portion of aligned holes; Chen).
As to Claim 11, the obvious modification of Kawamura in view of Pax and Chen does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the fixturing elements further comprise clips that are applied at the outer edges of the DIMM.
However, Pax further discloses:
wherein the fixturing elements further comprise clips 411 that are applied at the outer edges of the DIMM (411 disposed on outer edges of DIMM 300);
in order to facilitate heat sinking and thermal radiation away from the DIMM (Par. 0011).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kawamura in view of Pax and Chen as further suggested by Pax e.g., providing:
wherein the fixturing elements further comprise clips that are applied at the outer edges of the DIMM;
in order to facilitate heat sinking and thermal radiation away from the DIMM.
As to Claim 12, the obvious modification of Kawamura in view of Pax and Chen discloses:
wherein the heat dissipative structure (7 of Kawamura) comprises heat sink fins (7D; Par. 0040 “a number of convexities or small projections 7D formed on an outer surface thereof in order to have an increase surface area so as to elevate heat radiation efficiency. But, not only the pair of side plates 7B and 7C but also both the top plate 7A can have a number of convexities or small projections 7D on an outer surface thereof”; Kawamura).
As to Claim 13, the obvious modification of Kawamura in view of Pax and Chen discloses:
wherein the first semiconductor chips (3 of Kawamura) and the second semiconductor chips (3 of Kawamura) comprise memory chips (3 are memory ICs).
Claims 15-16 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawamura (US 20020001180 A1) in view of Curtis (US 20210321528 A1) and Chen (US 20070247820 A1).
As to Claim 15, Kawamura discloses:
An apparatus (memory module of Figs. 3a-3c) comprising:
an electronic system comprising a memory module 10,
the memory module having a first side with first semiconductor chips (memory IC 3; Par. 0006 “the semiconductor memory ICs 3”) disposed on it and a second side with second semiconductor chips 3 disposed on it (ICs disposed on both sides of board 1), having outer edges between the first side and the second side (side edges of module 10), and a cooling assembly being mechanically coupled to spread heat for the memory module 10 (cooling assembly mechanically coupled to module 10, e.g., 7), the cooling assembly having:
a first heat spreader 7B to cover the first side of the memory module (7B covers first side of 10) when the memory module 10 is plugged into a socket (memory module 10 plugged into slot of computer, see Par. 0047);
a second heat spreader to cover the second side of the memory module (7C covers second side of 10) when the memory module is plugged into the socket (see Par. 0047, 10 in slot of computer);
a heat dissipative structure (top plate portion 7a of clip type cover and heat sink 7) connected to the first heat spreader 7B and the second heat spreader 7C (7a is integral with 7B,7C), the heat dissipative structure 7 to apply a first compressive force above where the first semiconductor chips 3 and the second semiconductor chips 3 are disposed on the memory module 10 (at least a portion of compressive force from 7 is above ICs 3).
Kawamura does not disclose:
a DIMM (dual inline memory module) plugged into a DIMM socket, the DIMM socket mounted to a printed circuit board; and
fixturing elements that apply a second compressive force between the first heat spreader and the second heat spreader at approximately half a height of the outer edges of the DIMM when the DIMM is plugged into the socket.
However, Curtis discloses:
a DIMM (dual inline memory module) (memory module 134) plugged into a DIMM socket 204, the DIMM socket 204 mounted to a printed circuit board 202 (Par. 0026 “FIG. 2 depicts an exploded perspective view of an exemplary motherboard 202 with an array of memory modules 134 (memory modules 134-1 to 134-8 as shown) installed in sockets 204 (sockets 204-1 to 204-8 as shown) thereon”);
in order to provide a plurality of DIMM modules (Par. 0026).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kawamura as further suggested by Curtis e.g., providing:
a DIMM (dual inline memory module) plugged into a DIMM socket, the DIMM socket mounted to a printed circuit board;
in order to provide a plurality of DIMM modules.
Further, Chen discloses:
fixturing elements (clips 40; Figs. 1-3) that apply a second compressive force between the first heat spreader 20 and the second heat spreader 30 at approximately half a height of the outer edges of the DIMM 10 (40 disposed at approximately half height of outer edges of 10) when the DIMM is plugged into the socket (10 corresponds to module 10 of Kawamura in computer slot; Par. 0015 “The pair of first clips 40 sandwiches the first shell 20, the tape 130 the memory card 10 and the second shell 30 therebetween”);
in order to clamp the shells toward the memory card (Par. 0007) to further improve heat dissipation (Par. 0015).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kawamura in view of Curtis as further suggested by Chen e.g., providing:
fixturing elements that apply a second compressive force between the first heat spreader and the second heat spreader at approximately half a height of the outer edges of the DIMM when the DIMM is plugged into the socket;
in order to clamp the shells/heat spreaders toward the DIMM to further improve heat dissipation.
As to Claim 16, the obvious modification of Kawamura in view of Curtis and Chen discloses:
wherein the fixturing elements (40 of Chen) comprise aligned holes (apertures 211, 311, protrusions 330 of 30 and holes in 450) disposed in the first 20 and second heat spreaders 30, the aligned holes (211, 330, holes of 450) to be aligned with notches at the outer edges of the DIMM (gaps 113 of board 110 of Chen; defined holes are at least laterally aligned with 113; Chen), wherein, screws are tightened within the aligned holes (Par. 0015 “A rear one of the first clips 40 is further fixed to the second shell 30 via screws (not shown) extending through the pressing portions 450 of the rear one of the first clips 40 and screwing in the protrusions 330 of the second shell 30”; screws tightened in at least a portion of aligned holes; Chen).
As to Claim 18, the obvious modification of Kawamura in view of Curtis and Chen discloses:
wherein the heat dissipative structure (7 of Kawamura) comprises heat sink fins (7D; Par. 0040 “a number of convexities or small projections 7D formed on an outer surface thereof in order to have an increase surface area so as to elevate heat radiation efficiency. But, not only the pair of side plates 7B and 7C but also both the top plate 7A can have a number of convexities or small projections 7D on an outer surface thereof”; Kawamura).
As to Claim 19, the obvious modification of Kawamura in view of Curtis and Chen discloses:
wherein the first semiconductor chips (3 of Kawamura) and the second semiconductor chips (3 of Kawamura) comprise memory chips (3 are memory ICs).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawamura (US 20020001180 A1) in view of Curtis (US 20210321528 A1) and Chen (US 20070247820 A1) as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Pax (US 20210144840 A1).
As to Claim 17, the obvious modification of Kawamura in view of Curtis and Chen does not disclose:
wherein the fixturing elements further comprise clips that are applied at the outer edges of the DIMM.
However, Pax further discloses:
wherein the fixturing elements further comprise clips 411 that are applied at the outer edges of the DIMM (411 disposed on outer edges of DIMM 300);
in order to facilitate heat sinking and thermal radiation away from the DIMM (Par. 0011).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kawamura in view of Curtis and Chen as further suggested by Pax e.g., providing:
wherein the fixturing elements further comprise clips that are applied at the outer edges of the DIMM;
in order to facilitate heat sinking and thermal radiation away from the DIMM.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW SINCLAIR MUIR/ Examiner, Art Unit 2841
/Jayprakash N Gandhi/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2841