5Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
1. Applicant's cancellation of claims 1-8 and addition of claims 21-35 in “Claims -05/04/2026” with “Amendment/Req. Reconsideration-After Non-Final Reject - 05/04/2026”, have been acknowledged by Examiner.
This office action considers claims 21-35 pending for prosecution.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Notes: when present, semicolon separated fields within the parenthesis (; ;) represent, for example, as (100; Fig 3A; [0063]) = (element 100; Figure No. 3A; Paragraph No. [0063]). For brevity, the texts “Element”, “Figure No.” and “Paragraph No.” shall be excluded, though; additional clarification notes may be added within each field. The number of fields may be fewer or more than three indicated above. These conventions are used throughout this document.
2. Claims 21, 23, 25, 26, 29, 30, 33, and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yip et al. (US 20070254409 A1; hereinafter Yip).
Regarding claim 21, Yip teaches an electronic device (see the entire document, specifically Fig. 1+; [0001+], and as cited below), comprising (see alternative rejection for claim 21 below):
a leadframe ({26, 14}; Fig. 6B; see [0020, 0025-0029]) including a plurality of pins ({28, 60}; Fig. 6B; see [0020-0021, 0025-0029]);
a die (38; Fig. 6B; see [0038, 0021-0022]) attached to a first side of the
leadframe ({26, 14}; Fig. 6B; see [0020, 0025-0029]);
a mold compound (46; Fig. 6B; see [0023, 0032]) encapsulating the die (38; Fig.
6B; see [0038, 0021-0022]); and
a passive device (56; Fig. 6B; see [0025-0026]; see [0026]; passive components) attached to a second side of the leadframe ({26, 14}; Fig. 6B; see [0020, 0025-0029]) opposite to the first side,
wherein at least one pin ({60}; Fig. 6B; see [0025, 0028]) of the plurality of pins electrically ({28, 60}; Fig. 6B; see [0020-0021, 0025-0029]) couples the die (38; Fig. 6B; see [0038, 0021-0022]) to the passive device (56; Fig. 6B; see [0025-0026]; see [0026]; passive components).
Regarding claim 23, Yip teaches all of the features of claim 21.
Yip further teaches wherein the passive device (56; Fig. 6B; see [0025-0026]; see [0026]; passive components) is not encapsulated in the mold compound (46; Fig. 6B; see [0023, 0032]).
Regarding claim 25, Yip teaches all of the features of claim 21.
Yip further teaches wherein two pins ({60}; Fig. 6B; see [0020-0021, 0025-0029]) of the plurality of pins ({28, 60}; Fig. 6B; see [0020-0021, 0025-0029]) coupled
to the passive device (56; Fig. 6B; see [0025-0026]; see [0026]; passive components)
are bended towards the second side of the leadframe ({26, 14}; Fig. 6B; see [0020,
0025-0029]).
Regarding claim 26, Yip teaches all of the features of claim 25.
Yip further teaches wherein remaining pins ({28}; Fig. 6B; see [0020-0021,
0025-0029]) of the plurality of pins ({28, 60}; Fig. 6B; see [0020-0021, 0025-0029])
coupled to the die (38; Fig. 6B; see [0038, 0021-0022]) are bended towards the first
side of the leadframe ({26, 14}; Fig. 6B; see [0020, 0025-0029]).
Regarding claim 29, Yip teaches all of the features of claim 21.
Yip further teaches wherein the at least one pin ({60}; Fig. 6B; see [0025, 0028]) of the plurality of pins ({28, 60}; Fig. 6B; see [0020-0021, 0025-0029]) exposes from the mold compound (46; Fig. 6B; see [0023, 0032]) on the second side of the lead frame ({26, 14}; Fig. 6B; see [0020, 0025-0029]).
Regarding claim 30, Yip teaches an electronic device (see the entire document, specifically Fig. 1+; [0001+], and as cited below), comprising (see alternative rejection for claim 30 below):
a leadframe ({26, 14}; Fig. 6B; see [0020, 0025-0029]) including a plurality of pins ({28, 60}; Fig. 6B; see [0020-0021, 0025-0029]);
a die (38; Fig. 6B; see [0038, 0021-0022]) attached to a first side of the
leadframe ({26, 14}; Fig. 6B; see [0020, 0025-0029]);
a mold compound (46; Fig. 6B; see [0023, 0032]) encapsulating the die (38; Fig.
6B; see [0038, 0021-0022]); and
a passive device (56; Fig. 6B; see [0025-0026]; see [0026]; passive components) attached to a second side of the leadframe ({26, 14}; Fig. 6B; see [0020, 0025-0029]) opposite to the first side,
wherein the passive device (56; Fig. 6B; see [0025-0026]; see [0026]; passive components) is not encapsulated in the mold compound (46; Fig. 6B; see [0023, 0032]).
Regarding claim 33, Yip teaches all of the features of claim 30.
Yip further teaches wherein two pins ({60}; Fig. 6B; see [0025, 0028]) of the plurality of pins ({28, 60}; Fig. 6B; see [0020-0021, 0025-0029]) coupled to the passive device (56; Fig. 6B; see [0025-0026]; see [0026]; passive components) are bended towards the second side of the leadframe ({26, 14}; Fig. 6B; see [0020, 0025-0029]).
Regarding claim 34, Yip teaches all of the features of claim 33.
Yip further teaches wherein remaining pins ({28}; Fig. 6B; see [0020-0021,
0025-0029]) of the plurality of pins ({28, 60}; Fig. 6B; see [0020-0021, 0025-0029]) coupled to the die (38; Fig. 6B; see [0038, 0021-0022]) are bended towards the first side of the leadframe ({26, 14}; Fig. 6B; see [0020, 0025-0029]).
3. Claims 21, 22, 23, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31,33, 34, and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Scharf et al. (US 20190259688 A1; hereinafter Scharf)
Regarding claim 21, Scharf teaches an electronic device (see the entire document, specifically Fig. 1+; [0002+], and as cited below), comprising (see alternative rejection for claim 21 above):
a leadframe (102; Fig. 10; see [0099, 0073]) including a plurality of pins ({112, 198}; Fig. 10; see [0096, 0099, 0073]);
a die (104; Fig. 10; see [0074, 0096]) attached to a first side of the leadframe (102; Fig. 10; see [0099, 0073]);
a mold compound (108; see [0075, 0097]) encapsulating the die (104; Fig. 10; see [0074, 0096]); and
a passive device (110; Fig. 10; see [0075-0076, 0095-0099]) attached to a second side of the leadframe (102; Fig. 10; see [0099, 0073]) opposite to the first side,
wherein at least one pin ({198}; Fig. 10; see [0096, 0099, 0073])of the plurality of pins electrically ({112, 198}; Fig. 10; see [0096, 0099, 0073]) couples the die (104; Fig. 10; see [0074, 0096]) to the passive device (110; Fig. 10; see [0075-0076, 0095-0099]).
Regarding claim 22, Scharf teaches all of the features of claim 21.
Scharf further teaches wherein the passive device (110; Fig. 10; see [0075-0076, 0095-0099]) comprises an inductor (see [0028, 0064-0065, 0076]).
Regarding claim 23, Scharf teaches all of the features of claim 21.
Scharf further teaches wherein the passive device (110; Fig. 10; see [0075-0076, 0095-0099]) is not encapsulated in the mold compound (108; see [0075, 0097]).
Regarding claim 25, Scharf teaches all of the features of claim 21.
Scharf further teaches wherein two pins ({198}; Fig. 10; see [0096, 0099, 0073])of the plurality of pins ({112, 198}; Fig. 10; see [0096, 0099, 0073]) coupled
to the passive device (110; Fig. 10; see [0075-0076, 0095-0099]) are bended towards
the second side of the leadframe (102; Fig. 10; see [0099, 0073]).
Regarding claim 26, Scharf teaches all of the features of claim 25.
Scharf further teaches wherein remaining pins ({112}; Fig. 10; see [0096, 0099, 0073]) of the plurality of pins ({112, 198}; Fig. 10; see [0096, 0099, 0073]) coupled to the die (104; Fig. 6B; see [0038, 0021-0022]) are bended towards the first
side of the leadframe (102; Fig. 10; see [0099, 0073]).
Regarding claim 27, Scharf teaches all of the features of claim 21.
Scharf further teaches wherein the electronic device (see [0033, 0057, 0074, 0097]) comprises a power module.
Regarding claim 28, Scharf teaches all of the features of claim 21.
Scharf further teaches wherein the passive device (110; Fig. 10; see [0075-0076, 0095-0099]) is attached to the second side of the leadframe using a conductive adhesive (118; Fig. 10; see [0087]; solder).
Regarding claim 29, Scharf teaches all of the features of claim 21.
Scharf further teaches wherein the at least one pin ({198}; Fig. 10; see [0096, 0099, 0073]) of the plurality of pins ({112, 198}; Fig. 10; see [0096, 0099, 0073])exposes from the mold compound (108) on the second side of the lead frame (102; Fig. 10; see [0099, 0073]).
Regarding claim 30, Scharf teaches an electronic device (see the entire document, specifically Fig. 1+; [0001+], and as cited below), comprising (see alternative rejection for claim 30 above):
a leadframe (102; Fig. 10; see [0099, 0073]) including a plurality of pins ({112, 198}; Fig. 10; see [0096, 0099, 0073]);
a die (104; Fig. 10; see [0074, 0096]) attached to a first side of the leadframe (102; Fig. 10; see [0099, 0073]);
a mold compound (108; see [0075, 0097]) encapsulating the die (104; Fig. 10; see [0074, 0096]); and
a passive device (110; Fig. 10; see [0075-0076, 0095-0099]) attached to a second side of the leadframe (102; Fig. 10; see [0099, 0073]) opposite to the first side,
wherein the passive device (110; Fig. 10; see [0075-0076, 0095-0099]) is not encapsulated in the mold compound (108; see [0075, 0097]).
Regarding claim 31, Scharf teaches all of the features of claim 30.
Scharf further teaches wherein the passive device (110; Fig. 10; see [0075-0076, 0095-0099]) comprises an inductor (see [0028, 0064-0065, 0076]).
Regarding claim 33, Scharf teaches all of the features of claim 30.
Scharf further teaches wherein two pins ({198}; Fig. 10; see [0096, 0099, 0073])of the plurality of pins ({112, 198}; Fig. 10; see [0096, 0099, 0073]) coupled
to the passive device (110; Fig. 10; see [0075-0076, 0095-0099]) are bended towards
the second side of the leadframe (102; Fig. 10; see [0099, 0073]).
Regarding claim 34, Scharf teaches all of the features of claim 33.
Scharf further teaches wherein remaining pins ({112}; Fig. 10; see [0096, 0099, 0073]) of the plurality of pins ({112, 198}; Fig. 10; see [0096, 0099, 0073]) coupled to the die (104; Fig. 6B; see [0038, 0021-0022]) are bended towards the first
side of the leadframe (102; Fig. 10; see [0099, 0073]).
Regarding claim 35, Scharf teaches all of the features of claim 30.
Scharf further teaches wherein the electronic device (see [0033, 0057, 0074, 0097]) comprises a power module.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Notes: when present, semicolon separated fields within the parenthesis (; ;) represent, for example, as (30A; Fig 2B; [0128]) = (element 30A; Figure No. 2B; Paragraph No. [0128]). For brevity, the texts “Element”, “Figure No.” and “Paragraph No.” shall be excluded, though; additional clarification notes may be added within each field. The number of fields may be fewer or more than three indicated above. These conventions are used throughout this document.
4. Claims 24 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being unpatentable over Scharf et al. (US 20190259688 A1; hereinafter Scharf), in view of Tsui et al. (US 20120181676 A1; hereinafter Tsui).
Regarding claim 24, Scharf teaches all of the features of claim 21.
Scharf further teaches wherein the die (104; Fig. 10; see [0074, 0096]) is attached to the first side of the leadframe (102; Fig. 10; see [0099, 0073]) (see below for “as a flip-chip die”).
As noted above, Scharf does not expressly disclose “wherein the die is attached to the first side of the leadframe as a flip-chip die”.
However, in the analogous art, Tsui teaches a semiconductor device ([0002]), wherein (Fig. 1A+ [0002+]) a first flip-chip die (602; Fig. 12; [0175]]) is connected to layer (604) and layer (612)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate Tsui’s flip chip into Scharf’s device, and thereby, modified Scharf’s (by Tsui) device will have wherein the die (Scharf 104; Fig. 10; see [0074, 0096] in view of Tsui 602; Fig. 12; [0175]) is attached to the first side of the leadframe (Scharf 102; Fig. 10; see [0099, 0073]) as a flip-chip die (in view of Tsui 602; Fig. 12; [0175]).
The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Scharf in the manner set forth above, at least, because this inclusion provides flip chip die connected to a conductive layer (Tsui [0175]), where the flip chip die is connected in a manner that imparts substantial additional flexibility in the design of a package for particular needs.
Regarding claim 32, Scharf teaches all of the features of claim 30.
Scharf further teaches wherein the die (104; Fig. 10; see [0074, 0096]) is attached to the first side of the leadframe (102; Fig. 10; see [0099, 0073]) (see below for “as a flip-chip die”).
As noted above, Scharf does not expressly disclose “wherein the die is attached to the first side of the leadframe as a flip-chip die”.
However, in the analogous art, Tsui teaches a semiconductor device ([0002]), wherein (Fig. 1A+ [0002+]) a first flip-chip die (602; Fig. 12; [0175]]) is connected to layer (604) and layer (612)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate Tsui’s flip chip into Scharf’s device, and thereby, modified Scharf’s (by Tsui) device will have wherein the die (Scharf 104; Fig. 10; see [0074, 0096] in view of Tsui 602; Fig. 12; [0175]) is attached to the first side of the leadframe (Scharf 102; Fig. 10; see [0099, 0073]) as a flip-chip die (in view of Tsui 602; Fig. 12; [0175]).
The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Scharf in the manner set forth above, at least, because this inclusion provides flip chip die connected to a conductive layer (Tsui [0175]), where the flip chip die is connected in a manner that imparts substantial additional flexibility in the design of a package for particular needs.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed in the “Applicant Arguments/Remarks Made in an Amendment” on 05/04/2026 have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive, because of the following: the Applicant's cancellation of claims 1-8 and addition of claims 21-35 necessitated the shift in new grounds of rejection detailed in sections above. The shift in grounds of rejection renders the Applicant's arguments moot.
Please see the analysis of rejection for claims above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/OMAR F MOJADDEDI/Examiner, Art Unit 2898