DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lin et al. (US pub 20200168572).
With respect to claim 1, Lin et al. teach an electronic device, comprising (see figs. 1-14, particularly fig. 1A and associated text):
a multilevel package substrate 106 having opposite first (top) and second (bottom) substrate sides, first (middle part) and second (edge part) conductive pads spaced apart from one another along the first substrate side, and a conductive substrate terminal (connector right above 160) that is exposed along the second substrate side and is electrically coupled to the second conductive pad;
a semiconductor die 110 attached to the first substrate side and having opposite first (bottom) and second (top) die sides, and a die terminal 111,109 along the first die side, the die terminal electrically coupled to the first conductive pad; and
a molded package structure 120 that encloses the semiconductor die and a portion of the first substrate side, the molded package structure having a package side (top), a metal shield 132 along the package side, and a conductive package via 122 that extends through the molded package structure and electrically couples the metal shield to the second conductive pad.
With respect to claim 10, Lin et al. teach the multilevel package substrate has multiple instances of the second conductive pad (middle 104); each instance of the second conductive pad is electrically coupled to the conductive substrate terminal (connector right above 160); the molded package structure has multiple instances of the conductive package via 122 (right/left); and each instance of the conductive package via extends through the molded package structure and electrically couples the metal shield to the second conductive pad (edge part of 104). See fig. 1A and associated text.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. (US pub 20200168572) in combination with Wake et al. (JP 2006269892).
With respect to claim 12, Lin et al. fail to teach electromagnetic shielding includes a ferrite metal material.
Wake et al. teach using a ferrite metal material as electromagnetic shielding material. See English description of claim 9.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of making semiconductor devices to incorporate the teaching of Wake et al. into the device of Lin et al. to achieve excellent noise suppression. See English description of claim 9.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-9, and 11 are allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/18/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. See below.
In response to the applicant’s arguments on pages 8-11 of the amendment dated 3/18/26, it is submitted that Lin et al. teach a molded package structure 120 that encloses the semiconductor die and a portion of the first substrate side, the molded package structure having a package side (top), a metal shield 132 along the package side. Further it is submitted the claim language does not require the molded structure to enclose the die and a portion of the first substrate completely. Further it is submitted the claim language does not require the metal shield to be a continuous metal layer.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
LONG . PHAM
Examiner
Art Unit 2823
/LONG PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897