DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I, claims 1-7 in the reply filed on August 19, 2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 8-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected method, machine, and system, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Status
The status of the claims upon entry of the present amendments stands as follows:
Pending claims:
1-20
Withdrawn claims:
8-20
Claims currently under consideration:
1-7
Currently rejected claims:
1-7
Allowed claims:
None
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sinnott (US 4,585,135 A) in view of Farr (US 2006/0201331 A1)(IDS Reference filed 11/29/2022).
Regarding claim 1, Sinnott teaches a screw closure for a bottle (i.e., a container where the opening is sealable with a twist cap) to provide a seal for carbonated beverages giving an internal pressure in excess of external pressure (i.e., pressurized effervescent liquid beverage; col. 1, lines 9-15; Fig. 1, external threading 6).
Sinnott does not teach the base liquid being effervesced with at least one sparingly soluble gas.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Farr teaches an effervescent beverage with a sparingly soluble gas (Abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the product of Sinnott with the use of a sparingly soluble gas as taught by Farr. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification because Farr teaches that the effervescent liquid has a smooth and silky texture when a sparingly soluble gas is used (Abstract).
Regarding claims 2 and 4, Sinnott teaches that the pressure in the bottle is increased to 689 kPa (col. 6, lines 65-66), which falls within the claimed ranges of “less than approximately 690 kPa” (claim 2) and “between approximately 552 to 690 kPa” (claim 4).
Regarding claim 5, Sinnott teaches that the screw closure has an internally threaded skirt (col. 2, lines 20-4).
Regarding claim 6, Sinnott teaches that the beverage is carbonated (i.e., effervesced with carbon dioxide; col. 1, lines 14-15)
Sinnott does not teach wherein the base liquid is effervesced with a mixture of carbon dioxide and the at least one sparingly soluble gas.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Farr teaches using carbon dioxide and oxygen (i.e., a sparingly soluble gas; [0027]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the product of Sinnott with the use of a sparingly soluble gas as taught by Farr. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification because Farr teaches that the effervescent liquid has a smooth and silky texture when a sparingly soluble gas is used (Abstract).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sinnott (US 4,585,135 A) in view of Farr (US 2006/0201331 A1)(IDS Reference filed 11/29/2022) and applied to claim 1 above, and further evidenced by Valve (“Handbook of Valves and Actuators”, Valve Manual International, p. 1-8, published 2007 [accessed online October 20, 2025]).
Regarding claim 3, Sinnott teaches that the internal pressure is in excess of external atmospheric pressure (col. 1, lines 15-16) and that the venting pressure of the cap was in excess of 1379 kPa (col. 8, lines 30-31). Therefore, it logically follows that the pressure within the bottle falls between 101.325 kPa (atmospheric pressure) and 1379 kPa, which encompasses the claimed ranges of “between approximately 344 to 552 kPa”. Evidence to support that atmospheric pressure is 101.325 kPa is provided by Valves. Valves teaches that atmospheric pressure is nominally 101.325 kPa (p. 7, ¶ Atmospheric Pressure).
With respect to the overlapping ranges, MPEP §2114.05 teaches that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because selection of overlapping portion of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sinnott (US 4,585,135 A) in view of Farr (US 2006/0201331 A1) (IDS Reference filed 11/29/2022) and applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Agro (Agro, Charlsie and Cowley, Jenny, “Marketplace tested Perrier, LaCroix, Bubly sparkling waters to see which is most acidic”, CBC, published November 14, 2021 [accessed online October 20, 2025]).
Regarding claim 7, Sinnott teaches that the beverage is carbonated (i.e., effervesced with carbon dioxide; col. 1, lines 14-15)
Sinnott does not teach wherein the base liquid is effervesced with a mixture of carbon dioxide and the at least one sparingly soluble gas and has a pH of approximately 4.0 or great.
Regarding the base liquid being effervesced with a mixture of carbon dioxide and at least one sparingly soluble gas, Farr teaches using carbon dioxide and oxygen (i.e., a sparingly soluble gas; [0027]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the product of Sinnott with the use of a sparingly soluble gas as taught by Farr. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification because Farr teaches that the effervescent liquid has a smooth and silky texture when a sparingly soluble gas is used (Abstract).
Regarding the pH of the beverage, Agro teaches the acidity of sparkling waters (i.e., effervescent beverages) where some of the beverages has a pH of 4.06 or greater (p. 3, Table, lines 5-14), which falls in the claimed range of “approximately 4.0 of greater”.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the product of Sinnott to have a pH greater than 4 as taught by Agro. One would be motivated to make this modification because Agro teaches that pH levels below 4 can start to wear down the enamel on teeth (p. 3, ¶ 2).
Conclusion
/A.S.H./Examiner, Art Unit 1793
/EMILY M LE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1793