DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed 07/27/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-8, 10-17, and 19-20 are currently pending. Claims 1 and 15 are amended. Support for the amended claims is found in the claims as originally filed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 and 12-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arima et al. (US 20130177787 A1) in view of Dawley et al. (US 20200388874 A1) as evidenced by Shinohara et al. (US 20150236328 A1), Peacock (Peacock, A. (2000). Handbook of Polyethylene: Structures: Properties, and Applications (1st ed.). CRC Press. pp. 16), Anderson et al. (Anderson, Kevin Weritz, John Kaufman, J. Gilbert. (2019). “ASM Handbook®, Volume 02B - Properties and Selection of Aluminum Alloys”. ASM International.), Davis (Introduction and Overview of Copper and Copper Alloys, Metals Handbook Desk Edition, 2nd ed., Edited By Joseph R. Davis, ASM International, 1998, p 506), and Teraoka et al (US 20180269532 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Arima discloses a lithium ion battery (paragraph 0052), comprising a casing and an electrode core packaged in the casing (paragraph 0054, figure 1, container 100 corresponding to a casing, and electrode group 50 corresponding to an electrode core), the electrode core comprising a positive electrode sheet, a negative electrode sheet, and a separator located between the positive electrode sheet and the negative electrode sheet (paragraph 0055, figure 1), and the positive electrode sheet comprising a positive electrode current collector and a positive electrode material layer on the positive electrode current collector (paragraph 0057), wherein among the positive electrode current collector, the positive electrode material layer, the negative electrode sheet, and the separator, the one with the lowest melting point is defined as an effective component (paragraphs 0065, 0086, 0093, cathode resin current collector equivalent to the effective component as the melting point is lower than the separator and metallic components, anode collector is for example, copper which has a melting temperature of 1083°C (Davis), and the cathode active material layer is for example LiCoO2, which has a melting point of 1100°C (Teraoka paragraph 0104), both of which are much greater than the separator and resin collector layer which may be polyethylene, see Peacock, making the positive collector the effective component); and the effective component meets:
80
<
d
2
ρ
C
p
×
1.12
n
L
n
+
1
W
+
1.35
L
W
+
0.337
n
+
4.49
<
2000
wherein n is a layer number of the effective component (paragraph 0059, three-layer structure, n=3); L is a dimension of the effective component in a first direction, unit: m (paragraph 0076, 0.15 m); W is a dimension of the effective component in a second direction, unit: m (paragraph 0074-0075, 0.1 m); d2 is a thickness of the effective component, unit: m (paragraphs 0059-0060, 0063, total thickness of three-layer structure is 1.4x10-5 - 8x10-5 m when considering two layers of 2-15 micron metal and a 10-50 micron resin layer, 4.7x10-5 is used as the midpoint); ρ is a density of the effective component, unit: kg/m3 (paragraph 0062, the collector resin layer is used as it is the lowest melting point component which is for example, polyethylene, which has a density of 860-970 kg/m3, see Peacock); Cp is a specific heat capacity of the effective component, unit: J/(Kg·C) (paragraph, 0062, the collector resin layer is used as it is the lowest melting point component which is for example, polyethylene, which has a specific heat capacity of 2300 J/(Kg·C), see Shinohara paragraph 0049); and the first direction is parallel to a direction in which the current in the effective component is output (paragraph 0075, figure 6, current is extracted in tab direction, parallel to L1), and the second direction intersects the first direction (figure 6, L1 perpendicularly intersects W1); and wherein the lithium ion battery is a rectangular battery (paragraph 0054, figure 1). The recited expression is calculated using the referenced values as follows:
4.7
*
1
0
-
5
m
860
t
o
970
k
g
m
3
2300
J
K
g
C
×
1.12
(
3
)
(
0.15
m
)
3
+
1
(
0.10
m
)
+
1.35
(
0.15
m
)
0.10
m
+
0.337
(
3
)
+
4.49
= 817 to 921, within the claimed range of 80 to 2000.
Arima is silent regarding a length of the lithium ion battery being 500-2500 mm, and a ratio L/W of the dimension L of the positive electrode current collector in the first direction to the dimension W of the positive electrode current collector in the second direction being in a range of 2-30.
Dawley discloses an electrochemical device including an electrically-insulating housing, a plurality of current collectors, a plurality of electrochemical cells, a positive terminal, and a negative terminal (Dawley paragraph 0004). Dawley further discloses that the length of the battery may range from greater than or equal to about 50 mm to less than or equal to about 2000 mm in order to be suitable for vehicle and secondary use applications. The reference teaches that the length and width may be adjusted based on packaging requirements of a system in which the electrochemical device will be used, and in certain aspects, desired total voltage and/or current (Dawley paragraph 0095). Dawley is clearly teaching that the length and width are results effective variables that control the packaging and desires voltage and/or current of the battery. Dawley and Arima are analogous because they both disclose lithium ion battery cells.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the battery disclosed by Arima to have the claimed length and length to width ratio because it has been held by the courts that optimization of a results effective variable is not novel. In re Boesch, 617 F2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 2, modified Arima discloses the limitations of claim 1. Arima further discloses that the effective component meets (see claim 1 rejection calculation, 817-921):
100
<
d
2
ρ
C
p
×
1.12
n
L
n
+
1
W
+
1.35
L
W
+
0.337
n
+
4.49
<
1500
Regarding claim 3, modified Arima discloses the limitations of claim 1. Arima further discloses that the effective component is the positive electrode current collector (paragraphs 0065, 0086, 0093, cathode resin current collector equivalent to the effective component as the melting point is lower than the separator and metallic components).
Regarding claim 4, modified Arima discloses the limitations of claim 1. Arima further discloses that a positive electrode tab is led out from one side of the positive electrode current collector, and the first direction is parallel to a direction in which the positive electrode tab is led out (paragraph 0075, figure 6, tab 41 extends parallel to L1).
Regarding claim 5, modified Arima discloses the limitations of claim 1. Arima further discloses that the second direction is perpendicular to the first direction (figure 6, L1 and W1).
Regarding claim 6, modified Arima discloses the limitations of claim 3. Arima further discloses that the positive electrode current collector meets at least one of following conditions: the thickness d2 of the positive electrode current collector ranges from 6 µm to 15 µm (paragraphs 0059-0060, 0063, total thickness of three-layer structure is 14µm - 80µm when considering two layers of 2-15 micron metal and a 10-50 micron resin layer, overlapping the claimed range); the density ρ of the positive electrode current collector ranges from 2000 kgm-3 to 3000 kgm-3; (paragraph 0060, when considering the conductive layers of the current collector, aluminum/aluminum alloy has a density of about 2705, see Anderson); the specific heat capacity Cp of the positive electrode current collector ranges from 800 J·kg-1K-1 to 900 J·kg-1K-1 (paragraph 0060, aluminum alloy, eg. 1050, has a specific heat capacity of 900 J·kg-1K-1, see Anderson); and the layer number n of the positive electrode current collector ranges from 1 to 150 (paragraph 0059, n=3, three layer structure). The equation of claim one can be satisfied using the values of the referenced aluminum conductive layers as follows:
4.7
*
1
0
-
5
m
2705
k
g
m
3
900
J
K
g
C
×
1.12
(
3
)
(
0.15
m
)
3
+
1
(
0.10
m
)
+
1.35
(
0.15
m
)
0.10
m
+
0.337
(
3
)
+
4.49
=1005, within the claimed range.
Regarding claim 7, modified Arima discloses the limitations of claim 1. Arima further discloses that a material of the positive electrode current collector comprises aluminum (paragraph 0060).
Regarding claim 8, modified Arima discloses the limitations of claim 1. Arima further discloses that the electrode core meets at least one of following conditions: the positive electrode material layer comprises a lithium iron phosphate material (paragraph 0065); and the negative electrode sheet comprises a negative electrode active material, and the negative electrode active material comprises at least one of graphite, mesocarbon microspheres, a silicon based material, and lithium titanate (paragraph 0086).
Regarding claim 12, modified Arima discloses the limitations of claim 1. Arima further discloses a battery pack, comprising at least one lithium ion battery (paragraphs 0052, 0154).
Regarding claim 13, modified Arima discloses the limitations of claim 12. Arima further discloses An electric vehicle, comprising a battery pack (paragraphs 0005, 0154).
Regarding claim 14, modified Arima discloses the limitations of claim 12. Arima further discloses an energy storage device, comprising the battery pack (paragraphs 0052, 0154).
Regarding claim 15, Arima discloses a lithium ion battery (paragraph 0052), comprising a casing and an electrode core packaged in the casing (paragraph 0054, figure 1, container 100 corresponding to a casing, and electrode group 50 corresponding to an electrode core), the electrode core comprising a positive electrode sheet, a negative electrode sheet, and a separator located between the positive electrode sheet and the negative electrode sheet (paragraph 0055, figure 1), and the positive electrode sheet comprising a positive electrode current collector and a positive electrode material layer on the positive electrode current collector (paragraph 0057), wherein the positive electrode current collector meets:
80
<
d
2
ρ
C
p
×
1.12
n
L
n
+
1
W
+
1.35
L
W
+
0.337
n
+
4.49
<
2000
wherein n is a layer number of the effective component (paragraph 0059, three-layer structure, n=3); L is a dimension of the effective component in a first direction, unit: m (paragraph 0076, 0.15 m); W is a dimension of the effective component in a second direction, unit: m (paragraph 0074-0075, 0.1 m); d2 is a thickness of the effective component, unit: m (paragraphs 0059-0060, 0063, total thickness of three-layer structure is 1.4x10-5 - 8x10-5 m when considering two layers of 2-15 micron metal and a 10-50 micron resin layer, 4.7x10-5 is used as the midpoint); ρ is a density of the effective component, unit: kg/m3 (paragraph 0062, the collector resin layer is used as it is the lowest melting point component which is for example, polyethylene, which has a density of 860-970 kg/m3, see Peacock); and Cp is a specific heat capacity of the effective component, unit: J/(Kg·C) (paragraph, 0062, the collector resin layer is used as it is the lowest melting point component which is for example, polyethylene, which has a specific heat capacity of 2300 J/(Kg·C), see Shinohara paragraph 0049); the first direction is parallel to a direction in which a current in the positive electrode current collector is output (paragraph 0075, figure 6, current is extracted in tab direction, parallel to L1), and the second direction intersects the first direction (figure 6, L1 perpendicularly intersects W1); and wherein the lithium ion battery is a rectangular battery (paragraph 0054, figure 1). The recited expression is calculated using the referenced values as follows:
4.7
*
1
0
-
5
m
860
t
o
970
k
g
m
3
2300
J
K
g
C
×
1.12
(
3
)
(
0.15
m
)
3
+
1
(
0.10
m
)
+
1.35
(
0.15
m
)
0.10
m
+
0.337
(
3
)
+
4.49
= 817 to 921, within the claimed range of 80 to 2000.
Arima is silent regarding a length of the lithium ion battery being 500-2500 mm, and a ratio L/W of the dimension L of the positive electrode current collector in the first direction to the dimension W of the positive electrode current collector in the second direction being in a range of 2-30.
Dawley discloses an electrochemical device including an electrically-insulating housing, a plurality of current collectors, a plurality of electrochemical cells, a positive terminal, and a negative terminal (Dawley paragraph 0004). Dawley further discloses that the length of the battery may range from greater than or equal to about 50 mm to less than or equal to about 2000 mm in order to be suitable for vehicle and secondary use applications. The reference teaches that the length and width may be adjusted based on packaging requirements of a system in which the electrochemical device will be used, and in certain aspects, desired total voltage and/or current (Dawley paragraph 0095). Dawley is clearly teaching that the length and width are results effective variables that control the packaging and desires voltage and/or current of the battery. Dawley and Arima are analogous because they both disclose lithium ion battery cells.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the battery disclosed by Arima to have the claimed length and length to width ratio because it has been held by the courts that optimization of a results effective variable is not novel. In re Boesch, 617 F2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 16, modified Arima discloses the limitations of claim 15. Arima further discloses that the effective component meets (see claim 1 rejection calculation, 817-921):
100
<
d
2
ρ
C
p
×
1.12
n
L
n
+
1
W
+
1.35
L
W
+
0.337
n
+
4.49
<
1500
Regarding claim 17, modified Arima discloses the limitations of claim 15. Arima further discloses that the positive electrode current collector meets at least one of following conditions: the thickness d2 of the positive electrode current collector ranges from 6 µm to 15 µm (paragraphs 0059-0060, 0063, total thickness of three-layer structure is 14µm - 80µm when considering two layers of 2-15 micron metal and a 10-50 micron resin layer, overlapping the claimed range); the density ρ of the positive electrode current collector ranges from 2000 kgm-3 to 3000 kgm-3; (paragraph 0060, when considering the conductive layers of the current collector, aluminum/aluminum alloy has a density of about 2705, see Anderson); the specific heat capacity Cp of the positive electrode current collector ranges from 800 J·kg-1K-1 to 900 J·kg-1K-1 (paragraph 0060, aluminum alloy, eg. 1050, has a specific heat capacity of 900 J·kg-1K-1, see Anderson); and the layer number n of the positive electrode current collector ranges from 1 to 150 (paragraph 0059, n=3, three layer structure). The equation of claim one can be satisfied using the values of the referenced aluminum conductive layers as follows:
4.7
*
1
0
-
5
m
2705
k
g
m
3
900
J
K
g
C
×
1.12
(
3
)
(
0.15
m
)
3
+
1
(
0.10
m
)
+
1.35
(
0.15
m
)
0.10
m
+
0.337
(
3
)
+
4.49
=1005, within the claimed range.
Claims 10-11 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arima et al. (US 20130177787 A1) in view of Dawley et al. (US 20200388874 A1) as applied to claims 1 and 15, and further in view of Gardner (US 20150155596 A1).
Regarding claim 10, modified Arima discloses the limitations of claim 1. Arima is silent regarding that multiple electrode cores are packaged in the casing, and the multiple electrode cores are assigned to several electrode core assemblies connected in series.
Gardner discloses lithium ion multi-cell batteries including a container which provides a seal and moisture barrier (Gardner paragraphs 0006-0007). Gardner further disclose that the batteries comprise multiple electrode assemblies, equivalent to electrode cores, connected in series within the container (paragraph 0033, figure 3A). The reference teaches that the series connected electrochemical assemblies allows for a multi-cell battery of a predetermined voltage to be obtained (Gardner paragraph 0045). Gardner and Arima are analogous because they both disclose lithium ion battery assemblies.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the battery disclosed by Arima to include multiple electrode assemblies connected in series within the casing as disclosed by Gardner. Doing so would allow for a multi-cell battery of a predetermined voltage to be obtained.
Regarding claim 11, modified Arima discloses the limitations of claim 1. Arima is silent regarding an encapsulation film being provided between the casing and the electrode core, and the electrode core being packaged in the encapsulation film.
Gardner discloses lithium ion multi-cell batteries including a container which provides a seal and moisture barrier (Gardner paragraphs 0006-0007). Gardner further discloses that the container includes a layer of conductive material on the internal surface of the container and the electrochemical assembly has a protective outer layer (Gardner paragraphs 0041-0042, figures 3A and 4c, protective outer layer 155 and conductive material 175, equivalent to encapsulation layers between the casing and electrode core). The reference teaches that the protective layer prevents contact between the outer electrode foil and the conductive layer and the conductive layer provides a barrier to moisture and vapors (Gardner paragraph 0041-0042). Gardner and Arima are analogous because they both disclose lithium ion battery assemblies.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the battery disclosed by Arima to include the layers between the electrode assembly and container disclosed by Gardner. Doing so would prevent contact between conductive components and provide a barrier to moisture and vapors.
Regarding claim 19, modified Arima discloses the limitations of claim 15. Arima is silent regarding that the electrode core comprises multiple electrode cores in the casing and the multiple electrode cores are assigned to several electrode core assemblies connected in series.
Gardner discloses lithium ion multi-cell batteries including a container which provides a seal and moisture barrier (Gardner paragraphs 0006-0007). Gardner further disclose that the batteries comprise multiple electrode assemblies, equivalent to electrode cores, connected in series within the container (paragraph 0033, figure 3A). The reference teaches that the series connected electrochemical assemblies allows for a multi-cell battery of a predetermined voltage to be obtained (Gardner paragraph 0045). Gardner and Arima are analogous because they both disclose lithium ion battery assemblies.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the battery disclosed by Arima to include multiple electrode assemblies connected in series within the casing as disclosed by Gardner. Doing so would allow for a multi-cell battery of a predetermined voltage to be obtained.
Regarding claim 20 modified Arima discloses the limitations of claim 15. Arima is silent regarding an encapsulation film being provided between the casing and the electrode core, and the electrode core being packaged in the encapsulation film.
Gardner discloses lithium ion multi-cell batteries including a container which provides a seal and moisture barrier (Gardner paragraphs 0006-0007). Gardner further discloses that the container includes a layer of conductive material on the internal surface of the container and the electrochemical assembly has a protective outer layer (Gardner paragraphs 0041-0042, figures 3A and 4c, protective outer layer 155 and conductive material 175, equivalent to encapsulation layers between the casing and electrode core). The reference teaches that the protective layer prevents contact between the outer electrode foil and the conductive layer and the conductive layer provides a barrier to moisture and vapors (Gardner paragraph 0041-0042). Gardner and Arima are analogous because they both disclose lithium ion battery assemblies.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the battery disclosed by Arima to include the layers between the electrode assembly and container disclosed by Gardner. Doing so would prevent contact between conductive components and provide a barrier to moisture and vapors.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's arguments filed 07/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the calculation of the claimed formula in view of the cited art is flawed because it utilizes the thermal properties of the resin layer. However, the effective component is deemed to be the composite current collector. The thermal properties of the resin layer of the collector would necessarily be chosen, as it is the lowest melting point component of the collector, and therefore, what constitutes the collector as the effective component. Therefore, “among the positive electrode current collector, the positive electrode material layer, the negative electrode sheet, and the separator” as claimed, the positive current collector is the effective component as a result of the resin layer, and the properties of the resin layer is subsequently used.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/B.T.L./Examiner, Art Unit 1727
/BARBARA L GILLIAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1727