Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Specifically, claim 20 cites a plurality of refrigerant portions that is formed such that the cooling flow path is split specifically after it “turns and flows along the second surface in the second direction”, but rejoins before “the joined portions turn and flow away from the second surface in the third direction”. None of the citations provided by the Applicant (see Remarks, dated 01/14/2026), that being [0018], [0021]-[0022], [0039-0042], and [0054], along with Figs. 1-5 and 7, support this feature: at best, the citations, in particular the cross-sectional views in Fig. 3, support the cooling flow path being split earlier as it first flows in the third direction (i.e., vertically) as said path(s) turn towards the second surface and before they turn again and flow along the second surface. For the sake of further analysis, it is interpreted that the “plurality of partitions” as disclosed in claim 20 are first formed vertically along the third direction and simply continue as the paths turn and flow along the second direction.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gutala (PGPub No. 20180211900).
Regarding claim 1, Gutala teaches a semiconductor apparatus comprising: a semiconductor module (Fig. 3 points to an integrated circuit package 300 (semiconductor apparatus) comprising a main IC die 305 (semiconductor module).); a support including an installation surface (Id. points to a package or interposer substrate 307 (installation surface).); and a cooler including: an outer wall including: a first surface directed to the installation surface, and a second surface on an opposite side of the outer wall relative to the first surface (Id. points to a fluid routing device lid 302 (cooler) comprising a bottom side (outer wall) including an outer face (first surface) positioned towards the substrate 307 and an inner face (second surface) positioned in the opposite direction.), a plurality of cooling flow paths along which a refrigerant is flowable and which at least partially extend along the second surface (Fig. 3 and [0030] point to fluid channels 51-58, 61-69, and 71-73 (plurality of cooling flow paths) which allow for the delivering of a fluid coolant (refrigerant).), the plurality of cooling flow paths configured such that, with the refrigerant flowed along the plurality of cooling flow paths, the refrigerant flows along adjacent cooling flow paths of the plurality of cooling flow paths in a same direction along the second surface (Fig. 4 points to a top-down view of the fluid routing device lid 302 (cooler) of Fig. 3 comprising a flow path that extends laterally from a fluid inlet 411 towards a fluid outlet 412. It is considered obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art would duplicate the fluid channels 51-58, 61-69, and 71-73 (adjacent cooling flow paths) and form them along the same lateral flow path in order to provide uniform heat dissipation to the underlying components such as the main IC die 305.), a plurality of partitions spaced apart in a first direction, each partition of the plurality of partitions being between two adjacent cooling flow paths of the plurality of cooling flow paths so that, with the refrigerant flowed along the plurality of cooling flow paths, the refrigerant flowed along the two adjacent cooling flow paths of the plurality of cooling flow paths is separated by the partition so as to flow along different portions of the second surface (Fig. 3 points to the vertical fluid channels 51-58 and 61-69, which are each separated by vertically extending portions (plurality of partitions) of the fluid routing device lid 302.), a first sidewall, and a second sidewall that is on an opposite side of the cooler relative to the first sidewall (Id. points to the fluid routing device lid 302 comprising a left side (first sidewall) and a right side (second sidewall).); at least one first fixing member connected to the first sidewall; and at least one second fixing member connected to the second sidewall, wherein the at least one first fixing member and the at least one second fixing member fix the cooler to the installation surface (Id. points to mounting supports 311 (first fixing member; second fixing member).), and the semiconductor module is between the installation surface and the first surface, and is pressed by the installation surface and the first surface (Id. points to the main IC die 305 (semiconductor module) located between the outer surface of the bottom side (first surface) of the fluid routing device lid 302 and the package or interposer substrate 307 (installation surface). It is considered obvious that the first surface and installation surface would be positioned such that pressure is exerted onto the semiconductor module in order to reduce thermal contact resistance and ensure uniform heat dissipation.).
Regarding claim 2, Gutala teaches wherein the semiconductor module is connected to the first surface by solder (Fig. 3; [0028]). Specifically, Gutala teaches an IC package comprising a main IC die 305 (semiconductor module) connected to a fluid routing device lid 302 (first surface) via TIM 310 and a package or interposer substrate 307 via solder bumps 321 (Id.). As both solder and TIM are commonly known as thermally conductive material, and solder was already being used to connect the main IC die to the substrate, it is interpreted to be obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art would at least attempt to use solder rather than TIM to connect the main IC die to the fluid routing device lid.
Regarding claim 3, Gutala teaches wherein the semiconductor module is connected to the first surface by a thermal conductive material (Fig. 3 and [0028] point to a main IC die 305 (semiconductor module) connected to a fluid routing device lid 302 (first surface) via a TIM 310 (thermal conductive material).).
Regarding claim 4, Gutala teaches wherein the semiconductor module is connected to the installation surface by solder (Fig. 3 and [0028] point to a main IC die 305 (semiconductor module) connected to a package or interposer substrate 307 (installation surface) via solder bumps 321-323.).
Regarding claim 5, Gutala teaches wherein the semiconductor module is connected to the installation surface by a thermally conductive material (Fig. 3; [0028]). Specifically, Gutala teaches an IC package comprising a main IC die 305 (semiconductor module) connected to a fluid routing device lid 302 via TIM 310 and a package or interposer substrate 307 (installation surface) via solder bumps 321 (Id.). As both solder and TIM are commonly known as thermally conductive material, and TIM was already being used to connect the main IC die to the fluid routing device lid, it is interpreted to be obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art would at least attempt to use TIM rather than solder to connect the main IC die to the substrate.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gutala in further view of Maeda (PGPub No. 20200388559).
Regarding claim 6, Maeda teaches an electronic part on the cooler, wherein the cooler is between the electronic part and the semiconductor module (Fig. 3). Specifically, Maeda teaches a power conversion device comprising coolers 14 that together with refrigerant supply pipe 15 and refrigerant discharge pipe 16 surround semiconductor modules 12, and a first frame 30 (electronic part) made of metal (Fig. 3; [0030] & [0032]). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art (POSITA) prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Gutala and Maeda, such that an electronic piece such as a metal frame is positioned on the outside of the cooler and away from the semiconductor module in order to provide a balance between physical protection and thermal dissipation.
Claim(s) 7-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gutala in further view of Kenny (US Patent No. 7000684).
Regarding claim 7, Gutala teaches wherein the cooler further includes: a plurality of flow paths including: an inflow path extending in the first direction, and having an end into which the refrigerant is flowable into the cooler (Fig. 4 points to a fluid inlet 411 (inflow path).), an outflow path extending in the first direction, spaced apart from the inflow path, and having an end from which the refrigerant is flowable out of the cooler (Id. points to a fluid outlet 412 (outflow path).), and each cooling flow path of the plurality of cooling flow paths: has the second surface as a wall surface of the cooling flow path (Fig. 3 points to the fluid routing device lid 302 comprising a bottom surface with an inner face (second surface) which also acts as the lower wall (wall surface) defining horizontal fluid channels 71-73 (plurality of cooling flow paths).).
Gutala fails to teach each cooling flow path of the plurality of cooling flow paths: extends between the inflow path and the outflow path in a second direction that intersects the first direction, is between, in a third direction perpendicular to the second surface, the inflow path and the outflow path and the second surface, and causes the inflow path and the outflow path to communicate with each other in the second direction.
Kenny teaches each cooling flow path of the plurality of cooling flow paths: extends between the inflow path and the outflow path in a second direction that intersects the first direction, is between, in a third direction perpendicular to the second surface, the inflow path and the outflow path and the second surface, and causes the inflow path and the outflow path to communicate with each other in the second direction (Figs. 4-7A point to a manifold layer 406 comprising an inlet fluid path (inflow path) defined by fluid port 408 and passage 414, and an outlet fluid path (outflow path) defined by fluid port 409 and passage 418, which are connected by a plurality of paths (plurality of cooling flow paths) defined by fluid fingers 411, fluid fingers 412, and interface layer 402.). Thus, it would have been obvious to a POSITA prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Gutala and Kenny, such that the inflow and outflow paths are connected by a plurality of cooling flow paths positioned underneath in order to create a system by which a fluid/refrigerant flows and acts as a heat exchanger for any underlying systems.
Regarding claim 8, Kenny teaches wherein the cooler further includes: a first partition separating an inflow path and an outflow path (Figs. 4, 5, and 7 point to a manifold layer 406 of a heat exchanger comprising an inlet fluid path (inflow path) defined by fluid port 408 and passage 414, and an outlet fluid path (outflow path) defined by fluid port 409 and passage 418, which are separated by a side portion of the manifold layer 406 (first partition).), a second partition separating: at least a portion of the inflow path from each cooling flow path of the plurality of cooling flow paths, and at least a portion of the outflow path from each cooling flow path of the plurality of cooling flow paths (Figs. 4-7A point to a section of the manifold layer 406 best defined by character 407 (second partition), which partially separates passage 414 (inflow path) and passage 418 (outflow path) from the flow paths (each cooling flow path) connecting fluid fingers 411 and 412.). Thus, it would have been obvious to a POSITA prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Gutala and Kenny, such that partitions are formed between the inflow path, outflow path, and the plurality of cooling flow paths in order to ensure a constant amount of fluid/refrigerant flow.
Regarding claim 9, Kenny teaches wherein each partition of the plurality of partitions is connected to the second surface (Fig. 6A points to the manifold layer 406 (plurality of partitions) coupled to the interface layer 402 (second surface).). Thus, it would have been obvious to a POSITA prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Gutala and Kenny, such that each partition of the plurality of partitions is connected to the second surface in order to ease the flow of the fluid/refrigerant.
Regarding claim 10, Kenny teaches wherein each partition of the plurality of partitions is formed integrally with the second surface (Fig. 6A points to vertically extending portions of the manifold layer 406 (plurality of partitions) coupled to the interface layer 402 (second surface).). Thus, it would have been obvious to a POSITA prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Gutala and Kenny, such that the plurality of partitions is formed integrally with the second surface in order to create a proper seal and ensure separation between the inflow and outflow paths.
Regarding claim 11, Kenny teaches wherein each partition of the plurality of partitions is connected to the second partition (Figs. 4-6A point to vertically extending portions of the manifold layer 406 (plurality of partitions), which are located underneath another section of the manifold layer 406 best defined by character 407 (second partition).). Thus, it would have been obvious to a POSITA prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Gutala and Kenny, such that the plurality of partitions is connected to the second partition in order to create a proper seal and ensure separation between the inflow and outflow paths.
Regarding claim 12, Kenny teaches wherein each partition of the plurality of partitions is connected to the first sidewall, the second sidewall, and the second surface (Figs. 4-7A point to vertically extending portions of the manifold layer 406 (plurality of partitions) coupled to the interface layer 402 (second surface), and surrounding sidewalls of said manifold layer 406 (first sidewall; second sidewall).). Thus, it would have been obvious to a POSITA prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Gutala and Kenny, such that the plurality of partitions is connected to the first sidewall, second sidewall, and second surface in order to create a proper seal and ensure separation between the inflow and outflow paths.
Regarding claim 13, Gutala teaches wherein the outer wall is a first outer wall, the cooler further includes a second outer wall that is on an opposite side of the cooler relative to the first outer wall (Fig. 3 points to a fluid routing device lid 302 (cooler) comprising a bottom side (first outer wall) and a top side (second outer wall).).
Gutala fails to teach the second partition is between the first outer wall and the second outer wall.
Kenny teaches the second partition is between the first outer wall and the second outer wall (Figs. 4-7A point to a section of the manifold layer 406 best defined by character 407 (second partition).). Thus, it would have been obvious to a POSITA prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Gutala and Kenny, such that the second partition is positioned between two outer walls in order to create a proper seal and ensure separation between the inflow and outflow paths.
Regarding claim 14, Kenny teaches wherein the first partition is: connected to the second outer wall, and between the first sidewall and the second sidewall (Figs. 4, 5, and 7 points to a side portion of the manifold layer 406 (first partition) separating fluid ports 408 and 409.). Thus, it would have been obvious to a POSITA prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Gutala and Kenny, such that the first partition is positioned between the two sidewalls and connected underneath to the second outer wall in order to create a proper seal and ensure separation between the inflow and outflow paths.
Regarding claim 15, Kenny teaches wherein the second partition is connected to the first partition (Figs. 4-7A point to the manifold layer 406 comprising a first section separating fluid ports 408 and 409 (first partition), and a second section best defined by character 407 (second partition).). Thus, it would have been obvious to a POSITA prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Gutala and Kenny, such that the first partition and second partition are connected in order to create a proper seal and ensure separation between the inflow and outflow paths.
Regarding claim 16, Kenny teaches wherein a surface of the second partition that faces the second surface is non-parallel to the second surface (Figs. 4-7A point to a section of the manifold layer 406 best defined by character 407 (second partition). The disclosure does not appear to lend any criticality or significance to a corresponding surface of the second partition being non-parallel to the second surface and, as such, is deemed a matter of choice that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious. Absent persuasive evidence that a particular configuration is significant, said configuration is deemed a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966); see also MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B).). Thus, it would have been obvious to a POSITA prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Gutala and Kenny, such that a surface of the second partition is not parallel to the second surface in order to adjust the flow of and /or pressure applied to the fluid/refrigerant.
Regarding claim 17, Kenny teaches a partition between the first sidewall and the second sidewall, the partition having a surface facing the second surface, wherein the surface is non-parallel to the second surface (Figs. 4-7A point to a section of the manifold layer 406 best defined by character 407 (partition). The disclosure does not appear to lend any criticality or significance to a corresponding surface of the second partition being non-parallel to the second surface and, as such, is deemed a matter of choice that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious. Absent persuasive evidence that a particular configuration is significant, said configuration is deemed a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966); see also MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B).). Thus, it would have been obvious to a POSITA prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Gutala and Kenny, such that an additional partition is formed with a surface that is not parallel to the second surface in order to adjust the flow of and /or pressure applied to the fluid/refrigerant.
Regarding claim 18, Kenny teaches wherein a first end of the partition separates at least a portion of an inflow path from each cooling flow path of the plurality of cooling flow paths, a second end of the partition separates at least a portion of an outflow path from each cooling flow path of the plurality of cooling flow paths (Figs. 4-7A point to a section of the manifold layer 406 best defined by character 407 (partition), which partially separates passage 414 (inflow path) at a first end and passage 418 (outflow path) at a second end from the flow paths (each cooling flow path) connecting fluid fingers 411 and 412.), and the first end is spaced further away from the outer wall than the second end is spaced away from the outer wall (The disclosure does not appear to lend any criticality or significance to one end of the partition being further away from the outer wall than the other end and, as such, is deemed a matter of choice that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious. Absent persuasive evidence that a particular configuration is significant, said configuration is deemed a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966); see also MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B).). Thus, it would have been obvious to a POSITA prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Gutala and Kenny, such that the additional partition is formed to partially separate the inflow and outflow paths from the plurality of cooling flow paths in order to ensure a constant amount of fluid/refrigerant flow.
Regarding claim 19, Gutala teaches wherein the plurality of cooling flow paths are configured such that, with the refrigerant flowed along the plurality of cooling flow paths, the refrigerant: flows along the inflow path in the first direction (Fig. 4 points to a fluid inlet 411 (inflow path).), turns and flows toward the second surface in the third direction, is split into refrigerant portions by the plurality of partitions (Fig. 3 points to the down vertical fluid channels 51-58 (refrigerant partitions).) and the refrigerant portions turn and flow along the second surface in the second direction through a plurality of adjacent cooling flow path segments (Id. points to the horizontal fluid channels 71-73.), the refrigerant portions turn and flow away from the second surface in the third direction, and the refrigerant portions join and the joined portions turn and flow along the outflow path in the first direction (Figs. 3 and 4 point to the up vertical channels 61-69 and a fluid output channel 420 (outflow path).).
Regarding claim 20, Gutala teaches wherein the plurality of cooling flow paths are configured such that, with the refrigerant flowed along the plurality of cooling flow paths, the refrigerant: flows along the inflow path in the first direction (Fig. 4 points to a fluid inlet 411 (inflow path).), turns and flows toward the second surface in the third direction, turns and flows along the second surface in the second direction, is split into refrigerant portions by the plurality of partitions and the refrigerant portions flow along the second surface in the second direction through a plurality of adjacent cooling flow path segments (Fig. 3 points to the fluid channels 51-58 and 71-73 (refrigerant partitions).), the refrigerant portions join and flow along the second surface in the second direction, and the joined portions turn and flow away from the second surface in the third direction, and the joined portions turn and flow along the outflow path in the first direction (Figs. 3 and 4 point to the up vertical channels 61-69 and a fluid output channel 420 (outflow path). It is considered obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art would join the partitions and use/form only a single vertical channel that connects to the outflow path in order to simplify the fabrication process, conform to the critical dimensions of the overall structure, and/or increase outflow pressure.).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/14/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Specifically, Applicant argues that the newly amended claim 1 overcomes the previous rejection under 35 U.S.C. §103 in view of Gutala (PGPub No. 20180211900). Examiner argues that Gutala still teaches the newly added subject matter, which has been analyzed and discussed above. Thus, Applicant’s argument(s) are considered unpersuasive and fail to overcome the previous rejection
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PATRICK CULLEN/Assistant Examiner, Art Unit 2899 /DALE E PAGE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2899