DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The following office action is in response to the amendment and remarks filed on 8/12/26.
Applicant’s amendment to claim 1 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-25 are pending and claims 12-25 are withdrawn.
Claims 1-11 are subject to examination at this time.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 8 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lin et al., US Publication No. 2014/0124929 A1.
Lin anticipates:
1. An interconnect, comprising (see fig.10 and 15; also see figs. 22 and 28):
a substrate (200);
a pad (208) over the substrate;
a hole (209) through the pad, wherein the hole exposes a portion of the substrate; and
a solder (215) over the pad, wherein the solder (215) bridges across the hole (209) through the pad (208), and wherein the solder (215) has a bottommost surface at a same level as a bottommost surface of the pad (208). See Lin at para. [0001] – [0131], figs. 1-46.
2. The interconnect of claim 1, wherein the solder (215) fully fills the hole (209), fig. 15.
3. The interconnect of claim 1, wherein the solder partially fills the hole (e.g. If the solder 215 fully fills the hole, then it also at least partially fills the hole.), fig. 15.
4. The interconnect of claim 1, wherein a width of the hole (209) is less than a thickness of the pad (208), fig. 15.
8. The interconnect of claim 1, wherein the solder comprises tin and the pad comprises copper, para. [0042] – [0045],
9. The interconnect of claim 1, wherein the substrate is a package substrate, para. [0004], [0024].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin, as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claims 5-7:
Lin teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above, but does not expressly teach:
wherein the width of the hole is up to half the thickness of the pad;
wherein the width of the hole is up to approximately 15 μm;
wherein an outer width of the pad is up to approximately 80 μm.
However, Lin teaches the width of hole and outer width of the pad are a result affective variable (e.g. In fig. 5, the width of hole is dimension c-a. The outer width of the pad is dimension c) to achieve “desired mechanical strength”.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to form “wherein the width of the hole is up to half the thickness of the pad; wherein the width of the hole is up to approximately 15 μm; wherein an outer width of the pad is up to approximately 80 μm.”, since where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. See MPEP § 2144.05, Obviousness of Ranges and Optimization of Ranges. (See also MPEP § 716.02 for a discussion of criticality and unexpected results.)
Claim(s) 10 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Alur et al. US Publication No. 10,163,798 (of record).
Regarding claim 10:
Lin teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above, but does not expressly teach:
wherein the package substrate is coupled to a processor of a computing system.
In an analogous art, Alur taches:
wherein the package substrate (e.g. 101 in fig. 1A corresponding to 520 in fig. 5) is coupled to a processor (510) of a computing system, col 2, ln 10–20, col 6, ln 43–67, col 7, ln 1–67.
Regarding claim 11:
Lin further teaches:
11. The interconnect of claim 9, further comprising:
a die coupled to the package substrate, wherein the solder couples the die to the package substrate, para. [0024].
Lin does not expressly teach:
a board coupled to the package substrate;
Alur further teaches:
a board (394 in fig. 3) coupled to the package substrate, col 5, ln 60–67.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lin with the teachings of Alur because in order to enable computing in devices such as a laptop, PDA, cellular phone, etc. See Alur at col 6, ln 43–67.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Michele Fan/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818
29 September 2026