DETAILED ACTION
This office action addresses Applicant’s response filed on 9 January 2026. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to abstract mental processes without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) detecting an issue in a register transfer level (RTL) circuit description, receiving and capturing a selection to waive the issue, detecting a second issue while generating a netlist, and based on the selection to waive the issue refraining from checking for the issue while generating a netlist or gate level description of the electronic circuit design, wherein the issue is an unconnected signal in claims 1-7 and 15-20, and is a duplicate label in claims 8-14, which are abstract mental steps that could be performed by a designer in the mind or with pen and paper. A designer performs the claimed process by noting an issue in an RTL design, deciding (or being told) to waive the issue, remembering the waiver, and noting that the waiver also applies to the new issue.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the only claim limitations beyond the abstract idea itself are merely limitations for generic computer implementation of the abstract idea, such as a memory and processor; generic computer implementation of an abstract idea does not qualify as integration of the abstract idea into a patentable practical application. Similarly, the claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because generic computer implementation of an abstract idea does not qualify as ‘significantly more’ than the abstract idea itself.
Claim 2 recites capturing a location of the issue, claim 4 recites an error message and label for an optimization, claim 5 recites noting the register optimization in an output, and claim 6 recites converting message syntax, mapping messages, and adding labels to messages, which could be performed by a designer with pen and paper, and outputting messages is merely insignificant post-solution activity. Claims 3 and 7 recite determining a register optimization comprising removal of a register, which could be performed by a designer in the mind or with pen and paper. All other claims are analogous to the claims discussed above and are rejected under the same reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ganai (US 2016/0259879) in view of Li (US2017/0083418) and Fisher (US 2003/0221173).
Regarding claim 1, Ganai discloses a method for verifying an electronic circuit design, the method comprising: detecting an issue in a register transfer level description of the electronic circuit design, receiving a selection waive the issue, capturing the selection to waive the issue in a memory, and based on the selection waive the issue, refraining from checking for the issue while generating a netlist or gate level description of the electronic circuit design (¶¶25, 26, 53, 65). If Ganai is found to be unclear regarding refraining from checking for the issue, Li discloses the same (¶38). It would have been obvious to persons having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Ganai and Li, because doing so would have involved merely the routine combination of known elements according to known techniques, or the substitution of one element for a known equivalent to produce merely the predictable results of skipping verification of waived issues. KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 U.S.P.Q.2d 1385, 1395. Ganai discloses waiving an issue identified during RTL verification, and then ignoring or skipping checking of the issue during netlist generation. Li provides further explicit disclosure that refraining from checking for an issue is a known alternative to ignoring the results of checking for the issue. The teachings of Li are directly applicable to Ganai in the same way, so that Ganai would similarly refraing from checking for waived issues.
Ganai does not appear to explicitly disclose that the issue is an unconnected signal; Fisher discloses these limitations (¶15). It would have been obvious to persons having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Ganai, Li, and Fisher, because doing so would have involved merely the routine combination of known elements according to known techniques to produce merely the predictable results of waiving identified issues of signals being unconnected. KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 U.S.P.Q.2d 1385, 1395. Ganai teaches waiving an identified issue and then ignoring/skipping subsequent checks of the issue. Fisher teaches that the identified issue is an unconnected signal. The teachings of Fisher are directly applicable to Ganai in the same way, so that Ganai would similarly skip subsequent checks of waived issues of unconnected signals.
Claim 15 is directed to a non-transitory computer readable medium storing instructions for performing the method of claim 1, and is rejected under the same reasoning. Ganai further discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium storing instructions for performing the claimed method (¶12).
Claim(s) 2 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ganai in view of Li, Fisher, and Fey (US 2014/0089899).
Regarding claims 2 and 16, Ganai discloses capturing, in the memory, a location of the issue in the register transfer level description (¶¶27-51); as discussed above with regard to claim 1, Ganai does not appear to explicitly disclose that the issue is an unconnected signal, but Fisher discloses these limitations (¶15). Motivation to combine remains consistent with claim 1.
If Ganai is found to be unclear regarding the location of the issue, Fey discloses the same (¶12). It would have been obvious to persons having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Ganai, Li, Fisher, and Fey, because doing so would have involved merely the routine combination of known elements according to known techniques to produce merely the predictable results of indicating locations of identified issues. KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 U.S.P.Q.2d 1385, 1395. Ganai teaches identifying issues and their locations. Fey provides additional explicit disclosure of determining issue locations. The teachings of Fey are directly applicable to Ganai in the same way, so that Ganai would similarly indicate locations of identified issues.
Claim(s) 3-5, 7, and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ganai in view of Pathak (US 8,166,427).
Regarding claims 3 and 17, Ganai does not appear to explicitly disclose determining a register optimization prior to generating the netlist or gate level description; and adding, to the memory, an indication of the register optimization. Pathak discloses these limitations (Fig. 1; col. 4, lines 19-20; col. 5, lines 41-43; col. 7, lines 20-21). It would have been obvious to persons having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Ganai, Li, Fisher, and Pathak, because doing so would have involved merely the routine combination of known elements according to known techniques to produce merely the predictable results of optimizing a netlist while tracking the causes or reasons for optimizations. KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 U.S.P.Q.2d 1385, 1395. Ganai discloses generating a netlist. Pathak teaches that the netlist should be optimized while tracking the causes for each optimization, thus providing useful information to users. The teachings of Pathak are directly applicable to Ganai in the same way, so that Ganai would similarly optimize the netlist while tracking causes.
Regarding claims 4 and 18, Ganai does not appear to explicitly disclose that the indication of the register optimization comprises an error message and a label indicating that the error message is for a determined optimization; Pathak discloses these limitations (Fig. 8). Motivation to combine remains consistent with claim 3.
Regarding claims 5 and 19, Ganai does not appear to explicitly disclose based on determining that the register optimization is indicated in the memory, noting the register optimization in an output; Pathak discloses these limitations (col. 7, lines 20-21; Fig. 8). Motivation to combine remains consistent with claim 3.
Regarding claim 7, Ganai does not appear to explicitly disclose that the register optimization comprises removal of a register; Pathak discloses these limitations (col. 7, lines 20-21; Fig. 8). Motivation to combine remains consistent with claim 3.
Claim(s) 6 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ganai in view of Pathak and Arcand (US 2004/0153822).
Regarding claims 6 and 20, Ganai does not appear to explicitly disclose that adding the indication of the register optimization to the memory comprises: converting a message indicating the register optimization to an extensible markup language (XML) message; mapping the XML message to an error message; and adding a label to the error message to produce the indication of the register optimization. Pathak discloses a message indicating the register optimization; mapping the message to an error message and adding a label to the error message to produce the indication of the register optimization (Fig. 8); motivation to combine remains consistent with claim 3.
XML is an industry-standard data format for messages like Pathak’s; Arcand discloses converting a message to an extensible markup language (XML) message (¶77). It would have been obvious to persons having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Ganai, Li, Fisher, Pathak, and Arcand, because doing so would have involved merely the routine use of a known technique to improve similar devices in the same way to achieve the predictable results of converting test outputs to standard formats. KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 U.S.P.Q.2d 1385, 1396. Ganai discloses generating and verifying a netlist, which Pathak teaches should be optimized while outputting messages. Arcand teaches that the messages should be converter to standard formats for output. The teachings of Pathak and Arcand are directly applicable to Ganai in the same way, so that Ganai would similarly optimize the netlist while outputting messages in standard formats.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ganai in view of Li and Garlapati (US 8,667,436).
Regarding claim 1, Ganai discloses a system for verifying an electronic circuit design, the system comprising: a memory and a processor communicatively coupled to the memory (¶12), the processor configured to: detect an issue in a register transfer level description of the electronic circuit design, receiving a selection waive the issue, capture the selection to waive the issue in a memory, and based on the selection waive the issue, refrain from checking for the issue while generating a netlist or gate level description of the electronic circuit design (¶¶25, 26, 53, 65). If Ganai is found to be unclear regarding refraining from checking for the issue, Li discloses the same (¶38). Motivation to combine remains consistent with claim 1.
Ganai does not appear to explicitly disclose that the issue is an duplicate label; Garlapati discloses these limitations (col. 2, lines 42-47). It would have been obvious to persons having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Ganai, Li, and Garlapati, because doing so would have involved merely the routine combination of known elements according to known techniques to produce merely the predictable results of waiving identified issues of duplicate labels. KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 U.S.P.Q.2d 1385, 1395. Ganai teaches waiving an identified issue and then ignoring/skipping subsequent checks of the issue. Garlapati teaches that the identified issue is a duplicate label. The teachings of Garlapati are directly applicable to Ganai in the same way, so that Ganai would similarly skip subsequent checks of waived issues of duplicate labels.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ganai in view of Li, Garlapati, and Fey.
Regarding claim 9, Ganai discloses capturing, in the memory, a location of the issue in the register transfer level description (¶¶27-51); as discussed above with regard to claim 8, Ganai does not appear to explicitly disclose that the issue is a duplicate label, but Garlapati discloses these limitations (¶15). Motivation to combine remains consistent with claim 8.
If Ganai is found to be unclear regarding the location of the issue, Fey discloses the same (¶12). It would have been obvious to persons having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Ganai, Li, Garlapati, and Fey, because doing so would have involved merely the routine combination of known elements according to known techniques to produce merely the predictable results of indicating locations of identified issues. KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 U.S.P.Q.2d 1385, 1395. Ganai teaches identifying issues and their locations. Fey provides additional explicit disclosure of determining issue locations. The teachings of Fey are directly applicable to Ganai in the same way, so that Ganai would similarly indicate locations of identified issues.
Claim(s) 10-12 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ganai in view of Li, Garlapati, and Pathak (US 8,166,427).
Regarding claim 10, Ganai does not appear to explicitly disclose determining a register optimization prior to generating the netlist or gate level description; and adding, to the memory, an indication of the register optimization. Pathak discloses these limitations (Fig. 1; col. 4, lines 19-20; col. 5, lines 41-43; col. 7, lines 20-21). It would have been obvious to persons having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Ganai, Li, Garlapati, and Pathak, because doing so would have involved merely the routine combination of known elements according to known techniques to produce merely the predictable results of optimizing a netlist while tracking the causes or reasons for optimizations. KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 U.S.P.Q.2d 1385, 1395. Ganai discloses generating a netlist. Pathak teaches that the netlist should be optimized while tracking the causes for each optimization, thus providing useful information to users. The teachings of Pathak are directly applicable to Ganai in the same way, so that Ganai would similarly optimize the netlist while tracking causes.
Regarding claim 11, Ganai does not appear to explicitly disclose that the indication of the register optimization comprises an error message and a label indicating that the error message is for a determined optimization; Pathak discloses these limitations (Fig. 8). Motivation to combine remains consistent with claim 10.
Regarding claim 12, Ganai does not appear to explicitly disclose based on determining that the register optimization is indicated in the memory, noting the register optimization in an output; Pathak discloses these limitations (col. 7, lines 20-21; Fig. 8). Motivation to combine remains consistent with claim 10.
Regarding claim 14, Ganai does not appear to explicitly disclose that the register optimization comprises removal of a register; Pathak discloses these limitations (col. 7, lines 20-21; Fig. 8). Motivation to combine remains consistent with claim 10.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ganai in view of Li, Garlapati, Pathak and Arcand.
Regarding claim 13, Ganai does not appear to explicitly disclose that adding the indication of the register optimization to the memory comprises: converting a message indicating the register optimization to an extensible markup language (XML) message; mapping the XML message to an error message; and adding a label to the error message to produce the indication of the register optimization. Pathak discloses a message indicating the register optimization; mapping the message to an error message and adding a label to the error message to produce the indication of the register optimization (Fig. 8); motivation to combine remains consistent with claim 3.
XML is an industry-standard data format for messages like Pathak’s; Arcand discloses converting a message to an extensible markup language (XML) message (¶77). It would have been obvious to persons having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Ganai, Li, Garlapati, Pathak, and Arcand, because doing so would have involved merely the routine use of a known technique to improve similar devices in the same way to achieve the predictable results of converting test outputs to standard formats. KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 U.S.P.Q.2d 1385, 1396. Ganai discloses generating and verifying a netlist, which Pathak teaches should be optimized while outputting messages. Arcand teaches that the messages should be converter to standard formats for output. The teachings of Pathak and Arcand are directly applicable to Ganai in the same way, so that Ganai would similarly optimize the netlist while outputting messages in standard formats.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9 January 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant asserts that the claims are patent-eligible because they improve the functioning of a computer and provide a technical advantage. Remarks 8. The examiner disagrees. The invention is directed to retaining user-designated waivers to avoid redundant work, which is not a computer-specific problem (see Specification ¶23), and is instead an abstract idea that could be performed manually by designers. That the invention is implemented in a computing environment using computerized tools is merely generic computer implementation of the abstract idea, which does not qualify as improving the functioning of a computer or otherwise integrating the abstract idea into a patentable practical application.
Applicant asserts that the prior art fails to teach new limitations of the amended claims. These limitations are addressed above using additional prior art.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
19 April 2026
/ARIC LIN/ Examiner, Art Unit 2851
/JACK CHIANG/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2851