Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendments
Acknowledgment is made of the amendment filed 04/10/2026 (“A.NE”), in which: claims 1, 6 – 8, 10 – 12, 15 – 18, 20, and 21 are amended; claims 4 and 14 are cancelled; no new claims are added; and the rejection of the claims are traversed. Claims 1 – 3, 5 – 13, and 15 – 21 are currently pending an Office action on the merits as follows.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Claims 1 – 3, 5 – 13, and 15 – 21 have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 2, 12, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al. (US 20200051964 A1), and further in view of Yeo (US 20180182838 A1), Guo et al. (US 20200411596 A1), Okabe et al. (US 20200388668 A1), and Nishida et al. (US 20050155706 A1).
Regarding independent Claim 1, Jung teaches a display device (Fig. 1; stretchable display device 100) comprising:
a display area (Fig. 1; active area AA); and
a non-display area (Fig. 1; non-active area NA) on at least one side of the display area (Fig. 1), wherein the display area comprises:
a plurality of rigid areas (Fig. 1; plurality of individual substrates 111), in each of which at least one unit pixel (Fig. 2; pixel PX) comprising a plurality of sub-pixels (Fig. 2; plurality of subpixels, e.g., subpixels SPX1, SPX2, and SPX3) is defined by a partition wall (Fig. 3; banks 116 (unlabeled, see [0082]) located at the edges (not the banks 116 defining the organic light emitting element 160) in direct contact with data pad 173 and planarization layer 115);
a pixel-defining layer (Fig. 3; the plurality of banks 116, including the partition wall, is considered to be a pixel-defining layer) at the rigid area; … and
a stretchable area (Fig. 1; an area between the plurality of individual substrates 111 of the stretchable display device 100 is interpreted by the examiner to be a stretchable area) in which elastic connection members (Figs. 1 – 3; the connection members including at least connecting lines 180, i.e., elastic connection members, including first connecting lines 181 and second connecting lines 182, see [0093]) are formed between the plurality of rigid areas (Figs. 1 – 3) to enable a distance between the plurality of rigid areas to be increased or decreased (the connecting lines 180 are disclosed to be a stretchable polymer in at least [0101] – [0102]),
wherein the elastic connection members comprise:
stretchable lines (Figs. 1 – 3; first connecting lines 181 and second connecting lines 182) connected between the plurality of rigid areas to transmit an electrical signal to the at least one unit pixel ([0093]); …
In response to applicant's claim of elastic connection members … to enable a distance between the plurality of rigid areas to be increased or decreased, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. Therefore, if the prior art includes elastic connection members (the connecting lines 180 are disclosed to be a stretchable polymer in at least [0101] – [0102], i.e., elastic connection members; wherein [0101] – [0102] discloses that the lower substrate 110 may also be made of the stretchable polymer), then the prior art anticipates and/or renders obvious elastic connection members … to enable a distance between the plurality of rigid areas to be increased or decreased.
However, Jung remains silent regarding the display device wherein:
… a touch detecting layer on the pixel-defining layer, wherein the touch detecting layer is between the partition wall and the pixel-defining layer in a cross-sectional view; … and wherein the elastic connection members comprise:
… first elastic members between rear surfaces of the stretchable lines and the plurality of rigid areas, and configured to be stretched by an external force and contracted by an elastic force; and
second elastic members on front surfaces of the stretchable lines and between adjacent rigid areas such that the second elastic members are coplanar with the rigid areas, the second elastic members being configured to be stretched by an external force and contracted by an elastic force.
Regarding the feature of the partition wall, in the same field of endeavor, Yeo discloses a display device which may include a touch sensing layer (Fig. 4; touch sensor layer 112); wherein a conductive line 120 may be connecting to the driving circuit 230, wherein the driving circuit 230 may be a touch driving circuit, i.e., a circuit connected to the touch sensing layer ([0118]). Further, a structure shown in Fig. 11 shows a partition structure similar to what is cited as Jung’s partition wall; wherein Yeo’s insulating layer 107 is separated at an edge region to form a wiring path along a sidewall of the insulating layer 107 (Figs. 3B and 7A, as well as [0140]). The examiner understands these to be more than just conductive vias from at least Fig. 10A which shows marks end portions of the insulating layers C1/C2 ([0138]) (Also see Fig. 10C; end portion C1). Examiner asserts that such a modification, taught by Yeo, may be implemented into Jung’s planarization layer 115/banks 116 to yield a display device wherein the partition walls are laterally separated from the pixel defining layer. The motivation for such a modification comes from Yeo’s disclosure that discuss the formation of the conductive lines 120, similar to Jungs, formed to traverse through Yeo’s partition wall formed from insulating layer 107; wherein the partition wall aids in protecting the conductive lines from stress/cracks and providing protection from the conductive lines short circuiting ([0094], [0108], [0125], and [0141]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify Jung’s rigid area to include Yeo’s end portions (e.g., end portions, C1/C2, of the insulating layer 107) as a partition wall defining the rigid area, because such a modification is based on the use of known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way. More specifically, Yeo’s end portions are comparable to Jung’s partition wall, i.e., portion of banks 116 interpreted to be the partition wall, because they are both formed of similar materials and methods. Therefore, it is within the capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Jung’s partition wall to include a structure protecting a lateral side of the conductive lines extending to/from the rigid areas with the predictable result of protecting the conductive lines and clearly defining the rigid areas of the display device.
Further, in the same field of endeavor, Guo discloses a display panel made on a flexible substrate 100 ([0024]), including a touch sensing unit 500 (interpreted by the examiner to be a touch detecting layer). Looking at a cross-sectional view of Guo’s touch sensing unit 500 (Fig. 11), including leads and electrodes, e.g., elements 5061 – 5067 ([0058]),Guo teaches the touch detecting layer (Fig. 2; touch sensing unit 500) on the pixel-defining layer (Fig. 2; pixel definition layer 304), wherein the touch detecting layer is between the partition wall (Figs. 1 and 11; first dam B1) and the pixel-defining layer (Fig. 11; pixel definition layer 304). Applicant claims a structure limiting the touch detecting layer to be between the partition wall and the pixel-defining layer; however, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, it is the examiner’s opinion that the structure described by Guo reads on the structure limitation a touch detecting layer on the pixel-defining layer, wherein the touch detecting layer is between the partition wall and the pixel-defining layer in a cross-sectional view, because the structure as claimed in the instant application does not specify a structure that results in the touch detecting layer and the partition wall overlapping, as best understood to be the applicant’s intention (see instant Fig. 11). Examiner asserts that Guo’s structure may be combined with Jung’s display device structure, yielding a touch detecting layer on the pixel-defining layer, wherein the touch detecting layer is between the partition wall and the pixel-defining layer in a cross-sectional view.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the display device of Jung and Yeo to include a touch detecting layer, as disclosed by Guo, because such a modification is the result of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. More specifically, the display device of Jung and Yeo as modified by Guo’s touch detecting layer can yield a predictable result of providing a function to the display device for detecting a user’s touch input since such devices may be mounted/connected to a display panel/apparatus/device, as commonly demonstrated within the field of endeavor. Since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable before the effective filing date of the instant invention.
Further, in the same field of endeavor, Okabe discloses an organic EL display device 50c (Fig. 9) wherein the examiner understands organic EL display device 50c to be analogous to the instant display device which includes a display area (Fig. 9; display region D); and a non-display area (Fig. 9; area outside the display region D) on at least one side of the display area (Fig. 9), wherein the display area comprises: a plurality of rigid areas (Figs. 9 – 10; frame area F defined by sealing film 28). Okabe further discloses elastic members in a stretchable area (Fig. 10; bending portion B) including an elastic connection member; wherein the elastic connection member includes:
stretchable lines (Figs. 11 – 10; third wiring line 21c) connected between the plurality of rigid areas to transmit an electrical signal to the at least one unit pixel (Fig. 10);
first elastic members (Fig. 10; frame flattening film 19c) between rear surfaces of the stretchable lines and the plurality of rigid areas (Figs. 9 - 10), and configured to be stretched by an external force and contracted by an elastic force (Okabe teaches in [0062] teaches bending of the bending portion B; such that (in the 180° of freedom disclosed by Okabe) one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that Okabe’s frame flattening film 19c is configured for the function of being stretched by an external force and contracted by an elastic force); and
second elastic members (Fig. 10; resin film 22c) on front surfaces of the stretchable lines and between adjacent rigid areas (Figs. 9 - 10) such that the second elastic members are coplanar with the rigid areas (Figs. 9 - 10), the second elastic members being configured to be stretched by an external force and contracted by an elastic force (Okabe teaches in [0062] teaches bending of the bending portion B; such that (in the 180° of freedom disclosed by Okabe) one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that Okabe’s resin film 22c is configured for the function of being stretched by an external force and contracted by an elastic force).
To further supplement the above assertion, examiner notes that within the field of endeavor, the study of material properties is of great interests to one of ordinary skill in the art. One material property of elastic structures that is of considerable relevance here is the elastic modulus of the structure. The elastic modulus is known as a materials resistance to permanent deformation, i.e., the materials ability to be stretched by an external force and contracted by the materials own elastic force. Okabe teaches materials such as polyimide resin ([0030] and [0039]) for their frame flattening film 19c, i.e., a first elastic member, and resin film 22c, i.e., a second elastic member; wherein in the same field of endeavor, Nishida teaches in [0196] – [0197] that polyimide resin includes an elastic modulus, i.e., a configured property such that the polyimide resin material disclosed by Okabe may be stretched by an external force and contracted by an elastic force.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the elastic connection member of Jung to include Okabe’s first elastic member and second elastic member, further in view of Nishida, such that the first and second elastic members may be stretched by an external force and contracted by an elastic force, because such a modification is based on the use of known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way. More specifically, Okabe’s first elastic member and second elastic member, further in view of Nishida, is comparable to the elastic connection members of Jung because they are stretchable and conductive structures meant to hold functional integrity when external force is applied to the display device. Therefore, it is within the capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the elastic connection member of Jung to include Okabe’s first elastic member and second elastic member, further in view of Nishida, such that the first and second elastic members may be stretched by an external force and contracted by an elastic force, with the predictable result of forming a stretchable and/or bendable display device that is able to stay operational even when external force is applied.
Regarding dependent Claim 2, Jung, further in view of Yeo, Guo, Okabe, and Nishida, teach the display device of claim 1, wherein
the at least one unit pixel in each of the plurality of rigid areas comprises first to third sub-pixels (Fig. 2; first subpixel SPX1, second subpixel SPX2, and third subpixel SPX3) or first to fourth sub- pixels, and wherein the first to third sub-pixels or the first to fourth sub-pixels are arranged in vertical (Fig. 2 shows the first through third subpixels, i.e., SPX1, SPX2, and SPX3) or horizontal stripes or a PentileTM matrix.
Regarding independent Claim 12, Jung teaches a display device (Fig. 1; stretchable display device 100) comprising:
a display area (Fig. 1; active area AA); and
a non-display area (Fig. 1; non-active area NA) on at least one side of the display area (Fig. 1), wherein the display area comprises:
a plurality of rigid areas (Fig. 1; plurality of individual substrates 111), in each of which a respective one of sub-pixels (Fig. 2; plurality of subpixels, e.g., subpixels SPX1, SPX2, and SPX3) is defined by a partition wall (Jung discloses that the banks 116 are components separating adjacent subpixels in at least [0082]);
a pixel-defining layer (Fig. 3; the plurality of banks 116, including the partition wall, is considered to be a pixel-defining layer) at the rigid area; … and
a stretchable area (Fig. 1; an area between the plurality of individual substrates 111 of the stretchable display device 100 is interpreted by the examiner to be a stretchable area) in which elastic connection members (Figs. 1 – 3; the connection members including at least connecting lines 180, i.e., elastic connection members, including first connecting lines 181 and second connecting lines 182, see [0093]) are formed between the plurality of rigid areas (Figs. 1 – 3) to enable a distance between the plurality of rigid areas to be decreased or increased (the connecting lines 180 are disclosed to be a stretchable polymer in at least [0101] – [0102]),
wherein the elastic connection members comprise:
stretchable lines (Figs. 1 – 3; first connecting lines 181 and second connecting lines 182) connected between the plurality of rigid areas to transmit an electrical signal to the at least one unit pixel ([0093]); …
In response to applicant's claim of elastic connection members … to enable a distance between the plurality of rigid areas to be decreased or increased, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. Therefore, if the prior art includes elastic connection members (the connecting lines 180 are disclosed to be a stretchable polymer in at least [0101] – [0102], i.e., elastic connection members; wherein [0101] – [0102] discloses that the lower substrate 110 may also be made of the stretchable polymer), then the prior art anticipates and/or renders obvious elastic connection members … to enable a distance between the plurality of rigid areas to be decreased or increased.
However, Jung remains silent regarding the display device wherein:
… a touch detecting layer on the pixel-defining layer, wherein the touch detecting layer is between the partition wall and the pixel-defining layer in a cross-sectional view; … and wherein the elastic connection members comprise:
… first elastic members between rear surfaces of the stretchable lines and the plurality of rigid areas, and configured to be stretched by an external force and contracted by an elastic force; and
second elastic members on front surfaces of the stretchable lines and between adjacent rigid areas such that the second elastic members are coplanar with the rigid areas, the second elastic members being configured to be stretched by an external force and contracted by an elastic force.
Regarding the feature of the partition wall, in the same field of endeavor, Yeo discloses a display device which may include a touch sensing layer (Fig. 4; touch sensor layer 112); wherein a conductive line 120 may be connecting to the driving circuit 230, wherein the driving circuit 230 may be a touch driving circuit, i.e., a circuit connected to the touch sensing layer ([0118]). Further, a structure shown in Fig. 11 shows a partition structure similar to what is cited as Jung’s partition wall; wherein Yeo’s insulating layer 107 is separated at an edge region to form a wiring path along a sidewall of the insulating layer 107 (Figs. 3B and 7A, as well as [0140]). The examiner understands these to be more than just conductive vias from at least Fig. 10A which shows marks end portions of the insulating layers C1/C2 ([0138]) (Also see Fig. 10C; end portion C1). Examiner asserts that such a modification, taught by Yeo, may be implemented into Jung’s planarization layer 115/banks 116 to yield a display device wherein the partition walls are laterally separated from the pixel defining layer. The motivation for such a modification comes from Yeo’s disclosure that discuss the formation of the conductive lines 120, similar to Jungs, formed to traverse through Yeo’s partition wall formed from insulating layer 107; wherein the partition wall aids in protecting the conductive lines from stress/cracks and providing protection from the conductive lines short circuiting ([0094], [0108], [0125], and [0141]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify Jung’s rigid area to include Yeo’s end portions (e.g., end portions, C1/C2, of the insulating layer 107) as a partition wall defining the rigid area, because such a modification is based on the use of known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way. More specifically, Yeo’s end portions are comparable to Jung’s partition wall, i.e., portion of banks 116 interpreted to be the partition wall, because they are both formed of similar materials and methods. Therefore, it is within the capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Jung’s partition wall to include a structure protecting a lateral side of the conductive lines extending to/from the rigid areas with the predictable result of protecting the conductive lines and clearly defining the rigid areas of the display device.
Further, in the same field of endeavor, Guo discloses a display panel made on a flexible substrate 100 ([0024]), including a touch sensing unit 500 (interpreted by the examiner to be a touch detecting layer). Looking at a cross-sectional view of Guo’s touch sensing unit 500 (Fig. 11), including leads and electrodes, e.g., elements 5061 – 5067 ([0058]),Guo teaches the touch detecting layer (Fig. 2; touch sensing unit 500) on the pixel-defining layer (Fig. 2; pixel definition layer 304), wherein the touch detecting layer is between the partition wall (Figs. 1 and 11; first dam B1) and the pixel-defining layer (Fig. 11; pixel definition layer 304). Applicant claims a structure limiting the touch detecting layer to be between the partition wall and the pixel-defining layer; however, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, it is the examiner’s opinion that the structure described by Guo reads on the structure limitation a touch detecting layer on the pixel-defining layer, wherein the touch detecting layer is between the partition wall and the pixel-defining layer in a cross-sectional view, because the structure as claimed in the instant application does not specify a structure that results in the touch detecting layer and the partition wall overlapping, as best understood to be the applicant’s intention (see instant Fig. 11). Examiner asserts that Guo’s structure may be combined with Jung’s display device structure, yielding a touch detecting layer on the pixel-defining layer, wherein the touch detecting layer is between the partition wall and the pixel-defining layer in a cross-sectional view.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the display device of Jung and Yeo to include a touch detecting layer, as disclosed by Guo, because such a modification is the result of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. More specifically, the display device of Jung and Yeo as modified by Guo’s touch detecting layer can yield a predictable result of providing a function to the display device for detecting a user’s touch input since such devices may be mounted/connected to a display panel/apparatus/device, as commonly demonstrated within the field of endeavor. Since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable before the effective filing date of the instant invention.
Further, in the same field of endeavor, Okabe discloses an organic EL display device 50c (Fig. 9) wherein the examiner understands organic EL display device 50c to be analogous to the instant display device which includes a display area (Fig. 9; display region D); and a non-display area (Fig. 9; area outside the display region D) on at least one side of the display area (Fig. 9), wherein the display area comprises: a plurality of rigid areas (Figs. 9 – 10; frame area F defined by sealing film 28). Okabe further discloses elastic members in a stretchable area (Fig. 10; bending portion B) including an elastic connection member; wherein the elastic connection member includes:
stretchable lines (Figs. 11 – 10; third wiring line 21c) connected between the plurality of rigid areas to transmit an electrical signal to the at least one unit pixel (Fig. 10);
first elastic members (Fig. 10; frame flattening film 19c) between rear surfaces of the stretchable lines and the plurality of rigid areas (Figs. 9 - 10), and configured to be stretched by an external force and contracted by an elastic force (Okabe teaches in [0062] teaches bending of the bending portion B; such that (in the 180° of freedom disclosed by Okabe) one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that Okabe’s frame flattening film 19c is configured for the function of being stretched by an external force and contracted by an elastic force); and
second elastic members (Fig. 10; resin film 22c) on front surfaces of the stretchable lines and between adjacent rigid areas (Figs. 9 - 10) such that the second elastic members are coplanar with the rigid areas (Figs. 9 - 10), the second elastic members being configured to be stretched by an external force and contracted by an elastic force (Okabe teaches in [0062] teaches bending of the bending portion B; such that (in the 180° of freedom disclosed by Okabe) one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that Okabe’s resin film 22c is configured for the function of being stretched by an external force and contracted by an elastic force).
To further supplement the above assertion, examiner notes that within the field of endeavor, the study of material properties is of great interests to one of ordinary skill in the art. One material property of elastic structures that is of considerable relevance here is the elastic modulus of the structure. The elastic modulus is known as a materials resistance to permanent deformation, i.e., the materials ability to be stretched by an external force and contracted by the materials own elastic force. Okabe teaches materials such as polyimide resin ([0030] and [0039]) for their frame flattening film 19c, i.e., a first elastic member, and resin film 22c, i.e., a second elastic member; wherein in the same field of endeavor, Nishida teaches in [0196] – [0197] that polyimide resin includes an elastic modulus, i.e., a configured property such that the polyimide resin material disclosed by Okabe may be stretched by an external force and contracted by an elastic force.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the elastic connection member of Jung to include Okabe’s first elastic member and second elastic member, further in view of Nishida, such that the first and second elastic members may be stretched by an external force and contracted by an elastic force, because such a modification is based on the use of known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way. More specifically, Okabe’s first elastic member and second elastic member, further in view of Nishida, is comparable to the elastic connection members of Jung because they are stretchable and conductive structures meant to hold functional integrity when external force is applied to the display device. Therefore, it is within the capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the elastic connection member of Jung to include Okabe’s first elastic member and second elastic member, further in view of Nishida, such that the first and second elastic members may be stretched by an external force and contracted by an elastic force, with the predictable result of forming a stretchable and/or bendable display device that is able to stay operational even when external force is applied.
Regarding independent claim 21, Jung teaches an electronic device (devices such as computer monitors, TVs, or mobile phones taught to have display devices applied thereto. See [0004]) including a display device, wherein the display device comprising:
a display area (Fig. 1; active area AA); and
a non-display area (Fig. 1; non-active area NA) on at least one side of the display area (Fig. 1), wherein the display area comprises:
a plurality of rigid areas (Fig. 1; plurality of individual substrates 111), in each of which at least one unit pixel (Fig. 2; pixel PX) comprising a plurality of sub-pixels Fig. 2; plurality of subpixels, e.g., subpixels SPX1, SPX2, and SPX3) is defined by a partition wall (Fig. 3; banks 116 (unlabeled, see [0082]) located at the edges (not the banks 116 defining the organic light emitting element 160) in direct contact with data pad 173 and planarization layer 115);
a pixel-defining layer (Fig. 3; the plurality of banks 116, including the partition wall, is considered to be a pixel-defining layer) at the rigid area; … and
a stretchable area (Fig. 1; an area between the plurality of individual substrates 111 of the stretchable display device 100 is interpreted by the examiner to be a stretchable area) in which elastic connection members (Figs. 1 – 3; the connection members including at least connecting lines 180, i.e., elastic connection members, including first connecting lines 181 and second connecting lines 182, see [0093]) are formed between the plurality of rigid areas (Figs. 1 – 3) to enable a distance between the plurality of rigid areas to be increased or decreased (the connecting lines 180 are disclosed to be a stretchable polymer in at least [0101] – [0102]),
wherein the elastic connection members comprise:
stretchable lines (Figs. 1 – 3; first connecting lines 181 and second connecting lines 182) connected between the plurality of rigid areas to transmit an electrical signal to the at least one unit pixel ([0093]); …
In response to applicant's claim of elastic connection members … to enable a distance between the plurality of rigid areas to be increased or decreased, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. Therefore, if the prior art includes elastic connection members (the connecting lines 180 are disclosed to be a stretchable polymer in at least [0101] – [0102], i.e., elastic connection members; wherein [0101] – [0102] discloses that the lower substrate 110 may also be made of the stretchable polymer), then the prior art anticipates and/or renders obvious elastic connection members … to enable a distance between the plurality of rigid areas to be increased or decreased.
However, Jung remains silent regarding the display device wherein:
… a touch detecting layer on the pixel-defining layer, wherein the touch detecting layer is between the partition wall and the pixel-defining layer in a cross-sectional view; … and wherein the elastic connection members comprise:
… first elastic members between rear surfaces of the stretchable lines and the plurality of rigid areas, and configured to be stretched by an external force and contracted by an elastic force; and
second elastic members on front surfaces of the stretchable lines and between adjacent rigid areas such that the second elastic members are coplanar with the rigid areas, the second elastic members being configured to be stretched by an external force and contracted by an elastic force.
Regarding the feature of the partition wall, in the same field of endeavor, Yeo discloses a display device which may include a touch sensing layer (Fig. 4; touch sensor layer 112); wherein a conductive line 120 may be connecting to the driving circuit 230, wherein the driving circuit 230 may be a touch driving circuit, i.e., a circuit connected to the touch sensing layer ([0118]). Further, a structure shown in Fig. 11 shows a partition structure similar to what is cited as Jung’s partition wall; wherein Yeo’s insulating layer 107 is separated at an edge region to form a wiring path along a sidewall of the insulating layer 107 (Figs. 3B and 7A, as well as [0140]). The examiner understands these to be more than just conductive vias from at least Fig. 10A which shows marks end portions of the insulating layers C1/C2 ([0138]) (Also see Fig. 10C; end portion C1). Examiner asserts that such a modification, taught by Yeo, may be implemented into Jung’s planarization layer 115/banks 116 to yield a display device wherein the partition walls are laterally separated from the pixel defining layer. The motivation for such a modification comes from Yeo’s disclosure that discuss the formation of the conductive lines 120, similar to Jungs, formed to traverse through Yeo’s partition wall formed from insulating layer 107; wherein the partition wall aids in protecting the conductive lines from stress/cracks and providing protection from the conductive lines short circuiting ([0094], [0108], [0125], and [0141]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify Jung’s rigid area to include Yeo’s end portions (e.g., end portions, C1/C2, of the insulating layer 107) as a partition wall defining the rigid area, because such a modification is based on the use of known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way. More specifically, Yeo’s end portions are comparable to Jung’s partition wall, i.e., portion of banks 116 interpreted to be the partition wall, because they are both formed of similar materials and methods. Therefore, it is within the capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Jung’s partition wall to include a structure protecting a lateral side of the conductive lines extending to/from the rigid areas with the predictable result of protecting the conductive lines and clearly defining the rigid areas of the display device.
Further, in the same field of endeavor, Guo discloses a display panel made on a flexible substrate 100 ([0024]), including a touch sensing unit 500 (interpreted by the examiner to be a touch detecting layer). Looking at a cross-sectional view of Guo’s touch sensing unit 500 (Fig. 11), including leads and electrodes, e.g., elements 5061 – 5067 ([0058]),Guo teaches the touch detecting layer (Fig. 2; touch sensing unit 500) on the pixel-defining layer (Fig. 2; pixel definition layer 304), wherein the touch detecting layer is between the partition wall (Figs. 1 and 11; first dam B1) and the pixel-defining layer (Fig. 11; pixel definition layer 304). Applicant claims a structure limiting the touch detecting layer to be between the partition wall and the pixel-defining layer; however, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, it is the examiner’s opinion that the structure described by Guo reads on the structure limitation a touch detecting layer on the pixel-defining layer, wherein the touch detecting layer is between the partition wall and the pixel-defining layer in a cross-sectional view, because the structure as claimed in the instant application does not specify a structure that results in the touch detecting layer and the partition wall overlapping, as best understood to be the applicant’s intention (see instant Fig. 11). Examiner asserts that Guo’s structure may be combined with Jung’s display device structure, yielding a touch detecting layer on the pixel-defining layer, wherein the touch detecting layer is between the partition wall and the pixel-defining layer in a cross-sectional view.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the display device of Jung and Yeo to include a touch detecting layer, as disclosed by Guo, because such a modification is the result of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. More specifically, the display device of Jung and Yeo as modified by Guo’s touch detecting layer can yield a predictable result of providing a function to the display device for detecting a user’s touch input since such devices may be mounted/connected to a display panel/apparatus/device, as commonly demonstrated within the field of endeavor. Since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable before the effective filing date of the instant invention.
Further, in the same field of endeavor, Okabe discloses an organic EL display device 50c (Fig. 9) wherein the examiner understands organic EL display device 50c to be analogous to the instant display device which includes a display area (Fig. 9; display region D); and a non-display area (Fig. 9; area outside the display region D) on at least one side of the display area (Fig. 9), wherein the display area comprises: a plurality of rigid areas (Figs. 9 – 10; frame area F defined by sealing film 28). Okabe further discloses elastic members in a stretchable area (Fig. 10; bending portion B) including an elastic connection member; wherein the elastic connection member includes:
stretchable lines (Figs. 11 – 10; third wiring line 21c) connected between the plurality of rigid areas to transmit an electrical signal to the at least one unit pixel (Fig. 10);
first elastic members (Fig. 10; frame flattening film 19c) between rear surfaces of the stretchable lines and the plurality of rigid areas (Figs. 9 - 10), and configured to be stretched by an external force and contracted by an elastic force (Okabe teaches in [0062] teaches bending of the bending portion B; such that (in the 180° of freedom disclosed by Okabe) one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that Okabe’s frame flattening film 19c is configured for the function of being stretched by an external force and contracted by an elastic force); and
second elastic members (Fig. 10; resin film 22c) on front surfaces of the stretchable lines and between adjacent rigid areas (Figs. 9 - 10) such that the second elastic members are coplanar with the rigid areas (Figs. 9 - 10), the second elastic members being configured to be stretched by an external force and contracted by an elastic force (Okabe teaches in [0062] teaches bending of the bending portion B; such that (in the 180° of freedom disclosed by Okabe) one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that Okabe’s resin film 22c is configured for the function of being stretched by an external force and contracted by an elastic force).
To further supplement the above assertion, examiner notes that within the field of endeavor, the study of material properties is of great interests to one of ordinary skill in the art. One material property of elastic structures that is of considerable relevance here is the elastic modulus of the structure. The elastic modulus is known as a materials resistance to permanent deformation, i.e., the materials ability to be stretched by an external force and contracted by the materials own elastic force. Okabe teaches materials such as polyimide resin ([0030] and [0039]) for their frame flattening film 19c, i.e., a first elastic member, and resin film 22c, i.e., a second elastic member; wherein in the same field of endeavor, Nishida teaches in [0196] – [0197] that polyimide resin includes an elastic modulus, i.e., a configured property such that the polyimide resin material disclosed by Okabe may be stretched by an external force and contracted by an elastic force.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the elastic connection member of Jung to include Okabe’s first elastic member and second elastic member, further in view of Nishida, such that the first and second elastic members may be stretched by an external force and contracted by an elastic force, because such a modification is based on the use of known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way. More specifically, Okabe’s first elastic member and second elastic member, further in view of Nishida, is comparable to the elastic connection members of Jung because they are stretchable and conductive structures meant to hold functional integrity when external force is applied to the display device. Therefore, it is within the capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the elastic connection member of Jung to include Okabe’s first elastic member and second elastic member, further in view of Nishida, such that the first and second elastic members may be stretched by an external force and contracted by an elastic force, with the predictable result of forming a stretchable and/or bendable display device that is able to stay operational even when external force is applied.
Claims 5 – 7, 10, and 15 – 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al. (US 20200051964 A1), and further in view of Yeo (US 20180182838 A1), Guo et al. (US 20200411596 A1), Okabe et al. (US 20200388668 A1), Nishida et al. (US 20050155706 A1), Chen (US 20190302524 A1), and Yang et al. (US 20170278900 A1).
Regarding dependent Claim 3, Jung, further in view of Yeo, Guo, Okabe, and Nishida, teach the display device of claim 1; however, Jung remains silent wherein
the at least one unit pixel in each of the plurality of rigid areas comprises a reflection adjustment layer formed on a front surface to cover a black matrix, and
wherein the reflection adjustment layer comprises an organic layer in which a dye is dispersed and an organic layer in which a pigment is dispersed, such that the reflection adjustment layer is configured to absorb light in a predetermined wavelength range and transmit light in other wavelength ranges.
Examiner notes that Jung does disclose a structure, polarizing layer 190 (taught to suppress reflection in at least [0064]), that provides a function of the instant reflection adjustment layer (see [00152] of the instant specification that discloses that a polarizing layer is not needed with the inclusion of the reflection adjustment layer).
Further, Jung discloses that the banks 116 is a component separating adjacent subpixels in at least [0082]. Further, the materials discloses by Jung, i.e., acrylic-based resin, benzocyclobutene (BCB)-based resin, or polyimide, are known in the art to be excellent matrix material for forming a black matrix; wherein it is common practice in the art to form anti-reflection or black matrixes on, or out of, banks that separate adjacent pixels/subpixels.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Chen discloses a similar subpixel structure (Fig. 3B) wherein a black matrix may be formed between the subpixels (Fig. 3B; Black Matrix). Chen teaches in [0035] that the surface 124b may be a black matrix (See Fig. 1; surface 124b). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to form a black matrix between pixels.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify Jung’s banks to include a black matrix formed thereon, as disclosed by Chen, because such a modification is the result of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. More specifically, Jung’s banks, which separates Jung’s subpixels, as modified by Chen’s black matrix can yield a predictable result of allowing bank structures to support a function of blocking light that is emitted from one subpixel from bleeding to an emission area of an adjacent sub-pixel since a black matrix can absorb light emitted/received at wide angles relative to a pixel’s emission area. Since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable before the effective filing date of the instant invention.
Further, in the same field of endeavor, Yang discloses a bezel portion BM-P2’ (Fig. 17C) which includes a plurality of layers; wherein each one of the layers may include a colored pigment or dye; wherein the layers form reflection prevention layer RPL″ (See Fig. 17E); which functions to adjust reflectance, i.e., a reflection adjustment layer (See Fig. 17E; reflection prevention layer RPL″ and [0154] – [0159]). Yang discloses that the reflection prevention layer RPL″ may be made on a front surface. Further, Yang discloses organic material for the RPL’’ in at least [0172].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the display device of Jung, further in view of Chen, to include Yang’s reflection prevention layer, because such a modification is the result of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. More specifically, the display device of Jung, further in view of Chen, as modified by Yang’s reflection prevention layer can yield a predictable result of reducing external light reflection as disclosed by Yang in [0013] of their disclosure. Since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable before the effective filing date of the instant invention.
Thus, Jung, further in view of Chen and Yang, disclose a stretchable display device wherein:
the at least one unit pixel in each of the plurality of rigid areas comprises a reflection adjustment layer (Yang: Fig. 17E; reflection prevention layer RPL″) formed on a front surface to cover a black matrix (Chen: Fig. 1; surface 124b, Fig. 3B; Black Matrix, and [0035]), and
wherein the reflection adjustment layer comprises an organic layer (Yang: a first layer as disclosed in [0155]) in which a dye (Yang: a dye as disclosed in [0155]) is dispersed and an organic layer (Yang: a second/third layer as disclosed in [0155]) in which a pigment (Yang: a pigment as disclosed in [0155]) is dispersed, such that the reflection adjustment layer is configured to absorb light in a predetermined wavelength range and transmit light in other wavelength ranges (Yang: [0155] and [0159]).
Regarding dependent Claim 5, Jung, further in view of Yeo, Guo, Okabe, Nishida, Chen, and Yang, teach the display device of claim 3; however, Jung remains silent wherein
each of the plurality of rigid areas comprises an optical adjustment layer on a front surface of the reflection adjustment layer defined by the partition wall to refract and scatter light after the light has transmitted the reflection adjustment layer.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Yang discloses a modification to their reflection prevention layer RPL″ (Fig. 18C); wherein the reflection prevention layer RPL″ includes first and second metal-containing layers ML1 and ML2, respectively. Yang discloses in [0165] of their disclosure that the metal-containing layers have the capacity to refract light. Therefore, a display device of Jung, further in view of Chen, Yang, and Yeo, wherein each of the plurality of rigid areas comprises an optical adjustment layer on a front surface of the reflection adjustment layer defined by the partition wall to refract and scatter light after the light has transmitted the reflection adjustment layer would have been obvious.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the display device of Jung, further in view of Yang, to include Yang’s first and second metal-containing layers ML1 and ML2 as an optical adjustment layer on a front surface of the reflection adjustment layer, because such a modification is the result of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. More specifically, the display device of Jung, further in view of Yang, as modified by Yang’s first and second metal-containing layers ML1 and ML2 can yield a predictable result of improving the optical characteristics of the display device (see at least [0167] of Yang). Since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable before the effective filing date of the instant invention.
Regarding dependent Claim 6, Jung, further in view of Yeo, Guo, Okabe, Nishida, Chen, and Yang, teach the display device of claim 5, wherein
each of the plurality of rigid areas further comprises an anti-moisture member (Jung: Fig. 3; encapsulation layer 117. Jung discloses in [0089] that encapsulation layer 117 protects from water) …
wherein the second elastic members cover all of corresponding ones of the stretchable lines (Okabe: Fig. 10) and …
However, Jung remains silent on the display device wherein:
an anti-moisture member is … formed to completely cover an outer surface thereof, comprising the partition wall and the optical adjustment layer, and …
the second elastic members cover all of the stretchable lines and … are attached to the anti-moisture member of the plurality of rigid areas.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Yeo discloses a structure, the organic light emitting diode layer 150, similar to Jung’s individual substrate 111 (Yeo: [0068]). Further, Yeo teaches that their flexible display device includes encapsulation layer 104, i.e., an anti-moisture member, is formed to completely cover an outer surface thereof, i.e., the rigid area (Yeo: Fig. 4; organic light emitting diode layer 150). Further, Yeo teaches that their encapsulation layer 104 makes contact with their disclosed base layer 106 has the conductive lines disposed thereon, and that an insulating layer is located over the conductive line ([0125] – [0127]), i.e., a second elastic member. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to form a display device of Jung, further in view of Chen, Yang, Okabe, Nishida, and Yeo, which includes an anti-moisture member that is formed to completely cover an outer surface thereof, comprising the partition wall and the optical adjustment layer, and the second elastic members cover all of the stretchable lines and are attached to the anti-moisture member of the plurality of rigid areas.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify Jung’s encapsulation layer to include Yeo’s encapsulation layer structure wherein Jung’s encapsulation layer is formed to completely cover an outer surface, which results in the second elastic members being attached to the anti-moisture member of the plurality of rigid areas, because such a modification is based on the use of known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way. More specifically, Yeo’s encapsulation layer is comparable to Jung’s encapsulation layer because they both function to protect from moisture. Therefore, it is within the capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Jung’s encapsulation layer to include Yeo’s encapsulation layer structure wherein Jung’s encapsulation layer is formed to completely cover an outer surface, which results in the second elastic members being attached to the anti-moisture member of the plurality of rigid areas, with the predictable result of protecting the display device’s sensitive components from moisture.
Regarding dependent Claim 7, Jung, further in view of Yeo, Guo, Okabe, Nishida, Chen, and Yang, teach the display device of claim 5, wherein
each of the plurality of rigid areas further comprises an adhesive member (Jung: Fig. 3; adhesive layer 118) formed to completely cover an outer surface thereof (Jung: Fig. 3), comprising the partition wall and the optical adjustment layer (yielded through the combination of Jung with Yang), and wherein the second elastic members cover all of corresponding ones of the stretchable lines (Okabe: Fig. 10) and are attached to the adhesive member of the plurality of rigid areas (yielded through the combination of Jung with Okabe. See Fig. 3 of Jung).
Regarding dependent Claim 10, Jung, further in view of Yeo, Guo, Okabe, Nishida, Chen, and Yang, teach the display device of claim 3; however, Jung remains silent wherein
the plurality of rigid areas further comprise a flat window plate formed on a front surface comprising the partition wall and the reflection adjustment layer, and
wherein the flat window plate comprises a flat portion on a front portion of the plurality of rigid areas, and a deformable portion on a front portion of the stretchable area.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Yeo teaches a cover layer 114, i.e., a flat window plate, formed on polarization layer 110, a similar structural layer to the instant reflection adjustment layer (see [00152] of the instant specification that discloses that a polarizing layer is not needed with the inclusion of the reflection adjustment layer). Further, Yeo discloses a structure, the organic light emitting diode layer 150, similar to Jung’s individual substrate 111 (Yeo: [0068]). Hence, Yeo’s cover layer 114 may be added to the stretchable display device of Jung, further in view of Chen, Yang, and Yeo, to form a display device wherein:
the plurality of rigid areas (Yeo’s the organic light emitting diode layer 150 may be a place holder. See Fig. 4 of Yeo) further comprise a flat window plate (Yeo: Fig. 4; cover layer 114) formed on a front surface (Yeo: Fig. 4; cover layer 114) comprising the partition wall (Combination of Jung and Yeo) and the reflection adjustment layer(Combination of Jung, further in view of Yang, and Yeo), and
wherein the window plate comprises a flat portion (Yeo: Fig. 4; portion of cover layer 114 within central portion 101. See [0076]) on a front portion of the plurality of rigid areas, and a deformable portion (Yeo: Fig. 4; portion of cover layer 114 within bent portion 102. See [0034] and [0076]) on a front portion of the stretchable area (Yeo: Fig. 4; cover layer 114).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify Jung’s display device to include Yeo’s window plate because such a modification is the result of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. More specifically, Jung’s display device as modified by Yeo’s window plate can yield a predictable result of providing an outer protective layer to the display device since Yeo’s window plate is made of materials that help facilitate the protection of sensitive display device components. Since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable before the effective filing date of the instant invention.
Regarding dependent Claim 13, Jung, further in view of Yeo, Guo, Okabe, and Nishida, teach the display device of claim 12; however, Jung remains silent wherein
each of the sub-pixels in the respective plurality of rigid areas comprises a reflection adjustment layer formed on a front surface to cover a black matrix, and
wherein the reflection adjustment layer comprises an organic layer in which a dye is dispersed and an organic layer in which a pigment is dispersed, such that the reflection adjustment layer is configured to absorb light in a predetermined wavelength range and to transmit light in other wavelength ranges.
Examiner notes that Jung does disclose a structure, polarizing layer 190 (taught to suppress reflection in at least [0064]), that provides a function of the instant reflection adjustment layer (see [00152] of the instant specification that discloses that a polarizing layer is not needed with the inclusion of the reflection adjustment layer).
Further, Jung discloses that the banks 116 is a component separating adjacent subpixels in at least [0082]. Further, the materials discloses by Jung, i.e., acrylic-based resin, benzocyclobutene (BCB)-based resin, or polyimide, are known in the art to be excellent matrix material for forming a black matrix; wherein it is common practice in the art to form anti-reflection or black matrixes on, or out of, banks that separate adjacent pixels/subpixels.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Chen discloses a similar subpixel structure (Fig. 3B) wherein a black matrix may be formed between the subpixels (Fig. 3B; Black Matrix). Chen teaches in [0035] that the surface 124b may be a black matrix (See Fig. 1; surface 124b). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to form a black matrix between pixels.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify Jung’s banks to include a black matrix formed thereon, as disclosed by Chen, because such a modification is the result of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. More specifically, Jung’s banks, which separates Jung’s subpixels, as modified by Chen’s black matrix can yield a predictable result of allowing bank structures to support a function of blocking light that is emitted from one subpixel from bleeding to an emission area of an adjacent sub-pixel since a black matrix can absorb light emitted/received at wide angles relative to a pixel’s emission area. Since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable before the effective filing date of the instant invention.
Further, in the same field of endeavor, Yang discloses a bezel portion BM-P2’ (Fig. 17C) which includes a plurality of layers; wherein each one of the layers may include a colored pigment or dye; wherein the layers form reflection prevention layer RPL″ (See Fig. 17E); which functions to adjust reflectance, i.e., a reflection adjustment layer (See Fig. 17E; reflection prevention layer RPL″ and [0154] – [0159]). Yang discloses that the reflection prevention layer RPL″ may be made on a front surface. Further, Yang discloses organic material for the RPL’’ in at least [0172].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the display device of Jung, further in view of Chen, to include Yang’s reflection prevention layer, because such a modification is the result of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. More specifically, the display device of Jung, further in view of Chen, as modified by Yang’s reflection prevention layer can yield a predictable result of reducing external light reflection as disclosed by Yang in [0013] of their disclosure. Since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable before the effective filing date of the instant invention.
Thus, Jung, further in view of Chen and Yang, disclose a stretchable display device wherein:
each of the sub-pixels in the respective plurality of rigid areas comprises a reflection adjustment layer (Yang: Fig. 17E; reflection prevention layer RPL″) formed on a front surface to cover a black matrix (Chen: Fig. 1; surface 124b, Fig. 3B; Black Matrix, and [0035]), and
wherein the reflection adjustment layer comprises an organic layer (Yang: a first layer as disclosed in [0155]) in which a dye (Yang: a dye as disclosed in [0155]) is dispersed and an organic layer (Yang: a second/third layer as disclosed in [0155]) in which a pigment (Yang: a pigment as disclosed in [0155]) is dispersed, such that the reflection adjustment layer is configured to absorb light in a predetermined wavelength range and transmit light in other wavelength ranges (Yang: [0155] and [0159]).
Regarding dependent Claim 15, Jung, further in view of Yeo, Guo, Okabe, Nishida, Chen, and Yang, teach the display device of claim 13; however, Jung remains silent wherein
each of the plurality of rigid areas further comprises an optical adjustment layer formed on a front surface of the reflection adjustment layer defined by the partition wall to refract and scatter light after the light has transmitted the reflection adjustment layer.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Yang discloses a modification to their reflection prevention layer RPL″ (Fig. 18C); wherein the reflection prevention layer RPL″ includes first and second metal-containing layers ML1 and ML2, respectively. Yang discloses in [0165] of their disclosure that the metal-containing layers have the capacity to refract light. Therefore, a display device of Jung, further in view of Chen, Yang, and Yeo, wherein each of the plurality of rigid areas comprises an optical adjustment layer on a front surface of the reflection adjustment layer defined by the partition wall to refract and scatter light after the light has transmitted the reflection adjustment layer would have been obvious.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the display device of Jung, further in view of Yang, to include Yang’s first and second metal-containing layers ML1 and ML2 as an optical adjustment layer on a front surface of the reflection adjustment layer, because such a modification is the result of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. More specifically, the display device of Jung, further in view of Yang, as modified by Yang’s first and second metal-containing layers ML1 and ML2 can yield a predictable result of improving the optical characteristics of the display device (see at least [0167] of Yang). Since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable before the effective filing date of the instant invention.
Regarding dependent Claim 16, Jung, further in view of Yeo, Guo, Okabe, Nishida, Chen, and Yang, teach the display device of claim 15, wherein
each of the plurality of rigid areas further comprises an anti-moisture member (Jung: Fig. 3; encapsulation layer 117. Jung discloses in [0089] that encapsulation layer 117 protects from water) … wherein the second elastic members cover all of corresponding ones of the stretchable lines (Okabe: Fig. 10) …
However, Jung remains silent on the display device wherein:
an anti-moisture member is … formed to completely cover an outer surface thereof, comprising the partition wall and the optical adjustment layer, and …
the second elastic members cover all of the stretchable lines and … are attached to the anti-moisture member of the sub-pixels.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Yeo discloses a structure, the organic light emitting diode layer 150, similar to Jung’s individual substrate 111 (Yeo: [0068]). Further, Yeo teaches that their flexible display device includes encapsulation layer 104, i.e., an anti-moisture member, is formed to completely cover an outer surface thereof, i.e., the rigid area (Yeo: Fig. 4; organic light emitting diode layer 150). Further, Yeo teaches that their encapsulation layer 104 makes contact with their disclosed base layer 106 has the conductive lines disposed thereon, and that an insulating layer is located over the conductive line ([0125] – [0127]), i.e., a second elastic member. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to form a display device of Jung, further in view of Chen, Yang, Okabe, Nishida, and Yeo, which includes an anti-moisture member that is formed to completely cover an outer surface thereof, comprising the partition wall and the optical adjustment layer, and the second elastic members cover all of the stretchable lines and are attached to the anti-moisture member of the sub-pixels.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify Jung’s encapsulation layer to include Yeo’s encapsulation layer structure wherein Jung’s encapsulation layer is formed to completely cover an outer surface, which results in the second elastic members being attached to the anti-moisture member of the sub-pixels, because such a modification is based on the use of known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way. More specifically, Yeo’s encapsulation layer is comparable to Jung’s encapsulation layer because they both function to protect from moisture. Therefore, it is within the capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Jung’s encapsulation layer to include Yeo’s encapsulation layer structure wherein Jung’s encapsulation layer is formed to completely cover an outer surface, which results in the second elastic members being attached to the anti-moisture member of the sub-pixels, with the predictable result of protecting the display device’s sensitive components from moisture.
Regarding dependent Claim 17, Jung, further in view of Yeo, Guo, Okabe, Nishida, Chen, and Yang, teach the display device of claim 15, wherein
each of the plurality of rigid areas further comprises an adhesive member (Jung: Fig. 3; adhesive layer 118) formed to completely cover an outer surface thereof (Jung: Fig. 3), comprising the partition wall and the optical adjustment layer (yielded through the combination of Jung with Yang), and wherein the second elastic members cover all of corresponding ones of the stretchable lines (Okabe: Fig. 10) and are attached to the adhesive member of the plurality of rigid areas (yielded through the combination of Jung with Okabe. See Fig. 3 of Jung).
Claims 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al. (US 20200051964 A1), and further in view of Yeo (US 20180182838 A1), Guo et al. (US 20200411596 A1), Okabe et al. (US 20200388668 A1), Nishida et al. (US 20050155706 A1), Chen (US 20190302524 A1), Yang et al. (US 20170278900 A1), and Ma et al. (US 20150179987 A1).
Regarding dependent Claim 8, Jung, further in view of Yeo, Guo, Okabe, Nishida, Chen, and Yang, teach the display device of claim 3; however, Jung remains silent wherein:
the plurality of rigid areas further comprise refraction patterns formed on a front surface of the reflection adjustment layer defined by the partition wall to refract and scatter light after the light has transmitted the reflection adjustment layer, and
wherein the refraction patterns are formed in a shape of a convex lens such that a refractive index thereof is different from a refractive index of the reflection adjustment layer.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Yang discloses a modification to their display device wherein a plurality of layers (Fig. 18D; metal-containing layers, e.g., ML1’ and ML2’, and dielectric layers, e.g., IL1’ and IL2’) comprise refraction patterns formed on a front surface of the reflection prevention layer RPL″ (Fig. 18D). Yang discloses in [0165] – [0167] of their disclosure that the metal-containing layers and dielectric layers have the capacity to refract light. Therefore, a display device of Jung, further in view of Chen, Yang, and Yeo, wherein the plurality of rigid areas further comprise refraction patterns formed on a front surface of the reflection adjustment layer defined by the partition wall to refract and scatter light after the light has transmitted the reflection adjustment layer would have been obvious.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the display device of Jung, further in view of Yang, to include Yang’s first and second metal-containing layers ML1 and ML2 as refraction patterns formed on a front surface of the reflection adjustment layer, because such a modification is the result of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. More specifically, the display device of Jung, further in view of Yang, as modified by Yang’s first and second metal-containing layers ML1 and ML2 can yield a predictable result of improving the optical characteristics of the display device (see at least [0167] of Yang). Since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable before the effective filing date of the instant invention.
Further, in the same field of endeavor, Ma teaches a conformal substrate 710 that may enhance the light extraction of OLED devices ([0096]). Further, Ma discloses in [0107] that the conformal substrate 710 are processed to function as refraction patterns. As shown in Fig. 7B, the conformal substrate 710 is formed to have a shape of a convex lens. The methods disclosed by Ma may be applied to Yang’s refraction patterns to form a display device wherein:
… wherein the refraction patterns are formed in a shape of a convex lens (Ma: Fig. 7B) such that a refractive index thereof is different from a refractive index of the reflection adjustment layer ([0165] – [0167] of Yang & [0091],[0107], [0127] – [0131] of Ma).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the refraction patterns of Jung, further in view of Yang, to include Ma’s convex lens feature of a refractive pattern, because such a modification is based on the use of known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way. More specifically, [Ma’s convex lens feature of a refractive pattern is comparable to the refraction patterns of Jung, further in view of Yang, because they both function to refract light. Therefore, it is within the capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the refraction patterns of Jung, further in view of Yang, to include Ma’s convex lens feature of a refractive pattern with the predictable result of providing a refractive pattern to better direct refracted light.
Regarding dependent Claim 18, Jung, further in view of Yeo, Guo, Okabe, Nishida, Chen, and Yang, teach the display device of claim 13; however, Jung remains silent wherein
the plurality of rigid areas further comprise refraction patterns formed on a front surface of the reflection adjustment layer defined by the partition wall to refract and scatter light after the light has transmitted the reflection adjustment layer, and
wherein the refraction patterns are formed in a shape of a convex lens so that a refractive index thereof is greater than a refractive index of the reflection adjustment layer.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Yang discloses a modification to their display device wherein a plurality of layers (Fig. 18D; metal-containing layers, e.g., ML1’ and ML2’, and dielectric layers, e.g., IL1’ and IL2’) comprise refraction patterns formed on a front surface of the reflection prevention layer RPL″ (Fig. 18D). Yang discloses in [0165] – [0167] of their disclosure that the metal-containing layers and dielectric layers have the capacity to refract light. Therefore, a display device of Jung, further in view of Chen, Yang, and Yeo, wherein the plurality of rigid areas further comprise refraction patterns formed on a front surface of the reflection adjustment layer defined by the partition wall to refract and scatter light after the light has transmitted the reflection adjustment layer would have been obvious.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the display device of Jung, further in view of Yang, to include Yang’s first and second metal-containing layers ML1 and ML2 as refraction patterns formed on a front surface of the reflection adjustment layer, because such a modification is the result of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. More specifically, the display device of Jung, further in view of Yang, as modified by Yang’s first and second metal-containing layers ML1 and ML2 can yield a predictable result of improving the optical characteristics of the display device (see at least [0167] of Yang). Since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable before the effective filing date of the instant invention.
Further, in the same field of endeavor, Ma teaches a conformal substrate 710 that may enhance the light extraction of OLED devices ([0096]). Further, Ma discloses in [0107] that the conformal substrate are processed to function as refraction patterns. As shown in Fig. 7B, the conformal substrate 710 is formed to have a shape of a convex lens. The methods disclosed by Ma may be applied to Yang’s refraction patterns to form a display device wherein:
… wherein the refraction patterns are formed in a shape of a convex lens (Ma: Fig. 7B) so that a refractive index thereof is greater than a refractive index of the reflection adjustment layer ([0165] – [0167] of Yang & [0091],[0107], [0127] – [0131] of Ma).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the refraction patterns of Jung, further in view of Yang, to include Ma’s convex lens feature of a refractive pattern, so that a refractive index thereof is greater than a refractive index of the reflection adjustment layer, because such a modification is based on the use of known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way. More specifically, Ma’s convex lens feature of a refractive pattern is comparable to the refraction patterns of Jung, further in view of Yang, because they both function to refract light. Therefore, it is within the capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the refraction patterns of Jung, further in view of Yang, to include Ma’s convex lens feature of a refractive pattern with the predictable result of providing a refractive pattern to better direct refracted light and so that a refractive index thereof is greater than a refractive index of the reflection adjustment layer.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al. (US 20200051964 A1), and further in view of Yeo (US 20180182838 A1), Guo et al. (US 20200411596 A1), Okabe et al. (US 20200388668 A1), Nishida et al. (US 20050155706 A1), Chen (US 20190302524 A1), Yang et al. (US 20170278900 A1), Ma et al. (US 20150179987 A1), and Isa (US 20180204884 A1).
Regarding dependent Claim 9, Jung, further in view of Yeo, Guo, Okabe, Nishida, Chen, Yang, and Ma, teach the display device of claim 8; however, Okabe is silent regarding their second elastic member wherein
the second elastic members are formed of a transparent synthetic material based on elastomers, to cover all of the refraction patterns and the stretchable lines while being attached to side surfaces of adjacent ones of the plurality of rigid areas.
However, in another embodiment, Jung (Fig. 11 – 12) discloses an encapsulation layer 1017 (Figs. 11 – 12; first encapsulation layer 1017a and second encapsulation layer 1017b. See [0187] – [0188]); wherein Jung teaches that the encapsulation layer 1017 may be made of a soft encapsulation material, e.g., the encapsulation layer 1017 may be made of graphene; where graphene is a material in which carbon atoms make a honeycomb structure in a plane, is very thin, transparent, and excellent in elasticity (Jung: [0188]). Okabe’s second elastic member may be substituted with Jung’s encapsulation layer 1017, e.g., first encapsulation layer 1017a, to form the display device wherein:
the second elastic members (Jung: Figs. 11 – 12; encapsulation layer 1017) are formed of a transparent synthetic material based on elastomers (Jung: [0188]), to cover all of … the stretchable lines while being attached to side surfaces of adjacent ones of the plurality of rigid areas.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the display device of Jung, further in view of Okabe, to include Jung’s encapsulation layer 1017 made to be transparent and with excellent elasticity (provided in an alternative embodiment shown in Figs. 11 – 12 of Jung) as a second elastic member, because such a modification is the result of simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result. More specifically, the second elastic member of Jung, further in view of Okabe, and Jung’s encapsulation layer 1017 perform the same general and predictable function, the predictable function being to protect the stretchable conductive lines. Since each individual element and its function are shown in the prior art, albeit shown in separate references, the difference between the claimed subject matter and the prior art rests not on any individual element or function but in the very combination itself - that is in the substitution of the second elastic member of Jung, further in view of Okabe, by replacing it with Jung’s encapsulation layer 1017. Thus, the simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result renders the claim obvious before the effective filing date of the instant invention.
However, Jung remains silent wherein the second elastic members cover all of … the refraction patterns and …
However, in the same field of endeavor, Isa teaches a similar display device in Figs. 26A – 27; wherein a protective layer 93 (interpreted by the examiner to be an analogous feature to the instant second elastic member) is formed to cover all of Isa’s support panel 95a (considered by the examiner to be analogous to MA’s conformal substrate 710, i.e., the refraction patterns). See [0398] – [0399] of Isa’s disclosure for relevancy of the protective layer 93 and support panels 95a.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the second elastic member and refraction patterns of Jung, further in view of Okabe and Ma, to include Isa’s feature of providing a transparent and elastic protective layer within an orthographic projection of an upper layer, e.g., a refraction pattern layer, of the device, because such a modification is taught, suggested, or motivated by the art. More specifically, the motivation to modify the second elastic member and refraction patterns of Jung, further in view of Okabe and Ma, to include Isa’s feature of providing a transparent and elastic protective layer within an orthographic projection of an upper layer, e.g., a refraction pattern layer, of the device is implicitly provided by Isa, wherein Figs. 26A – 27 show that a transparent and elastic protective layer is within an orthographic projection of an upper layer, e.g., a refraction pattern layer, wherein Isa states this structure is preferable in at least [0392] of their disclosure. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the benefit of providing a flexible, transparent, and supportive structural member under a layer comprising refraction patterns for a display device.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al. (US 20200051964 A1), and further in view of Yeo (US 20180182838 A1), Guo et al. (US 20200411596 A1), Okabe et al. (US 20200388668 A1), Nishida et al. (US 20050155706 A1), Chen (US 20190302524 A1), Yang et al. (US 20170278900 A1), and Isa (US 20180204884 A1).
Regarding dependent Claim 11, Jung, further in view of Yeo, Guo, Okabe, Nishida, Chen, and Yang, teach the display device of claim 10; however, Okabe is silent regarding their second elastic member wherein:
the second elastic members are formed of a transparent synthetic material based on elastomers, to cover all of the flat window plate and the stretchable lines while being attached to side surfaces of adjacent ones of the plurality of rigid areas.
However, in another embodiment, Jung (Fig. 11 – 12) discloses an encapsulation layer 1017 (Figs. 11 – 12; first encapsulation layer 1017a and second encapsulation layer 1017b. See [0187] – [0188]); wherein Jung teaches that the encapsulation layer 1017 may be made of a soft encapsulation material, e.g., the encapsulation layer 1017 may be made of graphene; where graphene is a material in which carbon atoms make a honeycomb structure in a plane, is very thin, transparent, and excellent in elasticity (Jung: [0188]). Okabe’s second elastic member may be substituted with Jung’s encapsulation layer 1017, e.g., first encapsulation layer 1017a, to form the display device wherein:
the second elastic members (Jung: Figs. 11 – 12; encapsulation layer 1017) are formed of a transparent synthetic material based on elastomers (Jung: [0188]), to cover all of … the stretchable lines while being attached to side surfaces of adjacent ones of the plurality of rigid areas.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the display device of Jung, further in view of Okabe, to include Jung’s encapsulation layer 1017 made to be transparent and with excellent elasticity (provided in an alternative embodiment shown in Figs. 11 – 12 of Jung) as a second elastic member, because such a modification is the result of simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result. More specifically, the second elastic member of Jung, further in view of Okabe, and Jung’s encapsulation layer 1017 perform the same general and predictable function, the predictable function being to protect the stretchable conductive lines. Since each individual element and its function are shown in the prior art, albeit shown in separate references, the difference between the claimed subject matter and the prior art rests not on any individual element or function but in the very combination itself - that is in the substitution of the second elastic member of Jung, further in view of Okabe, by replacing it with Jung’s encapsulation layer 1017. Thus, the simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result renders the claim obvious before the effective filing date of the instant invention.
However, Jung remains silent wherein the second elastic members cover all of … the window plate and …
However, in the same field of endeavor, Isa teaches a similar display device in Figs. 26A – 27; wherein a protective layer 93 (interpreted by the examiner to be an analogous feature to the instant second elastic member) is formed to cover all of Isa’s support panel 95a (interpreted by the examiner to be a window plate). See [0398] – [0399] of Isa’s disclosure for relevancy of the protective layer 93 and support panels 95a.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the display device of Jung, further in view of Chen, Yang, Yeo, and Okabe, to include Isa’s window plate wherein a transparent and elastic protective layer is placed within an orthographic projection of the window plate, because such a modification is taught, suggested, or motivated by the art. More specifically, the motivation to modify the display device of Jung, further in view of Chen, Yang, Yeo, and Okabe, to include Isa’s window plate wherein a transparent and elastic protective layer is placed within an orthographic projection of the window plate is implicitly provided by Isa, wherein Figs. 26A – 27 show that a transparent and elastic protective layer is within an orthographic projection of the window plate wherein Isa states this structure is preferable in at least [0392] of their disclosure. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the benefit of providing a flexible, transparent, and supportive structural member under the window plate of a display device.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al. (US 20200051964 A1), and further in view of Yeo (US 20180182838 A1), Guo et al. (US 20200411596 A1), Okabe et al. (US 20200388668 A1), Nishida et al. (US 20050155706 A1), Chen (US 20190302524 A1), Yang et al. (US 20170278900 A1), Ma et al. (US 20150179987 A1), and Kwon et al. (US 20160211471 A1).
Regarding dependent Claim 19, Jung, further in view of Yeo, Guo, Okabe, Nishida, Chen, Yang, and Ma, teach the display device of claim 18; however, Okabe is silent regarding their second elastic member wherein
the second elastic members are formed of a transparent synthetic material based on elastomers, to cover all of the refraction patterns and the stretchable lines while being attached to side surfaces of adjacent ones of the plurality of rigid areas.
However, in another embodiment, Jung (Fig. 11 – 12) discloses an encapsulation layer 1017 (Figs. 11 – 12; first encapsulation layer 1017a and second encapsulation layer 1017b. See [0187] – [0188]); wherein Jung teaches that the encapsulation layer 1017 may be made of a soft encapsulation material, e.g., the encapsulation layer 1017 may be made of graphene; where graphene is a material in which carbon atoms make a honeycomb structure in a plane, is very thin, transparent, and excellent in elasticity (Jung: [0188]). Okabe’s second elastic member may be substituted with Jung’s encapsulation layer 1017, e.g., first encapsulation layer 1017a, to form the display device wherein:
the second elastic members (Jung: Figs. 11 – 12; encapsulation layer 1017) are formed of a transparent synthetic material based on elastomers (Jung: [0188]), to cover all of … the stretchable lines while being attached to side surfaces of adjacent ones of the plurality of rigid areas.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the display device of Jung, further in view of Okabe, to include Jung’s encapsulation layer 1017 made to be transparent and with excellent elasticity (provided in an alternative embodiment shown in Figs. 11 – 12 of Jung) as a second elastic member, because such a modification is the result of simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result. More specifically, the second elastic member of Jung, further in view of Okabe, and Jung’s encapsulation layer 1017 perform the same general and predictable function, the predictable function being to protect the stretchable conductive lines. Since each individual element and its function are shown in the prior art, albeit shown in separate references, the difference between the claimed subject matter and the prior art rests not on any individual element or function but in the very combination itself - that is in the substitution of the second elastic member of Jung, further in view of Okabe, by replacing it with Jung’s encapsulation layer 1017. Thus, the simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result renders the claim obvious before the effective filing date of the instant invention.
However, Jung remains silent wherein the second elastic members cover all of … the refraction patterns and …
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kwon teaches a similar display device in Fig. 4; wherein a transparent elastic part 130 (interpreted by the examiner to be an analogous feature to the instant second elastic member) is formed to cover all of Kwon’s rigid lenses 140 (interpreted by the examiner to be refraction patterns). See [0041] – [0042] of Kwon’s disclosure for relevancy of transparent elastic part 130 and rigid lenses 140.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the second elastic member and refraction patterns of Jung, further in view of Okabe and Ma, to include Kwon’s feature of providing a transparent elastic part 130 to cover all of Kwon’s rigid lenses 140 (interpreted by the examiner to be refraction patterns), because such a modification is taught, suggested, or motivated by the art. More specifically, the motivation to modify the second elastic member and refraction patterns of Jung, further in view of Okabe and Ma, to include Kwon’s feature of providing a transparent elastic part 130 to cover all of Kwon’s rigid lenses 140 (interpreted by the examiner to be refraction patterns) is implicitly provided by Kwon, wherein Fig. 4 shows that an elastic members are formed to cover all of the refraction patterns. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the benefit of providing an elastic members formed to cover all of the refraction patterns for a display device in order to protect the lens structure of the refraction pattern.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al. (US 20200051964 A1), and further in view of Yeo (US 20180182838 A1), Guo et al. (US 20200411596 A1), Okabe et al. (US 20200388668 A1), Nishida et al. (US 20050155706 A1), Chen (US 20190302524 A1), Yang et al. (US 20170278900 A1), and Miyake et al. (US 20150228704 A1).
Regarding dependent Claim 20, Jung, further in view of Yeo, Guo, Okabe, Nishida, Chen, and Yang, teach the display device of claim 13; however, Jung remains silent wherein
each of the plurality of rigid areas further comprises a flat window plate on a front surface of the partition wall and the reflection adjustment layer, and
wherein a refractive index of the flat window plate is different from that of the reflection adjustment layer.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Yeo teaches a cover layer 114, i.e., a flat window plate, formed on polarization layer 110, a similar structural layer to the instant reflection adjustment layer (see [00152] of the instant specification that discloses that a polarizing layer is not needed with the inclusion of the reflection adjustment layer). Further, Yeo discloses a structure, the organic light emitting diode layer 150, similar to Jung’s individual substrate 111 (Yeo: [0068]). Hence, Yeo’s cover layer 114 may be added to the stretchable display device of Jung, further in view of Chen, Yang, and Yeo, to form a display device wherein:
the plurality of rigid areas (Yeo’s the organic light emitting diode layer 150 may be a place holder. See Fig. 4 of Yeo) further comprise a flat window plate (Yeo: Fig. 4; cover layer 114) formed on a front surface (Yeo: Fig. 4; cover layer 114) of the partition wall (Combination of Jung and Yeo) and the reflection adjustment layer(Combination of Jung, further in view of Yang, and Yeo), and …
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify Jung’s display device to include Yeo’s window plate because such a modification is the result of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. More specifically, Jung’s display device as modified by Yeo’s window plate can yield a predictable result of providing an outer protective layer to the display device since Yeo’s window plate is made of materials that help facilitate the protection of sensitive display device components. Since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable before the effective filing date of the instant invention.
However, Yeo remains silent wherein:
… wherein a refractive index of the window plate is different from that of the reflection adjustment layer.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Miyake teaches a protective substrate 132 (Fig. 5A), interpreted by examiner to be a window plate (Miyake: [0094]), and a resin layer 131, asserted by the examiner to be similar to the reflection adjustment layer (Miyake discloses materials in [0090] suitable for a dye or pigment to be dispersed). Miyake teaches in [0093] that a refractive index of the window plate is different from that of the reflection adjustment layer.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the window plate and reflection adjustment layer of Jung, further in view of Chen, Yang, and Yeo, to include a refractive index of the window plate is different from that of the reflection adjustment layer, as disclosed by Miyake, because such a modification is based on the use of known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way. More specifically, Miyake’s materials used for the window and reflection adjustment layer wherein a refractive index of the window plate is different from that of the reflection adjustment layer is comparable to the window and reflection adjustment layer of Jung, further in view of Chen, Yang, and Yeo, because both display devices use the window and reflection adjustment layer to improve the optical properties in a similar way. Therefore, it is within the capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the window plate and reflection adjustment layer of Jung, further in view of Chen, Yang, and Yeo, to include Miyake’s materials used for the window and reflection adjustment layer wherein a refractive index of the window plate is different from that of the reflection adjustment layer with the predictable result of improving the optical properties of the display device.
Conclusion
Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to the applicant's disclosure:
US 20200243802 A1 – teaches a touch sensing layer TSL (Figs. 3 and 12) that is in between a pixel defining layer (Fig. 15; a bank layer 180) and the light path changing layer TRL; wherein the light path changing layer TRL includes structures that partition pixel light emitting areas, such that they may be partition walls.
US 20160188098 A1 – teaches a flexible display device.
US 20190157311 A1 – teaches a flexible display device with similar features to the instant invention.
US 20210313412 A1 – teaches display device features relevant to bending areas.
US 20170301266 A1– teaches a flexible display device with similar features to the instant invention.
US 20140055702 A1 – teaches a flexible display device with similar features to the instant invention.
US 20210313526 A1 – teaches a flexible display device with similar features to the instant invention.
US 20190043454 A – teaches a flexible display device with similar features to the instant invention (see Fig. 2B; gaps 130 and conductive couplings 140).
US 20210020732 A1 – teaches a flexible display device.
MARIO A. AUTORE JR.
Examiner
Art Unit 2897
/MARIO ANDRES AUTORE JR/Examiner, Art Unit 2897 /CHAD M DICKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2897