DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN 214 175 761U.
CN ‘761 discloses all the limitations of the instant claim including; a cable structure capable of carrying signals to and from a component of a temperature sensing arrangement in an aircraft wheel brake, comprising: elongate elements including a plurality of cables and/or wires 12, one or more ceramic spacer layers (11, page 4, 5th full paragraph of translation), a ceramic cover layer (22, page 4, 14th paragraph), and a metallic layer (32, page 5, 6th paragraph) surrounding the one or more ceramic spacer layers and the ceramic cover layer.
Regarding claim 2, a cross section of the ceramic cover layer 22 is an arc; and the metallic layer 32 is configured to hold the one or more ceramic spacer layers 11 and the ceramic cover layer 22. Figure 1.
Regarding claim 3, a cross section of the ceramic cover layer 22 is a circle. Note figure 1 shows layer 22 as a discontinuous circle.
Regarding claim 4, the one or more ceramic spacer layers 11 separate one or more of the plurality of wires and/or cables from the remainder of the plurality of wires and/or cables.
Regarding claim 5, the cable structure is for providing thermal protection to the plurality of cables and/or wires. Page 4, 5th full paragraph of translation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 214 175 761U in view of Waltz (US# 20090125286).
CN ‘761 discloses all the limitations of the instant claims with exception to the cable being combined with an aircraft wheel brake. Waltz discloses an aircraft wheel brake 11 with temperature monitoring in combination with a cable [0029]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the cable of CN ‘761 with an aircraft wheel brake, such as taught by Waltz as the heat resistant properties of the cable are desirable in the braking environment for protecting the signal cables.
Claims 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 214 175 761U and Waltz (US# 20090125286) in further view of Canabal et al “Multi-Sensor Wireless Interrogation of SAW Resonators at High Temperatures”, IEEE, International Ultrasonics Symposium Proceedings, pages 265-268, October 11, 2010 (submitted in the IDS of 9/15/2023).
CN ‘761 and Waltz disclose all the limitations of the instant claims with exception to the cable being electrically coupled to a wireless relay device for wirelessly transmitting an interrogation signal to a temperature sensing device and wirelessly receiving an output signal from the temperature sensing device. Canabal et al disclose a temperature sensing device for aerospace applications (note introduction), including a wireless relay device for wirelessly transmitting an interrogation signal to a temperature sensing device and wirelessly receiving an output signal from the temperature sensing device. Note section II, Wireless Interrogation Method. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the wireless sensor of Canabal et al, with the device of CN ‘761 and Waltz to minimize the amount of cable required, and eliminate the need for cabling at the hottest portions of the brake, thereby improving durability of the system.
Regarding claim 8, Waltz teaches an aircraft.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/BRADLEY T KING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616
BTK