DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 8, 9, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 32, 33, 34, and 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hu et al. (Us pub 20220254724).
With respect to claim 1, Hu et al. teach an electronic device, comprising (see figs. 1-35, particularly fig. 17 and associated text):
a multilevel package substrate 130, 140, 150, 160 having a first level 130, a second level 140, a third level 150, a conductive signal trace (right 148a under 110, 114) that extends in the second level, and a conductive box shield (the edge, right and left, 138a,138b, 148a,148b,154) that surrounds a portion of the conductive signal trace;
a semiconductor die 110,120 attached to the multilevel package substrate and having a conductive structure 114 coupled to an end (upper part) of the conductive signal trace (right 148a, under 114); and
a package structure MC that encloses the semiconductor die and a portion of the multilevel package substrate.
With respect to claim 2, Hu et al. teach the multilevel package substrate has a conductive lead 148b coupled to a second end 148a of the conductive signal trace. See fig. 17 and associated text.
With respect to claim 8, Hu et al. teach the multilevel package substrate has a second conductive signal trace (left 148a below 120,124) that extends in the second level and is spaced apart from the conductive signal trace; the semiconductor die has a second conductive structure 124 coupled to an end of the second conductive signal trace; and the conductive box shield surrounds a portion of the second conductive signal trace. See fig. 17 and associated text.
With respect to claim 9, Hu et al. teach the multilevel package substrate has a first conductive lead (148b, right) coupled to a second end of the conductive signal trace (148a, right), and a second conductive lead (148b, left) coupled to a second end of the second conductive signal trace (148a, left). See fig. 17 and associated text.
With respect to claim 21, Hu et al. teach the second level 140 includes a second trace layer (148a on left), excluding the 2 148a portions in middle) with patterned second conductive trace features 148a, a second via layer (the hole layer where 148a occupies) with patterned second conductive via features, and a second dielectric layer 140 that extends on and between the second conductive trace features and between the second conductive via features. See fig. 17 and associated text.
With respect to claim 22, Hu et al. teach the second level includes a second trace layer (148a on left), with patterned second conductive trace features 148a, a second via layer (the hole layer where 148a occupies) with patterned second conductive via features, and a second dielectric layer 140 that extends on and between the second conductive trace features and between the second conductive via features. See fig. 17 and associated text.
With respect to claim 23, Hu et al. teach the second level includes a second trace layer (148a on left), with patterned second conductive trace features 148a, a second via layer (the hole layer where 148a occupies) with patterned second conductive via features, and a second dielectric layer 140 that extends on and between the second conductive trace features and between the second conductive via features. See fig. 17 and associated text.
With respect to claim 24, Hu et al. teach the third level 150 includes a third trace layer 154 with patterned third conductive trace features 154 (right, left, and middle), and a third dielectric layer 150 that extends on and between the third conductive trace features. See fig. 17 and associated text.
With respect to claim 25, Hu et al. teach the third level 150 includes a third trace layer 154 with patterned third conductive trace features 154 (right, left, and middle), and a third dielectric layer 150 that extends on and between the third conductive trace features. See fig. 17 and associated text.
With respect to claim 26, Hu et al. teach the third level 150 includes a third trace layer 154 with patterned third conductive trace features 154 (right, left, and middle), and a third dielectric layer 150 that extends on and between the third conductive trace features. See fig. 17 and associated text.
With respect to claim 27, Hu et al. teach the third level 150 includes a third trace layer 154 with patterned third conductive trace features 154 (right, left, and middle), and a third dielectric layer 150 that extends on and between the third conductive trace features. See fig. 17 and associated text.
With respect to claim 32, Hu et al. teach the shield top (138a in the middle of the first level 130) includes a portion of a first one of the first conductive trace features 138a (right, left, and middle). See fig. 17 and associated text.
With respect to claim 33, Hu et al. teach the shield bottom (154 in middle part of third level 150) includes a portion of a first one of the third conductive trace features (154 right, left, and middle). See fig. 17 and associated text.
With respect to claim 34, Hu et al. teach the first shield sidewall includes a portion of a first one of the second conductive via (hole) features (148a, left), a portion of a first one of the patterned second conductive trace features (148a, left), and a portion of a first one of the second conductive via features (148a, left). See fig. 17 and associated text.
With respect to claim 35, Hu et al. teach the second shield sidewall includes a portion of a second one of the second conductive via (hole) features (148a, right), a portion of a second one of the patterned second conductive trace features (148a, right), and a portion of a second one of the second conductive via features (148a, right). See fig. 17 and associated text.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-7 are allowed.
Claims 28-31 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/2/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. See below.
In response to the applicant’s arguments on pages 10-14 of the amendment dated 3/2/26, it is submitted that Hu et al. reference shows the conductive signal trace (148a (2 in middle part) of the second level 140) and the conductive box shield (138a, right, left, and middle in the first level 130; 148a, right and left in the second level 140; and 154, right, left, and middle in the third level 150) that surrounds a portion of the conductive signal trace. Further, it is submitted the claim language does not preclude the shield to be discontinuous.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
LONG . PHAM
Examiner
Art Unit 2823
/LONG PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897