Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 21 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (US Pub App 2023/0159274) in view of Stutz et al (US Pub App 2023/0113731) and CN201218774Y, attached.
Regarding claim 21, Liu discloses a pallet lifting rack (Fig.3), comprising:
a pair of lifting devices (lifting mechanism, 2 of, annotated Fig.3, above), each including:
a frame (F, annotated Fig.3, above);
a movable bracket (MB, annotated Fig.3, above) mounted on the frame and movable in a vertical direction relative to the frame;
a support member (SM, annotated Fig.3, above) connected to the movable bracket; and
a driving device driving the movable bracket and the support member to move along the vertical direction (Para.56), the support members of the pair of lifting devices support a bottom surface of a pallet from a pair of sides of the pallet, so that the pallet is supported on the support members (Fig.3) and movable to different height positions in the vertical direction by the support members (Para.56);
a control device (110) controlling the driving device.
Liu does not further specifically disclose the control device (110) including a PLC controller.
Stutz teaches an automated storage and retrieval system wherein a controller device wherein a processor can include a programmable logic controller (PLC) (Para.167).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to have modified Liu in view of Stutz to include a PLC controller in order to ease the burden of the user.
Liu does not further specifically disclose a safety light curtain device, detecting whether an object enters a channel between the pair of lifting devices, the control device controlling the driving device to stop when the safety light curtain device detects an object entering the channel.
CN201218774Y teaches a drop tester with a safety protection light curtain device comprising an emitter (2), a receiver (3) on both sides of the drop tester working area, a light curtain pathway (5) formed between the emitter (2) and receiver (3), the receiver (3) outputs a monitoring electrical signal about the light curtain pathway (5) on and off, which is input into the control meter, which is connected to the control meter via the monitoring electrical signal of the light curtain output on and off, to ensure complete evacuation of staff within the working area of the drop tester while the drop tester is in operation and to avoid the occurrence of a safety accident (Figs.1-2, Pages 3-5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to have modified Liu in view of CN201218774Y to include a safety light curtain device, detecting whether an object enters a channel between the pair of lifting devices, the control device controlling the driving device to stop when the safety light curtain device detects an object entering the channel in order to increase safety of the system.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-20 allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The prior art of record fails to disclose or render obvious the claimed invention as set forth in claim 1 and subsequent dependent claims. The prior art of record does not disclose or render obvious a pallet lifting rack, comprising a pair of lifting devices, each including a frame, a movable bracket mounted on the frame and movable in a vertical direction relative to the frame, a support member connected to the movable bracket, a driving device driving the movable bracket and the support member to move along the vertical direction, the support members of the pair of lifting devices support a bottom surface of a pallet from a pair of sides of the pallet, so that the pallet is supported on the support members and movable to different height positions in the vertical direction by the support members, and a housing accommodating the movable bracket, the frame, and the driving device, the support member is arranged outside the housing.
The prior art of record fails to disclose or render obvious the claimed invention as set forth in claim 16 and subsequent dependent claims. The prior art of record does not disclose or render obvious a pallet handling system, comprising a pallet lifting rack and a housing, the pallet lifting rack includes a pair of lifting devices each having a frame, a movable bracket mounted on the frame and movable in a vertical direction relative to the frame, a support member connected to the movable bracket, and a driving device driving the movable bracket and the support member to move along the vertical direction, the support members of the pair of lifting devices support a bottom surface of a pallet from a pair of sides of the pallet, so that the pallet is supported on the support members and movable to different height positions in the vertical direction by the support members, the housing accommodates the movable bracket, the frame, and the driving device, the support member is arranged outside the housing and an automatic guided vehicle movable into a channel between the pair of lifting devices, the automatic guided vehicle loads the pallet and unloads the pallet onto the support members.
The prior art of record fails to disclose or render obvious the claimed invention as set forth in claim 20 and subsequent dependent claims. The prior art of record does not disclose or render obvious a pallet handling system, comprising a pallet lifting rack and a housing, the pallet lifting rack includes a pair of lifting devices each having a frame, a movable bracket mounted on the frame and movable in a vertical direction relative to the frame, a support member connected to the movable bracket, and a driving device driving the movable bracket and the support member to move along the vertical direction, the support members of the pair of lifting devices support a bottom surface of a pallet from a pair of sides of the pallet, so that the pallet is supported on the support members and movable to different height positions in the vertical direction by the support members, the housing accommodates the movable bracket, the frame, and the driving device, the support member is arranged outside the housing and a sorting system including a roller conveyor that conveys the pallet, the support members are movable to a height position flush with the roller conveyor to transfer the pallet to the support members by the roller conveyor.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 8/29/2025 with respect to the 102 and 103 rejection of claims 1-20, together with the amendment filed 8/29/2025, have been fully considered and are persuasive. Claims are allowed.
Newly filed claim 21 is rejected, see above.
Applicant's arguments filed 8/29/2025 with respect to claim 21 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply based on the new grounds of rejection and new interpretation of the references being used in the current rejection, necessitated by amendment.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAUL RODRIGUEZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3652
/ASHLEY K ROMANO/Examiner, Art Unit 3652